Public Bank Housing Loan Principal Repayment

LovelyPotato
post Jul 8 2022, 05:15 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(kradun @ Jul 8 2022, 05:10 PM)
Well done lovely potato.

Yeah just for the sake of reduce interest won't need to susah go counter just transfer into the loan account will do.

For online payment u won't be able to choose code, that likely to perform at counter?
Yeah you won't be able to choose the code. But you can verify where the money goes into. If it's not the right code then you will have to check with your mortgage branch.
hebe87
post Sep 4 2022, 10:39 PM

935 posts

my loan is term loan (fixed loan).
already passed 3 years lock in period

what I did was sent a letter via registered post to PBB, telling them I would like to pay lumpsum for principal
They then call me back, ask me to put the lumpsum in my saving account and email them to authorise them to debit the lumpsum from my savings account

below is the screenshot of the payment code.. not sure if it is the correct code or not.

Angry Clerk
post Sep 4 2022, 11:32 PM

253 posts

semi Flexi account can make online.

code 668 is principal payment

660 is over counter.

Human Nature
post Aug 25 2023, 12:02 PM

- student of human nature -
26,522 posts

QUOTE(Angry Clerk @ Sep 4 2022, 11:32 PM)

660 is over counter.
Hi, I made payment over the counter to reduce principal. The code is 660 with description Special Payment.

This is considered as principal payment too, right?

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Aug 25 2023, 12:07 PM
Angry Clerk
post Aug 25 2023, 01:35 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Aug 25 2023, 12:02 PM)
Hi, I made payment over the counter to reduce principal. The code is 660 with description Special Payment.

This is considered as principal payment too, right?
you are right

- special principal payment -

print at the center of the yellow slip

This post has been edited by Angry Clerk: Aug 25 2023, 01:35 PM
jayxunned
post Sep 21 2023, 10:47 PM

478 posts

Riding on this post to ask all sifu here as my banker cannot really pakai after few rounds with her

i recent gotten my pb house loan somewhere around june and started paying july this year

1. my instalment amt is still as per the contract, but the recent opr has reflected, and my ijarah rate (interest rate) also adjusted. Not sure why my monthly amount still hasn’t adjusted. did a sense check at loan calculator should have been more.

2. as to paying extra to reduce interest , i read everyone post it seems it can be done online or counter. for online how to assure is directly into 668/660 as i don’t see it in the mobile version nor app when i wanna remit extra. i saw post at xhs it seems online payment sort their payment type by instalment -> prepayment -> then only principal, which may meant only if you remit the third one within the same month you get the principal reduction

thanks in advance

This post has been edited by jayxunned: Sep 21 2023, 10:56 PM
poweredbydiscuz
post Sep 22 2023, 08:16 AM

3,832 posts

QUOTE(jayxunned @ Sep 21 2023, 10:47 PM)
1. my instalment amt is still as per the contract, but the recent opr has reflected, and my ijarah rate (interest rate) also adjusted. Not sure why my monthly amount still hasn’t adjusted. did a sense check at loan calculator should have been more.
It may due the amount changes is not much (<rm50) so the bank didn't adjust the monthly repayment amount immediately.
galkelly
post Sep 22 2023, 08:22 AM

752 posts

QUOTE(ProSambalEater @ Dec 12 2021, 05:32 PM)
Hi all, thanks for the reply..

An update on this, i went to Public bank and settled this:

1. bring cheque book to Sunway branch, inform receptionist that i want to make repayment on housing loan principal amount

2. receptionist told me to go first floor (i supposed is loan department). I go up, told them the same intention. The officer gave me a form to fill up my loan account number and amount to be paid.

3. The officer took the form to check and then sign on it. Pls take note the officer indicated "for repayment of loan principal" on the form.

4. On the cheque, Payee just need to write the loan account owner's name. Indicate loan account number behind the cheque.

5. with the signed form and cheque, go back to branch counter and wait for ur number to be called up. Pass the form and cheque and they will provide a receipt for it.

