6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Unlimited 5G plan

TSGold_Moderator
post Dec 14 2021, 09:07 PM, updated 2y ago

3,097 posts

YTL Communications, the company behind the Yes telco earlier today has revealed that it will be rolling out 5G services soon through a media invite for a launch event that will take place tomorrow. At the same time, we have discovered that the company has since added a dedicated section for 5G on its website.

Through the new section, YTL has further revealed that 5G services will be made available to both Yes prepaid and postpaid customers. That being said, not all Yes plans will have access to 5G though.

The new 5G section only listed two Yes plans which include the Yes Prepaid FT5G and Yes Postpaid FT5G plans which are essentially the 5G derivative of the telco’s existing Kasi Up Prepaid Unlimited and Kasi Up Postpaid 49, respectively.

Hence, you can see that both FT5G prepaid and postpaid plans still carry the same traits from their Kasi Up twins. The only difference is that subscribers of these plans will also be able to access 5G when they are within the coverage areas in Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya, and Cyberjaya.

sos

This post has been edited by Gold_Moderator: Dec 14 2021, 09:08 PM
piglover
post Dec 15 2021, 09:12 AM

1,095 posts

How is Yes 4G coverage outside KL?
JLA
post Dec 15 2021, 09:38 AM

2,772 posts

QUOTE(piglover @ Dec 15 2021, 09:12 AM)
How is Yes 4G coverage outside KL?
buy yes RM1 sim card and try youself
YES Kasi Up Prepaid 15 (10GB/30 Days Validity)
some vivo oppo realme may have problem because some model missing band 20

sharpman
post Dec 15 2021, 11:43 AM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

I have signed up for the YES Prepaid FT5G RM30. now waiting my simcard to arrive tentatively this Friday 17 Dec.

Then on weekend i will go around KLCC, Putrajaya and Cyberjaya to test 5G.

Can't wait
sharpman
post Dec 15 2021, 11:56 AM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

Guys, now we have a clear 5G coverage map in Malaysia courtesy of YES: https://www.yes.my/coverage/
Sam Leong
post Dec 15 2021, 11:58 AM

665 posts

DNB has launch a 5G coverage map and supported device list :

https://www.digital-nasional.com.my/interactive-map#map

Sadly Apple device still doesnt support
sharpman
post Dec 15 2021, 12:31 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

Apparently my house in Ampang is covered! can't wait for my YES sim to arrive to validate the 5G map
TSGold_Moderator
post Dec 15 2021, 01:55 PM

3,097 posts

QUOTE(Sam Leong @ Dec 15 2021, 11:58 AM)

Need to change new SIM card ?
dannygeni
post Dec 15 2021, 01:58 PM

1,804 posts

anyone test already? working?
HippyTony
post Dec 15 2021, 02:07 PM

1,053 posts

QUOTE(Sam Leong @ Dec 15 2021, 11:58 AM)

Why do you say Apple device doesn’t support 5G? From iPhone 12 or later they are all 5G phones.
sharpman
post Dec 15 2021, 02:07 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(Gold_Moderator @ Dec 15 2021, 01:55 PM)
Need to change new SIM card ?
If based on YES website, their current 4G subscriber just need to contact YES Customer Service to change their plan to 5G. So I guess no need to change SIM Card
MyProLife
post Dec 15 2021, 02:09 PM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,066 posts

QUOTE(HippyTony @ Dec 15 2021, 02:07 PM)
Why do you say Apple device doesn’t support 5G? From iPhone 12 or later they are all 5G phones.
Yes 4G for now still not officially fully supports iPhone VoLTE. there is no details yet on VoNR for DNB 5g network
luqman98x
post Dec 15 2021, 02:17 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(MyProLife @ Dec 15 2021, 02:09 PM)
Yes 4G for now still not officially fully supports iPhone VoLTE. there is no details yet on VoNR for DNB 5g network

VoNR needs 5G SA network afaik, DNB operates in NSA right now
sharpman
post Dec 15 2021, 02:18 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

it takes time to be compatible to specific 5G in Malaysia, the phone itself supports 5G out of the box.

same case like VOLTE, telcos take time to make it compatible to all the phones
TSGold_Moderator
post Dec 15 2021, 02:24 PM

3,097 posts

Just placed my order
TSGold_Moderator
post Dec 15 2021, 02:25 PM

3,097 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Dec 15 2021, 02:07 PM)
If based on YES website, their current 4G subscriber just need to contact YES Customer Service to change their plan to 5G. So I guess no need to change SIM Card
Kasi up plan will be auto upgrade to unlimited 5G plan ?
TSGold_Moderator
post Dec 15 2021, 02:30 PM

3,097 posts

Funny, prepaid plan look better
TSGold_Moderator
post Dec 15 2021, 02:38 PM

3,097 posts

https://site.yes.my/supported-devices/

So sad, I’m apple user.
sharpman
post Dec 15 2021, 02:42 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(Gold_Moderator @ Dec 15 2021, 02:24 PM)

Just placed my order
you are using iPhone, interesting to see whether your iPhone can support DNB's 5G or not.

Because according to DNB website, iPhone is not yet supported
Oltromen Ripot
post Dec 15 2021, 02:48 PM

👍 999999 person Likes this member
4,034 posts

remember... it's either

unlimited speed for capped quota, OR,

unlimited quota for capped speed.

sharpman
post Dec 15 2021, 02:59 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ Dec 15 2021, 02:48 PM)
remember... it's either

unlimited speed for capped quota, OR,

unlimited quota for capped speed.
i will validate your statement once I got my YES 5G simcard to test
mlamlam
post Dec 15 2021, 03:05 PM

652 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Dec 15 2021, 02:59 PM)
5G data currently is both because DNB is offering free to telco

sharpman
post Dec 15 2021, 03:12 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(mlamlam @ Dec 15 2021, 03:05 PM)
5G data currently is both because DNB is offering free to telco
i am hopeful that it will be uncapped and unlimited at the same time as well.

I just want to validate that guy's statement
mlamlam
post Dec 15 2021, 03:22 PM

652 posts

anyone knows anyway to upgrade current prepaid card to Yes 5G unlimited?

I so far only find RM49 that plan in my app only.
sharpman
post Dec 15 2021, 03:23 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(mlamlam @ Dec 15 2021, 03:22 PM)
anyone knows anyway to upgrade current prepaid card to Yes 5G unlimited?

I so far only find RM49 that plan in my app only.
try chat / email / call

I am curious too whether current Yes 4G subscriber need new sim card or not
theGOne
post Dec 15 2021, 03:32 PM

123 posts

Able to select phone number if you buy the SIM card (YES Prepaid FT5G RM30) from YES website?

sharpman
post Dec 15 2021, 03:33 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(theGOne @ Dec 15 2021, 03:32 PM)
Able to select phone number if you buy the SIM card (YES Prepaid FT5G RM30) from YES website?
Unfortunately no, you will know your new phone number once the SIM card arrives
theGOne
post Dec 15 2021, 03:36 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Dec 15 2021, 03:33 PM)
Icic. May I know is your phone in the DNB website supported list?
sharpman
post Dec 15 2021, 03:42 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(theGOne @ Dec 15 2021, 03:36 PM)
Icic. May I know is your phone in the DNB website supported list?
Yes, my phone is in the list: Samsung S21 Ultra 5G
theGOne
post Dec 15 2021, 04:00 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Dec 15 2021, 03:42 PM)
Yes, my phone is in the list: Samsung S21 Ultra 5G
Ok, thanks. Mine will be in Q1 2022. So have to wait before can try out.
dannygeni
post Dec 15 2021, 04:34 PM

1,804 posts

Samsung Galaxy S21 series are the only Samsung made phones supported by the Malaysia 5G network. Other Samsung 5G smartphones will not work right now.
Even the RM6k-RM7k Samsung Galaxy Fold3 is not yet certified for Malaysia 5G despite it being a flagship phone.
Apple 5G iPhones are also not compatible at the moment.
DNB is hoping to make these and a long list of other smartphones to work with its 5G network by/in January 2022.
Xiaomi has the most number of supported models for Malaysia 5G right now.

lol

Oltromen Ripot
post Dec 15 2021, 04:46 PM

4,034 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Dec 15 2021, 02:59 PM)
QUOTE(sharpman @ Dec 15 2021, 03:12 PM)

waaah like picking a fight 😂

anyway, it's stated there, 5G unlimited only until certain date. 4G unlimited BUT capped 7Mbps.
theGOne
post Dec 15 2021, 04:48 PM

123 posts

Well, if they capped the speed for 5G to 7Mbps, that would mean users won't see any difference between 4G and 5G

Oltromen Ripot
post Dec 15 2021, 05:28 PM

4,034 posts

QUOTE(theGOne @ Dec 15 2021, 04:48 PM)
Well, if they capped the speed for 5G to 7Mbps, that would mean users won't see any difference between 4G and 5G
- unlimited 4G data**
- unlimited 5G data*

** capped at 7Mbps.
* only available in selected geography; if outside coverage, will fallback to 4G data.
TSGold_Moderator
post Dec 15 2021, 05:36 PM

3,097 posts

Up to 7mbps.
The speed of 4G. Just named packet as 5G.

TSGold_Moderator
post Dec 15 2021, 05:38 PM

3,097 posts

QUOTE(dannygeni @ Dec 15 2021, 04:34 PM)
Samsung Galaxy S21 series are the only Samsung made phones supported by the Malaysia 5G network. Other Samsung 5G smartphones will not work right now.
Even the RM6k-RM7k Samsung Galaxy Fold3 is not yet certified for Malaysia 5G despite it being a flagship phone.
Apple 5G iPhones are also not compatible at the moment.
DNB is hoping to make these and a long list of other smartphones to work with its 5G network by/in January 2022.
Xiaomi has the most number of supported models for Malaysia 5G right now.
lol
Apple is the most easy support machines. Idk why iPhones not in the list. Mostly all apps exclusive to apple first just like clubhouse , hearthstone , infinity blade etc.
TSGold_Moderator
post Dec 15 2021, 05:46 PM

3,097 posts

5G speed is from 50mbps to 20Gbps right?
7mbps not even top speed in 4G .
TSGold_Moderator
post Dec 15 2021, 05:49 PM

3,097 posts

Post paid do have unlimited call in fine print.

Marketing manager never check before publish. Lol .
Gaji buta.
TSGold_Moderator
post Dec 15 2021, 05:51 PM

3,097 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Dec 15 2021, 03:23 PM)
try chat / email / call

I am curious too whether current Yes 4G subscriber need new sim card or not

Just contact cs will do. Yes cs is the best. Must fully utilise all the cs.
Oltromen Ripot
post Dec 15 2021, 06:02 PM

4,034 posts

QUOTE(Gold_Moderator @ Dec 15 2021, 05:38 PM)
Apple is the most easy support machines. Idk why iPhones not in the list. Mostly all apps exclusive to apple first just like clubhouse , hearthstone , infinity blade etc.
It's not because iPhones not already capable.
It's because Apple, being the control freak and "what can i get out of this", makes it a requirement that they need to push authorisation to use this feature of iPhones.

Sad facts of iPhones.
Your iPhones are not truly, freely yours.
4G was a string.
VoLTE was a string.
5G also a string.

This post has been edited by Oltromen Ripot: Dec 15 2021, 06:05 PM
mlamlam
post Dec 15 2021, 06:54 PM

652 posts

QUOTE(Gold_Moderator @ Dec 15 2021, 05:38 PM)
Actually not, VoLTE, VoNR, 5G and all those stuff need Carrier Profiler and validated by Apple first, then only appear in the Setting page.
shaktiv8
post Dec 15 2021, 06:57 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ Dec 15 2021, 06:02 PM)
It's not because iPhones not already capable.
It's because Apple, being the control freak and "what can i get out of this", makes it a requirement that they need to push authorisation to use this feature of iPhones.

Sad facts of iPhones.
Your iPhones are not truly, freely yours.
4G was a string.
VoLTE was a string.
5G also a string.
Why are you hating on apple for wanting to confirm that their phones will run as good as they expect on the networks ? I think it’s much better.

I remember using my iPhone that is “not truly mine” with apple CarPlay for years before your beloved android that “is truly yours” enabled it for Malaysian users even when Singaporeans and Indonesians had it much longer before it

Kok
sharpman
post Dec 15 2021, 08:28 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

why this is becoming Apple vs Android fight?

let's focus on the topic guys: 5G
KCY3701
post Dec 15 2021, 09:28 PM

On My Way to Level 50
633 posts

So, here we are in page 3, and no one has a 5G sim to test yet?
TSGold_Moderator
post Dec 15 2021, 10:36 PM

3,097 posts

QUOTE(KCY3701 @ Dec 15 2021, 09:28 PM)
ya. all about paper talk.
next week we might able to talk about 7mbps 5G experience.
TSGold_Moderator
post Dec 15 2021, 10:39 PM

3,097 posts

QUOTE(shaktiv8 @ Dec 15 2021, 06:57 PM)
Why are you hating on apple for wanting to confirm that their phones will run as good as they expect on the networks ? I think it’s much better.

I remember using my iPhone that is “not truly mine” with apple CarPlay for years before your beloved android that “is truly yours” enabled it for Malaysian users even when Singaporeans and Indonesians had it much longer before it

Kok
sigh, apple pay dont know when will come to Malaysia
azhar75
post Dec 15 2021, 11:13 PM

17,218 posts

Opera or Wayang Kulit....?

#5G_is_fake

This post has been edited by azhar75: Dec 15 2021, 11:13 PM
TSGold_Moderator
post Dec 15 2021, 11:55 PM

3,097 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Dec 15 2021, 11:13 PM)
Opera or Wayang Kulit....?

#5G_is_fake
what? DNB just formed 8 months ago? YTL gonna cover 85% 5G thru out Malaysia within 2 years?
come on, xmas not started yet, dont bring us first april too soon.

7mbps 5G speed?

This post has been edited by Gold_Moderator: Dec 15 2021, 11:59 PM
TSGold_Moderator
post Dec 16 2021, 12:02 AM

3,097 posts

TSGold_Moderator
post Dec 16 2021, 12:08 AM

3,097 posts

open signal mobile network comparison

the sixth telco won. congratulations.
MyProLife
post Dec 16 2021, 08:14 AM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,066 posts

I got yes sim, yes sim can easily enable 5g if contact yes customer service (email)

But still need 5g compatible semakfon and only in selected area KL/putrajaya or cyberjaya

Wait for few days to see. I dun have 5g phone to test
mlamlam
post Dec 16 2021, 08:43 AM

652 posts

Actually I did a network search on 12th Dec in Cyberjaya because I staycation there, no 5G signal is found, probably not yet switch on the network.

I had Maxis Hotlink, Yes 4G and Digi Prepaid, all of them are providing excellent speed in Cyberjaya outdoor area and in my hotel room, first time to see Yes 4G deliver 80-120Mbps using it's 2600Mhz frequency without LTE-A, for Maxis and Digi the speed can be up to 140Mbps with LTE 2CA, upload speed also can reach nearly 80Mbps as well.

Latency is around 15-30ms while jitter is less than 10ms.

So during the staycation I didn't use Hotel Wifi at all :-)

This post has been edited by mlamlam: Dec 16 2021, 08:44 AM
JLA
post Dec 16 2021, 08:46 AM

2,772 posts

QUOTE(Gold_Moderator @ Dec 16 2021, 12:08 AM)
open signal mobile network comparison

the sixth telco won. congratulations.
#0penSignal_is_fake

After so many years YES 4G still missing

This post has been edited by JLA: Dec 16 2021, 09:46 AM
sharpman
post Dec 16 2021, 09:25 AM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

z

I fulfill all the requirements (Phone supported and location covered)

all that is left is for my YES 5G simcard to arrive and then I will be happy to report in here how's the speed and everything
azhar75
post Dec 16 2021, 09:56 AM

17,218 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Dec 16 2021, 09:25 AM)
z

I fulfill all the requirements (Phone supported and location covered)

all that is left is for my YES 5G simcard to arrive and then I will be happy to report in here how's the speed and everything
No need to test... edy got Wayang Kulit online...LOL...

#5G_is_fake

Don't forget to bring along camping set to camp near to tiang 5G....

During mid-nite, Kuching will panjat that tiang 5G and copet the 5G to sell at besi buruk...LOL...

#Harga_besi_buruk_naik_tahun_2022

Ooppsss... kena edit vix nih next time...

This post has been edited by azhar75: Dec 16 2021, 10:08 AM
andrekua2
post Dec 16 2021, 10:09 AM

13,468 posts

QUOTE(Gold_Moderator @ Dec 15 2021, 02:30 PM)

Funny, prepaid plan look better
5G capped at 7Mbps... apa gunanya 5G kalau nak cap @7Mbps???
sharpman
post Dec 16 2021, 10:10 AM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Dec 16 2021, 10:09 AM)
5G capped at 7Mbps... apa gunanya 5G kalau nak cap @7Mbps???
another one with comprehension problem.

The 4G speed is capped at 7 Mbps for the prepaid plan.

The 5G speed is not mentioned whether any capping will be done
sharpman
post Dec 16 2021, 10:12 AM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Dec 16 2021, 09:56 AM)

#5G_is_fake

During mid-nite, Kuching will panjat that tiang 5G and copet the 5G to sell at besi buruk...LOL...

continue with your sarcasm.. go on
azhar75
post Dec 16 2021, 10:13 AM

17,218 posts

There is no speed throttling and FUP quota for YES "early-bird" promo... enjoy the FOC 5G service until 31st March 2022...

Guaranteed DL speed is 100Mbps indoor (if 5G "hand-shake" is solid)...

This post has been edited by azhar75: Dec 16 2021, 10:36 AM
andrekua2
post Dec 16 2021, 10:19 AM

13,468 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Dec 16 2021, 10:10 AM)
another one with comprehension problem.

The 4G speed is capped at 7 Mbps for the prepaid plan.

The 5G speed is not mentioned whether any capping will be done
Ah... my bad...

Need to zoom in to see the asterisk...
TSGold_Moderator
post Dec 16 2021, 11:27 AM

3,097 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Dec 16 2021, 09:56 AM)

#5G_is_fake

open signal is fake. keep on ignore yes. YTL

sckham
post Dec 16 2021, 11:40 AM

1,396 posts

Why dont they just focus on stable 4G line?!
azhar75
post Dec 16 2021, 12:01 PM

17,218 posts

4G is too congested (sambil menjeling kat Axiata...) ... better deploy 5G ASAP to reduce the congestion (in high populated areas...)

Let's wait the "promise" to offer "cheaper" 5G plans/rates by all telcos...

