Shang Chi, a different view

TSCoffeeDude
post Nov 14 2021, 11:14 PM, updated 5y ago

1,609 posts

Since there are other threads criticizing the main hero and sidekick I shall not go there.

I think nice part is the scenery.
The scenery is presented realistically, the colours stands out and is very saturated.

The audio is a let down.
Nothing impressive.
I didn't hear / feel anything from my subwoofer.
heavensea
post Nov 14 2021, 11:29 PM

9,616 posts

Don't understand why human being so obsesses into super heroes movies culture...
If you live long enough, you'd know the world only has villain.

This post has been edited by heavensea: Nov 15 2021, 01:26 AM
abc2005
post Nov 14 2021, 11:49 PM

UNIVERSE is my CATALOGUE
2,079 posts

QUOTE(heavensea @ Nov 14 2021, 11:29 PM)
Don't understand why human being so obsesses into super herpes movies culture...
that's the reason why heroic movies sell, to give us a sense of, temporary reprieve.

potatolala
post Nov 14 2021, 11:50 PM

141 posts

I like Tony Leung and Fala Chen’s kungfu flirting scene
TSCoffeeDude
post Nov 14 2021, 11:55 PM

1,609 posts

QUOTE(potatolala @ Nov 14 2021, 11:50 PM)
I like Tony Leung and Fala Chen’s kungfu flirting scene
yah that was nicely done

I just wished the movie can include some sound effects.
SUSKakwen
post Nov 14 2021, 11:56 PM

123 posts

Dumb movie
ahemdolah
post Nov 15 2021, 12:00 AM

63 posts

Anyone knows Malaysian who boycotted this movie because of what the main lead said? 🤭
Starbucki
post Nov 15 2021, 12:05 AM

Ayam betmen
1,389 posts

QUOTE(Csgopro123 @ Nov 15 2021, 12:02 AM)
I think what this movie lacks is tits... U see which Hollywood movie got no tits? That's what is missing...
we are supposed to worship plus sized short asians now in awkwafina, and old wrinkled women leads

sjw tepuk tangan
bergstein
post Nov 15 2021, 12:09 AM

352 posts

I'm more sad that many seems don't know creatures in Ta-Lo is actually based on chinese mythology not just some made up monster, and they're actually quite faithful
ericcheng2021
post Nov 15 2021, 12:10 AM

184 posts

Enjoyed the fight scenes and the dragons.

SUSsotongbakar
post Nov 15 2021, 12:15 AM

Wasn't expecting much, so was pleasantly surprised by shang-chi. But through Shang-Chi i discovered Warrior.
TSCoffeeDude
post Nov 15 2021, 12:19 AM

1,609 posts

QUOTE(bergstein @ Nov 15 2021, 12:09 AM)
I'm more sad that many seems don't know creatures in Ta-Lo is actually based on chinese mythology not just some made up monster, and they're actually quite faithful
https://www.cbr.com/every-mythological-creature-shang-chi/

Dijiang

Fenghuang

Huli Jing

Shishi (Guardian Lions)

Qilin

Dragon
melvin91motorola
post Nov 15 2021, 12:26 AM

349 posts

for me it's better than black widow and eternal

short simple and easy to understand
cms
post Nov 15 2021, 12:39 AM

763 posts

QUOTE(abc2005 @ Nov 14 2021, 11:49 PM)
that's the reason why heroic movies sell, to give us a sense of, temporary reprieve.
Some sort of like an escape of the real world, a fantasy hahahahha.

Takkan a movie about stressful business life and kena hantam by customers and bosses right.
ReoAyanami
post Nov 15 2021, 01:01 AM

13 posts

Don't understand why human being so obsesses into super herpes movies culture...
Superheroes satisfies people's desire for a saviour which people have had since the prehistoric time. No matter how much the world change, humans still have the same instincts. tongue.gif
pipedream
post Nov 15 2021, 01:02 AM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(bergstein @ Nov 15 2021, 12:09 AM)
rofl morris has an ass for face

old chinese ppl memang high on weed to imagine an ass face creature
Azran1979
post Nov 15 2021, 07:17 AM

410 posts

hollywood is full of rubbish now they had resort to sell out to woke sjw culture.
iGamer
post Nov 15 2021, 07:35 AM

Toxic ktards probably losers irl
1,374 posts

QUOTE(ahemdolah @ Nov 15 2021, 12:00 AM)
Anyone knows Malaysian who boycotted this movie because of what the main lead said? 🤭
What he said? I heard CCP pink fragile heart again….
TSCoffeeDude
post Nov 15 2021, 07:48 AM

1,609 posts

QUOTE(pipedream @ Nov 15 2021, 01:02 AM)

dijiang
SUSmgtow tlts
post Nov 15 2021, 07:54 AM

93 posts

watch free pun complain banyak
pikacu
post Nov 15 2021, 07:54 AM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

Don't understand why human being so obsesses into super heroes movies culture...
from your logic, movie must be based on real world depression... sweat.gif

CBM film not gonna stop anytime soon unfortunately
delon85
post Nov 15 2021, 07:55 AM

