Home Networking Archer AX73 does not help!, Why?

TSilovestitch
post Nov 12 2021, 07:13 PM, updated 5y ago

623 posts

My TIME plan supports 500mbps
Previously using TIME default router AC1200 and has just upgraded to use Archer AX73. But it does not help much with my problems

I am staying in a condo with around 1230 square feet
1. Before that using AC1200 the wifi signal is poor, and even after changing to this new router, which claimed to have wider coverage, problem is still there. (when using my laptop and iphone 12 pro in my room)
2. Have second laptop (Dell Inspiron 5584) at the dinning area, which is very near to the router , the speed is just around 200mbps++.
3. Iphone 12 pro speed is around 400++ mbps when siting at dining area, but when i use it in my room it becomes 100mbps download and 22.7mbps upload.

Is it anything i can do to solve my issue? Apparently changing the router dont help much, appreciate if any sifu can help

This post has been edited by ilovestitch: Nov 12 2021, 07:14 PM
SUSceo684
post Nov 12 2021, 07:16 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

Run a LAN cable between the two routers and use the old one in bridge mode. U have too many walls in between the device and the router. Best router in the world also suffer from signal drop. U need to be able to SEE the router from the device for best speeds.

In condo there is airspace (freq) congestion from next door wifi.
Reduce airspace congestion, high bandwidth things like netflix on fixed tv box use LAN cable lah. Do channel tuning not to conflict w neighbouring channel.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Nov 12 2021, 07:21 PM
crimv
post Nov 12 2021, 07:17 PM

242 posts

ya try cable first see whats the issue
TSilovestitch
post Nov 12 2021, 07:31 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Nov 12 2021, 07:16 PM)
Run a LAN cable between the two routers and use the old one in bridge mode. U have too many walls in between the device and the router. Best router in the world also suffer from signal drop. U need to be able to SEE the router from the device for best speeds.

In condo there is airspace (freq) congestion from next door wifi.
Reduce airspace congestion, high bandwidth things like netflix on fixed tv box use LAN cable lah. Do channel tuning not to conflict w neighbouring channel.
sorry i am not good at network knowledge , i straight connection my unifi modem, to new router, and old router i put aside never use it already. u mean the old router i put it side by side with new router?
TSilovestitch
post Nov 12 2021, 07:35 PM

623 posts

2. Have second laptop (Dell Inspiron 5584) at the dinning area, which is very near to the router , the speed is just around 200mbps++.

i can SEE the router when using my laptop, laptop at dining area, router and living area

This post has been edited by ilovestitch: Nov 12 2021, 07:35 PM
khreve
post Nov 12 2021, 07:46 PM

130 posts

"3. Iphone 12 pro speed is around 400++ mbps when siting at dining area, but when i use it in my room it becomes 100mbps download and 22.7mbps upload"

seems like you have WIFI coverage issues, the easiest is to buy a WIFI REPEATER. Go youtube find and watch few videos on how a REPEATER works so you strategically deploy it to maximise coverage...

https://shopee.com.my/%E3%80%90Malaysia-Sto...0e-265f4b2c2891

N300 repeater are alot cheaper, so shop around and take your pick
xCryptik
post Nov 12 2021, 07:54 PM

584 posts

Break down the condo wall. Probabbly wall are too thick full with metal rebar blocking the signal.
Just kidding.

Try Switching Channel. Or Mesh?
LAN cable works the best but might need proper routing around the floor or wall else looks messy.
heihei
post Nov 12 2021, 08:01 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(ilovestitch @ Nov 12 2021, 07:35 PM)

i can SEE the router when using my laptop, laptop at dining area, router and living area
how about previously ?
low speed might due to less capable wifi card and the antenna arrangement on the laptop
i search dell, it seem like 5584 use a wide range of card, with some only support 150mbps sweat.gif might check your device manager see what wifi card your laptop is using
TSilovestitch
post Nov 12 2021, 08:13 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(heihei @ Nov 12 2021, 08:01 PM)
how about previously ?
low speed might due to less capable wifi card and the antenna arrangement on the laptop
i search dell, it seem like 5584 use a wide range of card, with some only support 150mbps sweat.gif  might check your device manager see what wifi card your laptop is using
qualcomm qca9377 802.11ac

