Enquiries/Recommendations Used macbook or Cheap windows laptop

TSam_i_rulez
post Dec 22 2021, 11:46 AM, updated 4y ago

Group: Senior Member
1,274 posts

I have budget of RM2500, thinking of acquiring new laptop for light work, light gaming. By light gaming, i only play football manager.
From what i see, macbook can last for a long time, 5-10 years without hiccup compare to a windows laptop.
So i'm enquiring whether i should get a Macbook pro 2017/Macbook air 2018 or new windows laptop.

Thanks in advance.
lawsh
post Dec 22 2021, 11:47 AM

Cikurity
6,788 posts

football manager on macbook sees more crashes than windows, at least that is what happened to me...
KrankZ
post Dec 22 2021, 11:55 AM

178 posts

just grab rm3k laptop Kao Tim la....
MacBook unless u wanna test then 2-3 years resell it
kuntilanak
post Dec 22 2021, 11:59 AM

978 posts

Mac ecosystem very different than windows one... unless you really ok with Mac, I'd go for any decent windows machine. at least i know how to handle (very) minor issues... laugh.gif
baby_4ever
post Dec 22 2021, 12:00 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(am_i_rulez @ Dec 22 2021, 11:46 AM)
I have budget of RM2500, thinking of acquiring new laptop for light work, light gaming. By light gaming, i only play football manager.
From what i see, macbook can last for a long time,  5-10 years without hiccup compare to a windows laptop.
So i'm enquiring whether i should get a Macbook pro 2017/Macbook air 2018 or new windows laptop.

Thanks in advance.
New windows laptop,

as you seems never had experience repairing macbooks
TSam_i_rulez
post Dec 22 2021, 01:23 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(baby_4ever @ Dec 22 2021, 12:00 PM)
New windows laptop,

as you seems never had experience repairing macbooks
why does this sounds like repairing macbooks is super hassle? care to elaborate?
TSam_i_rulez
post Dec 22 2021, 01:23 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(lawsh @ Dec 22 2021, 11:47 AM)
football manager on macbook sees more crashes than windows, at least that is what happened to me...
hurm, thats a problem.
baby_4ever
post Dec 22 2021, 02:37 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(am_i_rulez @ Dec 22 2021, 01:23 PM)
why does this sounds like repairing macbooks is super hassle? care to elaborate?
in short - expensive to repair

if want macbook must get new with apple care, unless you ok with repair bill rm1000-2000
farkingdom
post Dec 26 2021, 12:34 PM

594 posts

Windows laptop also can last long . My laptop from 2011 still using till today. No issue at all.

Choosing between mac and windows is like choosing the ecosystem you want.

TSam_i_rulez
post Dec 27 2021, 08:48 AM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(farkingdom @ Dec 26 2021, 12:34 PM)
Windows laptop also can last long . My laptop from 2011 still using till today. No issue at all.

Choosing between mac and windows is like choosing the ecosystem you want.
how? i use my sister's laptop that bought in 2017 and i can't even tahan the slowness.
farkingdom
post Dec 27 2021, 08:58 AM

594 posts

QUOTE(am_i_rulez @ Dec 27 2021, 08:48 AM)
how? i use my sister's laptop that bought in 2017 and i can't even tahan the slowness.
Windows laptop got a lot variation including usage of slower celeron or faster efficient processor, is your sister laptop still running HDD or SSD?

windows laptop are ,not all, but mostly upgradable (eg you can swap SSDs and RAM)

while for Mac you don’t have to worry about those things since it works but if one component (eg SSD) fails, you are gonna find it very expensive to repair out of warranty.
acbc
post Dec 27 2021, 09:04 AM

9,050 posts

Gaming? Stick with Windows.

Pure work? Mac of course.

Why? Mac don't simply update the OS weekly and it is very secure. No malware can run without permission. If it does, easy to kill it.

Windows on the hand need to update weekly and when it does, it will take time and very slow. Occasionally, the update might fail and u start over.

