How much a restaurant make in a day average, How much a restaurant make in a day aver

TSjinn27133
post Nov 10 2021, 04:35 PM, updated 5y ago

36 posts

Wanted to know more about how much sales does a restaurant (shoplot or mall lot) make in a day.
As i know FnB cost is around 30-40%, but ive no idea on the sales part.
If any of you have experience about this pls share.
My purpose is to calculate whether FnB is worth investing and the risk of it.

Terima Kasih all.
silverhawk
post Nov 10 2021, 04:49 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

General Breakdown

30% Cost of goods (ingredients, take away packaging, etc)
30% Operations (rent, utilities, salary, etc)
30% Sales and Marketing (ads, promotions, discounts)

Remaining 10% is your profit

NormalName
post Nov 10 2021, 04:59 PM

82 posts

My relative lose 300k in one year
RadenMasIV
post Nov 10 2021, 05:13 PM

52 posts

I saw some open western restaurant, targeting Malay customers, wonder not all us makan western every day. Really untung ke this business

This post has been edited by RadenMasIV: Nov 10 2021, 05:14 PM
omong
post Nov 10 2021, 05:38 PM

87 posts

Depends on location.
F&B in Mid Valley can make 20k on weekend
While menara The Weld cukup makan tengahari 🤭🤭
FappyBird
post Nov 10 2021, 05:49 PM

70 posts

Depends on ur sales really, if ur sales are really good u can profit, profit=(total sales - expenditure - salary)

With today's tight competition and the abundance of eateries everywhere, honestly just getting ur full salary alone is hard let alone profit. Remember if u hire workers u need to pay salaries too!

Now...it also depends on what u want to open, costs and materials nowadays are quite pricey compared to old days. Not to mention this covid also almost destroyed the fnb field, if not crippled mostly...

So what kind of eateries u wanna engage in? Bak kut the, Mee stalls, economy rice, restaurants, western foods or better yet high class fine diners? All these fields vary greatly in terms of costs and operation.

viole
post Nov 10 2021, 08:11 PM

KFC Lover
840 posts

QUOTE(RadenMasIV @ Nov 10 2021, 05:13 PM)
I saw some open western restaurant, targeting Malay customers, wonder not all us makan western every day. Really untung ke this business
Very untung. A lot of malays eat western food everyday.
baby_4ever
post Nov 10 2021, 08:13 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Nov 10 2021, 04:49 PM)
General Breakdown

Or even 5% max profit
MrBaba
post Nov 10 2021, 08:16 PM

2,506 posts

30-40% max.
X1X1
post Nov 10 2021, 08:35 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(jinn27133 @ Nov 10 2021, 04:35 PM)

Wanted to know more about how much sales does a restaurant (shoplot or mall lot) make in a day.
As i know FnB cost is around 30-40%, but ive no idea on the sales part.
If any of you have experience about this pls share.
My purpose is to calculate whether FnB is worth investing and the risk of it.

Terima Kasih all.
U having wrong directions for calculations, Your calculations is buy low sell high = TRADING (unless u doing franchise)
F&B is no different with any manufacturer online.
Calculate ur OPEX than u get ur figure.

ListenToTheWind
post Nov 10 2021, 08:51 PM

453 posts

A 400 square feet F&B food kiosk in the mall generate about RM500 sales during weekday and RM2000 sales during weekend on average.
conxtion
post Nov 10 2021, 11:19 PM

245 posts

Corner 24 hours mamak shop owner tells me his sales about rm15k per day. Kepong area
conxtion
post Nov 10 2021, 11:22 PM

245 posts

Roadside nasi lemak stall sales about m1+k per day.

Always sell halal food.