Ad Astra
1,061 posts

QUOTE(pipedream @ Nov 15 2021, 01:02 AM)

How to have ass face when it doesn't have face at first?
DanialTan1990
post Nov 15 2021, 07:58 AM

223 posts

How this shang chi will fight Kang. Nothing special in this hero
tenkorak
post Nov 15 2021, 08:11 AM

39 posts

did he join avenger already? the event in the movie happened before the snap or whut? im just started gettin into mcu recently dun bash me..
arcadicus
post Nov 15 2021, 08:16 AM

213 posts

They should make more villain movies like the joker...
focusrite
post Nov 15 2021, 08:52 AM

409 posts

I liked it

The fight scenes are good.
mousqy
post Nov 15 2021, 08:55 AM

758 posts

shangchi is like black panther for china

raced based hero movie
nill
post Nov 15 2021, 08:56 AM

366 posts

QUOTE(cms @ Nov 15 2021, 12:39 AM)

Takkan a movie about stressful business life and kena hantam by customers and bosses right.

In the mid credit scene, we will see a PN MP appears to take 51% ownership of the company and fire everyone in the company.

This post has been edited by nill: Nov 15 2021, 09:43 AM
Rusty Nail
post Nov 15 2021, 08:57 AM

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

QUOTE(tenkorak @ Nov 15 2021, 08:11 AM)
did he join avenger already? the event in the movie happened before the snap or whut? im just started gettin into mcu recently dun bash me..
After, during the early bar scene where Sean was hanging out with friends after work, it was mentioned that anytime can lose 1/2 the population.
differ
post Nov 15 2021, 08:59 AM

404 posts

TS can review Battle at Lake Changjin?

I want to see what Kakwen will comment on your review. 🤭
bee88
post Nov 15 2021, 09:01 AM

303 posts

Many just can’t live past thanos. Padahal, Loki and what if tv series really made thanos look like a child’s play.
ye0073
post Nov 15 2021, 09:05 AM

480 posts

Best movie of the year.
doppatroll
post Nov 15 2021, 09:08 AM

1,123 posts

They make death dealer weak as f@rk .... :x
TSCoffeeDude
post Nov 15 2021, 09:11 AM

1,609 posts

QUOTE(differ @ Nov 15 2021, 08:59 AM)
TS can review Battle at Lake Changjin?

I want to see what Kakwen will comment on your review. 🤭
I didn't watch that movie.

Is it good?
UnknownMy
post Nov 15 2021, 09:42 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ Nov 15 2021, 12:19 AM)
https://www.cbr.com/every-mythological-creature-shang-chi/

Dijiang [Morris]

Fenghuang

Huli Jing Jiu Wei Hu

Shishi (Guardian Lions)

Qilin

Dragon
Correction icon_rolleyes.gif
Namelessone1973
post Nov 15 2021, 09:45 AM

320 posts

QUOTE(DanialTan1990 @ Nov 15 2021, 07:58 AM)
How this shang chi will fight Kang. Nothing special in this hero
That is the problem with the whole movie.

The movie is titled Shang Chin but the main plot is not really about him.

As a superhero origin story, it is quite bad as the plot did not focus on him. It is as if Marvel think Simu Liu can't carry the movie.

Everything about his powers and abilities were not properly explained especially the 10 rings. You watch Superman, Spiderman, Captain America, Iron Man etc. first movie, they tell a lot about their powers and abilities but in Shang Chi we only see him as just good kungfu. Suddenly at the end, he can control the rings better than his father who has used the rings for thousands of years.

The had to have an end-credit scene to sort of say something about the origins of the rings which will probably be explored in the sequels

This post has been edited by Namelessone1973: Nov 15 2021, 09:46 AM
differ
post Nov 15 2021, 09:59 AM

404 posts

QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ Nov 15 2021, 09:11 AM)
I didn't watch that movie.

Is it good?
According to Kakwen, its the best movie of 2021.
Slowpokeking
post Nov 15 2021, 10:05 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(Namelessone1973 @ Nov 15 2021, 09:45 AM)

As a superhero origin story, it is quite bad as the plot did not focus on him. It is as if Marvel think Simu Liu can't carry the movie.

Everything about his powers and abilities were not properly explained especially the 10 rings. You watch Superman, Spiderman, Captain America, Iron Man etc. first movie, they tell a lot about their powers and abilities but in Shang Chi we only see him as just good kungfu. Suddenly at the end, he can control the rings better than his father who has used the rings for thousands of years.

The had to have an end-credit scene to sort of say something about the origins of the rings which will probably be explored in the sequels
This.

His father has charisma.
His mother has beauty.
His sister beat him without being trained by a master. She also inherit the organisation.
His sidekick killed the evil monster after archery training for a day.