In the meantime, "early birds" will enjoy FREE unlimited FUP quota and 100Mbps guaranteed DL speed of YES 5G offering until 31st March 2022.... whoever working/staying inside the coverage area, should grab this "early birds" offer...

This post has been edited by azhar75: Dec 16 2021, 12:07 PM
sharpman
post Dec 16 2021, 03:00 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

Update: YES have shipped out my 5G simcard.

They are using Ninja Van, so I am a bit skeptical whether it will arrive tomorrow. Had a few orders via Ninja Van always arrived late
dannygeni
post Dec 16 2021, 03:46 PM

1,804 posts

still nobody got speedtest? lol
TSGold_Moderator
post Dec 16 2021, 06:56 PM

3,097 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Dec 16 2021, 03:00 PM)
Update: YES have shipped out my 5G simcard.

They are using Ninja Van, so I am a bit skeptical whether it will arrive tomorrow. Had a few orders via Ninja Van always arrived late
how to check ya?
TSGold_Moderator
post Dec 16 2021, 06:58 PM

3,097 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Dec 16 2021, 12:01 PM)
4G is too congested (sambil menjeling kat Axiata...) ... better deploy 5G ASAP to reduce the congestion (in high populated areas...)

Let's wait the "promise" to offer "cheaper" 5G plans/rates by all telcos...

In the meantime, "early birds" will enjoy FREE unlimited FUP quota and 100Mbps guaranteed DL speed of YES 5G offering until 31st March 2022.... whoever working/staying inside the coverage area, should grab this "early birds" offer...
ya. hopefully they dont ting tong the fine print later.
azhar75
post Dec 16 2021, 08:45 PM

17,218 posts

#Simbol_Asterisk_adalah_budaya_kita
Neptern
post Dec 16 2021, 08:58 PM

518 posts

Waiting for my sim card to arrive as well.
sharpman
post Dec 16 2021, 11:44 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(Gold_Moderator @ Dec 16 2021, 06:56 PM)
how to check ya?
you should receive an email stating that your simcard is on the way with a tracking number

aku_dia
post Dec 17 2021, 07:37 AM

1,041 posts

must use their new sim to get 5G?
akhito
post Dec 17 2021, 07:41 AM

745 posts

QUOTE(aku_dia @ Dec 17 2021, 07:37 AM)
of course 5G need need sim that support, ur phone modem support and infra
aku_dia
post Dec 17 2021, 07:44 AM

1,041 posts

QUOTE(akhito @ Dec 17 2021, 07:41 AM)
of course 5G need need sim that support, ur phone modem support and infra
oh... got device already, but now have to find new sim...
sharpman
post Dec 17 2021, 08:56 AM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(aku_dia @ Dec 17 2021, 07:44 AM)
oh... got device already, but now have to find new sim...
what is your handphone make and model?

need to make sure your handphone supported in the DNB list
JLA
post Dec 17 2021, 09:12 AM

2,772 posts

QUOTE(aku_dia @ Dec 17 2021, 07:37 AM)
Existing Yes customers can make the switch to the 5G plans, however, you’ll need to switch to a new SIM. The only way to do so is by dropping an email to yescare [@] yes.my.

Unfortunately, the Yes Prepaid FT5G is only offered to new customers. If you’re an existing Yes prepaid subscriber and wish to keep your number, you must upgrade to the Yes Postpaid FT5G RM49 option and you can only do so over the counter.

You can’t get the 5G-enabled SIM in store
Following the launch of Yes 5G service yesterday, we went to a Yes store at Lot 10 hoping to get a prepaid starter pack. Unfortunately, the Prepaid SIMs are not available at the store and the only way to pick up a 5G-enabled SIM is to order online via their website.

https://soyacincau.com/2021/12/16/yes-5g-fi...unlimited-data/
halfdevil
post Dec 17 2021, 09:38 AM

100 posts

Anyone know what are the 5G bands that use by DNB/Yes? n28 & n78? Using a China phone, not sure able to use the 5G or not.

This post has been edited by halfdevil: Dec 17 2021, 09:45 AM
luqman98x
post Dec 17 2021, 09:45 AM

606 posts

QUOTE(halfdevil @ Dec 17 2021, 09:38 AM)
Anyone know what are the 5G bands that use by DNB/Yes? Using a China phone, not sure able to use the 5G or not.

Currently DNB uses n78 3500MHz

The phone also must support LTE band 28 700MHz as anchor band/control plane because DNB currently operates 5G NSA (non-standalone network), which relies on 4G LTE to operate
halfdevil
post Dec 17 2021, 10:03 AM

100 posts

QUOTE(luqman98x @ Dec 17 2021, 09:45 AM)
Currently DNB uses n78 3500MHz

The phone also must support LTE band 28 700MHz as anchor band/control plane because DNB currently operates 5G NSA (non-standalone network), which relies on 4G LTE to operate
Thanks for the info. Too bad my phone only support n78 and missing n28.
luqman98x
post Dec 17 2021, 10:06 AM

606 posts

QUOTE(halfdevil @ Dec 17 2021, 10:03 AM)
Thanks for the info. Too bad my phone only support n78 and missing n28.

I meant LTE band 28, NOT 5G n28 as anchor band

If phone has LTE band 28, it is likely to work on DNB's 5G if the phone also supports 5G n78

This post has been edited by luqman98x: Dec 17 2021, 10:07 AM
luqman98x
post Dec 17 2021, 10:10 AM

606 posts

Context from this video: https://youtu.be/rjJNyoojuQw

That's how I figured out DNB operates in NSA mode

halfdevil
post Dec 17 2021, 10:18 AM

100 posts

QUOTE(luqman98x @ Dec 17 2021, 10:06 AM)

If phone has LTE band 28, it is likely to work on DNB's 5G if the phone also supports 5G n78
Thanks again for the further explanation.
My phone do not have LTE band 28 also. sad.gif
aku_dia
post Dec 17 2021, 10:59 AM

1,041 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Dec 17 2021, 08:56 AM)
what is your handphone make and model?

need to make sure your handphone supported in the DNB list
k40 pro plus... didn't see in the list

QUOTE(JLA @ Dec 17 2021, 09:12 AM)
Existing Yes customers can make the switch to the 5G plans, however, you’ll need to switch to a new SIM. The only way to do so is by dropping an email to yescare [@] yes.my.

Unfortunately, the Yes Prepaid FT5G is only offered to new customers. If you’re an existing Yes prepaid subscriber and wish to keep your number, you must upgrade to the Yes Postpaid FT5G RM49 option and you can only do so over the counter.

You can’t get the 5G-enabled SIM in store
Following the launch of Yes 5G service yesterday, we went to a Yes store at Lot 10 hoping to get a prepaid starter pack. Unfortunately, the Prepaid SIMs are not available at the store and the only way to pick up a 5G-enabled SIM is to order online via their website.

https://soyacincau.com/2021/12/16/yes-5g-fi...unlimited-data/
adoi... so leceh... keep using their 4- je la
ASoulNamedLeo
post Dec 17 2021, 11:20 AM

1,026 posts

QUOTE(aku_dia @ Dec 17 2021, 10:59 AM)
k40 pro plus... didn't see in the list
adoi... so leceh... keep using their 4- je la
K40 Pro Plus probably won't get 5G in Malaysia, because telcos and DNB won't provide 5G for devices not officially registered under SIRIM in Malaysia
azhar75
post Dec 17 2021, 11:22 AM

17,218 posts

Let's R O C K ! ! !

#5G_is_fake_is_under_investigation
sharpman
post Dec 17 2021, 11:25 AM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Dec 17 2021, 11:22 AM)
Let's R O C K ! ! !

yeay! activate it and report back to us please how is the speed?
peterscm
post Dec 17 2021, 12:01 PM

388 posts

QUOTE(luqman98x @ Dec 17 2021, 10:06 AM)

Like this can ?

luqman98x
post Dec 17 2021, 12:04 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(peterscm @ Dec 17 2021, 12:01 PM)
Like this can ?

Maybe yes, idk if DNB explicitly only allows devices listed on its website

Maybe someone can try... I'm not in Klang Valley atm and don't have 5G device to test
police_pipupipu
post Dec 17 2021, 12:13 PM

105 posts

How to check phone 4g bands 5g bands? my phone is iqoo 7
JLA
post Dec 17 2021, 12:16 PM

2,772 posts

QUOTE(ASoulNamedLeo @ Dec 17 2021, 11:20 AM)
K40 Pro Plus probably won't get 5G in Malaysia, because telcos and DNB won't provide 5G for devices not officially registered under SIRIM in Malaysia
No idea with 5G and smartphone. But 4G modem dont have sirim mcmc sticker no problem.

I think operator doing IMEI verification check like smartphone plan.
JohnnyWKY
post Dec 17 2021, 01:15 PM

483 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Dec 17 2021, 11:22 AM)
Let's R O C K ! ! !

wow, Kuching fly to KL to test 5G tongue.gif tongue.gif rclxms.gif
azhar75
post Dec 17 2021, 02:02 PM

17,218 posts

sharpman
post Dec 17 2021, 02:03 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Dec 17 2021, 02:02 PM)
where is your speedtest result?
azhar75
post Dec 17 2021, 02:04 PM

17,218 posts

Still "Manipulating"....
luqman98x
post Dec 17 2021, 02:15 PM

606 posts

Anyone with Samsung on DNB's 5G can post screeenshots from ServiceMode (*#0011#)?
sharpman
post Dec 17 2021, 02:39 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(luqman98x @ Dec 17 2021, 02:15 PM)
Anyone with Samsung on DNB's 5G can post screeenshots from ServiceMode (*#0011#)?
I am using S21 Ultra and I have activated my YES 5G simcard.

Unfortunately eventhough from the 5G coverage map says my house is covered, i am still connecting to Yes 4G signal
sharpman
post Dec 17 2021, 02:48 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Dec 17 2021, 02:39 PM)

Unfortunately eventhough from the 5G coverage map says my house is covered, i am still connecting to Yes 4G signal

Update: Apparently YES 5G network under maintenance...
sharpman
post Dec 17 2021, 03:06 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

Picture of my YES 5G simcard package

TSGold_Moderator
post Dec 17 2021, 03:42 PM

3,097 posts

QUOTE(Gold_Moderator @ Dec 15 2021, 02:24 PM)

Just placed my order
i still did not receive any email about my order. very weird. how can i follow up?
theGOne
post Dec 17 2021, 03:43 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Dec 17 2021, 02:48 PM)

Update: Apparently YES 5G network under maintenance...
Do share your review after you tested it. Thanks notworthy.gif
mlamlam
post Dec 17 2021, 04:04 PM

652 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Dec 17 2021, 02:39 PM)

Did you try to do a manual network search and see if there is a Yes 5G network ID in your area?
sharpman
post Dec 17 2021, 04:16 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(mlamlam @ Dec 17 2021, 04:04 PM)
Did you try to do a manual network search and see if there is a Yes 5G network ID in your area?
i did, i didn't find Yes 5G, I found Yes 4G and 1 more unnamed 502159 network but I couldn't connect to it
azhar75
post Dec 17 2021, 05:57 PM

17,218 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Dec 17 2021, 04:16 PM)
i did, i didn't find Yes 5G, I found Yes 4G and 1 more unnamed 502159 network but I couldn't connect to it
Me think ur Sammy is not supported by YES "yet". Filter over here..... Don't use the DNB list. That list are "temporary" or mixed with P1 webe UniFi inventory.
sharpman
post Dec 17 2021, 05:59 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Dec 17 2021, 05:57 PM)
Me think ur Sammy is not supported by YES "yet". Filter over here..... Don't use the DNB list. That list are "temporary" or mixed with P1 webe UniFi inventory.
I am aware that S21 Ultra not in the Yes 5G supported device. but as per my chat with Yes customer service 15 minutes ago, the officer said 5G network is still under maintenance
azhar75
post Dec 17 2021, 06:02 PM

17,218 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Dec 17 2021, 05:59 PM)
I am aware that S21 Ultra not in the Yes 5G supported device. but as per my chat with Yes customer service 15 minutes ago, the officer said 5G network is still under maintenance
Then, me suggest try chat again to DOUBLE TRIPLE check whether the device is CURRENTLY supported by YES-5G infra....most probably his/her answer is "Sorry Sir, the device is CURRENTLY not supported our 5G infra...."
adiyon84
post Dec 17 2021, 07:13 PM

448 posts

Someone already posted in Facebook about his YES 5G.

luqman98x
post Dec 17 2021, 07:16 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Dec 17 2021, 05:59 PM)

Still no 5G?

If not, it seems like DNB/Yes only allows device listed on their website.

This post has been edited by luqman98x: Dec 17 2021, 07:16 PM
sharpman
post Dec 17 2021, 07:16 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(adiyon84 @ Dec 17 2021, 07:13 PM)
Someone already posted in Facebook about his YES 5G.

yeap, I saw this as well.

So I am going to KL City Center shortly to test whether because my S21 Ultra not in the Yes supported device list? or the 5G map coverage of my house is incorrect
sharpman
post Dec 17 2021, 07:19 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(luqman98x @ Dec 17 2021, 07:16 PM)
Still no 5G?

If not, it seems like DNB/Yes only allows device listed on their website.
yeap, I saw the FB post as well.

So I am going to KL City Center shortly to test whether because my S21 Ultra not in the Yes supported device list? or the 5G map coverage of my house is incorrect
luqman98x
post Dec 17 2021, 07:49 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(luqman98x @ Dec 17 2021, 10:10 AM)
Context from this video: https://youtu.be/rjJNyoojuQw

That's how I figured out DNB operates in NSA mode

That guy on Facebook posted screenshots from Network Cell Info Lite, which confirms that DNB is indeed using NSA mode (LTE band 28 as anchor band/control plane)

The only problem is Network Cell Info Lite doesn't support displaying 5G bands/signals

And yes, he also confirms that video streaming is capped at 1.5Mbps like regular YES Kasi Up RM30 plan

This post has been edited by luqman98x: Dec 17 2021, 08:07 PM

sharpman
post Dec 17 2021, 08:54 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

UPDATE

No joy using Yes 5G on my S21 Ultra.

I am at The Gardens right now which supposed to be covered under 5G.

while on the way to The Gardens along the road also no 5G icons.

restarted many times.

looks like I either have to wait Yes to include S21 Ultra or wait my primary telco Maxis to come up with 5G package

ASoulNamedLeo
post Dec 17 2021, 09:06 PM

1,026 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Dec 17 2021, 08:54 PM)
UPDATE

restarted many times.

looks like I either have to wait Yes to include S21 Ultra or wait my primary telco Maxis to come up with 5G package
So sad, the Ultra is supported by DNB, however YES may need some time to enable 5G on the Ultra, hopefully within this week.
luqman98x
post Dec 17 2021, 09:18 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Dec 17 2021, 08:54 PM)
UPDATE

restarted many times.

That sucks... heard somewhere that 5G in Samsung devices sold in Malaysia is disabled via software, it could be the case hmm.gif

Time to wait then......
MyProLife
post Dec 17 2021, 09:28 PM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,066 posts

QUOTE(luqman98x @ Dec 17 2021, 09:18 PM)
That sucks... heard somewhere that 5G in Samsung devices sold in Malaysia is disabled via software, it could be the case  hmm.gif

Time to wait then......
Yes samsung phone need update firmware for add 5g support. This is why most samsung 5g phone are expected only support by next year because SME need work with DNB for firmware support
sharpman
post Dec 17 2021, 10:09 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(MyProLife @ Dec 17 2021, 09:28 PM)
Yes samsung phone need update firmware for add 5g support. This is why most samsung 5g phone are expected only support by next year because SME need work with DNB for firmware support
my phone S21 Ultra already in the DNB supported list. But too bad Yes 5G is not supporting Samsung S21 Ultra yet
LuckyBai
post Dec 17 2021, 10:12 PM

422 posts

QUOTE(ASoulNamedLeo @ Dec 17 2021, 09:06 PM)
So sad, the Ultra is supported by DNB, however YES may need some time to enable 5G on the Ultra, hopefully within this week.
Lol instead of Yes makes it available but they themselves need to wait DNB for that
azhar75
post Dec 17 2021, 10:32 PM

17,218 posts

NSA mode is preferred becoz it is "easier" to deploy and also will be compatible with NSA devices (mostly from BBK like OPPO, Vivo, One+, RealMe, etc).

Devices with Dual 5G Mode (NSA and SA modes) has advantage when travel overseas.

This post has been edited by azhar75: Dec 17 2021, 10:34 PM
DoragonHunter
post Dec 17 2021, 11:24 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(MyProLife @ Dec 17 2021, 09:28 PM)
Yup. Talked to CS and they actually found out that the baseband/firmware doesn't have 5G enabled (although it appears in settings and the secret settings up, samsung have to enable the baseband) and a OTA/Software update has to be pushed to enable it. They aim to push the software update soon.

This post has been edited by DoragonHunter: Dec 17 2021, 11:26 PM
ASoulNamedLeo
post Dec 17 2021, 11:30 PM

1,026 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Dec 17 2021, 10:32 PM)
NSA mode is preferred becoz it is "easier" to deploy and also will be compatible with NSA devices (mostly from BBK like OPPO, Vivo, One+, RealMe, etc).

Devices with Dual 5G Mode (NSA and SA modes) has advantage when travel overseas.
Ooh all the Xiaomi phones have Dual 5G support and they're actually cheaper than the Oppo and Vivos. 😮
azhar75
post Dec 17 2021, 11:33 PM

17,218 posts

QUOTE(ASoulNamedLeo @ Dec 17 2021, 11:30 PM)
Ooh all the Xiaomi phones have Dual 5G support and they're actually cheaper than the Oppo and Vivos. 😮
One of the reason me never buy BBK products....LOL...
mlamlam
post Dec 18 2021, 12:44 AM

652 posts

QUOTE(DoragonHunter @ Dec 17 2021, 11:24 PM)
Yup. Talked to CS and they actually found out that the baseband/firmware doesn't have 5G enabled (although it appears in settings and the secret settings up, samsung have to enable the baseband) and a OTA/Software update has to be pushed to enable it. They aim to push the software update soon.

thats ridiculous
5G is live already in Malaysia, not trial anymore....
if Samsung is not ready 5G in Malaysia, then don't add "5G", or write it down obviously saying that to use 5G needs firmware / baseband upgrade in Malaysia
rather than just saying 5G network is various around the world...