Dun say "pork free". No muslim gonna go to pork free shop.
TSjinn27133
post Nov 11 2021, 12:16 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Nov 10 2021, 04:49 PM)
General Breakdown

30% sales and marketing ? Is it normal for a restaurant owner to spend so much on sales and marketing?
TSjinn27133
post Nov 11 2021, 12:17 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(X1X1 @ Nov 10 2021, 08:35 PM)
U having wrong directions for calculations, Your calculations is buy low sell high = TRADING (unless u doing franchise)
F&B is no different with any manufacturer online.
Calculate ur OPEX than u get ur figure.
Yes ,was thinking franchise.
May I know whats the different between opening a franchise, and doing own brand or restaurant ?
TSjinn27133
post Nov 11 2021, 12:17 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(omong @ Nov 10 2021, 05:38 PM)
Depends on location.
F&B in Mid Valley can make 20k on weekend
While menara The Weld cukup makan tengahari 🤭🤭
20k sales per day? That's alot
TSjinn27133
post Nov 11 2021, 12:19 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(FappyBird @ Nov 10 2021, 05:49 PM)
Depends on ur sales really, if ur sales are really good u can profit, profit=(total sales - expenditure - salary)

With today's tight competition and the abundance of eateries everywhere, honestly just getting ur full salary alone is hard let alone profit. Remember if u hire workers u need to pay salaries too!

Now...it also depends on what u want to open, costs and materials nowadays are quite pricey compared to old days. Not to mention this covid also almost destroyed the fnb field, if not crippled mostly...

So what kind of eateries u wanna engage in? Bak kut the, Mee stalls, economy rice, restaurants, western foods or better yet high class fine diners? All these fields vary greatly in terms of costs and operation.
Am looking into franchise. Saw lots of bad story about franchise. So m here to ask around for more opinions about the sales part, see whether it's easy to get 3 to 4k sales per day let say in a good mall or a good shop lot location
TSjinn27133
post Nov 11 2021, 12:20 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(conxtion @ Nov 10 2021, 11:22 PM)
Roadside nasi lemak stall sales about m1+k per day.

Always sell halal food.

Dun say "pork free". No muslim gonna go to pork free shop.
The brand I'm looking at is certified Halal.
Do Muslim really always find only Halal restaurant?

silverhawk
post Nov 11 2021, 12:58 AM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(jinn27133 @ Nov 11 2021, 12:16 AM)
30% sales and marketing ? Is it normal for a restaurant owner to spend so much on sales and marketing?
Yes, why do you think grab takes a 30% cut? That number is not plucked out of thin air. Generally, marketing is not cheap and competition is high. So your ad costs can be expensive too to get the eyeballs of people on facebook/instagram. Then you have to consider if you want to pay to maintain SEO, or engage influencers, etc. Consider that discounts like lunch specials, technically also fall under this category.

Of course 30% is just a general guideline, can be lower/higher... but normally its within that range. If you have other factors that help you gain organic growth and customer loyalty then you may no need to spend so much.
X1X1
post Nov 11 2021, 01:04 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(jinn27133 @ Nov 11 2021, 12:17 AM)
Yes ,was thinking franchise.
May I know whats the different between opening a franchise, and doing own brand or restaurant ?
franchise basically like trading, everything is ready (training might be include), so u just ready ur funds and they setup everything for you till ur business end (in between, restock, inventory, all u don't have to worry).

Franchise question :
the brand sell ? (like mcd, kfc, 7-11 n etc, it sold automatically)
Setup: what do they provide, design ? renovations ? equipment ? staff ?
Operating : Staff training, POS system, Inventory (in/out/return/delay/alternative), response, relationship.
expenses & Profit: A&P (share, own, split(ratio)).
so contract n licensing/royalty fees is the key.

good "brand" franchise, u don't have to worry on anything, right locations sell, but higher loyalty fees.
Limit on profit and restrictions.

Own brand, u can do anything u, how much u make is totally depend on you. (but a lot headache).
for example :
30k opex permonth include 60k-80k product, means everyday u need to generate rm 1k sales to break even as starter.

TSjinn27133
post Nov 11 2021, 12:48 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(X1X1 @ Nov 11 2021, 01:04 AM)
franchise basically like trading, everything is ready (training might be include), so u just ready ur funds and they setup everything for you till ur business end (in between, restock, inventory, all u don't have to worry).

Franchise question :
the brand sell ? (like mcd, kfc, 7-11 n etc, it sold automatically)
Setup: what do they provide, design ? renovations ? equipment ? staff ?
Operating : Staff training, POS system, Inventory (in/out/return/delay/alternative), response, relationship.
expenses & Profit: A&P (share, own, split(ratio)).
so contract n licensing/royalty fees is the key.
good "brand" franchise, u don't have to worry on anything, right locations sell, but higher loyalty fees.
Limit on profit and restrictions.

