Unlimited 5G plan

p4n6
post May 16 2022, 07:15 AM

5,968 posts

My YES 5G sim expired and they dont allow me to reactivate, cannot get another free sim since already reg before … previously my area no 5G now with 5G, sim expired… anyway to reactivate without paying for new line?
p4n6
post May 16 2022, 07:36 AM

5,968 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ May 16 2022, 07:33 AM)
If expired after the 50 days Grace Period, then, cannot revive anymore.

How many free SIMs have been used/registered?
I think more than 50 days cause i register in Feb back then no 5G coverage cant use but recently my friend said can use so i try the sim but total no signal even for LTE.

I try to register another free sim but said i have prior registered so not eligible anymore.
p4n6
post May 16 2022, 10:43 AM

5,968 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ May 16 2022, 10:36 AM)
When activating the second SIM, login to the YES Android App using the 1st YES ID/SIM. U still remember the ID and password of the 1st SIM? If not remember password, then, cannot proceed anymore.
How i get the second sim?

When i login the account for first sim on the app, it says acct does not exist.
p4n6
post May 16 2022, 01:41 PM

5,968 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ May 16 2022, 10:50 AM)
Get FREE SIM from : https://firstto5g.yes.my/Register/DiscoverFT5G

Forget about the 1st SIM/ID. Get the above and re-start a-fresh...
I tried that it said not eligible as myKad already registered before for the free sim.
p4n6
post Oct 10 2022, 07:05 PM

5,968 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Oct 10 2022, 06:32 PM)
not correct about the part where parliament dissolved 5G will put on hold. 5G can go on as deals have been finalized within CDMU and DNB
The boss and head for mof and mcmc (the owner of DNB) may change so may have different direction how 5G shall be launched in Malaysia. Saw Budget 2023 also has billion ringgit allocation for DNB which totally unnecessary if new cabinet decides to sell DNB to telco 100% altogether save the money and make it fully own by private …
p4n6
post May 3 2023, 11:50 AM

5,968 posts

QUOTE(GOPI56 @ Apr 16 2023, 10:20 PM)
In my opinion, staying with DNB is the best option for 5G deployment in Malaysia. Creating a second player will only cause more confusion in the current sticky situation.

See the progress that has been made by DNB for 5G deployment, it is quite good actually for a quite new company.

Regarding the lack of a 5G signal inside the building or basement, DNB needs to receive approval from the building management to install the indoor 5G networking devices. This do takes time.
Singapore has 2 telcos sharing infrastructure so they have 2 infra providers - DWN. Provide balance between quality and competition.

I observed DNB 5G is faked by the LTE 700mhz in fact in most area it does not come with actual 5G speed (the high speed 300-400Mbps). By using Ookla speed test it will debunk whether is really 5G or 4G. The icon on the phone can show 5G but in reality is actually 4G.

DNB faking the 5G coverage to public declaring the 5G coverage which in fact is the LTE not the 5G.

Fake 5G and Real 5G … if look at the coverage today actually is over reported.
p4n6
post Jul 1 2023, 10:23 AM

5,968 posts

QUOTE(luqman98x @ Jun 29 2023, 04:55 PM)
It should be under Telephony tab > BandMode > choose which SIM slot

To lock to LTE B28 only, untick LTE B1/B3/B7/B8 (Celcom/Digi/Maxis/U Mobile) or LTE B5/B38/B40 (unifi) or LTE B20/38/40/41 (Yes) and tap on "Set" at bottom left. Always remember to "Reset to default" as some phones doesn't reset the lock even after rebooting
For testing is okay but once disable all the LTE bands, when you move out of the 4G B28 coverage, you will only get 2G.

By right we do not need to force to B28 to get 5G, they should have mechanism to put it as priority if in coverage or allowed by Telco.
p4n6
post Aug 15 2023, 07:27 PM

5,968 posts

QUOTE(AlphaOmega001 @ Aug 15 2023, 07:20 PM)
Anyone here with china set phones can detect 5G network ?

I have a Xiaomi 12s ultra and upgraded my maxis postplan today, only to find out that my phone can't detect Malaysia 5g network
That is why need to buy local sets … those foreign phone esp china and US set are custom for the country operators, when brought outside wont work …

0.0763sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:28 AM