13 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Unlimited 5G plan

mlamlam
post Feb 21 2022, 12:03 AM

652 posts

If those big4 telco not joining the DNB 5G network, or the proposal is rejected, it will be 3 lose scenario..

Telco lost - 5G will not be supported by major telcos in Malaysia

Customer lost - Those users from Apple likely won't be certified to use 5G network, not sure about Samsung. You even can think Yes also cannot support VoLTE on iPhone, 5G lagi no hope. Do you think Yes will pay $$ and sign Agreement to Apple for certification as well?

DNB also lost, only can collect small amount of $$ from two telco, Unifi and Yes. Think about the electricity fee per site, it is already 3.5kW per site, if later got 1K site this year end, and I count RM 0.55 per kW, electricity fee per month already ~1.3m per month..... and 1k site sure cannot cover whole Malaysia, only outdoor coverage in Major City...

DNB build 5G network with no Voice Support at this moment, those 2 telcos signed agreement with DNB also need to expand their current 4G networks (especially indoor, underground and car park), otherwise Voice call will frequently dropped and subscribers complain... they cannot totally rely on DNB network for both data and voice and pay subscription fee without expanding their network....

This post has been edited by mlamlam: Feb 21 2022, 12:03 AM
mlamlam
post Feb 24 2022, 11:36 AM

652 posts

It has been more than 1 month since I have the 5G access to DNB, it seems more frequent of disconnection and instability....

sometimes no SIM, sometimes full bar signal but no data connection...

was using Telegram and it shows connecting for a long time, have to turn on airplane on and off
mlamlam
post Feb 24 2022, 08:01 PM

652 posts

QUOTE(prosibu @ Feb 24 2022, 05:20 PM)
Have u disable 5g at ur 2nd sim?
I set network type prefer 5g for both sim caused both sim disconnected to network frequently.
After set my 2nd sim as prefer 4g, the dc seems reduced much
I will give it a try to set Digi one to 4G only and Yes to be 4G/5G and see how later, since i just passby KL and my home is not in the coverage area :-)
mlamlam
post Mar 6 2022, 06:34 PM

652 posts

QUOTE(prosibu @ Mar 6 2022, 04:41 PM)
5G is expanding into Penang, Ipoh, JB, and Klang Valley ( Rawang, Sepang Gold Coast, Klang, Puchong, PJ)
But JB/ Rawang/klang/PJ have more trial sites to be commercial

https://www.digital-nasional.com.my/interactive-map#map
I don't see any coverage changes for weeks in KV area..

the map shows it has coverage in damansara uptown but i never got 5G in that area
the map shows it has coverage in bandar utama area but most of the area are in door, fortunately Yes has indoor coverage for 1u shopping mall....

they do the coverage in rawang but missing sungai buloh, usj those area =.=
why they do plan new site in those area with less ppl / sparsely populated area

This post has been edited by mlamlam: Mar 6 2022, 06:39 PM
mlamlam
post Mar 12 2022, 10:23 AM

652 posts

QUOTE(Sam Leong @ Mar 11 2022, 02:11 PM)
yes , and until now seems like no news coming out yet
https://soyacincau.com/2022/03/11/malaysia-...llout-16-march/
mlamlam
post Mar 16 2022, 10:52 PM

652 posts

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/dnb-...s-engage-telcos

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/big-...ffer-5g-rollout

big 4 telcos "welcome" govts decision swtick with swn?
so the big4 telco will join DNB for 5g deployment?
mlamlam
post Mar 17 2022, 10:56 AM

652 posts

there is a down side here, current telco cannot dynamically refarm current spectrum for 5G to use

it will far more increase the 5G speed and coverage , read the news below

https://www.mobileworldlive.com/asia/asia-n...n-boost-feature
mlamlam
post Mar 17 2022, 11:07 AM

652 posts

QUOTE(wingdover @ Mar 17 2022, 11:01 AM)
whats the point, even 4G show my home got coverage but activate and got 0 signal, immediately switch to XoX, full bar, no regret and wont touch Yes ever again, even if its discount down to rm1 also no point.
Yes 4G has low band (800Mhz with bandwidth 5Mhz only) and high band (2300 / 2600 with 20Mhz bandwidth)

if your home has high band freq coverage, you mostly can get at least 10Mbps during peak hour
if only have 800Mhz coverage, peak hour you would usually only 50kB/s speed.....

for other telco, they can have 1800 / 2100 Mhz to deliver the service to your home as well.
mlamlam
post Mar 24 2022, 12:26 AM

652 posts

QUOTE(xperiaDROID @ Mar 24 2022, 12:17 AM)
Can already tell they don't care about the risks and everything anymore, what they're basically doing now is just for the sake of rushing out 5G in the most cost-saving way for their pockets so we don't seem to be lacking behind our neighbors in terms of tech, scrapping the whole project means money will be dumped into the sea, they have no choice but to live in denial

And I highly doubt what the telcos tried to oppose before was really because of innovations and stuff, more like they just want profit, otherwise they wouldn't even try to propose DWN network and then finally support DNB's SWN network when they're offered a stake

It will be a miracle if this whole DNB thing succeeds, but then there's no miracle here but half-baked implementations, at this point I can't even imagine what would happen when DNB tries to implement things like VoNR

This is what happens when a country is being led by peabrains.
I tried to watch Facebook live and there is obviously an interruption when 5G is switching back to 4G

I also really doubt how it will be handled of voice call instead to switch seamlessly from DNB 5G network to 4G carrier network when implement VoNR
mlamlam
post Mar 26 2022, 07:23 PM

652 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Mar 26 2022, 05:38 PM)
Modi is catching up behind DNB...

