neighbour on my roof

TSkit2
post Nov 5 2021, 05:48 PM, updated 5y ago

2,276 posts

this afternoon i heard a loud bang like a piece of rock hitting the ceiling board. i went out the house and saw neighbour or his worker sitting on my roof without my permission.

is this legal? what should i do? thinking of inspecting the roof, anyone knows any drone rental service in KL?

wong_86
post Nov 5 2021, 05:53 PM

DUDE
565 posts

lol bodoh, why post here, direct ask him already
dinkelberg
post Nov 5 2021, 05:54 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(kit2 @ Nov 5 2021, 05:48 PM)
this afternoon i heard a loud bang like a piece of rock hitting the ceiling board. i went out the house and saw neighbour or his worker sitting on my roof without my permission.

is this legal? what should i do? thinking of inspecting the roof, anyone knows any drone rental service in KL?
what are u ? a child?
TSkit2
post Nov 5 2021, 06:01 PM

2,276 posts

QUOTE(wong_86 @ Nov 5 2021, 05:53 PM)
lol bodoh, why post here, direct ask him already
he left already, didn’t manage to get hold of the worker. even if it’s broken, he won’t be so bodoh to admit.

This post has been edited by kit2: Nov 5 2021, 06:08 PM
TSkit2
post Nov 5 2021, 06:04 PM

2,276 posts

QUOTE(dinkelberg @ Nov 5 2021, 05:54 PM)
what are u ? a child?
are you not a child too?
gooroojee
post Nov 5 2021, 06:08 PM

LowYee
2,187 posts

QUOTE(kit2 @ Nov 5 2021, 06:01 PM)
he left already, didn’t manage to get hold of the worker. he’ll probably say nothing is broken. neighbour is a nasty one.
If have time take photo, surely have time to shout, "hoi mamat.. buat apa lompat atas bumbung aku?"
TSkit2
post Nov 5 2021, 06:11 PM

2,276 posts

QUOTE(gooroojee @ Nov 5 2021, 06:08 PM)
If have time take photo, surely have time to shout, "hoi mamat.. buat apa lompat atas bumbung aku?"
they are doing reno. do they have rights to step on other people’s roof?
MrBaba
post Nov 5 2021, 06:19 PM

2,506 posts

QUOTE(kit2 @ Nov 5 2021, 06:11 PM)
they are doing reno. do they have rights to step on other people’s roof?
The point is on the spot confront.
TSkit2
post Nov 5 2021, 06:21 PM

2,276 posts

QUOTE(MrBaba @ Nov 5 2021, 06:19 PM)
The point is on the spot confront.
their bos claimed nothing is broken.
budi1413
post Nov 5 2021, 06:23 PM

1,607 posts

later raining inside house banjir laugh.gif
TSkit2
post Nov 5 2021, 06:27 PM

2,276 posts

QUOTE(budi1413 @ Nov 5 2021, 06:23 PM)
later raining inside house banjir laugh.gif
precisely, waiting for rain to prove nothing is broken.
MrBaba
post Nov 5 2021, 07:15 PM

2,506 posts

QUOTE(kit2 @ Nov 5 2021, 06:27 PM)
precisely, waiting for rain to prove nothing is broken.
Rosak sikit sikit later water leak slowly yr wall GG
TSkit2
post Nov 5 2021, 08:25 PM

2,276 posts

QUOTE(MrBaba @ Nov 5 2021, 07:15 PM)
Rosak sikit sikit later water leak slowly yr wall GG
that’s why better to have an inspection rather than taking other people’s word for it.
mini orchard
post Nov 5 2021, 08:45 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(kit2 @ Nov 5 2021, 08:25 PM)
that’s why better to have an inspection rather than taking other people’s word for it.
Water can travel through very small crack where the naked eyes cannot notice. The leaking spot is always not the cracked area.
TSkit2
post Nov 6 2021, 12:20 AM

2,276 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Nov 5 2021, 08:45 PM)
Water can travel through very small crack where the naked eyes cannot notice. The leaking spot is always not the cracked area.
that will be the headache. they are arguing that they didn’t break anything and what they did was standard industry practice.

can they be sued by the virtue of standing of my roof without permission? in the west, it’s called trespassing. not sure about the law in malaysia.
WaCKy-Angel
post Nov 6 2021, 12:24 AM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(kit2 @ Nov 6 2021, 12:20 AM)
that will be the headache. they are arguing that they didn’t break anything and what they did was standard industry practice.

can they be sued by the virtue of standing of my roof without permission? in the west, it’s called trespassing. not sure about the law in malaysia.
U will need a very solid proof other than having that photo and claiming heard loud bang that could be anything.

U can sue them ofcourse. sure got some lawyer willing to entertain u if u willing to pay.
the guy can simply say he is checking the tv antenna...

This post has been edited by WaCKy-Angel: Nov 6 2021, 12:25 AM
mini orchard
post Nov 6 2021, 06:46 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(kit2 @ Nov 6 2021, 12:20 AM)

Trespassing is the general law term for entering or occupying a property without permission from the owner and it applies here as well.

Some experienced contractors or considerate owners will normally ask permission or inform the neighbours that he may need to 'encroach' on the property while carrying repair work.

TSkit2
post Nov 6 2021, 05:05 PM

2,276 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Nov 6 2021, 06:46 AM)
Trespassing is the general law term for entering or occupying a property without permission from the owner and it applies here as well.

Some experienced contractors or considerate owners will normally ask permission or inform the neighbours that he may need to 'encroach' on the property while carrying repair work.
seriously, being considerate is what our society is lacking, which is evidently demonstrated even on this forum. smile.gif

0.0206sec    1.00    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:18 AM