Calling all experienced in Seymour Duncan pickups!, What pickup is this?

TSskindred
post Sep 18 2007, 10:35 PM, updated 18y ago

283 posts

Ok, since Jamtank isn't accessible lately.. I think I have to ask here.

I bought this Seymour Duncan pickup off a guy named xsheedyx @ Jamtank few months ago who claims this pickup is a SH-6 Duncan Distortion.

xsheedyx told me that he bought an 2005/2006 year LTD EC-400 WITH 59' at the neck, and the SH-6 Duncan Distortion at the bridge.

Usually as we all know, Seymour Duncan pickups have the model number on a sticker at the rear right? xsheedyx claims that he peeled out the sticker because it was covering the poles.

So, after buying the SH-6 from him, I didn't get to test it or look at it since because I was too busy.

Today my friend was showing off his SH-6 to me, and I was admiring it knowing I had one at home too.. ONLY to realize that my friend's SH-6 (WITH MODEL NUMBER STICKER STILL INTACT)'s pole pieces on the pickups were different than the SH-6 I bought off xsheedyx !

My friend's SH-6 has the lined-pole pieces on the TOP part of the pickups, while the "SH-6" I bought from xsheedyx had the lined-poles on the BOTTOM !

So I have a few questions for you experienced ones in here, hope you can help me out.. smile.gif Because as some of you may know, this isn't the 1st case that someone bought a pickup from xsheedyx, only to realize that it's not the model that xsheedyx first claimed it was.

So hope you all can just help me out here to clarify. Only two questions. Thanks!

1) What pickup do you think this is below? (Honestly, it looks like an SH-4 JB model, to me and some others.)

2) Did the LTD EC-400 year 2005/2006 guitar came with a 59' @ neck and SH-6 @ bridge?

That is all I wish to know, I just need to clarify that's all. Hope nobody gets heated up by this because I have my rights to find out whether I was cheated into buying something I didn't intend to buy.

Bassix
post Sep 18 2007, 11:17 PM

-----
1,171 posts

the only difference i ever found was the output. But I don't see it anywhere on the PU. I think the SH6 has 16.6 k and the SH4 has 16.2 or something like that.

about the line pole pieces, i checked seymour duncans website and the picture there also has line poles at the bottom. But so does the sh4

so in other words, i have no idea tongue.gif but i hope it helped in whatever way laugh.gif

also the 6 has different magnets or something. Can't really remember. Stop looking at duncans a long time ago tongue.gif
TSskindred
post Sep 18 2007, 11:43 PM

283 posts

The most annoying part is, I really wanted an SH-6 duncan distortion, nothing else. Imagine you bought a chicken at a shop. When you go home you compare a turkey and a chicken only to realize you actually bought a turkey. Won't you be annoyed? .....................................

But anyway, this pic below is my friend's REAL SH-6 Duncan Distortion pickup I was looking at today. (WITH MODEL NUMBER STICKER BEHIND STILL INTACT)

Notice the difference with this one and the one I bought from xsheedyx posted in my first post?

The one annoying thing about SD pickups are that sometimes they look identical, UNLESS somebody peels out the model number sticker at the back... Old trick eh?

This post has been edited by skindred: Jan 12 2008, 01:21 PM
Everdying
post Sep 19 2007, 12:40 AM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

omg, its so damn obvious that the polepieces on top is a neck pickup...while the other is a bridge pickup.
as for knowing what model it is, well SD doesnt have that many humbuckers...so just measure the output and see which matches.
TSskindred
post Sep 19 2007, 12:47 AM

283 posts

Oh yes ar?

Ok .. Tnx, that was also what I was told recently .. about the pole pieces top neck position, pole pieces down bridge position..

But damn worrying lah, because xsheedyx claims that the SH-6 he sold came from a LTD EC-400 05'/06' model..

EC-400 05'/06' model really did came with an SH-6 ?

Added on September 19, 2007, 12:49 amSucks man, next time dont wanna buy seymour duncan pups 2nd hand ady lah, especially if the model number sticker has been peeled off.

Can't even differentciate with some other SD pups.

This post has been edited by skindred: Sep 19 2007, 12:49 AM
SweetTooth
post Sep 19 2007, 02:17 AM

2,650 posts

i wouldnt trust sheedy, he tried to con me last time too.
claimed he was selling emg hz h4's which he got from an F250, he said he bought it 6 months ago but ESP stopped putting in HZ's in them since the past 3 years dry.gif

he never replied ever again after i said that.
my advice? stay away from him. trying to rip people off quite a few times liao
TSskindred
post Sep 19 2007, 02:26 AM

283 posts

Aih, regret la buying based on trust.

I still have xsheedyx sms from this evening. When I said about ec-400 don't come with SH-6.. He claims that the specs online of the EC-400 is the newest LTD EC series, and did I checked the ESP/LTD 2005/2006 catalogue or not.. Because he say 2005/2006 LTD EC-400 came with 59' and SH-6 .. wtf.