This post has been edited by mlamlam: Dec 18 2021, 12:48 AM
mlamlam
post Dec 18 2021, 12:45 AM

652 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Dec 17 2021, 10:32 PM)

Those NSA mode only phones does not support VoNR....
When DNB do another batch of upgrade later to support VoNR then those user needs to upgrade again.
sharpman
post Dec 18 2021, 01:36 AM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(DoragonHunter @ Dec 17 2021, 11:24 PM)

bro Doragon, you are using S21 Ultra too? or other Samsung model?
adiyon84
post Dec 18 2021, 08:41 AM

448 posts

Another Yes 5G user posted in socmed..

sharpman
post Dec 18 2021, 09:40 AM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(adiyon84 @ Dec 18 2021, 08:41 AM)
Another Yes 5G user posted in socmed..

Again, his device used is in the Yes 5G supported device list
luqman98x
post Dec 18 2021, 09:47 AM

606 posts

Someone already mapped the DNB's LTE anchor band in CellMapper, no 5G data yet. Each sector has 2x20MHz bandwidth, looks like they aren't using 5G n28 yet because DNB only got that much bandwidth for 700MHz

This post has been edited by luqman98x: Dec 18 2021, 09:51 AM

sharpman
post Dec 18 2021, 09:53 AM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(luqman98x @ Dec 18 2021, 09:47 AM)
Someone already mapped the DNB's LTE anchor band in CellMapper, no 5G data yet. Each sector has 2x20MHz bandwidth, looks like they aren't using 5G n28 yet because DNB only got that much bandwidth for 700MHz
So their MNC code is 502159 ! I guess I can confirm that my house is covered because when I did manual network search 502159 appears

This post has been edited by sharpman: Dec 18 2021, 09:53 AM
jasontanky
post Dec 18 2021, 10:26 AM

446 posts

The speed n78 signal is about 10dBm stronger than the B28 anchor signal

The plan RM30 prepaid plan is actually hard capped to 7Mbps when u try to speedtest using different server
luqman98x
post Dec 18 2021, 10:36 AM

606 posts

QUOTE(jasontanky @ Dec 18 2021, 10:26 AM)

The plan RM30 prepaid plan is actually hard capped to 7Mbps when u try to speedtest using different server

Try download something big from Google Play/AppGallery
jasontanky
post Dec 18 2021, 10:48 AM

446 posts

QUOTE(luqman98x @ Dec 18 2021, 10:36 AM)
Try download something big from Google Play/AppGallery
The speed is hardcapped to 7Mbps
jasontanky
post Dec 18 2021, 10:50 AM

446 posts

Old Town White Coffee Taman Kinrara

Once enter Selangor, the 5G coverage ended like around 1km radius

The coverage is still really limited to outdoor Kuala Lumpur for now
mlamlam
post Dec 18 2021, 10:54 AM

652 posts

QUOTE(jasontanky @ Dec 18 2021, 10:26 AM)

so other than speedtest, speed is capped at 7Mbps?
jasontanky
post Dec 18 2021, 10:54 AM

446 posts

QUOTE(mlamlam @ Dec 18 2021, 10:54 AM)
so other than speedtest, speed is capped at 7Mbps?
Yes, including YouTube..Which is not as advertised haha

Literally claimed by the minister, 5G is indeed only sufficient for 1080p haha, 2160p cannot

This post has been edited by jasontanky: Dec 18 2021, 10:57 AM
budi1413
post Dec 18 2021, 10:58 AM

1,607 posts

if they allow people download at uncapped speed

the speed will downgrade

speedtest result will be lower

they dunwan that

luqman98x
post Dec 18 2021, 11:01 AM

606 posts

QUOTE(jasontanky @ Dec 18 2021, 10:48 AM)
The speed is hardcapped to 7Mbps

That sucks then, kenot enjoy full 5G speed
jasontanky
post Dec 18 2021, 11:15 AM

446 posts

Fast
azhar75
post Dec 18 2021, 11:15 AM

17,218 posts

All in all...

#5G_is_PROVEN_to_be_fake
Neptern
post Dec 18 2021, 11:19 AM

518 posts

Streaming speed capped? Then what is the point of 5g? Just faster download speeds?
jasontanky
post Dec 18 2021, 11:20 AM

446 posts

QUOTE(Neptern @ Dec 18 2021, 11:19 AM)
Streaming speed capped? Then what is the point of 5g? Just faster download speeds?
The prepaid is actually hardcapped to 7Mbps regardless of any activity other than Speedtest to Yes server. Fast.com worst capped around 1.5Mbps
Neptern
post Dec 18 2021, 11:27 AM

518 posts

QUOTE(jasontanky @ Dec 18 2021, 11:20 AM)
The prepaid is actually hardcapped to 7Mbps regardless of any activity other than Speedtest to Yes server. Fast.com worst capped around 1.5Mbps
Ok I understand now which kind of sucks. Time to wait for the other telcos to get 5g then. But is using 5g network the surfing experience smoother?

In the meantime, just enjoy speedtest results?

This post has been edited by Neptern: Dec 18 2021, 11:33 AM
mlamlam
post Dec 18 2021, 11:33 AM

652 posts

fast.com powered by Netflix ma, consider streaming :-)
azhar75
post Dec 18 2021, 11:37 AM

17,218 posts

The main purpose for 5G deployment are to reduce congestion, experience lower latency and Network "Slicing"... transmission speed is the last priority...

However, in order to make the speed as number one priority, we, the general public must pay higher in monthly plans...

Let's wait what are the plans and offerings from various telcos on 5G "early-bird" promo...so far, YTL YES FT5G promo is FREE 5G access until 31st March 2022....after that must pay monthly commitment for 5G quota...

Hypothetically,
"Bangsa-atas-awan" plan : RM100/month @ 200GB 5G FUP, 500GB LTE FUP
"Affordable" plan : RM49/month @ 50GB 5G FUP, 100GB LTE FUP

p/s : VPN usage does NOT work for YTL YES FT50....
TSGold_Moderator
post Dec 18 2021, 11:45 AM

3,097 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Dec 18 2021, 11:37 AM)
The main purpose for 5G deployment are to reduce congestion, experience lower latency and Network "Slicing"... transmission speed is the last priority...

However, in order to make the speed as number one priority, we, the general public must pay higher in monthly plans...

Let's wait what are the plans and offerings from various telcos on 5G "early-bird" promo...so far, YTL YES FT5G promo is FREE 5G access until 31st March 2022....after that must pay monthly commitment for 5G quota...

Hypothetically,

Sigh, I don't even receive my 5G SIM card yet. Yes404
azhar75
post Dec 18 2021, 11:48 AM

17,218 posts

QUOTE(Gold_Moderator @ Dec 18 2021, 11:45 AM)
Sigh, I don't even receive my 5G SIM card yet. Yes404
Don't worry... the activation date only started once we put the SIM inside the device and activate using the MyYES app...
mlamlam
post Dec 18 2021, 11:50 AM

652 posts

Hypothetically,

there are many kinds of VPN, all blocked like OpenVPN, Shadowsocks?
I believe they only block popular VPN using standard port only.

Besides, Yes 4G coverage is still not enough, far behind from those big 4 telco, I would only consider to sign up 5G plan from those 4 telcos only.
Yes 4G I am currently using free data from Shopee Only, the speed is terrible because sometimes drop to band 20, and no indoor coverage in KV shopping mall, car park, etc...

This post has been edited by mlamlam: Dec 18 2021, 11:53 AM
azhar75
post Dec 18 2021, 11:52 AM

17,218 posts

QUOTE(mlamlam @ Dec 18 2021, 11:50 AM)
there are many kinds of VPN, all blocked like OpenVPN, Shadowsocks?
I believe they only block popular VPN using standard port only.
Me still "manipulating"....
sharpman
post Dec 18 2021, 12:00 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

Bro Jason, your device is in the Yes 5G supported device list?
dgboy
post Dec 18 2021, 12:04 PM

5,074 posts

so far, YTL YES FT5G promo is FREE 5G access until 31st March 2022....after that must pay monthly commitment for 5G quota...
only free for the telco

users still gotta pay RM30/month

still a good deal while it lasts
Neptern
post Dec 18 2021, 12:06 PM

518 posts

Yes 4g speeds and signal is horrible compared to maxis, which i am using.
SUSforexto1musd
post Dec 18 2021, 12:15 PM

40 posts

Use cheap plan and expect 500mbps
sharpman
post Dec 18 2021, 12:35 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

UPDATE

Now DNB website revises their supported device list.

Samsung S21 Ultra 5G now listed as Upcoming (Q1 2022)

azhar75
post Dec 18 2021, 12:47 PM

17,218 posts

To me the DNB list is "fake"... the final and confirmed list of supported devices will be from each individual telcos becoz they (telco) are the ones that work directly with specific OEMs/phone manufacturers and not DNB...

#DNB_is_Wayang_Kulit's_Director
#Telcos_are_actors_and_actresses_in_Wayang_Kulit_movie
sharpman
post Dec 18 2021, 12:49 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Dec 18 2021, 12:47 PM)
To me the DNB list is "fake"... the final and confirmed list of supported devices will be from each individual telcos becoz they (telco) are the ones that work directly with specific OEMs/phone manufacturers and not DNB...

#DNB_is_Wayang_Kulit's_Director
#Telcos_are_actors_and_actresses_in_Wayang_Kulit_movie
The list by DNB and Yes website now tallies each other... no contradictions
azhar75
post Dec 18 2021, 12:52 PM

17,218 posts

Later, there will be discrepancies again, once all other telcos join (if this is happening...) DNB
jasontanky
post Dec 18 2021, 12:53 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Dec 18 2021, 12:00 PM)
Bro Jason, your device is in the Yes 5G supported device list?
It was my friend's phone. Huawei Nova 7. However unlike Samsung, Huawei does not required 5G provision. Therefore, it doesn't matter as long as the device support that frequency
azhar75
post Dec 18 2021, 12:57 PM

17,218 posts

Who-R-We Nova 7 is in the FT5G list...
azhar75
post Dec 18 2021, 01:37 PM

17,218 posts

QUOTE(dgboy @ Dec 18 2021, 12:04 PM)
only free for the telco

users still gotta pay RM30/month

still a good deal while it lasts
Errr.... that RM30/m is for the 4G Unlimited data and calls to all network... the 5G access and quota is virtually a "free-gift-bundle" until 31st March 2022... after this date, must pay 5G "access"...

Whoever owns the KASI UP PRE-paid plan should terminate this plan and migrate to the FT5G PRE-paid instead...
Sam Leong
post Dec 18 2021, 03:02 PM

665 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Dec 18 2021, 12:35 PM)
UPDATE

Now DNB website revises their supported device list.

Samsung S21 Ultra 5G now listed as Upcoming (Q1 2022)

sadly DNB / Yes is like : idc apple device
I tried contact Apple Support and they told me to contact their hotline for senior advisior which is unavailable because of Saturday / Sunday , guess i need to wait until next week Monday.

They should be able to push the update before iOS 15.2 , just like Maxis VoWiFi / WiFi Calling , not sure why they didn't do this.
mlamlam
post Dec 18 2021, 03:59 PM

652 posts

QUOTE(Sam Leong @ Dec 18 2021, 03:02 PM)
sadly DNB / Yes is like : idc apple device
I tried contact Apple Support and they told me to contact their hotline for senior advisior which is unavailable because of Saturday / Sunday , guess i need to wait until next week Monday.

They should be able to push the update before iOS 15.2 , just like Maxis VoWiFi / WiFi Calling , not sure why they didn't do this.
DNB or Telco needs to pay Apple and Apple will validate and update the Carrier profile

That's why Yes or Unifi does not support VoLTE on Apple phones
luqman98x
post Dec 18 2021, 04:43 PM

606 posts

I think I already saw someone complaining about
getting 5G logo but speeds like 4G, most likely this is why.

https://www.telecomhall.net/t/5g-icon-displ...age-area/9503/4
SUSforexto1musd
post Dec 18 2021, 06:40 PM

40 posts

I want complain too if I can’t buy bentley at vios price
JLA
post Dec 18 2021, 09:29 PM

2,772 posts

#5G_is_fake

azhar75
post Dec 18 2021, 10:07 PM

17,218 posts

budi1413
post Dec 18 2021, 10:38 PM

1,607 posts

do you know why its call trial?
azhar75
post Dec 18 2021, 10:43 PM

17,218 posts

Trial should be like free sample of consumer products. If the free sample doesn't taste good, me don't bother to buy that product...
budi1413
post Dec 18 2021, 10:51 PM

1,607 posts

its beta testing lol
azhar75
post Dec 18 2021, 11:03 PM

17,218 posts

Alamak... keracunan makanan like that...LOL...
luqman98x
post Dec 18 2021, 11:38 PM

606 posts

can anyone check the fast dot com speeds on 5G? I heard Yes fixed the cap on 5G prepaid

This post has been edited by luqman98x: Dec 18 2021, 11:39 PM

sharpman
post Dec 18 2021, 11:41 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(luqman98x @ Dec 18 2021, 11:38 PM)
can anyone check the fast dot com speeds on 5G? I heard Yes fixed the cap on 5G prepaid
I have got my hand on Huawei Nova 7 SE 5G (listed under supported device)

Originally planned to go out tonight to test but due to heavy rain, I will postpone to tomorrow, will go around KL and Cyberjaya to test and experience 5G myself
yujin86
post Dec 18 2021, 11:43 PM

1,736 posts

QUOTE(JLA @ Dec 18 2021, 09:29 PM)

#5G_is_fake
5g full bar but signal show for app is weak...
sharpman
post Dec 19 2021, 12:01 AM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

My friend via FB confirmed that the Fast.com when connected to 5G is no longer capped

azhar75
post Dec 19 2021, 08:56 AM

17,218 posts

Only after several vix and complaints, they willing to change their "policy"...

#More_complaints_is_needed
PJng
post Dec 19 2021, 09:46 AM

12,039 posts

What the point having high download speed, but upload slow
sharpman
post Dec 19 2021, 10:31 AM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

As promised. My very own 5G speedtest

Ampang -> Kuala Lumpur Yes 5G speedtest

Device: Huawei Nova 7 SE 5G

Plan: YES FT5G Prepaid RM30

Fastest speed: The Troika / Element Hotel -> 950 Mbps

Lowest speed: Taman Cempaka Ampang -> 369 Mbps

JLA
post Dec 19 2021, 11:12 AM

2,772 posts

QUOTE(budi1413 @ Dec 18 2021, 10:51 PM)
its beta testing lol
it said free 5G commercial trial until march. try before you buy. youtube premium 30 days free trial, netflix free trial. nowhere it said beta 5G testing until march. 5G commercial ready.

Only Gmail have beta testing status for so many years

https://www.bernama.com/en/business/news.php?id=2030740
azhar75
post Dec 19 2021, 11:47 AM

17,218 posts

TS,

Since this is only for YTL YES-5G telco promo, suggest to alter the title of this thread:

"Unlimited 5G Access until 31st March 2022 - T&C Apply"

On side notes, this 5G access is NOT hotspot-able.

This post has been edited by azhar75: Dec 19 2021, 11:53 AM
sharpman
post Dec 19 2021, 12:01 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Dec 19 2021, 11:47 AM)
TS,

Since this is only for YTL YES-5G telco promo, suggest to alter the title of this thread:

"Unlimited 5G Access until 31st March 2022 - T&C Apply"

On side notes, this 5G access is NOT hotspot-able.
can hotspot, i tested hotspot to my other phone, quite fast, just that Hostpot quota by default is free for 9GB only

This post has been edited by sharpman: Dec 19 2021, 12:03 PM
azhar75
post Dec 19 2021, 12:24 PM

17,218 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Dec 19 2021, 12:01 PM)
can hotspot, i tested hotspot to my other phone, quite fast, just that Hostpot quota by default is free for 9GB only
That hotspot quota is from 4G bucket (yes...?)
sharpman
post Dec 19 2021, 12:27 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Dec 19 2021, 12:24 PM)
That hotspot quota is from 4G bucket (yes...?)
It was not mentioned explicitly either 4G or 5G

yvliew
post Dec 19 2021, 12:29 PM

Listening to IU - Strawberry Moon
3,918 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Dec 15 2021, 03:12 PM)

oh wait nvm,

This post has been edited by yvliew: Dec 19 2021, 12:30 PM
PJng
post Dec 19 2021, 12:53 PM

12,039 posts

QUOTE(JLA @ Dec 18 2021, 09:29 PM)

#5G_is_fake
Video removed
azhar75
post Dec 19 2021, 01:04 PM

17,218 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Dec 19 2021, 12:27 PM)
It was not mentioned explicitly either 4G or 5G

Just do a speedtest using hotspot. If above 100Mbps, then, confirm 5G is hotspot-able. Warning : the hotspot quota will drop drastically.
azhar75
post Dec 19 2021, 01:09 PM

17,218 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Dec 19 2021, 12:53 PM)
Video removed
Because Wayang Kulit Director (aka DNB) "instructs" him to remove the vix.

Giving bad press and PR to newly launched PUBLIC access to 5G is a big no-no. Bad name to Wayang Kulit Director summore...

Must always project POSITIVE outcomes to attract Malaysian subscribe to "5G_is_fake" plans and promos...

This post has been edited by azhar75: Dec 19 2021, 01:09 PM
sharpman
post Dec 19 2021, 01:48 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Dec 19 2021, 01:04 PM)
Just do a speedtest using hotspot. If above 100Mbps, then, confirm 5G is hotspot-able. Warning : the hotspot quota will drop drastically.
Done the hotspot speedtest, around 500 Mbps at The Troika this morning. sorry I forgot to screenshot that.
azhar75
post Dec 19 2021, 01:59 PM

17,218 posts

OK. Then, the hotspot includes 4G and 5G spectrums.
SUSlife5tyle
post Dec 19 2021, 02:14 PM

277 posts

I hate when they advertise as unlimited and after heavy usage of your data you discover that it was actually restricted you 80GB or 100GB per month. I found out when I upload a lot of my Youtube video to my Youtube Channel. Normal usage you won't notice unless you do upload videos to Youtube or everyday running your video streaming on Streaming platform. Now I solve all my problem after having UniFi at my apartment. I don't use much data on my phone now.
sharpman
post Dec 19 2021, 03:11 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

UPDATE

RE: Hotspot Quota

Apparently when on 5G network, no quota for Hotspot.

I have used around 13-14 GB data for hotspot and still not being throttled.

In my YES App, it shows that my Hotspot quota still full at 9GB.

That means the 9GB Hotspot Quota only applies to 4G network.

