Dispute of Water Meter Reading with JMB/MC

TSnihility
post Jan 10 2022, 10:46 AM, updated 4y ago

1,596 posts

I'm facing this issue where there was significant increased of water consumption in one of my apartment unit water billing after the new MC took into office 3 years ago. The scenario was like this

Before Year 2019:-

Average 2 monthly water bills around RM 40.00++ @ RM 1.38 / c.m. This translate into average RM 20++/ permonth @ 14.5 c.u usage per month.

The current now usage:-

Average 2 monthly water bills around RM 100 ++ @ RM 1.38 / c.m. This translate into average usage of RM 50++/month @ 36.2 c.u usage per month.

There was no water leakages detected as the unit already checked by my plumber. The only thing suspicious was the meter itself. I was being told verbally that the MO replaced the water meter but did not inform any of the owners.

Hence, I made the comparison with my other units under my own stayed & tenanted out as well.

1) Landed unit - average monthly around 28-29 c.m usages - direct billing by Air Selangor.

2) Apartment unit - average monthly around 25 c.m usages - billing by JMB/MC (different unit)

3) Apartment unit - average monthly around 24 c.m usages - direct billing by Air Selangor (different unit)

The MC/MO took too long to revert on the complaint & gave simple verbal response saying the old reading was inaccurate & the current reading was the correct one. This reply given by MO was unacceptable by me because the data from my other units from other the developments are showing otherwise.

The question now is, which body to report to the suspicious / incorrect water meter reading because the meter reading on the problematic unit was not under Air Selangor but under JMB/MC? The are many owners are facing the same problem from the responses I read in the community group.

wohoo
post Jan 10 2022, 10:59 AM

250 posts

Your water meter is under Condo account or already migrated to Syabas?

If under condo off course is more expensive. If migrated to Syabas should be cheaper. But you can do your own test to confirm

1) Close all water outlets and wait for a few minutes. then go meter room check the meter is still Jalan or not..by right should be no jalan liao lah.. to eliminate water meter problem
contestchris
post Jan 10 2022, 11:00 AM

5,559 posts

Reading of 15c.u. per month is on the low side. For 2 people who mostly eat out, maybe okay. But if more than 2 people and if often cook home, then very hard to be just 15c.u.

Plus your other units are between 24 to 29c.u., what makes you think 14.5c.u. is more accurate than 36.2c.u.?
TSnihility
post Jan 10 2022, 11:06 AM

1,596 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jan 10 2022, 11:00 AM)
Reading of 15c.u. per month is on the low side. For 2 people who mostly eat out, maybe okay. But if more than 2 people and if often cook home, then very hard to be just 15c.u.

Plus your other units are between 24 to 29c.u., what makes you think 14.5c.u. is more accurate than 36.2c.u.?
My landed unit itself got 6 ppl. Daily cooking & daily washing using washing machine by my in law, 1 day minimum 2 times. We wash our car weekly & watering our garden.

My family unit within same apartment but different block. Her unit unaffected but her water meter reading almost similar to my previous meter reading. 4 ppl staying.
TSnihility
post Jan 10 2022, 11:08 AM

1,596 posts

QUOTE(wohoo @ Jan 10 2022, 10:59 AM)
Your water meter is under Condo account or already migrated to Syabas?

If under condo off course is more expensive. If migrated to Syabas should be cheaper. But you can do your own test to confirm

1) Close all water outlets and wait for a few minutes. then go meter room check the meter is still Jalan or not..by right should be no jalan liao lah.. to eliminate water meter problem
Still under JMB/MC but I did not complain on the rate because I'm aware the rate use was RM 1.38/ c.m. The issue is on the consumption usage exceeding 30 c.m in average for 4 young working adults who hardly cook & wash in the house.

The leakage already checked. Previously suspected got ppl do illegal tapping but there is no sign of it. After the main valve closed, the water meter stop running, hence there was no leaking or illegal tapping element present.

This post has been edited by nihility: Jan 10 2022, 11:12 AM
yunodie
post Jan 10 2022, 11:10 AM

475 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Jan 10 2022, 10:46 AM)
I'm facing this issue where there was significant increased of water consumption in one of my apartment unit water billing after the new MC took into office 3 years ago. The scenario was like this

Before Year 2019:-

Average 2 monthly water bills around RM 40.00++ @ RM 1.38 / c.m. This translate into  average RM 20++/ permonth @ 14.5 c.u usage per month.

The current now usage:-

Average 2 monthly water bills around RM 100 ++ @ RM 1.38 / c.m. This translate into average usage of RM 50++/month @ 36.2 c.u usage per month.

There was no water leakages detected as the unit already checked by my plumber. The only thing suspicious was the meter itself. I was being told verbally that the MO replaced the water meter but did not inform any of the owners.

Hence, I made the comparison with my other units under my own stayed & tenanted out as well.

1) Landed unit - average monthly around 28-29 c.m usages - direct billing by Air Selangor.

2) Apartment unit - average monthly around 25 c.m usages - billing by JMB/MC (different unit)

3) Apartment unit - average monthly around 24 c.m usages - direct billing by Air Selangor (different unit)

The MC/MO took too long to revert on the complaint & gave simple verbal response saying the old reading was inaccurate & the current reading was the correct one. This reply given by MO was unacceptable by me because the data from my other units from other the developments are showing otherwise.

The question now is, which body to report to the suspicious / incorrect water meter reading because the meter reading on the problematic unit was not under Air Selangor but under JMB/MC? The are many owners are facing the same problem from the responses I read in the community group.
proof the meter yourself la
fill up a 1m3 container and see if the meter moves or not.

it all depends on meter accuracy .if you are not happy, buy a new meter yourself and ask JMB to install for you.
TSnihility
post Jan 10 2022, 11:13 AM

1,596 posts

QUOTE(yunodie @ Jan 10 2022, 11:10 AM)
proof the meter yourself la
fill up a 1m3 container and see if the meter moves or not.

it all depends on meter accuracy .if you are not happy, buy a new meter yourself and ask JMB to install for you.
Lol, how come I never think of this. TQ.

0.0175sec    0.55    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 05:41 AM