Want to surrender insurance

TSRedshelf411
post Dec 9 2021, 08:23 PM, updated 4y ago

818 posts

As the topic said.

I have this insurance for 1 year already, which I've bought from an old university friend a lil bit more than 1 year ago. A year ago I was able to pay for it because I had a job and whatever. Money wasn't an issue then (and for much of the last 1 year). However, recently I've faced some financial difficulties as I've lost my job and my income from my freelance work is only sufficient to feed me. The very same income I've had from my freelance work is not enough to support an insurance plan too.

I've asked my agent/friend if I can just surrender because, for real, my income is not sufficient. She didn't say no outright, but it was implied I should not surrender this insurance. I know. Insurance agents also cari makan, so even that bit of money from losing 1 policy is no for them. But they never think about if we don't have the money to feed ourselves, why would we use that money to pay for an insurance policy?

I've also asked her if I can just hold premium payments first.. Her reply to me was that if I do (which I can) then I will have to pay back all the o/s premiums.

My question now is that can I just walk in to the branch and just surrender the policy? Because I don't want later I walk in and then the branch execs also try to deter me from surrendering. In the end it becomes something very difficult for me as I feel I'm held against my will in paying for the premiums that I simply cannot afford (and that it's not worth it anymore at this point).
Seager
post Dec 9 2021, 08:28 PM

Sick my duck
1,514 posts

If you surrender now (a year later), I don't think your surrender value would be high. Perhaps you might wanna check first. Insurance companies will really make it difficult to surrender.

In the past, what I did was cancel my CC and apply for a new one later on. My premium was absorbed by the surrender value up till the point nothing was left. Then I just ignored it.
toffeemoose
post Dec 9 2021, 08:28 PM

31 posts

nope...dun worry....2 years back I tulan with a certain insurance...went to the branch and ask the CS to terminate all policies(me and 2 kids)....got some cash back as some are investment linked....

CS did with a smile and asked me why...told her the truth and she just proceeded without any fuss

and then proceed to buy new insurance for me and my kids...with another insurance comp

But in my case, at that time.....my agent no longer exist as an agent....think he did not meet his quota

This post has been edited by toffeemoose: Dec 9 2021, 08:31 PM
TSRedshelf411
post Dec 9 2021, 08:31 PM

818 posts

QUOTE(Seager @ Dec 9 2021, 08:28 PM)
If you surrender now (a year later), I don't think your surrender value would be high. Perhaps you might wanna check first. Insurance companies will really make it difficult to surrender.

In the past, what I did was cancel my CC and apply for a new one later on. My premium was absorbed by the surrender value up till the point nothing was left. Then I just ignored it.
QUOTE(toffeemoose @ Dec 9 2021, 08:28 PM)
nope...dun worry....2 years back I tulan with a certain insurance...went to the branch and ask the CS to terminate all policies(me and 2 kids)....got some cash back as some are investment linked....and then proceed to buy new insurance for me and my kids

But in my case, at that time.....my agent no longer exist as an agent....think he did not meet his quota
The current insurance I have now is an ILP. 1 year I don't think it's a lot of cash value tbh. I have 2 months premiums owing, which I don't plan on paying up. So I believe that if I surrender now, I won't get anything back. Just disappointed that I wasted rm2000+ on an insurance where I didn't get anything back. Silly me.
TSRedshelf411
post Dec 9 2021, 08:31 PM

818 posts

QUOTE(toffeemoose @ Dec 9 2021, 08:28 PM)
nope...dun worry....2 years back I tulan with a certain insurance...went to the branch and ask the CS to terminate all policies(me and 2 kids)....got some cash back as some are investment linked....

CS did with a smile and asked me why...told her the truth and she just proceeded without any fuss

and then proceed to buy new insurance for me and my kids...with another insurance comp

Also wanna ask you... Did you go for any cheaper insurance alternatives?
toffeemoose
post Dec 9 2021, 08:33 PM

31 posts

yes...dats the drawback with terminating any insurance....its not supposed to be a tool for profit...its for protection

but for me insurance is a MUST...but on the very bare minimum basis...

and now i just got another baby...straight away get the baby insurance...though at my age...the premium is a WOW

maybe u just can think about those bare non-ILP types....that do basic but critical cover

andrekua2
post Dec 9 2021, 08:34 PM

13,494 posts

Life insurance? Most likely investment linked is it? First year also not much is left. All those money went into buying unit trust and withdraw every month to pay premium automatically. You can check left how much and discontinue whenever you want I think.

I paid 2.4k for my first son for 3 years before terminating and only got back a little over 2k. Admitted twice during those times resulting in 4k+ claims.
toffeemoose
post Dec 9 2021, 08:36 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(Redshelf411 @ Dec 9 2021, 08:31 PM)
Also wanna ask you... Did you go for any cheaper insurance alternatives?
problem is at my age...the premium wont be cheap....got extra loading cos bit overweight....