This post has been edited by ilovestitch: Nov 12 2021, 08:14 PM
TSilovestitch
post Nov 12 2021, 08:15 PM

623 posts

should i use 5 or 2.4
jupitanz
post Nov 12 2021, 08:20 PM

97 posts

ax73 supports OneMesh. Just buy a OneMesh range extender and put it near your room.

note: OneMesh does not work with the TPlink Deco devices, so make sure you get the correct one.
TSilovestitch
post Nov 12 2021, 08:30 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(khreve @ Nov 12 2021, 07:46 PM)
"3. Iphone 12 pro speed is around 400++ mbps when siting at dining area, but when i use it in my room it becomes 100mbps download and 22.7mbps upload"

seems like you have WIFI coverage issues, the easiest is to buy a WIFI REPEATER. Go youtube find and watch few videos on how a REPEATER works so you strategically deploy it to maximise coverage...

why so much cheaper one as compared to tplink, it is cheap la, but speed ok one or not?
TSilovestitch
post Nov 12 2021, 08:38 PM

623 posts

tplink ax1500 vs ax1800 got much different? thinking to plug this repeater in study room, but not sure the coverage issue will be solved or not?

Note: study room is like middle point between living room to master bedroom.
megahertz
post Nov 12 2021, 08:58 PM

i always smiling, problem?
1,846 posts

QUOTE(khreve @ Nov 12 2021, 07:46 PM)

repeater is bad, because its will make more high latency. better use as AP.
or better, use as mesh and cable, no need change SSID more often when u moving around
MyProLife
post Nov 12 2021, 09:10 PM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,075 posts

Why? Blame it on reinforced concrete walls in your condo

If you can pull wire to another router as ap, is better

Otherwise, get TPlink one mesh repeater, or switch to mesh system altogether
JohnLai
post Nov 12 2021, 09:14 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

Maybe you can reuse C1200 as repeater?
Have a look on my thread?
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4497511

Read EDIT8 section?

TSilovestitch
post Nov 12 2021, 10:40 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Nov 12 2021, 09:14 PM)

Read EDIT8 section?
do u have latest eu firmware, dont see wds option
TSilovestitch
post Nov 13 2021, 01:00 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Nov 12 2021, 09:14 PM)

Read EDIT8 section?
do u have latest eu firmware, dont see wds option
heihei
post Nov 13 2021, 02:07 AM

208 posts

QUOTE(ilovestitch @ Nov 12 2021, 08:13 PM)
qualcomm qca9377 802.11ac
this peak at 433mbps
and only support 1 antenna

so really cant expect much from this card

you should use 5ghz for faster speed
2.4ghz only for far away room with unavailable 5ghz signal
cch2018
post Nov 13 2021, 10:13 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(ilovestitch @ Nov 12 2021, 07:13 PM)
My TIME plan supports 500mbps
Previously using TIME default router AC1200 and has just upgraded to use Archer AX73. But it does not help much with my problems

I am staying in a condo with around 1230 square feet
1. Before that using AC1200 the wifi signal is poor, and even after changing to this new router, which claimed to have wider coverage, problem is still there. (when using my laptop and iphone 12 pro in my room)
3. Iphone 12 pro speed is around 400++ mbps when siting at dining area, but when i use it in my room it becomes 100mbps download and 22.7mbps upload.

Is it anything i can do to solve my issue? Apparently changing the router dont help much, appreciate if any sifu can help
I think you need to do some setting. Previously my brother also has time plan 500mbps with the default huawei router but the speed sucked. Even near the router the maximum it can get was 190mbps. After i advised him to change to AX73, the speed shot up to 540mbps max. In wireless setting, enable ofdma, disable twt and smart connect, channel and channel width all set to auto, enable mu-mimo. You can also enable ipv6.

0.0212sec    1.17    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 11:19 PM