Beginner in stock market(self learning)

Davidtcf
post Dec 7 2021, 03:51 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

also depends what type of investor you aim to become..

1. Sharks - buy any good stocks, even if they are less known stocks and sell for high return. High risk since need to know finance report much deeper. Also need to keep monitor the stocks. Only for the experienced people. Else risk lose a lot.

2. Long term investing - invest in good stocks.. with less fluctuations. Earning power likely less. More to focusing on dividend payout and long term holding for increased stock value when sell.

3. Foreign investing - buy stocks overseas. Be aware that some stocks have higher withholding tax. Go for Irish Domiciled if want 15% tax. Also beware next year got FSI tax for incoming funds from overseas when u sell. More troublesome to buy foreign stocks also. View "Ziet Invests" youtube channel he got give very detailed steps on how to start investing overseas. Best broker here is IBKR - Interactive Brokers.

4. local investing - after budget 2022 announce many stocks went red. Prosperity tax la, stamp duty increase la, etc. Many people say our local stocks suck compare to stocks elsewhere such as US stocks. I only focus on long holding stocks here to diversify. Can use Mplus if want convenient local stock broker (low fees). Be aware that minimum FPX deposit is RM1000 each time.. better to transfer a bit more than regret later.

5. crypto investing - best avoid now as prices are in the red for all crypto. not sure what happened. If you confident can buy some for low price and sell when high later. But not sure how low they can drop some more, also not sure how long need to hold before can sell for a profit. Super volatile market that operates 24/7. Best platform for this is Luno.

6. relying on Robo advisors - such as Stashaway. But here you learn less as basically you let someone invest for you. Got fees involved and most ppl say not worth it if hold long there as the per annum fees add up to a lot. Buying via Public Mutual Fund also same thing just that relying on real human. You can buy here a bit to test out.. I myself also monitoring see how it goes. Plus side is super convenient and got tools like auto mthly deposit etc to help you save easier.

I think got other type of investors also.. others can feel free to add.
I also new just started last month.. don't give up and keep learning. Best type of fund manager is yourself as you learn for future investing. Also get to save on fees charged by fund managers!

Best advise I can give is don't sell unless if you need the money (or u shark very sure), invest only if you have extra in hand (pls keep some cash for your family needs). Recommended to have 5-6 months of salary at hand in case need it later (esp if u have family like me).

(all the tools/sites I recommend are local SC regulated except for IBKR - however this is popular and regulated at US).

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Dec 7 2021, 03:58 PM
Davidtcf
post Dec 14 2021, 06:56 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(Questions12345 @ Dec 13 2021, 03:12 PM)
U investing in bursa or us market? If in bursa, those financial ratios are useless. U need to know how to play with the operator smile.gif
What do you mean by play with the operator? Means be like trader buy then fast sell once high?

I notice Bursa keep up then down to same level. Hard to spot any good stocks that go up a lot. Maybe need many years only can truly go up to earn more.

Really envy US stocks keep skyrocket so much esp for popular brands like Apple, Tesla, Amazon etc. So many foreign investors pour in also. If US citizen get so much privilege buying those stocks too.

Malaysians get a big 30% WHT for any shares we buy at US. FX exchange also makes it more difficult for us.

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Dec 14 2021, 06:57 PM
Davidtcf
post Dec 14 2021, 08:16 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Dec 14 2021, 07:10 PM)
bursa got pump n dump syndicates... and epf... lol

US got gov indiscriminate money printing to support the market/super rich

most US locals are poor af... don't you believe everyone is well off and invest in stocks...

also why you worry about wht? you say envy skyrocketing stocks... growth stocks are opposite of high dividend ones...
Yea some companies like Amazon don't give dividend so that can grow faster. Ok will close eyes to wht next time.

Hope FSI bill won't pass.. Else next time got risk when we withdraw funds back here kena tax kaokao.

Agree hate how EPF buy and dump stocks suka2 hati. Their volume so big somemore.