I thought long and hard about it....but for me my no 1 concern is the after-sales service....which the previous insurance company sucks big time

so I decided to bite the bullet and get new policies for my family also....but I am able to afford it

though my other 2 kids are nearly grown up...so I dont bother all those ILP anymore for them
toffeemoose
post Dec 9 2021, 08:36 PM

31 posts

duplicate post

This post has been edited by toffeemoose: Dec 9 2021, 08:37 PM
JK612
post Dec 9 2021, 08:37 PM

37 posts

Most of the 1st year premium masuk pocket insurer and agents, so if you surrender now and buy another insurance next time, you need to pay the 1st year premium again which you retain none or little of the payment.

To answer your question, yes you can just walk in and surrender.
mini orchard
post Dec 9 2021, 08:44 PM

14,511 posts

No action needed from your side ....just stop future payment and the co will terminate the policy.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Dec 9 2021, 08:45 PM
RigerZ
post Dec 9 2021, 08:49 PM

On the way on the way
1,018 posts

QUOTE(Redshelf411 @ Dec 9 2021, 08:23 PM)
My question now is that can I just walk in to the branch and just surrender the policy?
Yes you should be able to. I did it with mine (great eastern).

Because I don't want later I walk in and then the branch execs also try to deter me from surrendering.
In my scenario there was no begging or resistance from the staff. I request it, they process it.
If they want to try and deter you, just stand firm and insist you want to surrender.

Hope your life condition improves from here onwards.
viole
post Dec 9 2021, 08:55 PM

KFC Lover
840 posts

Can.

I did it. I walk in to prudential office. And surrender it. No question asked from them.
GE-DavidK
post Dec 9 2021, 09:00 PM

123 posts

As the topic said.

I have this insurance for 1 year already, which I've bought from an old university friend a lil bit more than 1 year ago. A year ago I was able to pay for it because I had a job and whatever. Money wasn't an issue then (and for much of the last 1 year). However, recently I've faced some financial difficulties as I've lost my job and my income from my freelance work is only sufficient to feed me. The very same income I've had from my freelance work is not enough to support an insurance plan too.

I've asked my agent/friend if I can just surrender because, for real, my income is not sufficient. She didn't say no outright, but it was implied I should not surrender this insurance. I know. Insurance agents also cari makan, so even that bit of money from losing 1 policy is no for them. But they never think about if we don't have the money to feed ourselves, why would we use that money to pay for an insurance policy?

I've also asked her if I can just hold premium payments first.. Her reply to me was that if I do (which I can) then I will have to pay back all the o/s premiums.

My question now is that can I just walk in to the branch and just surrender the policy? Because I don't want later I walk in and then the branch execs also try to deter me from surrendering. In the end it becomes something very difficult for me as I feel I'm held against my will in paying for the premiums that I simply cannot afford (and that it's not worth it anymore at this point).
If standalone/term insurance with no investment link, just stop payment and it will automatic terminate policy. (Personally, I still suggest to go to any branch to request surrender even though if it's standalone/term insurance just in case of any complications).

If investment linked policy and you stop payment, it will exhaust the cash value inside first before terminate. So go to any insurance company branch, say you want to surrender, they will give you a surrender form and direct credit form for you to fill to transfer the remaining cash value to your bank account.
chuan1961
post Dec 9 2021, 09:11 PM

335 posts

It's ur money, u can do whatever u want. Just stop payment, or walk in and surrender.
TSRedshelf411
post Dec 9 2021, 09:17 PM

818 posts

My only concern is because it's an ILP from one of those international insurance companies. So for now it's definitely cheaper since I'm young. But when I grow older, the premiums I will be paying will be higher than what I get out when the policy matures. So no point when I'm paying so much and I am getting nothing much out of it.
BL98
post Dec 9 2021, 11:16 PM

743 posts

Medical card and life is the most important.
Life insurance without investment link is usually quite cheap.

Buying insurance is just for the protection in case anything happens then you are at least not financially ruined. Some people buy insurance but nothing happens. And some did not buy then kena many medical problems.
Ruris
post Dec 9 2021, 11:20 PM

125 posts

If you're young and those sales ppl say to lock in the price or whatever.... All lies.
SUSOmni-Man
post Dec 9 2021, 11:27 PM

66 posts

If u can pay, continue to pay. U also aware that u stand to lose if u stop now. However, i am sensing that the insurance is causing u much budget issue until u cannot feed yourself/pay rent. Am i right? If this is really the case, u should consider to stop the insurance and rebuy insurabce at a later stage.

By the way how much u pay every month and how old are you? If u still below 30, going off w/o ILP for a while should be ok. U can still buy seperate life insurance and med card in meantime if u have the budget.
sinnlig
post Dec 10 2021, 03:01 AM

219 posts

As the topic said.

Don't worry about the future.

Do what you need to do to survive for now.

Terminate it so you can sleep soundly at night. Mental health is real. Make sure that's in check.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0224sec    0.78    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 07:15 PM