Proton SAGA BLM thread - A new SAGA begins, NEW KING ON THE R O A D

nizam80
post Nov 26 2007, 12:17 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(Chartry @ Nov 25 2007, 04:39 PM)
viva is overpriced
Sorry, off topic. Indeed, the Viva is an overpriced piece of metal. RM 44K for a full spec 989cc car? C'mon! If this new SAGA is priced below RM 40K for a full spec model, then people are going to think twice bout buying the Viva. But of course Viva and BLM are not in the same class. rclxub.gif
nizam80
post Nov 26 2007, 11:13 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(zacevox @ Nov 26 2007, 01:14 AM)
dont take the top of the rank viva with airbag to compare..

44k that is havent discount mah and savvy also between this range..

forget about the saga 26,999 because it already have a big discount.

if proton sales still maintain like in 2005, i dont think they will give such big discount.. all thanks to perodua?
Ok, comparing Savvy Hi-Line and Viva Full Spec:
Savvy is slightly expensive because it is a 1149cc car. Viva is only 989cc, and yet costing above RM40K??! rclxub.gif
Savvy Hi-Line has an AMT gearbox which logically cost more. While Viva has plain vanilla automatic transmission. yawn.gif
Savvy's body has better torsional rigidity than Viva. thumbup.gif

Sorry guys... off topic.

nizam80
post Nov 26 2007, 11:14 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(Chartry @ Nov 26 2007, 10:20 AM)
the reason they used renault engine is because campro is to big and for the amt
Too big for the AMT gearbox or too big for the Savvy's engine bay? sweat.gif
nizam80
post Nov 26 2007, 11:23 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Nov 26 2007, 11:14 AM)
honestly...the savvy is not nice. With bodykit it looks good...but if without...err...

need some help guys...my friend is planning to get a new car. Under consideration is the Saga LMST. I told him about the BLM and asked him to wait for it. But...if the BLM price is too high when its released...can he still get the Saga LMST? Any advice on how to go on this?
Bro, i guess your friend should go for a car that best suits his budget. The Saga LMST is not a bad car as i believe it is just as reliable as other cars. But, it is quite a old car based on a old chassis design (late 80's i guess) so i guess the safety characteristics is nothing to shout about. However, i were in his shoes, i would wait for the BLM which means i could save a bit more money in the process, till early next year.

Added on November 26, 2007, 11:26 am
QUOTE(hypermount @ Nov 26 2007, 11:15 AM)
What to do, third world people with no taste..

They prefer the safe boring look of nipon beng car...
relax bro. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by nizam80: Nov 26 2007, 11:26 AM
nizam80
post Nov 26 2007, 11:45 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(Aggronax @ Nov 26 2007, 11:29 AM)
I actually prefer safe car. because many ah beng drive like madman ~ later if car no safety, I might get kill by ppl knock my car.
Me too. Agree with u. However, this BLM is said to be based on an extended Savvy platform. If this is true, will the torsional rigidity of the body structure be equivalent of the Savvy? (Will the body be just as tough as Savvy's?) Coz, they (Proton) are aiming for an RM30K price tag, and i have a feeling it will not have those characteristics.
nizam80
post Nov 26 2007, 08:13 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(Aggronax @ Nov 26 2007, 07:06 PM)
then we should drive lorry also
Drive a bus better..... Can tumpang my grandma and all my other relatives... Plus, when hit by a car, the car surely gone, but your bus still there. whistling.gif

(Of course, i'm joking only)
nizam80
post Nov 27 2007, 12:48 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(I_AM_THE_CHOOSEN_ONE @ Nov 26 2007, 09:53 PM)
cut ur kukujiao first before posting here ...

btw, the blm really another milo tin from proton
The real milo tin is that rebadged Daihatsu Sirion/Toyota Passo. whistling.gif ... and also that RM44K 989cc overpriced piece of metal......