Own brand, u can do anything u, how much u make is totally depend on you. (but a lot headache).
for example :
30k opex permonth include 60k-80k product, means everyday u need to generate rm 1k sales to break even as starter.
Yes, brand im looking at take 6% royalties and 2% A&P on sales.
was comparing building own brand but have no sufficient and confidence to do so. As u said its a lot of headache from sourcing branding SOP training all.
thats why im here to ask around how much normally let say a shoplot restaurant generate in term of sales per day.
Was quite confidence before knowing that 3-4k per day is not hard to generate but after listening to one of my friend that open a restaurant in SS15 recently genertate only 700-1000 sales per day. And this hold me back to look and ask around for others with experience.
If i take the franchise and i can only generate 1000 sales per day, then i die lor .
TSjinn27133
post Nov 11 2021, 12:52 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Nov 11 2021, 12:58 AM)
Yes, why do you think grab takes a 30% cut? That number is not plucked out of thin air. Generally, marketing is not cheap and competition is high. So your ad costs can be expensive too to get the eyeballs of people on facebook/instagram. Then you have to consider if you want to pay to maintain SEO, or engage influencers, etc. Consider that discounts like lunch specials, technically also fall under this category.

Of course 30% is just a general guideline, can be lower/higher... but normally its within that range. If you have other factors that help you gain organic growth and customer loyalty then you may no need to spend so much.
never thought of that, thanks alot for your insight.
But i currently looking at franchise brand more which they charge 2% of A&P on sales every month.

i would say 2 franchise brand to choose from.
1 really branded already with 6% royalties and 2% A&P. 500-600k startup include everything
another one is not branded with only 2 stalls but the food is ok, review ratingg is 4.8+. thy charge only 3% royltties and with 250k startup (include eveything too)

wonder which has bigger chance to survive and maybe earn me some cash
X1X1
post Nov 11 2021, 01:00 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(jinn27133 @ Nov 11 2021, 12:48 PM)
Yes, brand im looking at take 6% royalties and 2% A&P on sales.
was comparing building own brand but have no sufficient and confidence to do so. As u said its a lot of headache from sourcing branding SOP training all.
thats why im here to ask around how much normally let say a shoplot restaurant generate in term of sales per day.
Was quite confidence before knowing that 3-4k per day is not hard to generate but after listening to one of my friend that open a restaurant in SS15 recently genertate only 700-1000 sales per day. And this hold me back to look and ask around for others with experience.
If i take the franchise and i can only generate 1000 sales per day, then i die lor .
i will opps for easier one ... 7-11.
just for slight higher than FD incomes with less headache
TSjinn27133
post Nov 11 2021, 01:04 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(X1X1 @ Nov 11 2021, 01:00 PM)
i will opps for easier one ... 7-11.
just for slight higher than FD incomes with less headache
Dont have confidence in mini market kind of business. Too many mushrooming around now.
Even close friend of mine which own several shopping malls open up 10 mini market 1 shot , another 20 coming in upcomming 2months . sweat.gif
its like a rich man game now, open as much as possible , keep the profit making store and relocate the lost making store, and they have higher purchasing power which make their cost down

This post has been edited by jinn27133: Nov 11 2021, 01:09 PM
X1X1
post Nov 11 2021, 01:39 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(jinn27133 @ Nov 11 2021, 01:04 PM)
Dont have confidence in mini market kind of business. Too many mushrooming around now.
Even close friend of mine which own several shopping malls open up 10 mini market 1 shot , another 20 coming in upcomming 2months . sweat.gif
its like a rich man game now, open as much as possible , keep the profit making store and relocate the lost making store, and they have higher purchasing power which make their cost down
that is current market issue, HOT money is everywhere, that why u see crowdfunding is everywhere.

think properly, do what u think u can handle n calculate the fund you can afford to lose/lost tongue.gif

silverhawk
post Nov 11 2021, 05:52 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(jinn27133 @ Nov 11 2021, 12:52 PM)
never thought of that, thanks alot for your insight.
But i currently looking at franchise brand more which they charge 2% of A&P on sales every month.

i would say 2 franchise brand to choose from.
1 really branded already with 6% royalties and 2%  A&P. 500-600k startup include everything
another one is not branded with only 2 stalls but the food is ok, review ratingg is 4.8+. thy charge only 3% royltties and with 250k startup (include eveything too)

wonder which has bigger chance to survive and maybe earn me some cash
The problem with franchise is that you're very much at the mercy of the brand's marketing, so your ability to generate sales of your own is quite limited. However this also depends on the arrangement with the brand owners, I know some franchises are given more freedom.