This is Good News indeed

This post has been edited by sharpman: Dec 19 2021, 03:12 PM
LuckyBai
post Dec 19 2021, 03:13 PM

422 posts

Nothing special about 5G from Yes ..
LuckyBai
post Dec 19 2021, 03:16 PM

422 posts

To be clear the speed cap only applicable to 4G.. Whereas Yes don't charge for 5G until end of march 2022..

Guess that what advertised was clear enough
sharpman
post Dec 19 2021, 03:17 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(LuckyBai @ Dec 19 2021, 03:16 PM)
To be clear the speed cap only applicable to 4G.. Whereas Yes don't charge for 5G  until end of march 2022..

Guess that what advertised was clear enough
this was not the case until last night. previously Yes mistakenly capped the streaming speed and fast.com speed for 5G to 1.5 Mbps. Yes have fixed it

LuckyBai
post Dec 19 2021, 03:20 PM

422 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Dec 19 2021, 03:17 PM)
this was not the case until last night. previously Yes mistakenly capped the streaming speed and fast.com speed for 5G to 1.5 Mbps. Yes have fixed it
Lol oh dear Yes ...
Neptern
post Dec 19 2021, 03:20 PM

518 posts

Yes i got a notice in the app just now that they fixed the cap.

I tested 5g near the edge of the coverage and the most i got from speedtest is around 500-600 mbps. Maybe my poco m3 got limitations?
adamw
post Dec 19 2021, 03:39 PM

Back to serve justice to those PKHKC corrupted Ex-ministers!
3,351 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Dec 19 2021, 03:11 PM)
UPDATE

RE: Hotspot Quota

Apparently when on 5G network, no quota for Hotspot.

I have used around  13-14 GB data for hotspot and still not being throttled.

In my YES App, it shows that my Hotspot quota still full at 9GB.

That means the 9GB Hotspot Quota only applies to 4G network.
This is Good News indeed
So can plug in 5G modem?
azhar75
post Dec 19 2021, 03:57 PM

17,218 posts

Unlimited hotspot-able 5G Band 28/78...

Kuching liking...LOL...
azhar75
post Dec 19 2021, 03:59 PM

17,218 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Dec 19 2021, 03:39 PM)
So can plug in 5G modem?
Of course can if we can find 5G modem with NR B28/78.... anyone sell "affordable" 5G modem/router with NR B28/78....(?)

This post has been edited by azhar75: Dec 19 2021, 04:00 PM
keewah
post Dec 19 2021, 04:10 PM

427 posts

Only Speedtest can get full speed.

Heck , even on my Mi11Lite5GNE , i able to reach 900Mbps download but upload caps at 6Mpbs

Then i use the app called Meteor, Fast , both speed is around 6-7Mbps je

macam kena scam by YES
keewah
post Dec 19 2021, 04:11 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Dec 19 2021, 08:56 AM)
Only after several vix and complaints, they willing to change their "policy"...

#More_complaints_is_needed
Wonder where is the efficient platform to make complain only can get their attention sad.gif
azhar75
post Dec 19 2021, 04:57 PM

17,218 posts

QUOTE(keewah @ Dec 19 2021, 04:11 PM)
Wonder where is the efficient platform to make complain only can get their attention sad.gif
Definitely to YTL YES tech-team... but we all know the results is like "Beating/Flogging a Dead Cat Horse"...

The next stage is thru MCMC... but that is also like "hitting the dead cat horse" too ...

So, the most efficient method is when all general public is watching the evidence, which is the social media and streaming services...

sharpman
post Dec 19 2021, 06:17 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(keewah @ Dec 19 2021, 04:10 PM)
Only Speedtest can get full speed.

Heck , even on my Mi11Lite5GNE , i able to reach 900Mbps download but upload caps at 6Mpbs

Then i use the app called Meteor, Fast , both speed is around 6-7Mbps je

macam kena scam by YES
when did you perform this test? I tested Meteor this morning with my Yes 5G and I got almost the same speed as Speedtest and Fast = 369 - 950 Mbps at few places

Refer to my speedtest result on page 9, Post #173

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=103151684

This post has been edited by sharpman: Dec 19 2021, 06:34 PM
adamw
post Dec 19 2021, 06:33 PM

3,351 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Dec 19 2021, 06:17 PM)
when did you perform this test? I tested Meteor this morning with my Yes 5G and I got almost the same speed as Speedtest and Fast = 369 - 950 Mbps at few places
I am more interested in the upload speed? Can share?
azhar75
post Dec 19 2021, 06:35 PM

17,218 posts

Max upload is 150Mbps, i.e. guaranteed above 100Mbps transmission speed...

#5G_is_fake
adamw
post Dec 19 2021, 06:45 PM

3,351 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Dec 19 2021, 06:35 PM)
Max upload is 150Mbps, i.e. guaranteed above 100Mbps transmission speed...

#5G_is_fake
Well still better than Unishit & Maxshit normal fibre plan @50 upload

This post has been edited by adamw: Dec 19 2021, 06:45 PM
sharpman
post Dec 19 2021, 06:57 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Dec 19 2021, 06:33 PM)
I am more interested in the upload speed? Can share?
My speedtest result got show Upload speed

adamw
post Dec 19 2021, 07:51 PM

3,351 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Dec 19 2021, 06:57 PM)
My speedtest result got show Upload speed
100 above not bad!
Neptern
post Dec 19 2021, 11:14 PM

518 posts

This is the fastest i ever seen.
sharpman
post Dec 19 2021, 11:15 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(Neptern @ Dec 19 2021, 11:14 PM)
ya fast... almost same like my test at The Troika, Jalan Binjai

This post has been edited by sharpman: Dec 19 2021, 11:16 PM
Lucas0323
post Dec 20 2021, 01:44 AM

807 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Dec 19 2021, 11:15 PM)
ya fast... almost same like my test at The Troika, Jalan Binjai
How about battery life? Drastic drain or acceptable?
Neptern
post Dec 20 2021, 09:04 AM

518 posts

Battery usage is fine. It is just the constant switching between 4g and 5g that slow things down.
azhar75
post Dec 20 2021, 09:08 AM

17,218 posts

The "switching" or "handshaking" part is a.k.a #5G_is_fake
keewah
post Dec 20 2021, 09:48 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Dec 19 2021, 06:17 PM)

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=103151684
I performed the test on last saturday late evening at area around Sri Petaling , near Endah Parade
1 thing i notice the 5G is not stable as my phone keep switch between 4G , 4G+ and 5G

but when i running Meteor app that time was under 5G signal
keewah
post Dec 20 2021, 09:50 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(Neptern @ Dec 20 2021, 09:04 AM)
Battery usage is fine. It is just the constant switching between 4g and 5g that slow things down.
Agreed , keep switching until I notice my whole 2nd Sim (the 2nd slot that I insert YES 5G Sim card) is go offline (whole network signal bar get dimmed)
To fix it , I have to On/Off airplane mode
sharpman
post Dec 20 2021, 09:58 AM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(keewah @ Dec 20 2021, 09:48 AM)
I performed the test on last saturday late evening at area around Sri Petaling , near Endah Parade
1 thing i notice the 5G is not stable as my phone keep switch between 4G , 4G+ and 5G

but when i running Meteor app that time was under 5G signal
Yes fixed it around 11pm Saturday if not mistaken.

You might wanna retest now and it should be fast across Meteor, Fast.com, nPerf, etc...

But yes I agree on the switching problem at certain tower, if you look at my speedtest result, 1 tower particular at Restoran Klasik Maju, Taman Cempaka Ampang, my phone has problem locking into 5G, it keeps wanna switch to 4G and that tower is where I have my lowest result of 369 Mbps.. i think they need some time to optimize all the towers.

On other note, once I enter KL, along Jalan Ampang, after the traffic light at Great Eastern Mall heading to KL, my phone has no problem locking into 5G until in front of KLCC (where I u-turn back to Ampang) so those towers I think have been optimized properly
PJng
post Dec 20 2021, 10:20 AM

12,039 posts

Sri petaling, base on location
Wow one speedtest used 1.5GB
azhar75
post Dec 20 2021, 10:34 AM

17,218 posts

Hence the "non-FUP" "true" unlimited 5G access.... To ensure we are happy doing Ookla speedtest unlimited-ly everyday...
luqman98x
post Dec 20 2021, 11:11 AM

606 posts

Pendakwah Teknologi guy posted the updated video. Apparently Yes contacted him after he published the (now deleted) previous video and the next morning he woke up with notification saying Yes fixed the speed cap issue on 5G prepaid.

This post has been edited by luqman98x: Dec 20 2021, 11:14 AM
sharpman
post Dec 20 2021, 11:19 AM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(luqman98x @ Dec 20 2021, 11:11 AM)

Pendakwah Teknologi guy posted the updated video. Apparently Yes contacted him after he published the (now deleted) previous video and the next morning he woke up with notification saying Yes fixed the speed cap issue on 5G prepaid.
watched this, he basically validated my findings that NO FUP, NO SPEEDCAP and NO QUOTA HOSTPOT for 5G for now
PJng
post Dec 20 2021, 11:40 AM

12,039 posts

QUOTE(luqman98x @ Dec 20 2021, 11:11 AM)

So just speedtest no limit? App usage got limit?
Later will watch
I don have 5G phone

This post has been edited by PJng: Dec 20 2021, 11:41 AM
sharpman
post Dec 20 2021, 11:45 AM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Dec 20 2021, 11:40 AM)
So just speedtest no limit? App usage got limit?
Later will watch
I don have 5G phone
if you watch the video he tested Netflix 4K and Youtube 4K no buffering issue.. so the UNLIMITED not only to Speedtest apps
azhar75
post Dec 20 2021, 01:21 PM

17,218 posts

Kuching will camping next to 5G towers until 31st March 2022...LOL...
Neptern
post Dec 20 2021, 01:48 PM

518 posts

Finally! 1gbps download...
Oltromen Ripot
post Dec 20 2021, 02:16 PM

4,034 posts

QUOTE(Neptern @ Dec 20 2021, 01:48 PM)
remember the revelation few years ago that malaysian bandwidth is hogged a few.....
iamshf
post Dec 20 2021, 04:35 PM

845 posts

Samsung note 20 ultra is not supported yet right
PJng
post Dec 20 2021, 05:19 PM

12,039 posts

QUOTE(iamshf @ Dec 20 2021, 04:35 PM)
Samsung note 20 ultra is not supported yet right
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=103142349

post 117 on this thread, samsung need update software as software block 5G
culain99
post Dec 20 2021, 05:25 PM

-----
765 posts

Will be good to know if the phones from realme/xiaomi using mediatek dimensity chipsets working fine or not?
Also currently 5G only for data right...no VoNR
And wonder when seremban, ipoh, etc will have 5G.....
azhar75
post Dec 20 2021, 05:48 PM

17,218 posts

QUOTE(culain99 @ Dec 20 2021, 05:25 PM)
Will be good to know if the phones from realme/xiaomi using mediatek dimensity chipsets working fine or not?
Also currently 5G only for data right...no VoNR
And wonder when seremban, ipoh, etc will have 5G.....
1) For supported devices, please refer over here...

2) Vo5G will NOT be implemented due to instability of 5G spectrums. VoLTE will be used FOREVER until LTE is abolished.

3) Other major cities is "KIV" coz in Klang Valley (KV) the volume and adoption rate is not enuff to justify the investment outside KV. If all telcos "willing" to share the cost of building, managing and "maintaining" the 5G infra, then, all major cities can get 5G within 5 years.

Maintenance cost = "sacrifice" new Porsche every year, cannot buy crypto, cannot go Bora-Bora vacation, cannot buy mansion, cannot go casino...

This post has been edited by azhar75: Dec 20 2021, 05:57 PM
keewah
post Dec 20 2021, 08:35 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Dec 20 2021, 09:58 AM)
Yes fixed it around 11pm Saturday if not mistaken.

You might wanna retest now and it should be fast across Meteor, Fast.com, nPerf, etc...

But yes I agree on the switching problem at certain tower, if you look at my speedtest result, 1 tower particular at Restoran Klasik Maju, Taman Cempaka Ampang, my phone has problem locking into 5G, it keeps wanna switch to 4G and that tower is where I have my lowest result of 369 Mbps.. i think they need some time to optimize all the towers.

On other note, once I enter KL, along Jalan Ampang, after the traffic light at Great Eastern Mall heading to KL, my phone has no problem locking into 5G until in front of KLCC (where I u-turn back to Ampang) so those towers I think have been optimized properly
Still in bad luck Brian mode as inside Sri Petaling Starbucks , Speedtest able to reach 400Mbps DL , 5Mbps UL

Then switch to Meteor app, download 7Mpbs , upload 5Mpbs
keewah
post Dec 20 2021, 08:36 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Dec 20 2021, 10:20 AM)
Sri petaling, base on location
Wow one speedtest used 1.5GB
Try Sri Petaling Starbucks (signal only 1 bar, yet able to reach 400Mbps using Speedtest)

Edit : add screen capture

This post has been edited by keewah: Dec 20 2021, 08:39 PM
sharpman
post Dec 20 2021, 09:50 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

I am currently at Concorde Hotel KL, Jalan Sultan Ismail.

Connected to 5G from my 15th floor room.

Below is my 5G indoor result:

sharpman
post Dec 20 2021, 09:53 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(keewah @ Dec 20 2021, 08:36 PM)
Try Sri Petaling Starbucks (signal only 1 bar, yet able to reach 400Mbps using Speedtest)

Edit : add screen capture

i think you need to log a ticket with Yes inside the MyYes app, attach your screenshot.

Maybe somehow they forgot to fix your sim / number for the capped issue.
azhar75
post Dec 21 2021, 02:07 AM

17,218 posts

Stop using Ookla from today onwards to see how long YTL willing to allow streaming services to go until 1Gbps...

Will fast.com be close to 1Gbps until 31st Marc 2022...? Me doubt that...
peterscm
post Dec 21 2021, 02:39 PM

388 posts

Just got my 5G prepaid SIM. Using it on China phone.

below is the result from Kepong Baru. Indoor.

peterscm
post Dec 21 2021, 02:45 PM

388 posts

Hotspot to my notebook.

Speed test:

Download speed test:

This post has been edited by peterscm: Dec 21 2021, 02:54 PM
dannygeni
post Dec 21 2021, 03:03 PM

1,804 posts

guys any setting needed? speed like 30mbps only. xiaomi 11T pro. 4nar signal

peterscm
post Dec 21 2021, 04:38 PM

388 posts

something wrong with Yes 5G. The speed suddenly dropped so much. Look like become 4G speed.

luqman98x
post Dec 21 2021, 04:50 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(peterscm @ Dec 21 2021, 04:38 PM)
something wrong with Yes 5G. The speed suddenly dropped so much. Look like become 4G speed.

Check if the phone is actually connected to 5G with NetMonster app https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...czis.netmonster . It shouldn't say something like "5G NSA disconnected" if the phone did connect to 5G

Also the previous speeds that you showed is definitely from your Maxis fibre connection, there is no way the ping can be like that on 5G NSA

This post has been edited by luqman98x: Dec 21 2021, 05:12 PM
dannygeni
post Dec 21 2021, 04:55 PM

1,804 posts

QUOTE(luqman98x @ Dec 21 2021, 04:50 PM)
Check if the phone is actually connected to 5G with NetMonster app (https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=cz.mroczis.netmonster). It shouldn't say something like "5G NSA disconnected" if the phone did connect to 5G

Also the previous speeds that you showed is definitely from your Maxis fibre connection, there is no way the ping can be like that on 5G NSA
thanks for info. no wonder slow for me. not connected to 5G. maybe here no. phone just show 5G, gimmick
peterscm
post Dec 21 2021, 05:04 PM

388 posts

QUOTE(luqman98x @ Dec 21 2021, 04:50 PM)
Check if the phone is actually connected to 5G with NetMonster app (https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=cz.mroczis.netmonster). It shouldn't say something like "5G NSA disconnected" if the phone did connect to 5G

Yes, you are right.

Wondering how to get it connect ?

Is Yes main tipu ?

This post has been edited by peterscm: Dec 21 2021, 05:07 PM
luqman98x
post Dec 21 2021, 05:11 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(peterscm @ Dec 21 2021, 05:04 PM)
Yes, you are right.

Wondering how to get it connect ?

Is Yes main tipu ?

No, that is just how 5G NSA works... could be 5G signal too weak to connect

Maybe try get closer to the 5G tower?
dannygeni
post Dec 21 2021, 05:12 PM

1,804 posts

lol how is ur 5g tower looks like

peterscm
post Dec 21 2021, 05:37 PM

388 posts

QUOTE(luqman98x @ Dec 21 2021, 05:11 PM)
No, that is just how 5G NSA works... could be 5G signal too weak to connect

Maybe try get closer to the 5G tower?
Thanks for the info.

Need to find where is the tower.
Sam Leong
post Dec 21 2021, 05:40 PM

665 posts

QUOTE(peterscm @ Dec 21 2021, 05:37 PM)
Thanks for the info.

Need to find where is the tower.
should look like this
mlamlam
post Dec 21 2021, 05:41 PM

652 posts

Yes does not have LTE 700Mhz frequency, only 800Mhz

likely the apps show incorrectly.
try to lock the phone to 5G only and try again
PJng
post Dec 21 2021, 05:54 PM

12,039 posts

QUOTE(Sam Leong @ Dec 21 2021, 05:40 PM)
should look like this
Saw many such tower everywhere recent month
luqman98x
post Dec 21 2021, 05:59 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(mlamlam @ Dec 21 2021, 05:41 PM)
Yes does not have LTE 700Mhz frequency, only 800Mhz

likely the apps show incorrectly.
try to lock the phone to 5G only and try again

You can't, the phone will show no signal. It's only possible when DNB starts using 5G Standalone network. 5G NSA that DNB uses relies on 4G LTE to operate.

And yes, the phone did connect to DNB tower (only DNB holds 700MHz spectrum atm) but not 5G portion of it.
dannygeni
post Dec 21 2021, 06:49 PM

1,804 posts

Taman danau desa. 58100 kl. My condo. Not bad. Jalan Klang Lama.

Update. Test 10min browsing. Really notice the fast speed

This post has been edited by dannygeni: Dec 21 2021, 07:23 PM

prosibu
post Dec 21 2021, 08:01 PM

2,428 posts

QUOTE(Neptern @ Dec 20 2021, 01:48 PM)
Luckily is DNB, if every telco having spectrum themselves, u will see 100mbps 5G doh.gif rclxms.gif
azhar75
post Dec 21 2021, 09:25 PM

17,218 posts

QUOTE(dannygeni @ Dec 21 2021, 06:49 PM)
Taman danau desa. 58100 kl.  My condo. Not bad. Jalan Klang Lama.