(Joking only)
nizam80
post Nov 28 2007, 07:17 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(mutt @ Nov 26 2007, 01:15 AM)
still to think twice ka?? actually dont have to think at all..

RM40k viva VS RM40k BLM??? what a joke??  ohmy.gif
Definitely will pick BLM. biggrin.gif
nizam80
post Dec 4 2007, 05:50 PM

253 posts

If this BLM is equipped with a CPS engine (1.3) and priced starting from RM 29K, it will probably be a best seller. But rite now we're not sure whether it will have CPS yet. hmm.gif
nizam80
post Dec 5 2007, 11:11 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(dstl1128 @ Dec 5 2007, 08:00 PM)
Low capacity engine benefit more with variable intake than cam changing.
Sorry, OT. Does Myvi have Variable Intake together with Cam Changing? I'm not arguing with u. I'm just asking coz between DVVT and VVTi, are there any differences.

Added on December 5, 2007, 11:12 pm
QUOTE(wantutrifor5 @ Dec 5 2007, 08:03 PM)
lets wait n see.. taksabar nak test drive nie
For me, i tak sabar nak test drive Proton's CPS engine. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by nizam80: Dec 5 2007, 11:20 PM
nizam80
post Dec 7 2007, 12:21 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(gth517 @ Dec 6 2007, 11:47 PM)
today when driving on MRR2 around 11:30am+ around somewhere near the tesco, i saw that prototype, to be honest... it is hideous then any car that i have seen.
Thats ur opinion, bro. I totally have no objections. However, others might like it. yawn.gif

Added on December 7, 2007, 12:25 am
QUOTE(peYno @ Dec 6 2007, 09:44 PM)
and the best part is
Room space (leg clearance,head clearance,width, lenght) is more spacious  compared to old saga,yaris, and even myvi
Bro, u know wat. I've a feeling that u might be right. Coz, when i look at it carefully, the car's size is bout the same as the Wira, or maybe slightly larger. Just wait and see. thumbup.gif

Added on December 7, 2007, 12:38 am
QUOTE(peYno @ Dec 6 2007, 08:03 PM)
the car will be launched Jan2008
Medium line:RM34k
High line :RM40k
Base line : not finalized ( RM29k~30k)

sorry.. no CPS, no airbag/ABS for HL
Manual transmission .. they use Nissan sentra GB
Auto tranny = proton GB
If i'm not mistaken, this is the 1st time that Proton will use a Nissan gearbox for the manual? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by nizam80: Dec 7 2007, 12:38 AM
nizam80
post Dec 7 2007, 10:37 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(vong85 @ Dec 7 2007, 10:19 AM)
I think the first group of picture is the final Proton BLM. I dont understand with Gen-2, Satria Neo having such nice front light but the BLM???? Is the 90's car fashion coming to hit again?? I guess if they were to design the front light to be as fashionable as the Gen-2, the price will definitely goes beyond 40K. Merdeka's version of SAGA has much better front and tail light ok?? Why wont they do it a little bit better? Plz la Proton.. Macam "liang tou bu dao an".. If wanna design then do it the best la.. For price sake, unless it is installed with 16valve DOHC with fuel injection, then the design is second thought..
It is installed with 16 valve DOHC engine.

Added on December 7, 2007, 10:37 am
QUOTE(quick_shaq @ Dec 7 2007, 01:22 AM)
what do you guys think that proton will give name to this car?
for me i hope it stays saga or iswara
shows that it has been generation already brows.gif
I think Proton will still name it 'SAGA'. Just a guess. brows.gif

This post has been edited by nizam80: Dec 7 2007, 10:39 AM
nizam80
post Dec 22 2007, 10:31 AM

253 posts

No wonder most people say that it's probably based on the extended Savvy problem. Coz, from the pics, i think the dashboard looks similar to the Savvy's. But, the overall design of the car looks simple yet nice. thumbup.gif I also noticed that from the rear, it looks like the old Opel Vectra. Nice too.