I just found out EC-400 never had Duncan Distortion in them before, it has always been 59'/JB or EMG pups in them..

Damn bullshit man.

This evening I sms-ed him 2 times, after I wanted to inquire somemore about how he got the so-called "SH-6" .. He never replied already.

I already heard that last time xsheedyx sold someone some other pup, but actually it's some other pup.

I was very skeptical when I met up with him to view the pup, but then I just bought it from him based on trust.

Until today only baru I realized something was really wrong with his explaination of the pup and all.

Either xsheedyx is a real noob in the goods he sell, or well, like u said la.. con man.

Added on September 19, 2007, 2:34 amIf this is really an SH-6 then bagus lah, if it's not, tengok lah.

This post has been edited by skindred: Sep 19 2007, 02:34 AM
SweetTooth
post Sep 19 2007, 02:42 AM

2,650 posts

esp never ever put SH-6 in ANY of their guitars. yes, sheedy is indeed untrustable. steer clear of him everyone!
Everdying
post Sep 19 2007, 09:09 AM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

yea well, xsheedyx i heard doesnt know about the stuff hes selling.
i heard from reliable sources that even the Gibson SG Standard xsheedyx is selling for RM3k does not have original pickups in it, tho of cos sheedy doesnt mention that anywhere in his post.
gapnap
post Sep 19 2007, 12:45 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(SweetTooth @ Sep 19 2007, 02:42 AM)
esp never ever put SH-6 in ANY of their guitars. yes, sheedy is indeed untrustable. steer clear of him everyone!
they had ....

EC -400 ..then i dono lor..

ei Eu gene..just check the DC resistance la..
TSskindred
post Sep 19 2007, 01:13 PM

283 posts

Hmm.. The only guitar I know with the SH-6 is Wayne Static's signature model.

Wah everydying u also tau ya.. lol
RustReaver4D1
post Sep 19 2007, 05:49 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(gapnap @ Sep 19 2007, 12:45 PM)
they had ....

EC -400 ..then i dono lor..

ei Eu gene..just check the DC resistance la..
Ok, picture of SH-6 from the SD website:

and the SH-4:

...is it just me or do they look the same? blink.gif

...checking the DC resistance is probably the only way to be sure mate... icon_rolleyes.gif
ataris
post Sep 19 2007, 06:18 PM

Eyes of a Gamer
1,635 posts

hmmm, never saw it before.
gapnap
post Sep 19 2007, 10:26 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(RustReaver4D1 @ Sep 19 2007, 05:49 PM)
Ok, picture of SH-6 from the SD website:

and the SH-4:

...is it just me or do they look the same?  blink.gif

...checking the DC resistance is probably the only way to be sure mate...  icon_rolleyes.gif
yeap..thats a good point ..

The best way to see a Seymour Duncan is by the DC ...cause ..(after so many duncans i saw )

they are damn inconsistent with their appearance ..

1 day..you buy a USED Seymour Duncan JB ..with the words "seymour duncan" on the pickup
then you go to the shop...brand new is without those words ..

Dimarzios , however , are easier to tell ..they do differentiate the pole pieces
led_zep_freak
post Sep 20 2007, 12:05 AM

5,231 posts

Have you tried the Duncan forum? Even after a DC test that you doubt the identity of the pickup, you can always seek for further help there. I'm sure the SD experts could offer great help as they have better experience and knowledge.

Good luck with the DC tests. thumbup.gif
aceejay
post Sep 21 2007, 05:24 AM

the wah-wah jimi !
972 posts

both looks totally the same .. unlike marzios tongue.gif
sean392
post Sep 21 2007, 08:15 AM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(skindred @ Sep 18 2007, 11:43 PM)
The most annoying part is, I really wanted an SH-6 duncan distortion, nothing else. Imagine you bought a chicken at a shop. When you go home you compare a turkey and a chicken only to realize you actually bought a turkey. Won't you be annoyed? .....................................
But anyway, this pic below is my friend's REAL SH-6 Duncan Distortion pickup I was looking at today. (WITH MODEL NUMBER STICKER BEHIND STILL INTACT)

Notice the difference with this one and the one I bought from xsheedyx posted in my first post?
The one annoying thing about SD pickups are that sometimes they look identical, UNLESS somebody peels out the model number sticker at the back... Old trick eh?
This really looks like a neck pickup =/
maybe its a neck version of the sh6?
Heh, I wouldn't know

Get a multimeter and check the DC ratings.
sh6 should be pretty high at 16+ k
tropiccana
post Oct 8 2007, 10:59 PM

24 posts

DC rating do tell which pickups it refer to....i own both sh-4 (neck) and sh-6 (bridge)

0.0221sec    0.65    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 09:57 PM