Best to have both platforms. U can opt for an older 2013 MBP and some older 4th generation with discreet GPU for gaming.

Myself went for this route. Gaming on a Dell Latitude E6540 and work on a 2012 MacBook Pro. Both upgraded to the max with lots of RAM and SSDs. And both also connected to the same 27 inch monitor via a HDMI KVM.

I don't want a huge desktop because always on the move.

This post has been edited by acbc: Dec 27 2021, 09:05 AM
TSam_i_rulez
post Dec 27 2021, 10:20 AM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(farkingdom @ Dec 27 2021, 08:58 AM)
Windows laptop got a lot variation including usage of slower celeron or faster efficient processor, is your sister laptop still running HDD or SSD?

windows laptop are ,not all, but mostly upgradable (eg you can swap SSDs and RAM)

while for Mac you don’t have to worry about those things since it works but if one component (eg SSD) fails, you are gonna find it very expensive to repair out of warranty.
hdd with 8gb ram.

your last sentence worry me. but macbook part is more reliable than windows? or same?
TSam_i_rulez
post Dec 27 2021, 10:22 AM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Dec 27 2021, 09:04 AM)
Gaming? Stick with Windows.

Pure work? Mac of course.

Why? Mac don't simply update the OS weekly and it is very secure. No malware can run without permission. If it does, easy to kill it.

Windows on the hand need to update weekly and when it does, it will take time and very slow. Occasionally, the update might fail and u start over.

Best to have both platforms. U can opt for an older 2013 MBP and some older 4th generation with discreet GPU for gaming.

Myself went for this route. Gaming on a Dell Latitude E6540 and work on a 2012 MacBook Pro. Both upgraded to the max with lots of RAM and SSDs. And both also connected to the same 27 inch monitor via a HDMI KVM.

I don't want a huge desktop because always on the move.
mostly work. the only game i play on laptop is football manager.

but i think you saying about older 2013 mbp maybe good option for me to test out the ecosystem.
acbc
post Dec 27 2021, 10:25 AM

9,050 posts

QUOTE(am_i_rulez @ Dec 27 2021, 10:20 AM)
hdd with 8gb ram.

your last sentence worry me. but macbook part is more reliable than windows? or same?
M1 MacBooks are not upgradable. If the RAM or SSD kaput, the entire logic board needs to replace which will cost 2/3 of the entire MacBook cost.

For older models like 2012, everything is upgradeable like RAM, HDD, and DVD. This is why I kept my 2012 until today. Never mind the crappy 3:2 display as long it works fine with an external monitor.

Kindly check the EveryMac site to see if the RAM or SSD is upgradeable or not. If not mistaken, anything from 2013 onwards cannot upgrade the RAM.

macOS runs best with 16GB RAM if u plan to run Office, Photoshop, or FinalCutPro. Anything less, it will write a lot on the SSD causing it to wear down faster.

If just planning to run Chrome, Safari, and Office, 8GB RAM is ok.
acbc
post Dec 27 2021, 10:29 AM

9,050 posts

QUOTE(am_i_rulez @ Dec 27 2021, 10:22 AM)
mostly work. the only game i play on laptop is football manager.

but i think you saying about older 2013 mbp maybe good option for me to test out the ecosystem.
2012 also can as the max OS update is Catalina which is much stable than Big Sur.

However, 2013 has a better display and is highly recommended to use without an external monitor.

I started using the macOS platform with an el-cheapo 2010 white MacBook bought it from a student with maxed-out specs for RM 1K. I used it till 2019 before upgrading to the 2012 MacBookPro. 2010 is still around serving as my server monitoring machine and CCTV.
uskimaski
post Dec 27 2021, 06:24 PM

82 posts

It's best to get a new windows machine cause you don't know how the previous owner used their laptop. It really saves you the hassle for repairing later.

You could bump up your budget a little to about rm3k and get a laptop with better specs. Asus, Acer and HP have pretty good laptops around that range.

0.0191sec    0.85    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:01 AM