Update. Test 10min browsing.  Really notice the fast speed
Later u see Kuching camping over there don't forget to give cat nip...LOL...
Neptern
post Dec 21 2021, 09:26 PM

518 posts

I am still waiting for my 5g tower nearby (also Jalan Klang Lama) to go online. Hope can reach those speeds.
dannygeni
post Dec 21 2021, 10:02 PM

1,804 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Dec 21 2021, 09:25 PM)
Later u see Kuching camping over there don't forget to give cat nip...LOL...
Lol.

now fast.com.speedtest is 1.7mbps but Ookla speedtest is 600mbps. Something like they cap it?
dannygeni
post Dec 21 2021, 10:03 PM

1,804 posts

QUOTE(Neptern @ Dec 21 2021, 09:26 PM)
I am still waiting for my 5g tower nearby (also Jalan Klang Lama) to go online. Hope can reach those speeds.
Not all area. My office is in Faber tower but no 5g ..only 1km away
chengsiong
post Dec 22 2021, 12:17 AM

168 posts

so i tried to put my yes 5g sim card into samsung galaxy s21 and not getting any 5g signal even im in front of dnb tower. Samsung phone not yet supported?
i have put in both sim 1 and sim 2 and its the same.

prosibu
post Dec 22 2021, 02:56 AM

2,428 posts

QUOTE(chengsiong @ Dec 22 2021, 12:17 AM)
so i tried to put my yes 5g sim card into samsung galaxy s21 and not getting any 5g signal even im in front of dnb tower. Samsung phone not yet supported?

yea samsung phone not support YES 5G.
Do u manage to get 5G button in ur samsung phone?

5G is like volte, phone manufactor whitelist by telco... unlike 4G every phone can access...
luqman98x
post Dec 22 2021, 07:57 AM

606 posts

QUOTE(chengsiong @ Dec 22 2021, 12:17 AM)

Samsung disabled 5G via software, wait for them to push a software update that enables 5G

See post #117 on this thread

This post has been edited by luqman98x: Dec 22 2021, 08:04 AM
dannygeni
post Dec 22 2021, 09:33 AM

1,804 posts

Early bird speedtest when many haven awake yet.

This post has been edited by dannygeni: Dec 22 2021, 09:34 AM

chengsiong
post Dec 22 2021, 12:07 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(luqman98x @ Dec 22 2021, 07:57 AM)
Samsung disabled 5G via software, wait for them to push a software update that enables 5G

See post #117 on this thread
Understood. Thank you very much.
JLA
post Dec 22 2021, 12:14 PM

2,772 posts

someone please speedtest using borneo server

https://speedtest.sacofa.com.my/
Lucas0323
post Dec 22 2021, 11:42 PM

807 posts

QUOTE(dannygeni @ Dec 22 2021, 09:33 AM)
Early bird speedtest when many haven awake yet.
Hows the battery life? Drain drastically or acceptable?
dannygeni
post Dec 23 2021, 12:03 AM

1,804 posts

QUOTE(Lucas0323 @ Dec 22 2021, 11:42 PM)
Hows the battery life? Drain drastically or acceptable?
I only switch it when at home…acceptable. At work I use back my maxis as yes 4g sucks. Lol
azhar75
post Dec 23 2021, 07:38 AM

17,218 posts

The 5G coverage map is totally cannot use oneeeeeeeeeee....

#5G_is_fake
Doraku
post Dec 23 2021, 09:51 AM

Old threads digger
1,155 posts

QUOTE(theGOne @ Dec 15 2021, 03:32 PM)
QUOTE(sharpman @ Dec 15 2021, 03:33 PM)
You actually can kinda choose the number then you scan the sim barcode on the MyYes app it will randomly pick a number from their number pools if you go back and rescan barcode they give you different number, just rescan until you satisfied.

I do this 5-10 times to get okay number
TheLegend27
post Dec 23 2021, 10:32 AM

1,692 posts

so fast. can play dota already
dannygeni
post Dec 23 2021, 02:47 PM

1,804 posts

QUOTE(TheLegend27 @ Dec 23 2021, 10:32 AM)
so fast. can play dota already
after 2-3 days test. line is fast if really on 5G signal. just its not stable now. sometimes jump back and forth 4g-5g.

so lets wait they do what necessary for more stabil 5g signal. in mean 5g really is future fast line
Neptern
post Dec 23 2021, 05:42 PM

518 posts

QUOTE(dannygeni @ Dec 23 2021, 02:47 PM)
after 2-3 days test. line is fast if really on 5G signal. just its not stable now. sometimes jump back and forth 4g-5g.

so lets wait they do what necessary for more stabil 5g signal. in mean 5g really is future fast line
The switching thing really need to be fixed.

Once you go 5g (within reasonable prices and speeds), you will never want to go back to 4g anymore.
dannygeni
post Dec 23 2021, 05:52 PM

1,804 posts

QUOTE(Neptern @ Dec 23 2021, 05:42 PM)

Once you go 5g (within reasonable prices and speeds), you will never want to go back to 4g anymore.
lol yeah..when u are on min 300mbps..nobody want 4g speed
PJng
post Dec 23 2021, 06:02 PM

12,039 posts

QUOTE(Neptern @ Dec 23 2021, 05:42 PM)

How about download app on play store?
Over 50MB/s?
vincent_5451
post Dec 23 2021, 06:43 PM

642 posts

I just bought a YES sim card from shopee for RM1, can I activate this SIM to test 5G speed?

https://shopee.com.my/YES-Kasi-Up-Prepaid-1...7618.5165344685

Or I must buy the 5g sim card from their official website to enjoy the 5g connection? sim card has no 5g or non 5g right? It should be the same, just the mobile phone can support 5g or not only as I know.
Neptern
post Dec 23 2021, 06:58 PM

518 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Dec 23 2021, 06:02 PM)
How about download app on play store?
Over 50MB/s?
Definitely way faster but i only tested a bit on this. Maybe someone else can shed some light on this?
chengsiong
post Dec 24 2021, 12:03 AM

168 posts

QUOTE(vincent_5451 @ Dec 23 2021, 06:43 PM)
I just bought a YES sim card from shopee for RM1, can I activate this SIM to test 5G speed?

https://shopee.com.my/YES-Kasi-Up-Prepaid-1...7618.5165344685

Or I must buy the 5g sim card from their official website to enjoy the 5g connection? sim card has no 5g or non 5g right? It should be the same, just the mobile phone can support 5g or not only as I know.
the old 4g sim card you can use back if u uograde the plan to postpaid. else you need to buy another sim for prepaid at their website specially for 5g.
keewah
post Dec 24 2021, 11:19 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(Neptern @ Dec 23 2021, 06:58 PM)
Definitely way faster but i only tested a bit on this. Maybe someone else can shed some light on this?
Yup much much more faster , able to get around 40+-MBps

Location, dim sum stall opposite Sri petaling Starbuck

keewah
post Dec 24 2021, 11:32 AM

427 posts

After report to Yes and they acknowledged the issue today, just now try the testing again using Speedtest & able to reach 1.2Gbps

azhar75
post Dec 24 2021, 12:09 PM

17,218 posts

What the.... Almost 2Gbps...

This post has been edited by azhar75: Dec 24 2021, 02:00 PM
azhar75
post Dec 24 2021, 12:33 PM

17,218 posts

QUOTE(JLA @ Dec 22 2021, 12:14 PM)
someone please speedtest using borneo server

https://speedtest.sacofa.com.my/
azhar75
post Dec 24 2021, 02:02 PM

17,218 posts

QUOTE(keewah @ Dec 24 2021, 11:32 AM)
After report to Yes and they acknowledged the issue  today, just now  try the testing again using Speedtest & able to reach 1.2Gbps

They will throttle it back within 72 hours... Then, we report. They fix. After that, within 72 hours will throttle again..

Repeat and repeat...

#5G_is_fake
TheLegend27
post Dec 24 2021, 04:52 PM

1,692 posts

QUOTE(chengsiong @ Dec 24 2021, 12:03 AM)
the old 4g sim card you can use back if u uograde the plan to postpaid. else you need to buy another sim for prepaid at their website specially for 5g.
i see they got plan. RM99 bundle with mi 11t pro at RM1k+ only. but no stock. interest on that.
azhar75
post Dec 24 2021, 05:03 PM

17,218 posts

#Ban_contract_plans
budi1413
post Dec 24 2021, 06:10 PM

1,607 posts

kucing sudah beraksi laugh.gif
azhar75
post Dec 25 2021, 11:11 AM

17,218 posts

Guaranteed 100Mbps DL is fulfilled...

2K@30fps YouTube yielded more than 15 seconds readahead...

2K@60fps yielded more than 7Gbps...???

This post has been edited by azhar75: Dec 25 2021, 12:42 PM
azhar75
post Dec 25 2021, 02:49 PM

17,218 posts

Inside Suria KLCC near Kinokuniya...

#5G_is_fake in action... LOL...

This post has been edited by azhar75: Dec 25 2021, 03:28 PM
sharpman
post Dec 25 2021, 03:16 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(keewah @ Dec 24 2021, 11:32 AM)
After report to Yes and they acknowledged the issue  today, just now  try the testing again using Speedtest & able to reach 1.2Gbps

Nice, as I advised you few days ago that your account having issue outside of Speedtest app
mun88
post Dec 25 2021, 04:26 PM

846 posts

Any member use poco f3 can get yes 5g signal ?

This post has been edited by mun88: Dec 25 2021, 05:18 PM
azhar75
post Dec 25 2021, 04:48 PM

17,218 posts

QUOTE(mun88 @ Dec 25 2021, 04:26 PM)
Why member use poco f3 can get yes 5g signal ?
Becoz it is amongst the ...
supported devices
azhar75
post Dec 25 2021, 09:50 PM

17,218 posts

MRT trip from Mutiara Damansara to KLCC...

Doraku
post Dec 26 2021, 12:48 PM

Old threads digger
1,155 posts

QUOTE(peterscm @ Dec 17 2021, 12:01 PM)
Like this can ?

IINW from those news Malaysia 5G network going to use n28+n78 band for sub 6Ghz and n257/n268 for mmwave 5G
NoNameSoldier
post Dec 26 2021, 12:51 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Dec 25 2021, 09:50 PM)
MRT trip from Mutiara Damansara to KLCC...

without 5G yes still a shit... but on optimistic note, with more people using 5G on the single network operator, 5G would be a shit too..

and end users will never and be ever have unlimited data/voice in the future like what we are having right now!
NoNameSoldier
post Dec 26 2021, 12:54 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(Doraku @ Dec 26 2021, 12:48 PM)
IINW from those news Malaysia 5G network going to use n28+n78 band for sub 6Ghz and n257/n268 for mmwave 5G
appointing Ericsson to deploy the 5G network was a huge mistake
Doraku
post Dec 26 2021, 01:00 PM

Old threads digger
1,155 posts

QUOTE(NoNameSoldier @ Dec 26 2021, 12:54 PM)
appointing Ericsson to deploy the 5G network was a huge mistake
i thought huawei has the better 5G equipment hmm.gif
NoNameSoldier
post Dec 26 2021, 01:03 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(Doraku @ Dec 26 2021, 01:00 PM)
Yes Huawei's 5G technology is much more mature..too bad DNB appointed Ericsson as the single vendor for the deployment...

now the coverage map is shitty !!
Doraku
post Dec 26 2021, 01:07 PM

Old threads digger
1,155 posts

QUOTE(NoNameSoldier @ Dec 26 2021, 01:03 PM)
Yes Huawei's 5G technology is much more mature..too bad DNB appointed Ericsson as the single vendor for the deployment...

Single wholesale network is a mistake also
azhar75
post Dec 26 2021, 01:18 PM

17,218 posts

Those who can afford 5G "pricing" or plan, can subscribe so that the burden on LTE network is reduced. It's not cheap to upgrade device from LTE flagship to 5G flagship... but then again, 5G is for "Golongan Bangsa-Atas-Awan" ... in the meantime, Kuching just enjoy it until 31st March 2022... after that, back to LTE...

That's why 5G must be deployed and offered ASAP to general public before all LTE cell towers are congested by 31st March 2022...
JLA
post Dec 26 2021, 03:38 PM

2,772 posts

QUOTE(Doraku @ Dec 26 2021, 01:00 PM)
SG using Nokia and Ericsson 5G
Ericsson and nokia to power dtac Thailand's 5G network
True Thailand selects Ericsson 5G RAN
AIS dontknow
mitodna
post Dec 26 2021, 05:02 PM

14,039 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Dec 26 2021, 01:18 PM)
Those who can afford 5G "pricing" or plan, can subscribe so that the burden on LTE network is reduced. It's not cheap to upgrade device from LTE flagship to 5G flagship... but then again, 5G is for "Golongan Bangsa-Atas-Awan" ... in the meantime, Kuching just enjoy it until 31st March 2022... after that, back to LTE...

That's why 5G must be deployed and offered ASAP to general public before all LTE cell towers are congested by 31st March 2022...
For the Yes 5G, does it rm30 per month or rm30 to use 5G until 31st Mar 2022 ?
azhar75
post Dec 26 2021, 05:10 PM

17,218 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Dec 26 2021, 05:02 PM)
For the Yes 5G, does it rm30 per month or rm30 to use 5G until 31st Mar 2022 ?
RM30 / month commitment... including GST... LOL...

On 1st April Fool Day, hypothetically:
RM30 = Unlimited LTE @ 7Mbps
RM30 = 20GB/month 5G NR quota

This post has been edited by azhar75: Dec 26 2021, 05:23 PM
sharpman
post Dec 26 2021, 07:09 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

The fastest speed I ever hit so far.

1.8 Gbps.

Tested downloading Red Notice movie directly from Netflix app, completed in about 10 seconds

PJng
post Dec 26 2021, 07:15 PM

12,039 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Dec 26 2021, 07:09 PM)
The fastest speed I ever hit so far.

1.8 Gbps.

Tested downloading Red Notice movie directly from Netflix app, completed in about 10 seconds

Notification indicator, 135MB/s....
sharpman
post Dec 26 2021, 07:20 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Dec 26 2021, 07:15 PM)
Indicator was reflecting the upload speed, the Download speed has been completed
rontol
post Dec 27 2021, 11:06 AM

501 posts

Samsung

A22 5G, A32 5G, A42 5G, A52 5G, A52S 5G, Flip 3, Fold 3, M52 5G, Note 20 Ultra 5G, S20 FE 5G, S20 Ultra 5G, S21, S21 Ultra 5G, S21+ 5G

Based on conversation saw in the thread, it's planned early next year...

it should be including AP/Import model or just SME?

poh880
post Dec 27 2021, 11:09 AM

529 posts

But you see newer Huawei phones don't support 5G cool2.gif Their chips maybe from US too
NoNameSoldier
post Dec 27 2021, 11:15 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(poh880 @ Dec 27 2021, 11:09 AM)
But you see newer Huawei phones don't support 5G cool2.gif Their chips maybe from US too
Yay the US butthurt and Apple maruah tercabar so can play dirty but what you don’t know is they are capable of designing the chips and producing it at 28nm widely used in other areas
Oltromen Ripot
post Dec 27 2021, 11:42 AM

4,034 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Dec 26 2021, 07:15 PM)
Uppercase or lowercase 'B'?
Megabit or MegaByte?
Oltromen Ripot
post Dec 27 2021, 11:44 AM

4,034 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Dec 26 2021, 01:18 PM)

4G or 5G, as long as it skins the cat rclxms.gif
azhar75
post Dec 27 2021, 07:07 PM

17,218 posts

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ Dec 27 2021, 11:44 AM)
4G or 5G, as long as it skins the cat  rclxms.gif
Excuse me....(?) U pervert....(!)

LOL...
culain99
post Dec 27 2021, 08:38 PM

-----
765 posts

QUOTE(Doraku @ Dec 26 2021, 12:48 PM)
Most cheap 5G phones support n78 band, but n28 band not.
chengsiong
post Dec 28 2021, 01:07 PM

168 posts

Samsung just pushed an update today to my Galaxy S21. Nothing about 5G being mentioned whatsoever in the release log. Security update still on 1st of December.

EDIT:
still no 5G connectivity

This post has been edited by chengsiong: Dec 28 2021, 01:44 PM
azhar75
post Dec 28 2021, 01:30 PM

17,218 posts

This post has been edited by azhar75: Dec 29 2021, 07:10 AM
prosibu
post Dec 29 2021, 11:01 AM

2,428 posts

shitty? it covers more than maxis lauched 4G years ago.... blush.gif

Maxis 4G LTE service is now available at Taman Tun Dr Ismail, Damansara Utama, Desa Sri Hartamas, Bandar Puchong Jaya, Bandar Sunway and Cyberjaya

https://www.maxis.com.my/en/about-maxis/new...CBoC9oIQAvD_BwE
NoNameSoldier
post Dec 29 2021, 11:23 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(prosibu @ Dec 29 2021, 11:01 AM)
shitty? it covers more than maxis lauched 4G years ago.... blush.gif

Maxis 4G LTE service is now available at Taman Tun Dr Ismail, Damansara Utama, Desa Sri Hartamas, Bandar Puchong Jaya, Bandar Sunway and Cyberjaya

https://www.maxis.com.my/en/about-maxis/new...CBoC9oIQAvD_BwE
Very proud of using taxpayer money and then thinking on how to repay the debts .. brilliant
Oltromen Ripot
post Dec 29 2021, 10:51 PM

4,034 posts

QUOTE(culain99 @ Dec 27 2021, 08:38 PM)
Most cheap 5G phones support n78 band, but n28 band not.
i am itchy to sign up contracted 5G phone to replace my 4 years old.

but reading your comment makes me think i better hold out.
seems like there is more that needs to be comparison-ed before committing to any particular model.
TheLegend27
post Dec 30 2021, 02:15 PM

1,692 posts

so far yes is the only 1 got 5g? maxis don't have yet?

TSGold_Moderator
post Dec 30 2021, 10:17 PM

3,097 posts

QUOTE(TheLegend27 @ Dec 30 2021, 02:15 PM)
so far yes is the only 1 got 5g? maxis don't have yet?
N Unifi
sharpman
post Dec 30 2021, 10:38 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(Gold_Moderator @ Dec 30 2021, 10:17 PM)
N Unifi
Unifi Mobile sure taking long time to launch their 5G plan. yet they were the first to sign up with DNB.. whats taking them so long
azhar75
post Dec 30 2021, 10:51 PM

17,218 posts

Wait until 31st March 2022...
Sam Leong
post Dec 31 2021, 01:26 PM

665 posts

QUOTE(chengsiong @ Dec 28 2021, 01:07 PM)
Samsung just pushed an update today to my Galaxy S21. Nothing about 5G being mentioned whatsoever in the release log. Security update still on 1st of December.