DNB has a faster speed test 😂
But the fallback and coverage sure need to improve, especially indoor and underground
mlamlam
post Mar 31 2022, 07:16 PM

652 posts

It seems that more site are "pending" in Kota Damansara and Subang 2...

Besides, some site in Rawang are already in LIVE, who can go there and test as well?
mlamlam
post Apr 8 2022, 11:03 AM

652 posts

According to the document, DNB has set a base monthly rate of RM30,000 per Gbps for the first 1200Gbps of usage capacity. Subsequent capacity utilisation would then cost an additional RM22,000 per Gbps and there is also the in-building network rate of RM30,000 per Gbps.

Using 1500Gbps of capacity as an example, a telco would have to pay RM36 million for the first 1200Gbps and another RM6.6 million for the additional 300Gbps of usage. Of course, there are additional costs that telcos have to face as well including related taxes and Universal Service Provision charges.
Who will going to pay this amount monthly.....
I believe it is more expensive than upgrade their current network to be 5G compatible...
Assuming extra RM 50 can be earned monthly by telco for every 5G subscriber, they need 720K subscribers to onboard...
and think about 1500Gbps = 1 500 000 Mbps, every subscriber only have 2Mbps capacity if all 720K subscribers are using the network at the same time....

and at this moment, hardly to have good indoor signal and the bad coverage in KL area.
DNB shall make priority to high density area and indoor / underground coverage
also 5G to 4G fallback is very bad, in between the fallback the phone will have no signal / data disconnection, which means if the user is having facetime video call / steaming, it will most probably facing the disconnection or reconnecting issue...

as an user, I won't mind to pay slightly more for 5G network access, but I don't want my phone only have 4G network most of the time but paying more expensive tariff for 5G network.

and yesterday, I had some speedtest in Kepong area, full bar 5G outdoor signal strength but speed is around only 200Mbps now..., with this speed 4G LTE 4CA also can achieve, what is the purpose of attracting telco to onboard DNB 5G network?
mlamlam
post Apr 8 2022, 03:45 PM

652 posts

QUOTE(Sam Leong @ Apr 8 2022, 03:28 PM)
Digi 4G at Kepong
I was using Digi 4G before (now in grace period not to reload to make it active yet) and my Kampung area also can have 150Mbps ++ down speed
as long as the phone support 2CA / 4CA and it is in Digi 4G coverage, the speed would not be slow.
mlamlam
post Apr 9 2022, 10:04 AM

652 posts

https://soyacincau.com/2022/04/08/celcom-di...ty-5g-services/

still a long way to go

is it a kind of SLA?

the RAO states that DNB has set a target of 99.0% for Data Session Setup Success Rate and a Latency of less than 15ms from the User Equipment (UE) to the Point of Interface (POI). The KPI also listed a Mean User Downlink Throughput of 100Mbps and a Mean User Uplink Throughput of 3Mbps for Non-standalone 5G architecture (NSA) or 5Mbps for Standalone 5G architecture (SA).

but the SLA didn't guarantee the coverage in Malaysia time by time...?
mlamlam
post Apr 11 2022, 12:16 PM

652 posts

QUOTE(culain99 @ Apr 10 2022, 09:38 AM)
On 5CA Samsung device also hard to get above 30 mbps consistently on digi with 4 bar signal on 4G & 4G+. This in few big cities. Not sure if max speed depend on type postpaid plan?
I don't think digi have 5CA, only Yes "have"

and if you got 5CA in Yes, it means you are in the 5G coverage area, your phone should switch to 5G signal instead...
mlamlam
post Apr 14 2022, 12:09 PM

652 posts

Expectation?

https://www.orientaldaily.com.my/news/natio...22/04/14/480269
mlamlam
post Apr 15 2022, 07:18 PM

652 posts

It seems that more 5G sites are GO-LIVE in rawang area, The Strand Mall in Kota Damansara area, also in Klang area and Cheras

btw I was in Damansara Uptown area on Wednesday, there are no 5G coverage at all..but the map shows it is in coverage
mlamlam
post Apr 15 2022, 11:43 PM

652 posts

btw , talk so long time already, it is talking about outdoor coverage only, barely have indoor / underground signal...

outdoor 100% coverage also useless

just like YTL and Unifi, they have deployed the 4G long time but underground / indoor signal coverage is poor
mlamlam
post Apr 16 2022, 10:21 AM

652 posts

QUOTE(LuckyBai @ Apr 15 2022, 11:46 PM)
If 5G is strong enough to use indoor, then YTL Yes wont move their flagship store at Lot 10 outdoor
No matter how strong of outdoor antenna, there is a dBm limitation by the law...also out handset needs to send out data back to the cell site

Indoor coverage must need something like femtocell to increase the coverage...

mlamlam
post Apr 24 2022, 06:43 PM

652 posts

Today went to Plaza Arkaida, only have 5G signal in those area you can see the sky, 1 bar - 3 bar signal strength with around 400Mbps speed.

I went to a shop located at the 2nd floor of a building, only have Yes 4G signal with 800Mhz that frequency, speed test only show 1-2Mbps.

I also went to the grocery shop which is located underground, Yes does not have any signal at all, switch to Digi and full bar 2600Mhz signal, speed test have 60Mbps++....

So, I won't be able to use ewallet to pay the grocery stuff if I only have Yes SIM card.

13 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.1047sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:05 PM