TSxkaizoku
Jan 9 2022, 02:22 PM, updated 4y ago

Hi sifus,
How many grounding rod is usually hammered into the ground? I tried to add the new rods onto the existing old ones but the connector head was not in a good condition. So instead, I hammered 2 new rods (5ft each) into a new hole beside the old one in the ground. Is that enough or do I need more?
Momo33
Jan 9 2022, 03:46 PM
QUOTE(xkaizoku @ Jan 9 2022, 03:22 PM) Hi sifus, How many grounding rod is usually hammered into the ground? I tried to add the new rods onto the existing old ones but the connector head was not in a good condition. So instead, I hammered 2 new rods (5ft each) into a new hole beside the old one in the ground. Is that enough or do I need more? this is fine for now with 2 rods. did you use quality rods ... like 40 rm a piece. last longer/with recommended diameter. shopee have sellers . i bought from shopee. wait to see during lightning storm if your rccd trips ...same same , or less often if needed plant another 2 rods .. 10 feet away .. connected this to the first rod.
TSxkaizoku
Jan 9 2022, 04:00 PM

QUOTE(Momo33 @ Jan 9 2022, 03:46 PM) this is fine for now with 2 rods. did you use quality rods ... like 40 rm a piece. last longer/with recommended diameter. shopee have sellers . i bought from shopee. wait to see during lightning storm if your rccd trips ...same same , or less often if needed plant another 2 rods .. 10 feet away .. connected this to the first rod. ok thanks im not sure, my father got it from somewhere but i think it was around rm30+ per piece
Momo33
Jan 9 2022, 04:14 PM
QUOTE(xkaizoku @ Jan 9 2022, 05:00 PM) ok thanks im not sure, my father got it from somewhere but i think it was around rm30+ per piece on shopee Brand : taipoly Country Of Origin : Malaysia For JKR Project/ Private Sector Project Use. Brand : Taipoly Copper Rod for Earthing Purpose Electrical Earthing Rod Length : 1.5m Packaging: 1pc of Copper Rod https://shopee.com.my/Taipoly-Normal-Copper...1b-d89ae6dea088This post has been edited by Momo33: Jan 9 2022, 04:16 PM
stormer.lyn
Jan 10 2022, 08:24 AM
A grounding point has very specific electrical specifications; if it meets the specifications, it is a good ground. And if it doesn't meet the specifications, then it is a bad ground. In M'sia the electrical requirement for a ground point is one that is less than 10 ohms total resistance. Doesn't matter if it is a single rod, multiple rods, or an array of rods.
You could sink a new ground rod, or two, or five, assume it is good, and call it a day. I would say you might have a safe electrical system if you do this. Or you might not. Just like everything else in life, you take responsibility for the level of risk you are willing to pay for, and for the level of exposure you are willing to accept.
The only fact I can post in this reply is that anyone who tells you that you are okay doing this from behind a keyboard, is either a liar, or stupid ..... or both.
TSxkaizoku
Jan 10 2022, 08:45 AM

QUOTE(Momo33 @ Jan 9 2022, 04:14 PM) on shopee Brand : taipoly Country Of Origin : Malaysia For JKR Project/ Private Sector Project Use. Brand : Taipoly Copper Rod for Earthing Purpose Electrical Earthing Rod Length : 1.5m Packaging: 1pc of Copper Rod still tripped this morning 😂 2 rods not enough
Momo33
Jan 10 2022, 11:33 AM
QUOTE(xkaizoku @ Jan 10 2022, 09:45 AM) still tripped this morning 😂 2 rods not enough yes. since we dont have the earth ground meter we can only do this method . for me i planted 6 rods and no more RCCD trips .
TSxkaizoku
Jan 10 2022, 12:07 PM

QUOTE(Momo33 @ Jan 10 2022, 11:33 AM) yes. since we dont have the earth ground meter we can only do this method . for me i planted 6 rods and no more RCCD trips . Wa 6 rods?? Idk how long is our old one but it trips very frequently compared to my neighbours for the past 20 years Just bought another 2, will see how it goes
Momo33
Jan 10 2022, 12:23 PM
QUOTE(xkaizoku @ Jan 10 2022, 01:07 PM) Wa 6 rods?? Idk how long is our old one but it trips very frequently compared to my neighbours for the past 20 years Just bought another 2, will see how it goes my old one original from developer only 1 rod. and was planted in ground with much concrete rock in the soil. so maybe not good connection to earth . during mco i check and redo . start with 2 rods, then add 2 and add 2 . And now no more trips. yes... some houses with better grounding will trip less. tripping is ok , means its working but not too much trip with even the lightning far away . if house is already 20 years ... i think time to change the RCCD . get a Hager brand one. This post has been edited by Momo33: Jan 10 2022, 12:25 PM
vernee26
Feb 16 2022, 06:18 PM

May I tumpang thread and ask where should the rod be? House undergoing major reno now and electrical just started. Electrician told me that the previous owner had one rod next to the DB (in the house) which was in bad shape. He intends to put on directly under my DB floor (within the house). From my googling, I see that the ground rods are usually placed outside of the house. Is my electrician doing the right thing by nailing a rod directly under my DB box?
Momo33
Feb 19 2022, 10:25 AM
QUOTE(vernee26 @ Feb 16 2022, 07:18 PM) May I tumpang thread and ask where should the rod be? House undergoing major reno now and electrical just started. Electrician told me that the previous owner had one rod next to the DB (in the house) which was in bad shape. He intends to put on directly under my DB floor (within the house). From my googling, I see that the ground rods are usually placed outside of the house. Is my electrician doing the right thing by nailing a rod directly under my DB box? yes have the ground rod in the house is not a problem. most important is to get below 10 ohm ground resistance , the ST recommendation. how about maintenance and visual inspection in future ? This post has been edited by Momo33: Feb 19 2022, 10:26 AM