Davidtcf
post Dec 14 2021, 08:25 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(Questions12345 @ Dec 14 2021, 08:19 PM)
Means understanding the intention of the operator (big players). Bursa stocks cant move up and down much without the operator. You can do this by reading the changes in volume, price and also looking at the market depth. Some good fundamental stocks on bursa don't move up much because operators are not interested in them and you will be wondering why rubbish companies that are in heavy debt and are making losses from one quarter to another, are going up a few folds. It always starts with accumulation and end with distribution. But some operators might distribute and then reaccumulate when prices reach a certain price range ( not at accumulation price range) and push the stock price back up once reaccumulation is done. Based on my experience, operators usually hold their shares for short to mid term and then distribute them. That's why bursa index cant move up much  biggrin.gif . The reason why they do this is because of Malaysia's economic and political reasons I think.
Just a brief one, I will just take a bunch of companies for explaining purposes....
As u can see here, during the accumulation phase(accu), the volume activity is low to avoid attracting any attention from the retailers. Once accumulation is done, they will push the price with big volume to attract retailers so they could sell their shares to those waterfish retailers. You can see the volume activity during the distribution phase (dis) is higher as evident by the volume bars below. If the volume activity is high and the price is not pushing up higher, it means there is a lot of selling activity going on.

This is another one...

I marked the accumulation phase with the box. From the daily chart it doesn't look like much right? Wait till u see the 15 mins chart below.

15 mins chart....

As you can see in this 15 mins chart, those volume and price spikes don't happen by coincidence. What you see right there is accumulation but very subtle and quiet so as to not avoid any attention. For this stock, the operator only push the price up for a 20-30% profit. If I remember correctly, i only got like 15% from this trade. How did i know when to exactly sell? I saw the operator push up in the morning then a huge dump in the afternoon. That's when I know I have to take profit fast. That's why there is a wick/shadow in that candlestick with a big volume below ( ya, big volume to attract retailers). (Dee the daily chart)

This is just a brief one...I have seen many cases where operators like to push prices up with high volume in the morning to make the stock get onto  the top active list ( like advertisement lol). Then a big sell down in the afternoon session. but sometimes they let the price stay at above until the trading session ends and do a big  dump in the next morning trading session.
This stock(DNEX) has been on the top 30 list for a long time...i think you have seen this. This one is distribution going on. A lot of waterfish will get burn from this. Push up and sell down everytime.

Damn I just got to know this. Yea always see big shot buyers and sellers on mplus news section of a stock. Suddenly see Mr xxx (or EPF) buy this much or sell this much stocks like 500k stocks or so. So these are the operators.. F***. Rich manipulating our local markets 😢.

US don't have such things? Due to the trade laws there that prevent short buy and sell?

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Dec 14 2021, 08:25 PM
Davidtcf
post Dec 14 2021, 09:18 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(Questions12345 @ Dec 14 2021, 08:34 PM)
US market has a lot of big players manipulatingg also la. But their market always up up up one laugh.gif. Hard to hold long term in bursa..not a lot of stocks on bursa you can hold long term. If cant follow operator, buy blue chips lor..but bursa blue chips performance kinda shit lately. Those small caps are manipulated by different operators..big caps usually epf.
Agree. Small fish investor like me hold long term. But see value keep go back to + or - 20 make me keksim. Even if buy good stocks like Maybank or Axreit also same. At least now know why.. Thanks for sharing. 👍

After this will put more money to work at US or other better performing markets.
Davidtcf
post Dec 24 2021, 11:24 AM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(baby_4ever @ Dec 15 2021, 01:29 PM)
Dont bother study those, not solid indicator for success. Go for name, buy and yolo or go short.
agree.. especially for stocks in Bursa /KLSE. Seems like fundamentals don't really matter there zz.
Davidtcf
post Dec 25 2021, 01:15 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(baby_4ever @ Dec 25 2021, 05:58 AM)
Yes Bursa is true casino, similar to Genting.
Cant agree more. Previous years wasn't like that when see the charts. After Najib then plus Covid, foreign investors have left in droves.. Even news reported it. Now there are all the rich players, EPF, some other financial institutions buying low and selling high. Can read it at the insider tab at mplus.

For time being I'll invest via IBKR for US ETFS mainly CSPX, SWRD, and VWRA. Heck even invest via Stashaway also earn more since they invest in foreign markets.

Later got time and more capital then will focus on stocks.

0.0175sec    0.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 12:37 AM