pay slip for school legal?, is it legal?

TSorient123
post Oct 21 2021, 06:48 PM, updated 5y ago

just wondering if its legal for school to ask for pay slip ?

isn't it private and confidential?
InitialB
post Oct 21 2021, 06:51 PM

700 posts

QUOTE(orient123 @ Oct 21 2021, 06:48 PM)

No

Please buat laporan pulis.

School ask you for payslip for what?
nihility
post Oct 21 2021, 06:56 PM

1,596 posts

It is normal. I think the school may have some the social programs to help the needy students & need the pay slip to prevent any abuse / underserving students.
TSorient123
post Oct 21 2021, 07:05 PM

QUOTE(InitialB @ Oct 21 2021, 06:51 PM)
No

for real o joke? are u serious ?
TSorient123
post Oct 21 2021, 07:05 PM

QUOTE(nihility @ Oct 21 2021, 06:56 PM)
It is normal. I think the school may have some the social programs to help the needy students & need the pay slip to prevent any abuse / underserving students.
so if i refuse to give , can they force it?
nihility
post Oct 21 2021, 07:23 PM

1,596 posts

QUOTE(orient123 @ Oct 21 2021, 07:05 PM)
Not sure this one, I furnished the school the document coz I don’t mind. You need to validate with the other if you intend to refuse.

I think if you want to decline, find a good way to decline it, such as by informing the school via letter that you are doing own business & do not have salary slip. Give the letter to your children , let them pass it to the school so that your children do not have to be subjected to unnecessary pressure whenever the teacher ask them for the document.
Satori 14118a
post Oct 21 2021, 07:26 PM

1,006 posts

what school?
SUStikaram
post Oct 21 2021, 07:34 PM

10,722 posts

Yes ayam kid when enrol. They need guarantor ( with payslip ) if kid don’t work for 3 years in xxx countries. They want me to pay back that scholarships. Need sign in front of lawyer some more.

This post has been edited by tikaram: Oct 21 2021, 07:35 PM
Revoz
post Oct 21 2021, 07:40 PM

679 posts

If gomen school i tot is normal they ask for parents payslip. No big deal. U dun want then u gip fake one lar. Or tell school u no work, then ur child will got special help from school.
InitialB
post Oct 21 2021, 07:45 PM

700 posts

for real o joke? are u serious ?
Payslip is P&C la...

unless they offering u jobs so need check your previous salary.

You can provide or don't provide up to you.

But they cannot force you to do so
knwong
post Oct 21 2021, 07:47 PM

3,560 posts

My children school informed, to get those aids you need to show pay slip that show you earn low

Otherwise if high income just inform teacher to put a salary range
InitialB
post Oct 21 2021, 07:50 PM

700 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Oct 21 2021, 07:47 PM)
My children school informed, to get those aids you need to show pay slip that show you earn low

Otherwise if high income just inform teacher to put a salary range
This one ok la.

U minta sedekah sama school, school want check legit anot ma.

Later u helang lagi minta tongkat sama school... take up quota untuk menolong orang miskin dan menjaga kebajikan
lawrencesha
post Oct 21 2021, 07:52 PM

882 posts

They can ask, request or demand all they want. I'm not giving them my pay slip.
DM3
post Oct 21 2021, 08:10 PM

INSPIRATOR
6,620 posts

Chinese school ask for it also
Blofeld
post Oct 21 2021, 08:28 PM

4,703 posts

QUOTE(InitialB @ Oct 21 2021, 06:51 PM)
No

it's normal if you are applying bantuan pinjaman buku teks or the program bantuan makanan

last time my father has to give the payslip so that I'm eligible for it
InitialB
post Oct 21 2021, 08:59 PM

700 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Oct 21 2021, 08:28 PM)
it's normal if you are applying bantuan pinjaman buku teks or the program bantuan makanan

last time my father has to give the payslip so that I'm eligible for it
As you comment mintak bantuan ok la...They need verify u legit miskin ...

"Bantuan" is win liao....
cwyap
post Oct 22 2021, 11:02 AM

30 posts

This issue arises year after year because the teachers & headmaster/mistress of the school have no idea what they are doing.

Back in 2008, it has already been stated that it is not compulsory (see attachment). It's the parents' prerogative whether to provide or not. However, if payslip is not provided, then the child is not entitled to school aid.

Every year I would be fighting with the schools laugh.gif on this issue. And every year, I attached the attachment that I share here for the school administration to refresh their memory. mad.gif They threatened my kids that they (my kids) wouldn't be getting any "bantuan" & I fired back - "Did I ask you for any financial aid?".

Note that whatever you submit is not private & confidential; I have an acquaintance who is a teacher in an SMK here in Klang Valley and she told me they (the teachers) would compare parents' payslips in the teachers room and the annual student data forms are all there in the open in the teachers room unsecured.

Attached File(s)
Attached File  No_Need_To_Submit_Pay_Slips_Or_Tax_Forms.pdf ( 66.04k ) Number of downloads: 68
Maknusia
post Oct 22 2021, 11:07 AM

997 posts

Normally when there is any bantuan or scholarship offered, school would ask for payslip, which I think is fair, kan?
fireballs
post Oct 22 2021, 11:19 AM

5,650 posts

See which parent can ask for more donation

SUSBillCollector
post Oct 22 2021, 11:30 AM

818 posts

QUOTE(orient123 @ Oct 21 2021, 06:48 PM)

It's no less or more legal than providing it to a bank when applying for a loan.

The previous SRJK my eldest attended did ask for one, I asked for further clarification as to why they needed to know such information, they gave an explanation that if the parents' income levels were below a certain threshold the school offered free tuition and subsidized the workbooks cost. I told the school I wasn't interested and therefore it was fine if mine wasn't eligible.

Except it became a yearly affair that without fail they would ask and I would have to tell them the same thing.

Best part? IIRC it was in her Std3, there was a form sent asking for donations and recommended a monthly donation that corresponded to our salary and then asked for salary slips as the school wanted to plan in advance how much cash they would be collecting. I told them if they wanted a donation, ask nicely for it and in the end I gave them 0.

0.0180sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 07:12 AM