Hope this explains to all existing and future public bank loan customers. XD

A bit different with my previous loan with ocbc that i can just deposit the cheque at the machine or even make advance payment online.
So after the payment is done , you ll see the latest outstanding principal amount still owed to bank ??
johnnycp
post Sep 22 2023, 08:47 AM

599 posts

Anyone know how is the procedure with Alliance Bank? I'm new to this bank, and bank just made first loan disbursement
TSProSambalEater
post Sep 28 2023, 11:08 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(galkelly @ Sep 22 2023, 08:22 AM)
So after the payment is done , you ll see the latest outstanding principal amount still owed to bank ??
of course... both amount repaid and also latest balance
hihihehe
post Oct 9 2023, 08:49 PM

13,783 posts

QUOTE(Angry Clerk @ Sep 4 2022, 11:32 PM)

660 is over counter.
how to do it online?

i dont see the option to choose code?
Angry Clerk
post Oct 9 2023, 08:57 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Oct 9 2023, 08:49 PM)
how to do it online?

i dont see the option to choose code?
U can't choose one , for example Ur monthly 2,000

You just pay 10,000

8,000 auto goes into principal
hihihehe
post Oct 9 2023, 09:19 PM

13,783 posts

QUOTE(Angry Clerk @ Oct 9 2023, 08:57 PM)
U can't choose one , for example Ur monthly 2,000

You just pay 10,000

8,000 auto goes into principal
but it should be treated as advanced payment by default right
Angry Clerk
post Oct 9 2023, 09:40 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Oct 9 2023, 09:19 PM)
but it should be treated as advanced payment by default right
By default one month payment as advance (loan >100K) with redraw feature

If loan less than 100K, no redraw feature, all payments considered as advance
hihihehe
post Nov 1 2023, 12:39 PM

13,783 posts

QUOTE(Angry Clerk @ Oct 9 2023, 09:40 PM)
By default one month payment as advance (loan >100K) with redraw feature

If loan less than 100K, no redraw feature, all payments considered as advance
so i tried to pay extra (eg. 2.8k loan paid 3k)
2.8k payment code is 614 and extra 200 is 668 which mean it went into reducing principal rather than advance payment?
Angry Clerk
post Nov 1 2023, 09:51 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Nov 1 2023, 12:39 PM)
so i tried to pay extra (eg. 2.8k loan paid 3k)
2.8k payment code is 614 and extra 200 is 668 which mean it went into reducing principal rather than advance payment?
Correct you are right
KingArthurVI
post Jan 18 2024, 01:10 PM

BWOAHHHH
1,124 posts

Hey guys tumpang this thread to ask about my PBB Islamic semi flexi housing loan. I've been pumping lots of lump sum over the past few months, they've all gone into 668 and reduced my principal by a lot. I've noticed my monthly interest incurred is getting very small, so I must be doing this right.

However, if I have even more cash to pump in the future and I want to reduce the balance to close to 0 so I don't need to pay monthly anymore, is this possible? Meaning I want to use my semi flexi loan account as an OD facility where in case of emergency I can use the "redraw amount".
ichigo kawasaki
post May 14 2025, 01:43 PM

251 posts

My experience,
Today i make "special payment principal" over the counter. Straight forward reflected immediately, principal reduced .

Only if you have passbook and it is gone missing must cancel passbook first at customer service.

Earlier email customer service requesting statement all that is taking ages.
GamaX320
post Sep 22 2025, 08:09 AM

822 posts

just newbie question lets say currently i serving progressive interest and month end 30th auto debit installment from my savings account. But found out my total loan amount keep incurring fews hundrad bucks evry week questions is this consider interest charge from bank?
mini orchard
post Sep 22 2025, 09:48 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(GamaX320 @ Sep 22 2025, 08:09 AM)
just newbie question lets say currently i serving progressive interest and month end 30th auto debit installment from my savings account. But found out my total loan amount keep incurring fews hundrad bucks evry week questions is this consider interest charge from bank?
If U want answers, attached the bank statement. No forumers can read beyond the few lines 🫣

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0257sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:26 PM