Fridge enclosure
TSNotconfused P
Dec 24 2021, 10:20 PM, updated 4y ago
Hi All,
What’s your view on building a fridge enclosure - do you think it makes your kitchen look much better? Once it has been installed, one will be restricted to choosing a fridge that’s always the same size, won’t we? I’m in dilemma now and would like to hear from your experience. Thanks
mini orchard
Dec 24 2021, 10:40 PM
QUOTE(Notconfused @ Dec 24 2021, 10:20 PM) Hi All, What’s your view on building a fridge enclosure - do you think it makes your kitchen look much better? Once it has been installed, one will be restricted to choosing a fridge that’s always the same size, won’t we? I’m in dilemma now and would like to hear from your experience. Thanks The fridge works the same way as the air cond outdoor compressor. It need to disperse away hot air to make it efficient to continue cooling the fridge, otherwise the life span will also reduce.
SUSceo684
Dec 24 2021, 11:28 PM
QUOTE(Notconfused @ Dec 24 2021, 10:20 PM) Hi All, What’s your view on building a fridge enclosure - do you think it makes your kitchen look much better? Once it has been installed, one will be restricted to choosing a fridge that’s always the same size, won’t we? I’m in dilemma now and would like to hear from your experience. Thanks Standalone is best.. or at least have palm size gap on sides and 20cm headroom. It needs to breathe to dissipate the heat. U can see pana website for recommended clearance. If only 1cm clearance, its hard to even roll it out to clean behind the fridge. This post has been edited by ceo684: Dec 24 2021, 11:28 PM
5igzag
Dec 25 2021, 01:08 AM

considering how dust will gather around the enclosure, I can't get the point of having it too.
TSNotconfused P
Dec 25 2021, 01:44 AM
Thanks for your sharing your views guys much appreciated.
I’m very tempted to have one as it makes the overall kitchen look neat, but then again if the fridge ever breaks down, I will need to get a new one that fits the enclosure nicely otherwise it’s as good as not having one at all. I think you would agree that in the long term it may become a pain, yes?
SUSceo684
Dec 25 2021, 02:40 PM
QUOTE(Notconfused @ Dec 25 2021, 01:44 AM) Thanks for your sharing your views guys much appreciated. I’m very tempted to have one as it makes the overall kitchen look neat, but then again if the fridge ever breaks down, I will need to get a new one that fits the enclosure nicely otherwise it’s as good as not having one at all. I think you would agree that in the long term it may become a pain, yes? I had a built in fridge enclosure built cun cun going against principles as it came with preloved apartment..it is not really practical lah. Most importantly without it is easier maintenance n for practicality..when i got my own rumaweep i decided NOT to box up the fridge. Electric bill below RM10 for a well ventilated fridge.
C_ST
Dec 25 2021, 05:13 PM
Suggest not to... Just design the KC to make is 'seems' like got a specialize space for fridge will do.
nexona88
Dec 25 2021, 08:50 PM
Personally... Better don't have... Have maintenance issues later...
So standalone is always best option 👍
McFD2R
Dec 27 2021, 12:43 PM
It's for those who do not mind spending money when necessary to replace, in exchange of a minimalist clean look of the kitchen. But if boring is what you are worried, you can always opt for colored fridge. My fridge is what stands out when friends comes visiting. This post has been edited by McFD2R: Dec 27 2021, 12:44 PM
TSNotconfused P
Dec 28 2021, 03:17 AM
QUOTE(McFD2R @ Dec 27 2021, 12:43 PM) It's for those who do not mind spending money when necessary to replace, in exchange of a minimalist clean look of the kitchen. But if boring is what you are worried, you can always opt for colored fridge. My fridge is what stands out when friends comes visiting.  Sleek looking kitchen
blanket84
Dec 28 2021, 05:41 PM
You have to decide which brand/model to purchase first if you intended to build an enclosure around your fridge. Different manufacturer specify different clearance, so, you need to check the manuals/instruction before finalizing the dimension of the enclosure.
I did for mine, and it think it looks much better compare to without enclosure.
This post has been edited by blanket84: Dec 28 2021, 05:42 PM