eSim QR Code
TSrip_code
Oct 25 2021, 09:40 AM, updated 5y ago
hi guys, any telco that produce eSim QR and can be re-use for another phone when switch device?
i first started using eSim with celcom. when i request the esim at service center, the guy said take photo of the esim qr and in case i need to switch to other device, i can just re-scan but that is not the case.
last week during night time when i have my new phone, i can't use it anymore. call helpdesk and they mentioned i have to physically walk in to the SC. so it's kinda troublesome when something happen during night time.
nate_nightroad
Oct 25 2021, 09:50 AM
It’s for security that esim qr code is use once
Imagine any sohai can scan your code and use your number. Good luck to your banking otp code
Anyway, if you use iphone, they can transfer esim to a new iphone. Android i am not sure
baby_4ever
Oct 25 2021, 09:53 AM

QUOTE(rip_code @ Oct 25 2021, 09:40 AM) hi guys, any telco that produce eSim QR and can be re-use for another phone when switch device? i first started using eSim with celcom. when i request the esim at service center, the guy said take photo of the esim qr and in case i need to switch to other device, i can just re-scan but that is not the case. last week during night time when i have my new phone, i can't use it anymore. call helpdesk and they mentioned i have to physically walk in to the SC. so it's kinda troublesome when something happen during night time. For once off only. Local telco does not provide esim migration as well to other phone.
TSrip_code
Oct 25 2021, 09:55 AM
ok thanks guys. perfectly make sense for security reason but what the staff said at first is wrong.
Raymond T.
Oct 25 2021, 11:50 AM
QUOTE(rip_code @ Oct 25 2021, 09:55 AM) ok thanks guys. perfectly make sense for security reason but what the staff said at first is wrong. Oversea some telco able to re-use however in Malaysia not allowed only can used once. That’s the troublesome part if anything happen to the phone gg
acbc
Oct 25 2021, 11:53 AM
This is why physical SIM is still the best. I have several iPhones XS and 11 bought in Cambodia. All came with 2 physical SIMs and were mostly imported from HK.
This post has been edited by acbc: Oct 25 2021, 11:53 AM
TSrip_code
Oct 25 2021, 02:15 PM
QUOTE(Raymond T. @ Oct 25 2021, 11:50 AM) Oversea some telco able to re-use however in Malaysia not allowed only can used once. That’s the troublesome part if anything happen to the phone gg yeap agree. did some research and some telco they allow to regenerate the qr via account portal.
reoz
Oct 25 2021, 02:17 PM

so far using yoodo esim, and transferred to new device by requesting a new sim code thru email.
almost instant i got my new esim.
netbeans
Oct 25 2021, 03:24 PM
My personal experience.. maxis & celcom need to walk in to cnetre to generate new esim. Can’t transfer to new phone.
Transfer from iphone 11 pro max to 13 pro max, the profile is copied over during the phone transfer, but still need to walk in to activate
TSrip_code
Oct 25 2021, 08:01 PM
QUOTE(reoz @ Oct 25 2021, 02:17 PM) so far using yoodo esim, and transferred to new device by requesting a new sim code thru email. almost instant i got my new esim. thanks. so far yoodo can do without going to centre.
Oltromen Ripot
Oct 26 2021, 09:03 AM
those with SIM,eSIM combo, which becomes 1st SIM "slot"? the SIM or the eSIM? dual 4G standby?
This post has been edited by Oltromen Ripot: Oct 26 2021, 09:03 AM
TSrip_code
Oct 26 2021, 10:42 AM
QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ Oct 26 2021, 09:03 AM) those with SIM,eSIM combo, which becomes 1st SIM "slot"? the SIM or the eSIM? dual 4G standby? I think depending on the phone itself.
netbeans
Oct 27 2021, 09:19 AM
QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ Oct 26 2021, 09:03 AM) those with SIM,eSIM combo, which becomes 1st SIM "slot"? the SIM or the eSIM? dual 4G standby? On iPhone, i don’t see any diff. Both are the same. U can name either slot as primary or secondary. When it comes to data, only 1 can be active at a time. u can enable mobile data switching tho. Can read here
Knight_2008
Apr 10 2023, 10:56 AM
QUOTE(nate_nightroad @ Oct 25 2021, 09:50 AM) It’s for security that esim qr code is use once Imagine any sohai can scan your code and use your number. Good luck to your banking otp code Anyway, if you use iphone, they can transfer esim to a new iphone. Android i am not sure I can't seem to do it for celcom though
Gold_Moderator
Apr 11 2023, 11:37 AM
QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ Oct 26 2021, 09:03 AM) those with SIM,eSIM combo, which becomes 1st SIM "slot"? the SIM or the eSIM? dual 4G standby? first sim is physical sim. 2nd sim can be physical or esims
p4n6
Apr 23 2023, 11:52 AM
Friend told me Digi makes their QR code scannable onto different devices without need to generate new one … it is kind lf insecure as you lost the QR code or your pic fell into wrong hands, others can use your number for shopping … and you will think no signal but in fact others been using it …
batman1172
Apr 26 2023, 07:03 PM
I want same e sim on 2 phones. so in case 1 phone no battery can immediately change to other phone without charging. how to do?
teslaman
Apr 26 2023, 07:04 PM
QUOTE(rip_code @ Oct 25 2021, 09:40 AM) hi guys, any telco that produce eSim QR and can be re-use for another phone when switch device? i first started using eSim with celcom. when i request the esim at service center, the guy said take photo of the esim qr and in case i need to switch to other device, i can just re-scan but that is not the case. last week during night time when i have my new phone, i can't use it anymore. call helpdesk and they mentioned i have to physically walk in to the SC. so it's kinda troublesome when something happen during night time. one time use
axxer
Apr 26 2023, 07:10 PM
Every telco esim qr is single use only for obvious reason; ppl can be stupid. But yoodo esim is the most convenient of them all, just request new qr via their site and it'll auto insta deliver to email no need visiting physical center and shit.
p4n6
Apr 29 2023, 05:25 PM
QUOTE(teslaman @ Apr 26 2023, 07:04 PM) QUOTE(axxer @ Apr 26 2023, 07:10 PM) Every telco esim qr is single use only for obvious reason; ppl can be stupid. But yoodo esim is the most convenient of them all, just request new qr via their site and it'll auto insta deliver to email no need visiting physical center and shit. Is not one time use, you can use as many time as you want as long as it is the same device. Cannot to a different device.