Basically everybody else in that movie upstaged him

Shang Chi is a kelefeh in his own movie LOL.
mpyw
post Nov 15 2021, 10:11 AM

3,603 posts

Anyone stay back after the movie credits with Captain Marvel and Bruce's shot and the karaoke session....LOL

welcome to the hotel california...
jmtstan
post Nov 15 2021, 10:40 AM

77 posts

the movie was average la... the after credit scene... brings 1 question why the fella not in the previous movie mode instead normal mode.
abc2005
post Nov 15 2021, 11:04 AM

UNIVERSE is my CATALOGUE
2,079 posts

QUOTE(cms @ Nov 15 2021, 12:39 AM)

Also the reason why rokok, alcoholic drinks and drugs sell too tongue.gif
pipedream
post Nov 15 2021, 01:30 PM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(Namelessone1973 @ Nov 15 2021, 09:45 AM)

you are right probably

testing water because even ccp pipu dislike it, thinks simu liu not handsome enough

either way tony leung carries the movie so bad, hope he got insurance for his back

if not for him, this movie is a generic kungfu movie (wong and bruce has to show up to remind its a marvel movie lol)

and the plot transition way too fast, one min this average guy was doing valet parking and nek minnit kungfu all the way on par with cap america 1v10 honchos

but white ppl from leddit likes it because representation and subpar kungfu movie

i give it a 6/10, enjoyable but not rewatchable
pipedream
post Nov 15 2021, 01:31 PM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(jmtstan @ Nov 15 2021, 10:40 AM)
the movie was average la... the after credit scene... brings 1 question why the fella not in the previous movie mode instead normal mode.

SUSpoo koin
post Nov 15 2021, 01:36 PM

got 2 post credit scenes
jay
post Nov 15 2021, 01:45 PM

Legendary
904 posts

back story too childish, no enough depth and very typical angmoh view of asia culture
happyking4ever
post Nov 15 2021, 01:51 PM

354 posts

This post has been edited by happyking4ever: Nov 15 2021, 02:01 PM
Namelessone1973
post Nov 15 2021, 02:37 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(pipedream @ Nov 15 2021, 01:30 PM)
you are right probably

testing water because even ccp pipu dislike it, thinks simu liu not handsome enough

either way tony leung carries the movie so bad, hope he got insurance for his back

if not for him, this movie is a generic kungfu movie (wong and bruce has to show up to remind its a marvel movie lol)

and the plot transition way too fast, one min this average guy was doing valet parking and nek minnit kungfu all the way on par with cap america 1v10 honchos

but white ppl from leddit likes it because representation and subpar kungfu movie

For me, it's around 7/10. Still enjoyable. Definitely more watchable than Black Panther and Captain America.

The western people was praising the fight scenes especially the one on the bus but for people like us who watched Jackie Chan movies, those fight scenes are in virtually every Jackie Chan movies from the 80's. For Jackie Chan movies, we know the stunts and fights were not CGI which makes them way more impressive compared to Shang Chi.
sportivo
post Nov 15 2021, 02:49 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ Nov 14 2021, 11:14 PM)
Since there are other threads criticizing the main hero and sidekick I shall not go there.

I think nice part is the scenery.
The scenery is presented realistically, the colours stands out and is very saturated.

The audio is a let down.
Nothing impressive.
I didn't hear / feel anything from my subwoofer.
Scenery…
Shang Chi was primary filmed in Australia, some portion filmed in California and Macau
Link
Rusty Nail
post Nov 15 2021, 02:54 PM

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

you are right probably

Shaun did have kungfu training when he was 9. most of his back story is from conversation with Katy
Nightstalker93
post Nov 15 2021, 02:56 PM

74 posts

I loved the movie. Having the father as the villain and him realising the son is a better person than him to carry the rings. In the end when he was about to die, he realised his mistakes and gave away the rings to him after seeing his son able to wield the rings.

The fight choreography was very good too, just like the classic martial arts movies. The last part with 2 dragons & Shang Chi fighting was so over the top but it was very good & fun too see. The CGI was all done well too.
marfccy
post Nov 15 2021, 03:02 PM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

you are right probably

??? the china chinese pipur as usual tok kok sing song on people's looks nia but overall the movie is enjoyable to them.

if its as bad until they criticise gao2, look no further at Mulan lmao
ahemdolah
post Nov 18 2021, 07:47 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(iGamer @ Nov 15 2021, 07:35 AM)
What he said? I heard CCP pink fragile heart again….
https://www.cbr.com/shang-chis-simu-liu-und...ated-to-canada/ 🤭
7up
post Nov 18 2021, 08:19 PM

129 posts

Firstly I am very very glad that the Chinese characters do speak Chinese. It will be very very cringy if it's purely English. And they use ABC concept to have them speak English.

Love Tony Leong. Impressed that his acting can still shine in a Western movie.
Lescotesco
post Nov 18 2021, 08:28 PM

231 posts

if the movie is like ur real life then what for you pay for the movie? just open your eye and u are there.... watch for free
hirano
post Nov 18 2021, 08:32 PM

凸(`△´#)
3,336 posts

QUOTE(Namelessone1973 @ Nov 15 2021, 02:37 PM)
Definitely more watchable than Black Panther and Captain America.
Something wrong with you
Namelessone1973
post Nov 18 2021, 11:49 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Nov 18 2021, 08:32 PM)
Something wrong with you
What is wrong?

Are Black Panther and Captain Marvel better?

0.0288sec    1.04    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:18 PM