EDIT:
still no 5G connectivity

So right now Samsung and Apple are selling 5G devices in Malaysia but cannot enjoy 5G in Malaysia
Lol

Raymond T.
post Dec 31 2021, 11:19 PM

Glock 19 Holder
1,368 posts

QUOTE(Sam Leong @ Dec 31 2021, 01:26 PM)
So right now Samsung and Apple are selling 5G devices in Malaysia but cannot enjoy 5G in Malaysia
Lol

Which telco you’re using cause my setting doesn’t have 2G option

TSGold_Moderator
post Jan 1 2022, 03:04 AM

3,097 posts

Sam Leong
post Jan 1 2022, 09:33 AM

665 posts

QUOTE(Raymond T. @ Dec 31 2021, 11:19 PM)
Which telco you’re using cause my setting doesn’t have 2G option

I Plug Yes sim card in
Since Yes isnt a certified telco in iOS , so they will use the default Carrier version , allow to choose 2G/3G and LTE (not 4G)
If i use my digi sim i will have same option with you

TSGold_Moderator
post Jan 5 2022, 04:53 PM

3,097 posts

any problems encounter when try to make a call to lane line?
KCY3701
post Jan 5 2022, 07:11 PM

On My Way to Level 50
633 posts

QUOTE(Gold_Moderator @ Jan 5 2022, 04:53 PM)
any problems encounter when try to make a call to lane line?
I guess there should be no problem because calls are still using VoLTE or 2G.
dgboy
post Jan 5 2022, 08:10 PM

5,074 posts

QUOTE(KCY3701 @ Jan 5 2022, 07:11 PM)
I guess there should be no problem because calls are still using VoLTE or 2G.
No 2G under Yes
KCY3701
post Jan 5 2022, 08:56 PM

On My Way to Level 50
633 posts

Hmmm, interesting. But why would Maxis charge $$$ for 5G service tho?

This post has been edited by KCY3701: Jan 5 2022, 09:03 PM
faizalmzain
post Jan 5 2022, 10:56 PM

1,416 posts

QUOTE(NoNameSoldier @ Dec 29 2021, 11:23 AM)
Very proud of using taxpayer money and then thinking on how to repay the debts .. brilliant
Your argument nothing to do with initial coverage, just whining 🤷
NoNameSoldier
post Jan 5 2022, 11:20 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(faizalmzain @ Jan 5 2022, 10:56 PM)
Your argument nothing to do with initial coverage, just whining 🤷
It does when it comes to taxpayer money
TSGold_Moderator
post Jan 6 2022, 10:42 AM

3,097 posts

QUOTE(KCY3701 @ Jan 5 2022, 08:56 PM)

Hmmm, interesting. But why would Maxis charge $$$ for 5G service tho?
all the sudden maxis got 5G
dgboy
post Jan 6 2022, 05:55 PM

5,074 posts

first time I get 5G speed in suria klcc

this is on ampang side, not the blackhole area
sharpman
post Jan 7 2022, 08:04 AM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

Unifi Mobile seems taking so long to launch their 5G plan
jycy98
post Jan 7 2022, 09:23 AM

99 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Jan 7 2022, 08:04 AM)
They can even maintain their apps lol... After launched 5G probably gonna break the app again
Sam Leong
post Jan 7 2022, 09:46 AM

665 posts

Maybe they still struggling to stabilize their traffic

JLA
post Jan 7 2022, 11:10 AM

2,772 posts

QUOTE(jycy98 @ Jan 7 2022, 09:23 AM)
They can even maintain their apps lol... After launched 5G probably gonna break the app again
webe postpaid mobile and prepaid bebas using different app.

could be internal testing or not agree with DNB T&C

DNB going to rent TM fiber backbone network. TM said like that better we do it our self
azhar75
post Jan 7 2022, 01:29 PM

17,218 posts

Awaiting for sub-sub-sub-sub-sub-sub-sub-sub-sub-sub-sub Contractor to issue quotation... after 31st March 2022 only will launch 5G to public...
TSGold_Moderator
post Jan 7 2022, 06:53 PM

3,097 posts

they still busy finding the way to fix their mobile app.
mlamlam
post Jan 7 2022, 07:00 PM

652 posts

QUOTE(Gold_Moderator @ Jan 7 2022, 06:53 PM)
For Unifi it is only for postpaid users...
there is uncertainty that no one knows what happens after 31st March

if want to try out 5G, better sign up with Yes.
wilson1stop
post Jan 7 2022, 07:42 PM

2,779 posts

QUOTE(Gold_Moderator @ Jan 7 2022, 07:53 PM)
True, hard to enter their app nowaday, only can after 8-9am
TSGold_Moderator
post Jan 8 2022, 02:43 AM

3,097 posts

QUOTE(mlamlam @ Jan 7 2022, 07:00 PM)
For Unifi it is only for postpaid users...
there is uncertainty that no one knows what happens after 31st March

if want to try out 5G, better sign up with Yes.
yes experience is a real pain. the internet connection is not stable. need to find alternative.
TSGold_Moderator
post Jan 8 2022, 02:44 AM

3,097 posts

QUOTE(wilson1stop @ Jan 7 2022, 07:42 PM)
True, hard to enter their app nowaday, only can after 8-9am
dont fix it unless broken is true.
Sam Leong
post Jan 10 2022, 05:26 PM

665 posts

https://firstto5g.yes.my/Register/DiscoverFT5G

Interesting
Free Yes 5G Sim for 30 days
Apply via website
Technically the plan details is same as the RM30 FT5G plan thing
mlamlam
post Jan 10 2022, 06:34 PM

652 posts

QUOTE(Sam Leong @ Jan 10 2022, 05:26 PM)
https://firstto5g.yes.my/Register/DiscoverFT5G

Interesting
Free Yes 5G Sim for 30 days
Apply via website
Technically the plan details is same as the RM30 FT5G plan thing
good to know, we can test it for free for 30 days :-)
azhar75
post Jan 11 2022, 12:21 PM

17,218 posts

keewah
post Jan 11 2022, 01:46 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(mlamlam @ Jan 10 2022, 06:34 PM)
good to know, we can test it for free for 30 days :-)
Seems we early adopters pay rm30 for early access fees

Kena scammed by YES
keewah
post Jan 11 2022, 01:49 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ Dec 29 2021, 10:51 PM)
i am itchy to sign up contracted 5G phone to replace my 4 years old.

but reading your comment makes me think i better hold out.
seems like there is more that needs to be comparison-ed before committing to any particular model.
Better hold your horses first.

As of now, Yes 5g still not very stable.

Sometime the network will disconnect by itself (within the same area) and need to on/off airplane mode to reset the network

For me, the Yes 5G now is just tech showcase , cannot consider to use as main driver
Oltromen Ripot
post Jan 11 2022, 01:55 PM

4,034 posts

QUOTE(keewah @ Jan 11 2022, 01:49 PM)
Better hold your horses first.

As of now, Yes 5g still not very stable.

Sometime the network will disconnect by itself (within the same area) and need to on/off airplane mode to reset the network

For me, the Yes 5G now is just tech showcase , cannot consider to use as main driver
I won't be using Yes brand, that I am pretty sure right now.
The MyBestari MoE debacle gave them dishonest and unscrupulous reputation to my taste, so I'avoid from supporting it.

Anyway, I won't move away from Maxis, Digi, Celcom. But I am avoiding Celcom because the way they've structured new plan makes customers losers.
azhar75
post Jan 11 2022, 05:16 PM

17,218 posts

Me most probably gonna continue subscribing the RM30/ month for unlimited calls and 7Mbps LTE access (plus 9GB hotspot quota). The free 5G access is just a bonus...

For those staying/working in the strong 5G coverage, the RM30/month is worth the investment until 31st March 2022...
sharpman
post Jan 11 2022, 07:40 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

Just now my Samsung S21 Ultra received new firmware update with 1 January 2022 Security Updates.

However no mention of 5G being enabled in the update logs.

Anyway will try tomorrow putting in my Yes 5G sim card into my S21 Ultra and roam around KL area

This post has been edited by sharpman: Jan 11 2022, 07:41 PM
azhar75
post Jan 11 2022, 07:57 PM

17,218 posts

No need to test... All Samsung devices are not supported yet even after major OTA Upgrade ...

This post has been edited by azhar75: Jan 11 2022, 08:27 PM
TSGold_Moderator
post Jan 11 2022, 08:44 PM

3,097 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Jan 11 2022, 07:57 PM)
No need to test... All Samsung devices are not supported yet even after major OTA Upgrade ...
+1
i test my area,
xiaomi device also dont get yes 5G services.
samsung s21 no 5G. only huawei.
chengsiong
post Jan 12 2022, 12:09 AM

168 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Jan 11 2022, 07:40 PM)
Just now my Samsung S21 Ultra received new firmware update with 1 January 2022 Security Updates.

However no mention of 5G being enabled in the update logs.

Anyway will try tomorrow putting in my Yes 5G sim card into my S21 Ultra and roam around KL area
Same. Just got the same update on s21 but not seeing 5G appear yet.
So its samsung or yes problem?
s9sa
post Jan 12 2022, 10:15 AM

45 posts

fyi i am using s21 ultra snapdragon taiwan version. able to get 5g using yes sim card.. if using same sim at the same place in s21 ultra mys version.. cannot get 5g.. hope this helps
chengsiong
post Jan 12 2022, 11:39 AM

168 posts

QUOTE(s9sa @ Jan 12 2022, 10:15 AM)
fyi i am using s21 ultra snapdragon taiwan version. able to get 5g using yes sim card.. if using same sim at the same place in s21 ultra mys version.. cannot get 5g.. hope this helps
Just tested today and no 5g signal. Perhaps exynis vetsion problem or what
azhar75
post Jan 12 2022, 12:36 PM

17,218 posts

Mackiddo
post Jan 12 2022, 12:41 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Jan 12 2022, 12:36 PM)
I also received the same email. What's included in the sim? Do I need to purchase add-on plan for data?
azhar75
post Jan 12 2022, 01:42 PM

17,218 posts

It's 100% FOC... still can use 10GB/month LTE if #5G_is_fake NSA not available...

This post has been edited by azhar75: Jan 12 2022, 01:42 PM
mlamlam
post Jan 12 2022, 01:45 PM

652 posts

QUOTE(Gold_Moderator @ Jan 11 2022, 08:44 PM)
+1
i test my area,
xiaomi device also dont get yes 5G services.
samsung s21 no 5G. only huawei.
i will test my Free Yes 5G sim in Kepong / Menjalara area using my mi 11t pro once received the SIM card

at this moment, no worth to pay as it is not ready go to LIVE, i only consider it is UAT...
waktonk
post Jan 13 2022, 03:33 PM

69 posts

wtf is this?

using Samsung A32 5G
azhar75
post Jan 13 2022, 03:43 PM

17,218 posts

That message will pop up everyday until 5th day...
azhar75
post Jan 13 2022, 04:18 PM

17,218 posts

Took 3 days for the "Discovery" SIM card to arrive...

budi1413
post Jan 13 2022, 04:58 PM

1,607 posts

mine out for delivery todei

but still not arrive yet

maybe soon

This post has been edited by budi1413: Jan 13 2022, 05:22 PM
sharpman
post Jan 13 2022, 07:42 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

I received my Free Yes5G Sim card too..

it is only free for 1 month right? 2nd month onward needs to reload RM30 for 30 days?
Boy96
post Jan 13 2022, 07:45 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

Just got the free sim,

Means LTE can only use for 10GB while 5G is unlimited?

Also why in my phone settings cannot change want to use 5G or 4g only? For my main sim (digi) can choose
sharpman
post Jan 13 2022, 08:33 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Jan 13 2022, 07:45 PM)
Just got the free sim,

Means LTE can only use for 10GB while 5G is unlimited?

Also why in my phone settings cannot change want to use 5G or 4g only? For my main sim (digi) can choose
should be can choose, but if you choose 5G mode for your Yes5G sim, must set that as Data Sim

Boy96
post Jan 13 2022, 08:39 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Jan 13 2022, 08:33 PM)
should be can choose, but if you choose 5G mode for your Yes5G sim, must set that as Data Sim

That option to choose which network doesnt appear for my Yes sim..

This is how it look like for my digi sim.

Ive tried swapping slot, and even totally removing my digi sim and put the yes sim on my main slot, still doesnt appear.
sharpman
post Jan 13 2022, 08:42 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Jan 13 2022, 08:39 PM)

That option to choose which network doesnt appear for my Yes sim..

This is how it look like for my digi sim.

Ive tried swapping slot, and even totally removing my digi sim and put the yes sim on my main slot, still doesnt appear.
what phone are you using?

Boy96
post Jan 13 2022, 08:49 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Jan 13 2022, 08:42 PM)
what phone are you using?
Oppo find x3 pro
Sam Leong
post Jan 13 2022, 09:26 PM

665 posts

iOS 15.2.1
iPhone 13
no 5G option on Yes FT5G Discover Plan

azhar75
post Jan 13 2022, 09:34 PM

17,218 posts

iPhone and Samsung will only support 5G after 31st March 2022...
Sam Leong
post Jan 13 2022, 09:37 PM

665 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Jan 13 2022, 09:34 PM)
So that time need to pay huhu thumbup.gif
azhar75
post Jan 13 2022, 09:39 PM

17,218 posts

And DNB guarantees the 5G plan will be cheaper than LTE... if this is true, MVNOs can close shop edy...LOL...
chengsiong
post Jan 14 2022, 12:51 AM

168 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Jan 13 2022, 09:34 PM)
those who using samsung and iphone got scammed by DNB and Yes..
JLA
post Jan 14 2022, 08:48 AM

2,772 posts

QUOTE(chengsiong @ Jan 14 2022, 12:51 AM)
those who using samsung and iphone got scammed by DNB and Yes..
kena scammed by Samsung malaysia. Selling 5G phone with 5G price but can`t get 5G service.
azhar75
post Jan 14 2022, 08:56 AM

17,218 posts

If we travel outside MY, can get 5G in other countries using Sammy or Tim Team Apple devices...

It's the local 5G deployment issues... this is happening since 31st August 1957 ...LOL...
zoixc
post Jan 14 2022, 10:49 AM

haha
1,406 posts

QUOTE(JLA @ Jan 14 2022, 08:48 AM)
kena scammed by Samsung malaysia. Selling 5G phone with 5G price but can`t get 5G service.
samsung seling 5g phone but if you in another country that support 5g can use 5g.

is that not malaysia problem not supporting samsung phone ?
prosibu
post Jan 14 2022, 10:53 AM

2,428 posts

QUOTE(zoixc @ Jan 14 2022, 10:49 AM)
samsung seling 5g phone but if you in another country that support 5g can use 5g.

is that not malaysia problem not supporting samsung phone ?
it is very obvious iphone and samsung not passed malaysia 5g network now.
But why not pass, duno is too strict or DNB 5g got issue (stability or?)
but of coz, apple nvr certified YES network... so never expect iphone users can use 5g if big 4 dun have 5g LOLX

https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT203982

This post has been edited by prosibu: Jan 14 2022, 10:55 AM
MyProLife
post Jan 14 2022, 10:55 AM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,066 posts

QUOTE(prosibu @ Jan 14 2022, 10:53 AM)
it is very obvious iphone and samsung not passed malaysia 5g network now.
But why not pass, duno is too strict or DNB 5g got issue (stability or?)
Maybe SME and Apple Malaysia decide to boycott DNB 5g /s
azhar75
post Jan 14 2022, 10:58 AM

17,218 posts

"Ericcson" is the keyword...
prosibu
post Jan 14 2022, 11:00 AM

2,428 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Jan 14 2022, 10:58 AM)
"Ericcson" is the keyword...
But huawei phone can support hor doh.gif
azhar75
post Jan 14 2022, 11:03 AM

17,218 posts

Politics of 5G .... ... LOL...

Dah kasi percuma pon tak nak amek....LOL... Lepas dh dapat percuma pon, terhegeh-hegeh pulak nak launch (sambil menjeleng kat P1 webe UniFi....)

Nampak sangat DNB goyang kaki/gaji buta...LOL...

Kalau Kuching jadi DNB, dh lama kasi buang itu P1 webe UniFi... tapi... TM punya pasal....what to do....?

This post has been edited by azhar75: Jan 14 2022, 01:04 PM
Susuwatari
post Jan 14 2022, 11:11 AM

1,260 posts

At Bandar Kinrara Giant Puchong.

azhar75
post Jan 14 2022, 11:13 AM

17,218 posts

Wow... Yeoh Tiong Lay berani letak ads dalam Ookla.... Kesian Axiata...
Sam Leong
post Jan 14 2022, 12:53 PM

665 posts

QUOTE(Susuwatari @ Jan 14 2022, 11:11 AM)
At Bandar Kinrara Giant Puchong.

They started to deploy sites in Selangor area?
Susuwatari
post Jan 14 2022, 01:49 PM

1,260 posts

QUOTE(Sam Leong @ Jan 14 2022, 12:53 PM)
They started to deploy sites in Selangor area?
Bandar Kinrara is just next to Bukit Jalil, gets the "spillover".

This post has been edited by Susuwatari: Jan 14 2022, 01:49 PM
TSGold_Moderator
post Jan 14 2022, 02:03 PM

3,097 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Jan 13 2022, 07:42 PM)

it is only free for 1 month right? 2nd month onward needs to reload RM30 for 30 days?
reload rm15 for 30days validity
azhar75
post Jan 14 2022, 02:36 PM

17,218 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Jan 13 2022, 07:42 PM)

QUOTE(Gold_Moderator @ Jan 14 2022, 02:03 PM)
reload rm15 for 30days validity
If reload RM15, can only buy 10GB data quota...

So, FT5G is designed to encourage "fixed" RM30/month commitment. This offer is very attractive which comes with "unlimited" off-net calls and "unlimited" 7Mbps LTE quota with 9GB hi-speed hotspot quota. The "unlimited" 5G NSA access is just a bonus offered by DNB until 31st March 2022...

#TM_P1_webe_UniFi_is_above_DNB
#DNB_cannot_punish_TM_P1_webe_UniFi
#DNB_failure

This post has been edited by azhar75: Jan 14 2022, 03:07 PM
budi1413
post Jan 14 2022, 04:28 PM

1,607 posts

100gb 5g = rm49?

budi1413
post Jan 14 2022, 04:29 PM

1,607 posts

same as yes kasi up postpaid rate

azhar75
post Jan 14 2022, 04:33 PM

17,218 posts

QUOTE(budi1413 @ Jan 14 2022, 04:28 PM)
100gb 5g = rm49?