Though keep in mind that even if well branded, you'll still need to spend some money and effort in local promoting, can't 100% rely on the brand. Better to go in with a mindset that you need to promote than to rely on external forces, otherwise you almost guarantee mati.
Spitzer
post Nov 11 2021, 07:28 PM

376 posts

A family member runs a rather “famous” fish head curry shop.

Yearly, 200-300k thereabouts after excluding operating costs. However, of course this business has been operating for almost 2 generations la.

Best part? This really is a goyang kaki source of income, since basically everything is also on auto-run, and their kids are focusing on other jobs as well - no need waste money drawing salary from the familys own ricebowl.

Edit: i have not known any business owner who calculates by “makes in a day average”, that’s just thinking small, unrealistic or a new business owner mindset.

This post has been edited by Spitzer: Nov 11 2021, 07:30 PM
toh3636
post Nov 11 2021, 08:04 PM

44 posts

Overheard a kfc employee complaining that sales is slow and they onlu made 18k sales at 4pm .
X1X1
post Nov 11 2021, 08:34 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(toh3636 @ Nov 11 2021, 08:04 PM)
Overheard a kfc employee complaining that sales is slow and they onlu made 18k sales at 4pm .
that is BIG franchise and everything control by main office ....
Pepsi_Patrick
post Nov 11 2021, 09:25 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(toh3636 @ Nov 11 2021, 09:04 PM)
KFC is generating more complains and is being compared with other brands...specially MCD chicken is better and also TEXAS chicken is providing extra competition to KFC...
pisces88
post Nov 11 2021, 10:11 PM

3,970 posts

See location ma. If u say restaurant like Japanese omakase. One night is min about 20k already. 30-40pax (20 per seating)

Normal cafe, if 60pax, one seating around 4-6k. 2 seatings then 12k.

Steamboat also can calculate by pax, one ppl spend min rm50. One night 200ppl then 10k lo.
TSjinn27133
post Nov 12 2021, 01:48 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Nov 11 2021, 05:52 PM)
The problem with franchise is that you're very much at the mercy of the brand's marketing, so your ability to generate sales of your own is quite limited. However this also depends on the arrangement with the brand owners, I know some franchises are given more freedom.

Though keep in mind that even if well branded, you'll still need to spend some money and effort in local promoting, can't 100% rely on the brand. Better to go in with a mindset that you need to promote than to rely on external forces, otherwise you almost guarantee mati.
A very good insight and well noted. Thank you
TSjinn27133
post Nov 12 2021, 01:53 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(Spitzer @ Nov 11 2021, 07:28 PM)
A family member runs a rather “famous” fish head curry shop.

Yearly, 200-300k thereabouts after excluding operating costs. However, of course this business has been operating for almost 2 generations la.

Best part? This really is a goyang kaki source of income, since basically everything is also on auto-run, and their kids are focusing on other jobs as well - no need waste money drawing salary from the familys own ricebowl.

Edit: i have not known any business owner who calculates by “makes in a day average”, that’s just thinking small, unrealistic or a new business owner mindset.
Measuring how much sales needed in a day to breakeven for me I think is important, especially before I venture into FnB ,as the fixed cost are there.
Have talk to the owner of the branded franchise , they share about the ROI also by day average sales.

TSjinn27133
post Nov 12 2021, 01:54 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(Pepsi_Patrick @ Nov 11 2021, 09:25 PM)
KFC is generating more complains and is being compared with other brands...specially MCD chicken is better and also TEXAS chicken is providing extra competition to KFC...
Tried marry brown, not bad too

0.0238sec    1.14    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:34 PM