This post has been edited by nizam80: Dec 22 2007, 10:32 AM
nizam80
post Dec 23 2007, 03:04 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(jVIPERs2 @ Dec 22 2007, 11:04 AM)
Huh?? No power??
Then kesian Persona owners..need to rev til 3.5K juz to get the car moving~
I wonder what the car does when the rev is between 1.5~3K..juz sit there??  sweat.gif
Huh?? Extended Savvy problem??  hmm.gif
Totally agrees.. thumbup.gif
Yup, u heard me. Extended Savvy Platform.
nizam80
post Dec 23 2007, 12:03 PM

253 posts

Based on the description in Bahasa Malaysia, i guess the N-Line is more of a Lite version.
nizam80
post Dec 26 2007, 06:12 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(CHIP CN @ Dec 26 2007, 12:19 AM)
laugh.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif  N-line ==== no-line  thumbup.gif joking.....
hahahahaha... or shall i say, 'Normal-Line'? laugh.gif
nizam80
post Dec 30 2007, 08:09 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(howeijie @ Dec 30 2007, 07:23 PM)
In term of horse power and outlook , which one is better ???  drool.gif
I think, in terms of max. horsepower, Persona is higher i guess. 110hp@6000rpm.
As for the BLM, if it's using the Campro 1.3, then the max. horsepower should be about 94hp@6000rpm. Based on the looks, i guess the BLM should be wider, taller, and longer than the current Saga/Iswara. Correct me if i'm wrong here. sweat.gif
nizam80
post Jan 2 2008, 08:21 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(Suave @ Jan 2 2008, 04:50 PM)
I guess you're right. If that can power the Gen2 (although a bit under powered) it should power this quite nicely, provided its not too heavy. Sure looks geared up for a proton best-seller.
Agree with u. The max. torque figure is quite decent (120Nm@4000rpm) However, not too sure bout the torque curve... sweat.gif
nizam80
post Jan 6 2008, 02:03 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(mokh997 @ Jan 6 2008, 01:22 AM)
ORG MALAYSIA MMG SUKA MEMBANGKANG
TETAP BANGA DENGAN PRODUK LUAR NEGARA YG TAH APE2
PERSONA DAN BLM NI ADALAH 2 PRODUK YG BKN KLON DAN BERJIWA MALAYSIA
CUMA HARAP PROTON DAPAT MELEBARKAN SEDIKIT PLATFORM KERETA2 KELUARAN DIA LEPAS NI
KERANA SELAGI PALTFORM KECIL AGAK SUKAR UNTUK MEMBERI KAN KESELESAAN DALAM DITAHAP YG AGAK MEMUASKAN
HONDA ACCORD BKN BAGUS SGT DALAM DIA TP SEBAB DIA LUAS ORG MINAT
MCM TU GAK TOYOTA BKN BAGUS SGT INTERIOR DIA TP SEBAB LUAS ORG BELI GAK
SATU LAGI HARAP PROTON TK BUAT DALAM BERWARNA CERAH BIA LA SEMUA WARNA GELAP MCM KELABU ATAU COKLAT GELAP
BURUK SGT DLM WARNA KRIM DAN PUTIH TU

WTH is this?? I smell Proton salesman here... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by nizam80: Jan 6 2008, 02:05 AM
nizam80
post Jan 30 2008, 01:26 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(nerd @ Jan 30 2008, 01:23 AM)
shoot.. I tried to chase a New Saga with trade plates on a straight.. DAMN the car can move fast! my Neo 1.6 A couldn't keep up with it doh.gif x

I nearly caught up on a corner but there were a few slow cars in front of me sad.gif

beautiful car. can't wait to see it populating the roads. can't wait to test drive it myself tongue.gif
Wah, that Saga sure is fast. How fast is it travelling at that time?

0.0547sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 10:58 PM