That one is LTE quota... not 5G...

The "Discovery" SIM edy has 10GB LTE... use this 1st alongside unlimited 5G...

After 31st March, the price structure will be similar to P1 webe #BEBAS:

Hypothetically, RM30 = 30GB 5G/LTE quota

This post has been edited by azhar75: Jan 14 2022, 04:41 PM
TSGold_Moderator
post Jan 14 2022, 05:42 PM

3,097 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Jan 14 2022, 04:33 PM)
That one is LTE quota... not 5G...

The "Discovery" SIM edy has 10GB LTE... use this 1st alongside unlimited 5G...

After 31st March, the price structure will be similar to P1 webe #BEBAS:

Hypothetically, RM30 = 30GB 5G/LTE quota
No more unlimited 4G ?
azhar75
post Jan 14 2022, 06:36 PM

17,218 posts

QUOTE(Gold_Moderator @ Jan 14 2022, 05:42 PM)
No more unlimited 4G ?
Unlimited LTE will still remain.... it's just the hotspot-able 5G/LTE combo quota "might" be under the RM30/month add-on...
TSGold_Moderator
post Jan 14 2022, 08:50 PM

3,097 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Jan 14 2022, 06:36 PM)
Unlimited LTE will still remain.... it's just the hotspot-able 5G/LTE combo quota "might" be under the RM30/month add-on...
can consider the cheapest unlimited internet + call plan
azhar75
post Jan 14 2022, 08:57 PM

17,218 posts

As of now until 31st March 2022, it is the "affordable" monthly plan...
kimjs90
post Jan 15 2022, 04:55 PM

1,820 posts

I just get my yes 5g....i already paid for the best seller rm30 and after that notice the one at below (can refer my attachement) so which one is the 5G actually?? Confuse here..from what i know the 10gb is LTE right?

This post has been edited by kimjs90: Jan 15 2022, 04:56 PM

Sam Leong
post Jan 15 2022, 06:44 PM

665 posts

Just finish tested the 5G network

Feel like it's very very very unstable
Especially on MRT , 70% of the time i get Speedtest ERROR
(Poco F3 + Yes FT5G)
Boy96
post Jan 15 2022, 06:56 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

Bandar Sri Permaisuri. Very unstable, surfing regular website quite slow and often disconnected
Sam Leong
post Jan 15 2022, 07:09 PM

665 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Jan 15 2022, 06:56 PM)

Bandar Sri Permaisuri. Very unstable, surfing regular website quite slow and often disconnected
yes , thats why

almost 70% of my journey from Bandar Sri Damansara all the way to MRT Bukit Bintang (Before tunnel section) i get 5G drop to 4G and back to 5G and drop 4G

The drop isn't seamlessly , it will disconnect for a while and reconnect , idk why
budi1413
post Jan 15 2022, 07:11 PM

1,607 posts

QUOTE(kimjs90 @ Jan 15 2022, 04:55 PM)
I just get my yes 5g....i already paid for the best seller rm30 and after that notice the one at below (can refer my attachement) so which one is the 5G actually?? Confuse here..from what i know the 10gb is LTE right?
why pay rm30?

the sim card come with free one month unlimited 5g plan.

This post has been edited by budi1413: Jan 15 2022, 07:13 PM
azhar75
post Jan 15 2022, 07:12 PM

17,218 posts

QUOTE(kimjs90 @ Jan 15 2022, 04:55 PM)
It should be the one stated "FT5G Unlimited_Data Prepaid" ... there is typo on "Data (LTE All Month)"

This post has been edited by azhar75: Jan 15 2022, 07:14 PM
kimjs90
post Jan 15 2022, 07:14 PM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(budi1413 @ Jan 15 2022, 07:11 PM)
why pay rm30?

Ya i got confused with the one with rm30

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Jan 15 2022, 07:12 PM)
It should be the one stated "FT5G Unlimited Data Prepaid" ... there is typo on "Data (LTE All Month)"
Ya got confused with that..so does this mean i just rugi rm30 bro?
azhar75
post Jan 15 2022, 07:15 PM

17,218 posts

QUOTE(budi1413 @ Jan 15 2022, 07:11 PM)
why pay rm30?

His plan is non-Discovery (?)... he has that "Voice" tab next to "Data" tab...

But all Discovery has 10GB LTE hotspotable quota...

This post has been edited by azhar75: Jan 15 2022, 07:23 PM
azhar75
post Jan 15 2022, 07:18 PM

17,218 posts

QUOTE(kimjs90 @ Jan 15 2022, 07:14 PM)
Ya i got confused with the one with rm30
Ya got confused with that..so does this mean i just rugi rm30 bro?
By right no need to reload anything... so u reloaded RM30 and subscribe to "FT5G" plan? If yes, meaning urs has been upgraded from Discovery to Original FT5G plan. That RM30 is for "Unlimited off-net calls" and "Unlimited LTE" quota...

Urs is Discovery by looking at 10GB LTE hotspotable quota...but since u hv reloaded RM30 and subscribed (correct?) to FT5G plan, it has been upgraded to the Original Plan...

The non-Discovery aka Original Plan only has 9GB LTE hotspotable quota and unlimited off-net voice as shown below:

This post has been edited by azhar75: Jan 15 2022, 07:36 PM
kimjs90
post Jan 15 2022, 08:44 PM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Jan 15 2022, 07:18 PM)
By right no need to reload anything... so u reloaded RM30 and subscribe to "FT5G" plan? If yes, meaning urs has been upgraded from Discovery to Original FT5G plan. That RM30 is for "Unlimited off-net calls" and "Unlimited LTE" quota...

Urs is Discovery by looking at 10GB LTE hotspotable quota...but since u hv reloaded RM30 and subscribed (correct?) to FT5G plan, it has been upgraded to the Original Plan...

The non-Discovery aka Original Plan only has 9GB LTE hotspotable quota and unlimited off-net voice as shown below:

Oh i see alright thanks bro
TSGold_Moderator
post Jan 15 2022, 09:07 PM

3,097 posts

So unstable, better think twice to subscribe Unifi rm59. Later tie up for one year for nothing.
sharpman
post Jan 15 2022, 09:08 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(Gold_Moderator @ Jan 15 2022, 09:07 PM)
So unstable, better think twice to subscribe Unifi rm59. Later tie up for one year for nothing.
I am Maxis user actually. So I will be waiting once Maxis joins 5G network and then subscribe to their 5G plan
TSGold_Moderator
post Jan 15 2022, 09:31 PM

3,097 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Jan 15 2022, 09:08 PM)
I am Maxis user actually. So I will be waiting once Maxis joins 5G network and then subscribe to their 5G plan
No news from all major telco yet.
SmartAl3ck
post Jan 15 2022, 09:58 PM

13 posts

Got my free Yes 5G card today
Will activate when existing free Yes 4G card expired on 30/1

Yes sucks inside MRT ... Totally no signal
Sam Leong
post Jan 15 2022, 10:33 PM

665 posts

QUOTE(SmartAl3ck @ Jan 15 2022, 09:58 PM)

no signal? MRT got what

LRT don't have only isn't it

MRT from Kwasa Sentral - Bukit Bintang ok wor
Yes 4G full bar once inside tunnel
adamw
post Jan 15 2022, 10:47 PM

3,351 posts

QUOTE(SmartAl3ck @ Jan 15 2022, 09:58 PM)

Any dateline for activation after received?
azhar75
post Jan 15 2022, 11:23 PM

17,218 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Jan 15 2022, 10:47 PM)
Any dateline for activation after received?
30 days from date of online submission.
adamw
post Jan 16 2022, 12:10 AM

3,351 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Jan 15 2022, 11:23 PM)
30 days from date of online submission.
Thanks!
prosibu
post Jan 16 2022, 09:00 AM

2,428 posts

Is it ok for me to insert the sim to 4g phone?
The volte and 4g data keep intermittent and totally can't browsing...

*My poco f3 just arrived at malaysia...

This post has been edited by prosibu: Jan 16 2022, 09:08 AM
budi1413
post Jan 16 2022, 09:29 AM

1,607 posts

QUOTE(prosibu @ Jan 16 2022, 09:00 AM)

mine put inside huawei mate 9

okay jer biggrin.gif
prosibu
post Jan 16 2022, 10:02 AM

2,428 posts

QUOTE(budi1413 @ Jan 16 2022, 09:29 AM)
mine put inside huawei mate 9

okay jer biggrin.gif
Ooo. I found that my mate 20 keep attempt DNB 4g (anchoring to 5G NSA)
Hence it ping ponging between yes 4g and dnb 4g

Then i have to wait my phone liao
azhar75
post Jan 16 2022, 11:09 AM

17,218 posts

QUOTE(prosibu @ Jan 16 2022, 09:00 AM)

Any devices that support Band 20, 38 and 40

mitodna
post Jan 16 2022, 02:04 PM

14,039 posts

Is Yes has voicemail ? Can it be disable ?
azhar75
post Jan 16 2022, 02:56 PM

17,218 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Jan 16 2022, 02:04 PM)
Is Yes has voicemail ? Can it be disable ?
Me suggest don't use Yeoh Tiong Lay as primary SIM...

It has voicemail and disable via email request...
mlamlam
post Jan 16 2022, 05:23 PM

652 posts

Today went to midvalley expo, long time haven't been there, nearly 2 years.
Glad to see that Yes 4G has indoor coverage, also car park area
But sad to see that when the shopping mall get crowd after 12pm, the speed is very slow and likely around 1-4Mbps only, also whole shopping mall only a small area in exhibition hall has 5G coverage with speed around 300-500Mbps, other area just have 2300/2600 signal and the speed is slow

Have to change back to use my primary sim Digi and 2CA speed can be reached to 190++ Mbps
sadlyfalways
post Jan 16 2022, 05:30 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(mlamlam @ Jan 16 2022, 05:23 PM)
Today went to midvalley expo, long time haven't been there, nearly 2 years.
Glad to see that Yes 4G has indoor coverage, also car park area
But sad to see that when the shopping mall get crowd after 12pm, the speed is very slow and likely around 1-4Mbps only, also whole shopping mall only a small area in exhibition hall has 5G coverage with speed around 300-500Mbps, other area just have 2300/2600 signal and the speed is slow

Have to change back to use my primary sim Digi and 2CA speed can be reached to 190++ Mbps
Actually I also bought the free yes sim to test. Was shocked when then speeds so much worst than DIGI. I assumed because so few subscribers it’ll be faster. Was wrong.
TSGold_Moderator
post Jan 16 2022, 07:34 PM

3,097 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Jan 16 2022, 02:56 PM)
Me suggest don't use Yeoh Tiong Lay as primary SIM...

It has voicemail and disable via email request...
Yes offer the easiest way to mnp.
mlamlam
post Jan 16 2022, 08:20 PM

652 posts

QUOTE(sadlyfalways @ Jan 16 2022, 05:30 PM)
Actually I also bought the free yes sim to test. Was shocked when then speeds so much worst than DIGI. I assumed because so few subscribers it’ll be faster. Was wrong.
It was fast when it was less people, I reach midvalley at 9am and speed is quite ok, max speed is 40Mbps, but it is also far slower than Digi while Digi has 2CA and speed is ~200Mbps
azhar75
post Jan 16 2022, 09:29 PM

17,218 posts

QUOTE(Gold_Moderator @ Jan 16 2022, 07:34 PM)
Yes offer the easiest way to mnp.
It's a trap... easiest to MNP-i but toughest to MNP-o (99.999999999999% failure) .... Lots of ex-Yeoh Tiong Lay subscribers are cursing to MNP-o...
peterscm
post Jan 16 2022, 09:51 PM

388 posts

I got hold of POCO X3 GT and Yes 5G Discover SIM.

When I test it @ Kepong Baru, I only can connect to Yes 4G (LTE 2600)

If I put the SIM card in China phone, can connect to LTE 700 but 5G NSA disconnected.

Is it POCO X3 GT issue ? It is Yes supported 5G phone.

May I know how to complain to Yes? any email ? no# ?

This post has been edited by peterscm: Jan 16 2022, 09:52 PM
dgboy
post Jan 16 2022, 09:53 PM

5,074 posts

QUOTE(peterscm @ Jan 16 2022, 09:51 PM)
yescare@yes.my

This post has been edited by dgboy: Jan 16 2022, 10:22 PM
azhar75
post Jan 16 2022, 10:36 PM

17,218 posts

If I put the SIM card in China phone, can connect to LTE 700 but 5G NSA disconnected.

peterscm
post Jan 16 2022, 11:06 PM

388 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Jan 16 2022, 10:36 PM)
Thanks dgboy & azhar75 for your info.
azhar75
post Jan 17 2022, 12:30 AM

17,218 posts

Bye² unlimited calls + 5G NSA @ RM30/month... we'll meet again after 15 Feb later...

Must finish off Shopee's Databack LTE voucher(s)....

DiGi is now becoming the unlimited off-net calls SIM @ RM8/month

This post has been edited by azhar75: Jan 17 2022, 12:34 AM
Boy96
post Jan 17 2022, 01:08 AM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

Just realized hotspot tethering over 5g network consumes the 10Gb LTE data allocation
azhar75
post Jan 17 2022, 02:37 AM

17,218 posts

Conclusion:
FT5Go = unlimited 5G NSA hotspot
FT5Gd = 10GB LTE hotspot (5G NSA hotspot not available)
TSGold_Moderator
post Jan 17 2022, 02:51 AM

3,097 posts

Poco X3 GT no yes 5G.
Huawei p40 pro yes.
iPhone 12 no line at all

I test using my phones
TSGold_Moderator
post Jan 17 2022, 02:55 AM

3,097 posts

QUOTE(dgboy @ Jan 16 2022, 09:53 PM)
yescare@yes.my
Sampah cs. Consider one of the most useless C's department. Took weeks to settle my case. Every two will reply asking your IC number etc. They don't bother to read all the correspondence email.
TSGold_Moderator
post Jan 17 2022, 02:56 AM

3,097 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Jan 17 2022, 12:30 AM)
Bye² unlimited calls + 5G NSA @ RM30/month... we'll meet again after 15 Feb later...

Must finish off Shopee's Databack LTE voucher(s)....

DiGi is now becoming the unlimited off-net calls SIM @ RM8/month

I got same offer from Digi as well. Is it always active plan ?
TSGold_Moderator
post Jan 17 2022, 02:57 AM

3,097 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Jan 17 2022, 01:08 AM)
Just realized hotspot tethering over 5g network consumes the 10Gb LTE data allocation
Funny. Mine not.
TSGold_Moderator
post Jan 17 2022, 02:58 AM

3,097 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Jan 17 2022, 02:37 AM)
Conclusion:
FT5Go = unlimited 5G NSA hotspot
FT5Gd = 10GB LTE hotspot (5G NSA hotspot not available)
Wat is it mean ya?
mitodna
post Jan 17 2022, 08:34 AM

14,039 posts

QUOTE(Gold_Moderator @ Jan 17 2022, 02:57 AM)
Funny. Mine not.
Is yours the paid rm30 5g ? I think what azhar75 the paid one is unlimited 5g hotspot. The free discover is not.
azhar75
post Jan 17 2022, 08:52 AM

17,218 posts

RM30 = FT5Gu = FT5G Ultra = unlimited 5G NSA hotspot

FREE = FT5Gd = FT5G Discovery = 10GB LTE hotspot (5G NSA hotspot not available)

RM50 = Hyper Super Duper Pro Max...LOL...
kimjs90
post Jan 17 2022, 09:48 AM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Jan 17 2022, 08:52 AM)

so by right the rm30 can enjoy unlimited 5G NSA hotspot
peterscm
post Jan 17 2022, 11:28 AM

388 posts

QUOTE(Gold_Moderator @ Jan 17 2022, 02:51 AM)
Poco X3 GT no yes 5G.
Huawei p40 pro yes.
iPhone 12 no line at all

I test using my phones
But Poco X3 GT is one of the supported 5G phone from Yes website.

azhar75
post Jan 17 2022, 11:35 AM

17,218 posts

QUOTE(kimjs90 @ Jan 17 2022, 09:48 AM)
so by right the rm30 can enjoy unlimited 5G NSA hotspot
And :
1) Unlimited LTE @ 7Mbps
2) Unlimited off-net calls (except to special numbers)
peterscm
post Jan 17 2022, 11:42 AM

388 posts

QUOTE(Gold_Moderator @ Jan 17 2022, 02:55 AM)
Sampah cs. Consider one of the most useless C's department. Took weeks to settle my case. Every two will reply asking your IC number etc. They don't bother to read all the correspondence email.
Also hopeless to call the 018 333 0000 hotline. when finally reaches option to connect to CS then it cut me off. mad.gif

azhar75
post Jan 17 2022, 11:48 AM

17,218 posts

QUOTE(peterscm @ Jan 17 2022, 11:28 AM)
But Poco X3 GT is one of the supported 5G phone from Yes website.

Imported or EIN (Era International Network Sdn Bhd) unit...?

This post has been edited by azhar75: Jan 17 2022, 11:48 AM
mitodna
post Jan 17 2022, 11:48 AM

14,039 posts

Not sure the hotspot thing, but on discover plan, the 5G is deducting the free 10GB LTE bucket right now

I am not hotspoting, just use 5g, it deducting LTE quota , discover plan

This post has been edited by mitodna: Jan 17 2022, 12:22 PM
azhar75
post Jan 17 2022, 11:49 AM

17,218 posts

The RM30 has unlimited 5G NSA hotspot... it won't deduct from 9GB LTE quota...
mitodna
post Jan 17 2022, 12:25 PM

14,039 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Jan 17 2022, 11:49 AM)
The RM30 has unlimited 5G NSA hotspot... it won't deduct from 9GB LTE quota...
Okay. I mean this morning I am using phone, 5g, non hotspot, got deduct in LTE bucket
peterscm
post Jan 17 2022, 02:05 PM

388 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Jan 17 2022, 11:48 AM)
Imported or EIN (Era International Network Sdn Bhd) unit...?

the box does not have that sticker and seller said the warranty is cover my Xiaomi Malaysia.

azhar75
post Jan 17 2022, 02:16 PM

17,218 posts

We need a survey to know whether 5G NSA access is allowed for imported units or not...
culain99
post Jan 17 2022, 02:30 PM

-----
765 posts

trying to compile list of sub 6 5G bands in neighboring countries

Malaysia - N28, N78
Singapore - N1, N78
Indonesia - N40,
Thailand - N28, N41

This post has been edited by culain99: Jan 17 2022, 02:31 PM
dgboy
post Jan 17 2022, 03:30 PM

5,074 posts

QUOTE(peterscm @ Jan 17 2022, 11:42 AM)
Also hopeless to call the 018 333 0000 hotline. when finally reaches option to connect to CS then it cut me off.  mad.gif
at least you found the option to speak with operator, I got buried in the IVR menu and gave up.

email worked for me this weekend. I sent a few during my port out process and they replied to every one.
sharpman
post Jan 17 2022, 03:57 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

guys those with 5G coverage right now, can do a favour and test Fast.com ?

