Anybody not using screen protector?

TSempoleon
post Dec 12 2021, 08:47 PM, updated 4y ago

52 posts

Are the iPhone screens strong enough without protection? Can withstand the rare drops once in a while? I have a thick case though.
SUSIzzanobody
post Dec 12 2021, 09:08 PM

589 posts

Can sifu. But risky leh.
Why u no want use skrin poletktor?

Try buy the premium brand ones. Wont rasa like have screen plotektor one.

Edit: brand like spigen.

This post has been edited by Izzanobody: Dec 12 2021, 09:10 PM
hightechgadgets8
post Dec 12 2021, 09:34 PM

\(^o^)/
6,017 posts

too many variables..

drop on tar road, drop on tiled floor, drop from ear height....

if u change phone every year, then don't need sp
lordfariq
post Dec 13 2021, 02:03 PM

326 posts

if dont use, if fall on tar = cry and money fly haha
dikae
post Dec 13 2021, 03:02 PM

an apple a day
9,184 posts

Strongly wouldn’t recommend not using a TG, they are available everywhere, for rm70 you get a peace of mind, and they are good quality with good oleophobic coatings too…I wouldn’t risk cracking the screen for that little amount of investment..
TSempoleon
post Dec 14 2021, 01:25 AM

52 posts

OK will get a proper one.

I bought one and installed it myself but ended up having dust spots and later I messed it up while trying to fix it. Got one more installed at a shop but one edge doesn't stick to the screen fully cos of the curve. Less than a mm but everytime I turn on the phone I automatically focus on that.
Nick Takuya
post Dec 14 2021, 01:59 AM

322 posts

QUOTE(empoleon @ Dec 14 2021, 01:25 AM)
OK will get a proper one.

I bought one and installed it myself but ended up having dust spots and later I messed it up while trying to fix it. Got one more installed at a shop but one edge doesn't stick to the screen fully cos of the curve. Less than a mm but everytime I turn on the phone I automatically focus on that.
I'm assuming u are using iPhone 13 series, u can get it from Spigen on Lazada for around RM80 that includes 2 SPs, comes with alignment tool as well, its super easy to do self installation.
kangaroonext20km
post Jan 18 2022, 05:47 PM

57 posts

You can actually watch this video showing comparisons with a cheap TG and a premium TG.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=Knv5_zc8ghA

A 1 usd and 40 usd TG gives basically the same protection. Only a 80 usd sapphire infused glass offers more protection than a cheap TG.

Ceramic Shield is extremely tough already on the newer iphones

The guy that got famous on YouTube for dropping dozens of iPhones in various cases recently dropped the newer heavier iPhones and they were found to be really sturdy ( surviving multiple falls from human height without the screen breaking )

You can check the video here : https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=MxZhVAfJjmc

I would probably go to a store like ninja z and ask them to install the cheapest TG they have to be honest, or go all out for a sappphire TG screen protector
McFD2R
post Jan 20 2022, 03:06 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(empoleon @ Dec 12 2021, 08:47 PM)
Are the iPhone screens strong enough without protection? Can withstand the rare drops once in a while? I have a thick case though.
It isn't about "strong enough" because no one can define it. Strong enough to withstand a drop from waist level? Drop on staircase and tumble down? To soft or hard surface? Can you control the angle of the fall? These are variables where no one knows, that's why it's called "accidental drop". If someone bought an iPhone which by today's phone standard is pricey, why would someone NOT buy an SP? They are thin and barely noticeable.

The cost of an SP is negligible relative to the cost of replacing a screen in the event of unwanted incident.
Kidicarus
post Jan 20 2022, 04:12 PM

727 posts

I have not used a screen protector for maybe 5-6 years now. I recently upgraded to an iphone 13 from the 7 because it finally died on me. What I've found protected my phone from drops is the use of a good case. I've been using the official leather cases for both phones.

Because the screen is recessed into the case, when dropping on a flat surface, the screen will never come into contact with the surface its dropped on. It also protects against corner impacts which no screen protector will help against.
KekTart
post Feb 13 2022, 08:45 PM

147 posts

I have never liked screen protector honestly. So I never used them on 99.9% of my phone usage. That 0.1% of time I tried it on, I absolutely disliked it, tore them after a week.
this iPhone I’m typing on has no screen protector.

The benefits of not using screen protector = your phone screen is much shinier than others. Because people like to cheap out on screen protector. And that means 0 oleophobic coating, easier to crack, easier to scratch(and super visible) It’s just horrible.

Don’t need to worry about drops. A case is much more important to protect against drops. And buy those with raised edges! But just pray that it doesn’t drop on a pointy edge right on the screen…. Ie: roads, rocks,

This post has been edited by KekTart: Feb 13 2022, 09:04 PM
spreeeee
post Feb 14 2022, 09:23 AM

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,812 posts

not using since day 1
-iphone13

but with casing
bootmod3
post Feb 15 2022, 10:02 AM

65 posts

Yes. I've never used any screen protector on all my smartphones. I did drop a dumbbell once on my iPhone 6 but thankfully the screen didn't crack, just bent a bit.
TSempoleon
post Feb 15 2022, 11:27 AM

52 posts

Many of you don't use them. I'll give it a try if my current SP is damaged.
Kekikan
post Feb 15 2022, 11:40 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(empoleon @ Dec 12 2021, 08:47 PM)
better to just use.. dont end up like me with free broken glass pattern sad.gif
bootmod3
post Feb 16 2022, 11:17 AM

65 posts

QUOTE(empoleon @ Feb 15 2022, 11:27 AM)
Many of you don't use them. I'll give it a try if my current SP is damaged.
Best of luck. Depending on the type of screen protector you have been using, you may suddenly feel that everything is so clear, bright and sharp when you stop using it.

0.0310sec    0.51    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 03:33 AM