Check For Fake Coins Used For Parking!

SUSDrifter
post Sep 20 2007, 08:30 AM, updated 19y ago

1,349 posts

I would like to share with your readers about an incident today when I pay for my parking fee in Klang.

After I have parked my car, I walked to the self-service car park machine to pay for an hour's parking fee (50 sen in Klang, 60 sen in Petaling Jaya and 40 sen in Shah Alam for an hour). Everything seemed to be fine. The machine printed out a parking coupon and after displaying the coupon at the vehicle's dashboard, I went to perform my errands nearby.

When I was walking back towards my car, I saw a uniformed officer from the Klang Municipal Council MPK) looking around at my car. He then acted as if he is going to issue a summon to my car. I ran towards him and asked him if everything is OK. I told him that I have paid for my parking and he can see the coupon clearly on the dashboard.

To my shock, the MPK officer said that he planned to issue a summon to me because the 50 sen coin that I had used to pay for the parking fee was a fake coin. The officer mentioned that if a person used a fake coin to pay for the parking fee, it means that no parking fee has been paid.

The MPK officer also showed to me how to read the parking coupon and spot if the coins used are fake or not (see the attached graphics - "TOKEN" means that the coins used are fake). Luckily, the officer understood my situation and decided not to issue any summon to me.

Having said that, I would like to share this experience and knowledge with your readers so that the unsuspected citizens can give special attention when paying for their parking fee at the self-service machines to avoid being innocently penalised.

hk_loo
post Sep 20 2007, 08:32 AM

1,750 posts

think some 1 post before
firestater
post Sep 20 2007, 08:37 AM

470 posts

can u still remember the 50 coin that u used? is it looked so real
terrorist
post Sep 20 2007, 08:41 AM

Custom Title ?
4,246 posts

lol, got like that de thing ah ... but how to see which one fake token ?
young_soul
post Sep 20 2007, 08:47 AM

THIS is how you use a hammer
2,032 posts

old news...
gjoey
post Sep 20 2007, 08:48 AM

159 posts

How about if you put in real 50 cent coin into it and yet the coupon printed out 'Token'?

I would rather kick the machine..... tongue.gif

shinnosuke
post Sep 20 2007, 08:59 AM

who are you?
1,997 posts

QUOTE(young_soul @ Sep 20 2007, 08:47 AM)
old news...
not even one day.. shocking.gif are u a fly? hmm.gif
hk_loo
post Sep 20 2007, 09:08 AM

1,750 posts

QUOTE(terrorist @ Sep 20 2007, 08:41 AM)
lol, got like that de thing ah ... but how to see which one fake token ?
check in nearest bank before buy the ticket coupon nod.gif
porkchop
post Sep 20 2007, 09:30 AM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

wah now geting more wider usage laready

crap meaning 50sen is now fake too??
shah_ho_nam2
post Sep 20 2007, 09:36 AM

らã☆ã™ãŸ
4,242 posts

QUOTE(young_soul @ Sep 20 2007, 09:47 AM)
old news...
he tries to remind new people here. nevermind. eh anyway thanks for the info
kevinlim001
post Sep 20 2007, 09:42 AM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

The earlier post
bebee
post Sep 20 2007, 10:37 AM

My Baby Hunny Bunny
2,979 posts

not just only 50 cent coin but 20 cent too
prancingHORSE
post Sep 20 2007, 12:08 PM

I’m too awake for this to be a nightmare!
2,442 posts

What a dumb machine, can't it just reject the fake coin?
What's the purpose of accepting the coin and printing a coupon out?
Ridiculously unintelligent i must say. shakehead.gif rclxub.gif
pgsingerboy
post Sep 20 2007, 12:17 PM

439 posts

Someone has posted this before some time back. What coins were fake, 20cents, 10 cents or 50 cents? any idea? I bet its the 50 cents.
Azuma-kun
post Sep 20 2007, 12:19 PM

Sayonara Toriyama-sensei
8,415 posts

QUOTE(prancingHORSE @ Sep 20 2007, 12:08 PM)
Ridiculously unintelligent i must say.  shakehead.gif  rclxub.gif
One way to gain extra money.
sinclairZX81
post Sep 20 2007, 12:20 PM

Change for the better
2,013 posts

Erm.. seen this before.
WaCKy-Angel
post Sep 20 2007, 12:25 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(prancingHORSE @ Sep 20 2007, 12:08 PM)
Ridiculously unintelligent i must say.  shakehead.gif  rclxub.gif
Agreed.......

If that happened to me, i'll sue the Gov...

This post has been edited by WaCKy-Angel: Sep 20 2007, 12:25 PM
xordMeztGeR
post Sep 20 2007, 01:04 PM

satu bintang 5 ringgit!! murah murah!
1,051 posts

they can just reject the coin, very membazir to print out the coupon just to show that the coin is fake, and i don;t think this thing is true
WaCKy-Angel
post Sep 20 2007, 01:07 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

Oh originated from e-mail.....

kthxbye.....
FerrariST
post Sep 20 2007, 02:11 PM

340 posts

Some may think is a old new. But never the less i still want to thanks TS for providing the information.

cheers

0.0226sec    0.34    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:47 PM