Just now my Fast.com result was throttled to Kbps level just like when Yes 5G first launched... something wrong or only my Sim card affected?
azhar75
post Jan 17 2022, 04:52 PM

17,218 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Jan 17 2022, 03:57 PM)
guys those with 5G coverage right now, can do a favour and test Fast.com ?

Just now my Fast.com result was throttled to Kbps level just like when Yes 5G first launched... something wrong or only my Sim card affected?
This is normal... they will "repair" when there is official public YouTube/TikTok/Social Media humiliation...after 72 hours repaired, reset back to throttle...

That's why #5G_is_fake...

This post has been edited by azhar75: Jan 17 2022, 04:53 PM
perfect10
post Jan 17 2022, 06:58 PM

416 posts

will the old 4G yes sim works to 5G once i put into a 5g phone? or it doesnt
azhar75
post Jan 17 2022, 07:28 PM

17,218 posts

QUOTE(perfect10 @ Jan 17 2022, 06:58 PM)
will the old 4G yes sim works to 5G once i put into a 5g phone? or it doesnt
Must change to 5G SIM card...

This post has been edited by azhar75: Jan 17 2022, 07:29 PM
azhar75
post Jan 17 2022, 07:30 PM

17,218 posts

QUOTE(peterscm @ Jan 17 2022, 02:05 PM)
the box does not have that sticker and seller said the warranty is cover my Xiaomi  Malaysia.
culain99
post Jan 17 2022, 08:45 PM

-----
765 posts

Anyone got import 5G handphone model can confirm works with 5G?
sharpman
post Jan 17 2022, 09:39 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(culain99 @ Jan 17 2022, 08:45 PM)
someone here using Samsung S21 Taiwan set, can get Yes 5G signal. Malaysia set Samsung S21 still cannot get Yes 5G signal
piglover
post Jan 18 2022, 07:22 AM

1,095 posts

Anybody try with samsung fold phone?
PJng
post Jan 18 2022, 08:31 AM

12,039 posts

QUOTE(piglover @ Jan 18 2022, 07:22 AM)
Anybody try with samsung fold phone?
Samsung phone not ready 5G
TSGold_Moderator
post Jan 18 2022, 12:03 PM

3,097 posts

i paid. lol.
mlamlam
post Jan 18 2022, 08:08 PM

652 posts

Using Discovery Plan, I tried Hotspot today, with Wifi 5 5Ghz to my another xiaomi phone, speed can reach to 200Mbps down with 100Mbps up
original phone have speed around 500-800Mbps in Jalan Ipoh.

But I didn't check which data they deduct me, 4G or 5G Unlimited one :-)

This post has been edited by mlamlam: Jan 18 2022, 08:08 PM
luqman98x
post Jan 19 2022, 10:51 PM

606 posts

Fun fact: DNB's LTE band 28 700MHz seems to support 4x4 MIMO

sharpman
post Jan 19 2022, 10:52 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(luqman98x @ Jan 19 2022, 10:51 PM)
may I know the name of this App?
luqman98x
post Jan 19 2022, 10:55 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Jan 19 2022, 10:52 PM)
may I know the name of this App?

Network Signal Guru, needs mainly rooted Qualcomm Snapdragon phone
sharpman
post Jan 19 2022, 11:06 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(luqman98x @ Jan 19 2022, 10:55 PM)
ahh then is there any alternative app I can use for my Exynos Samsung phone?
luqman98x
post Jan 19 2022, 11:13 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Jan 19 2022, 11:06 PM)
ahh then is there any alternative app I can use for my Exynos Samsung phone?

Built-in ServiceMode *#0011#, no fancy ui

This post has been edited by luqman98x: Jan 19 2022, 11:19 PM
Sam Leong
post Jan 22 2022, 06:42 AM

665 posts

QUOTE(luqman98x @ Jan 19 2022, 10:51 PM)
and u might be able to connect to 4CA if u r under DNB 700MHz + YTL 800MHz + 2600MHz + 2300MHz = 5+20MHz = 25MHz
Bandar Sri Damansara , near LDP exit , Uniqlo , 5G NSA connected , but unstable

SUSMyk Hyn
post Jan 22 2022, 09:58 AM

52 posts

Any map of 5g in Klang valley?
adamw
post Jan 22 2022, 02:22 PM

3,351 posts

QUOTE(luqman98x @ Jan 19 2022, 10:55 PM)
Just got my Vivo 23e from Maxshit, guess no app to test the 5G network?
luqman98x
post Jan 22 2022, 05:52 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(Sam Leong @ Jan 22 2022, 06:42 AM)
and u might be able to connect to 4CA if u r under DNB 700MHz + YTL 800MHz + 2600MHz + 2300MHz = 5+20MHz = 25MHz
Bandar Sri Damansara , near LDP exit , Uniqlo , 5G NSA connected , but unstable

I don't believe that anyone can combine spectrum for CA (4G+) from two totally different networks (MNC). Yes 4G is 152, DNB is 159
Skeuomorphic
post Jan 22 2022, 05:54 PM

671 posts

QUOTE(Myk Hyn @ Jan 22 2022, 09:58 AM)
Any map of 5g in Klang valley?
From DNB website: https://www.digital-nasional.com.my/interactive-map

Yes website: https://www.yes.my/coverage/
luqman98x
post Jan 22 2022, 06:03 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Jan 22 2022, 02:22 PM)
Just got my Vivo 23e from Maxshit, guess no app to test the 5G network?

You mean to view stuff like Network Signal Guru does? There is built-in MTK EngineeringMode (*#*#3646633#*#*). Should be under Telephony section > MDML EM Components, the problem the UI isn't that fancy as NSG

Also, you most likely need Android Developer Options enabled to access EngineeringMode menu

This post has been edited by luqman98x: Jan 22 2022, 06:07 PM

peterscm
post Jan 23 2022, 01:31 AM

388 posts

Is there anyone using Yes 5G on Mi 11T Pro?
TSGold_Moderator
post Jan 23 2022, 02:02 AM

3,097 posts

QUOTE(peterscm @ Jan 23 2022, 01:31 AM)

i test on poco m3 pro. 5G yes.
poco x3 gt. no 5G
azhar75
post Jan 23 2022, 07:33 AM

17,218 posts

sharpman
post Jan 23 2022, 10:24 AM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

search YouTube Channel: Pendakwah Teknologi

He is using Mi 11T Pro to test Yes 5G
azhar75
post Jan 23 2022, 12:49 PM

17,218 posts

Ensure Malaysia unit and not imported/AP set...
peterscm
post Jan 29 2022, 11:29 AM

388 posts

Finally got hold of local Mi 11 T Pro on 24/01/2022.

Tested working with Yes 5G. However, indoor result is not so good and some places only manage to get 4G.

Tested @ Kepong Baru and CyberJaya Quill 18.

@ Quill 18 (outdoor) tested on 25/01/2022

Inside Quill 18, 5G NSA signal not stable.

@ Kepong Baru (indoor) tested today 29/01/2022

Now using USB Tethering to my notebook (today 29/01/2022):

Earlier testing @ Kepong Baru (indoor & outdoor) no very stable. the 5G NSA come and go.

It is more stable since yesterday (28/01/2022).

My another China phone still unable to connect to 5G NSA. Tested @ Kepong Baru and Quill 18, Cyber Jaya.

This post has been edited by peterscm: Jan 29 2022, 11:33 AM
azhar75
post Jan 29 2022, 11:52 AM

17,218 posts

QUOTE(peterscm @ Jan 29 2022, 11:29 AM)
Finally got hold of local Mi 11 T Pro on 24/01/2022.

My another China phone still unable to connect to 5G NSA. Tested @ Kepong Baru and Quill 18, Cyber Jaya.
Is the 11TP box comes with E.I.N. sticker/logo/seal?

What about the other China phone? Does it also have the E.I.N sticker/seal on the box?
peterscm
post Jan 29 2022, 03:08 PM

388 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Jan 29 2022, 11:52 AM)
Is the 11TP box comes with E.I.N. sticker/logo/seal?

What about the other China phone? Does it also have the E.I.N sticker/seal on the box?
The 11T Pro bought from Xiaomi flagship store with below sticker.

The China phone bought from Lazada (the phone directly from China). It is Ulefone Armor 11T 5G.

azhar75
post Jan 29 2022, 03:09 PM

17,218 posts

Ok. Good to know that as long as there is "SIRIM/MCMC" seal, it's compatible with Yeoh Tiong Lay's 5G NSA...

Currently, there are 4 "authorized" distributors:

This post has been edited by azhar75: Jan 29 2022, 03:28 PM
prosibu
post Jan 29 2022, 03:37 PM

2,428 posts

Sri petaling...
Full bar always 600mbps - 1000mbps ....(if connect to NSA)

Too bad the 5g is not consistent
And always use 700mhz (20mhz) compared to 5g frequency (200mhz) caused the speed below 100mbps

azhar75
post Jan 29 2022, 03:41 PM

17,218 posts

Please stop using Ookla....use fast.com ....
kwokwah
post Feb 1 2022, 10:18 AM

584 posts

Along LDP outside Pavillion

momuchi
post Feb 3 2022, 02:46 PM

1,065 posts

QUOTE(culain99 @ Jan 17 2022, 08:45 PM)
i`m test on taiwan phone HTC U20 5G, not to see 5G.. bruce.gif

blip and gone like thanos
sickx
post Feb 5 2022, 03:02 PM

:)
1,232 posts

Just curious, can the simcard works with wireless router?
adamw
post Feb 5 2022, 03:11 PM

3,351 posts

QUOTE(sickx @ Feb 5 2022, 03:02 PM)
Just curious, can the simcard works with wireless router?
In YES FAQ, it says no but if you have 5G router can give it a try!
andrekua2
post Feb 7 2022, 03:04 PM

13,468 posts

QUOTE(kwokwah @ Feb 1 2022, 10:18 AM)
Along LDP outside Pavillion
LDP got pavilion? Or did u mean paradigm?
kwokwah
post Feb 7 2022, 05:18 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Feb 7 2022, 03:04 PM)
LDP got pavilion? Or did u mean paradigm?
New Pavillion at Bukit Jalil but is along LDP. LDP actually extends up to Astro from Damansara Kepong.
kausar
post Feb 7 2022, 05:31 PM

608 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Feb 5 2022, 03:11 PM)
In YES FAQ, it says no but if you have 5G router can give it a try!
are u sure or not? later get banned card
adamw
post Feb 7 2022, 08:59 PM

3,351 posts

QUOTE(kausar @ Feb 7 2022, 05:31 PM)
are u sure or not? later get banned card
the yes 5g is free anyway if banned get another brows.gif
terence_nwb
post Feb 7 2022, 11:53 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(kwokwah @ Feb 7 2022, 05:18 PM)
New Pavillion at Bukit Jalil but is along LDP. LDP actually extends up to Astro from Damansara Kepong.
That road is Bukit Jalil Highway not LDP.
kwokwah
post Feb 8 2022, 12:31 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Feb 7 2022, 11:53 PM)
That road is Bukit Jalil Highway not LDP.
You are right. Bukit Jalil Highway.
KCY3701
post Feb 10 2022, 10:46 PM

On My Way to Level 50
633 posts

What counts as a valid address?

I put my address here in Selangor, but I do also travel to Yes 5G areas in KL.
adamw
post Feb 11 2022, 12:09 AM

3,351 posts

QUOTE(KCY3701 @ Feb 10 2022, 10:46 PM)

Just a reminder. you will get the simcard soon.
KCY3701
post Feb 11 2022, 07:46 PM

On My Way to Level 50
633 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Feb 11 2022, 12:09 AM)
Just a reminder. you will get the simcard soon.
Thanks for the info. I checked again today and it has been shipped.
TSGold_Moderator
post Feb 12 2022, 05:36 PM

3,097 posts

QUOTE(KCY3701 @ Feb 10 2022, 10:46 PM)

what phone model u using?
MyProLife
post Feb 12 2022, 06:20 PM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,066 posts

Samsung S21 series have been removed from DNB 5G supported list

Seems like SME is not approving DNB 5G anytime soon

https://amanz.my/2022325497/

Edit: samsung is still there in upcoming list

This post has been edited by MyProLife: Feb 12 2022, 06:29 PM
KCY3701
post Feb 12 2022, 06:54 PM

On My Way to Level 50
633 posts

QUOTE(Gold_Moderator @ Feb 12 2022, 05:36 PM)
what phone model u using?
Oppo Reno 6z
TSGold_Moderator
post Feb 13 2022, 01:36 PM

3,097 posts

what is Yes unlimited internet plan pricing after march ya?
adamw
post Feb 13 2022, 02:16 PM

3,351 posts

QUOTE(Gold_Moderator @ Feb 13 2022, 01:36 PM)
what is Yes unlimited internet plan pricing after march ya?
This pass 2 weeks like not so stable, need airplane mode few times only got 5g data. Sometimes even need restart my vivo 23e for it to work. So if need to pay, forget it!
Sam Leong
post Feb 13 2022, 02:19 PM

665 posts

https://www.orientaldaily.com.my/news/natio...22/02/11/467307

I can't find the English source so ya

Translation : (吉隆坡11日讯)明讯(Maxis)、天地通(Celcom)、数码网络(DIGI)已接受大马通信和多媒体委员会的5G服务频谱报价,从7月1日起为期5年。
(Kuala Lumpur 11th) Maxis , Celcom and Digi has accepted the offer from MCMC for 5G spectrum , starting from July 1 , for 5 years.

That's means Maxis Celcom Digi not using DNB for their 5G?
dgboy
post Feb 13 2022, 03:39 PM

5,074 posts

https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...or-5g-services/

If not mistaken this spectrum is for 4G rather than 5G.

This post has been edited by dgboy: Feb 14 2022, 06:08 AM
JLA
post Feb 13 2022, 04:06 PM

2,772 posts

QUOTE(dgboy @ Feb 13 2022, 03:39 PM)
https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...or-5g-services/

If not mistaken this spectrum is for 4G rather than 5G.
...... more detail news
one-time fee of RM11.76 million to be paid by 12 noon, February 14 and an annual fee component fixed at RM20.76 million payable before December 15 each year throughout the validity of the spectrum assignment.
https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...signment-offers

Celcom Axiata Bhd, has accepted the offer for spectrum assignment in the 2530MHz to 2540MHz paired with 2650MHz to 2660MHz frequency bands.

n7 – 5G NR Frequency Band – 2600MHz FDD
Uplink (MHz) 2500 to 2570 MHz
Downlink (MHz) 2620 to 2690 MHz
https://www.cablefree.net/wirelesstechnolog...nd-2600mhz-fdd/
MyProLife
post Feb 13 2022, 06:47 PM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,066 posts

QUOTE(JLA @ Feb 13 2022, 04:06 PM)
...... more detail news
one-time fee of RM11.76 million to be paid by 12 noon, February 14 and an annual fee component fixed at RM20.76 million payable before December 15 each year throughout the validity of the spectrum assignment.
https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...signment-offers

Celcom Axiata Bhd, has accepted the offer for spectrum assignment in the 2530MHz to 2540MHz paired with 2650MHz to 2660MHz frequency bands.

n7 – 5G NR Frequency Band – 2600MHz FDD
Uplink (MHz) 2500 to 2570 MHz
Downlink (MHz) 2620 to 2690 MHz
https://www.cablefree.net/wirelesstechnolog...nd-2600mhz-fdd/
So more like refarming existing 4g spectrum to use 5g using DSS technology
dgboy
post Feb 13 2022, 08:19 PM

5,074 posts

QUOTE(MyProLife @ Feb 13 2022, 06:47 PM)
this article suggests such refarming

https://soyacincau.com/2021/12/09/annuar-mu...ech-neutrality/

but if the big three telcos do their own 5g, then DNB becomes 5GDB?
prosibu
post Feb 14 2022, 01:28 AM

2,428 posts

QUOTE(MyProLife @ Feb 13 2022, 06:47 PM)
QUOTE(dgboy @ Feb 13 2022, 08:19 PM)
this article suggests such refarming

https://soyacincau.com/2021/12/09/annuar-mu...ech-neutrality/

but if the big three telcos do their own 5g, then DNB becomes 5GDB?
I believe it is just renewal of 2600mhz spectrum which expired at December 2019.
Of coz the usage will be remained as 4G since there is no green light from gov

Reassigning 2600MHz to spectrum assignment. The 2600MHz spectrum allocation for 4G deployment, which had expired in December last year, was extended to December 2019. Currently, Maxis, Celcom and Digi, which were earlier awarded blocks of 2 x 10MHz, are operating 2 x 20MHz bands. This is because Maxis has a spectrum sharing arrangement with REDtone, and Celcom and Digi with Altel.

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/AmInvestR...um_Feedback.jsp

This post has been edited by prosibu: Feb 14 2022, 01:29 AM
TSGold_Moderator
post Feb 14 2022, 11:19 AM

3,097 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Feb 13 2022, 02:16 PM)
This pass 2 weeks like not so stable, need airplane mode few times only got 5g data. Sometimes even need restart my vivo 23e for it to work. So if need to pay, forget it!
yup. snapdragon and mtk need to keep on flashing flight mode.
so far i test. the most stable is kirin processor
mlamlam
post Feb 14 2022, 12:57 PM

652 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Feb 13 2022, 02:16 PM)
the data connection is disconnected and reconnected when go to the border of 5G and drop back to 4G..
it is not seamlessly....

even sometimes no data just 4G, need to restart the phone or airplane turn on and off...
TSGold_Moderator
post Feb 14 2022, 03:25 PM

3,097 posts

QUOTE(mlamlam @ Feb 14 2022, 12:57 PM)
the data connection is disconnected and reconnected when go to the border of 5G and drop back to 4G..
it is not seamlessly....

even sometimes no data just 4G, need to restart the phone or airplane turn on and off...
manual unlimited 5G. i think this might one of the Yes plan. to avoid user abuse 5G services.

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.2726sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:48 AM