Ruijie Networks

TSGod Grid
post Oct 20 2021, 11:00 AM, updated 5y ago

35 posts

Anyone used this brand before? It's been recommended by one of the vendors, but I haven't heard anything about this brand before. Not sure how is it, the quality and performance.

https://www.ruijienetworks.com/
iso
post Oct 20 2021, 11:27 AM

40 posts

Using it at my old office. Comparable to Unifi APs. Good performer for the price. Bought ~30 APs.

You'd have to have good knowledge on network deployment, to set it up yourself, as their support is lacking. During my time setting it up, my knowledge is no where near an expert, but you know la how company jimat like shit. Or pay your vendor to do everything. AP controller is not too expensive comparing to Ubiquiti's.

The online management portal is cool. Again, for the price.
soonwai
post Oct 20 2021, 12:46 PM

11,460 posts

QUOTE(God Grid @ Oct 20 2021, 11:00 AM)
Anyone used this brand before? It's been recommended by one of the vendors, but I haven't heard anything about this brand before. Not sure how is it, the quality and performance.

https://www.ruijienetworks.com/
My auntie's house has 3 of the AP720 model. Ceiling mounted and PoE powered. Seems quite OK. I think it supports 802.11k,v & r which is nice.
TSGod Grid
post Oct 20 2021, 01:09 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(iso @ Oct 20 2021, 11:27 AM)
Using it at my old office. Comparable to Unifi APs. Good performer for the price. Bought ~30 APs.

You'd have to have good knowledge on network deployment, to set it up yourself, as their  support is lacking. During my time setting it up, my knowledge is no where near an expert, but you know la how company jimat like shit. Or pay your vendor to do everything. AP controller is not too expensive comparing to Ubiquiti's.

The online management portal is cool. Again, for the price.
A lot cheaper than Ubiquiti?

Yea. Looks like gonna have to set it up myself. 🤦‍♂️

I am not a network guy. Like zero network knowledge. Programming okay la, but networking is totally different shits.

How long it took you to set them up?

QUOTE(soonwai @ Oct 20 2021, 12:46 PM)
My auntie's house has 3 of the AP720 model. Ceiling mounted and PoE powered. Seems quite OK. I think it supports 802.11k,v & r which is nice.
How big is her house?
soonwai
post Oct 20 2021, 01:36 PM

11,460 posts

QUOTE(God Grid @ Oct 20 2021, 01:09 PM)

I am not a network guy. Like zero network knowledge. Programming okay la, but networking is totally different shits.

How big is her house?
It's quite big but the shape of it is weird.

Orange is upstairs, White is downstairs. 1,2,3 are the Ruijies.
0 is where the TM modem, router, switch and other stuff are located. There's a TM C1200 AP here, mostly to provide wifi to the extension at the top right of the house.
1 for the dining area
2 in the corridor for most of the bedrooms
3 for the living and office

Still a few spots with not so good signal.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Oct 20 2021, 01:47 PM
iso
post Oct 20 2021, 02:19 PM

40 posts

With the cloud solution (its free BTW), you can deploy your AP quite easily. From radio roaming, testing channel overlaps (and auto confiq btw), captive portal, to updating firmware can be done there.

Since we manually setup (yeah.. login each AP one by one, change ip, ssid.. Crazy company wants static IP for each, and specified IP lease and mask.), it took us a couple of days just to setting. You should not be doing this you know, for AP's.. That's what AP controllers are for and in Ruijie's case, the cloud solution offers this functionality.
TSGod Grid
post Oct 20 2021, 02:44 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Oct 20 2021, 01:36 PM)
It's quite big but the shape of it is weird.

Orange is upstairs, White is downstairs. 1,2,3 are the Ruijies.
0 is where the TM modem, router, switch and other stuff are located. There's a TM C1200 AP here, mostly to provide wifi to the extension at the top right of the house.
1 for the dining area
2 in the corridor for most of the bedrooms
3 for the living and office

Still a few spots with not so good signal.
oh, still using the TM Modem? didn't change to a better router and switch? hahaha

but for normal usage, all okay la?

QUOTE(iso @ Oct 20 2021, 02:19 PM)
With the cloud solution (its free BTW), you can deploy your AP quite easily. From radio roaming, testing channel overlaps (and auto confiq btw), captive portal, to updating firmware can be done there.

Since we manually setup (yeah.. login each AP one by one, change ip, ssid.. Crazy company wants static IP for each, and specified IP lease and mask.), it took us a couple of days just to setting. You should not be doing this you know, for AP's.. That's what AP controllers are for and in Ruijie's case, the cloud solution offers this functionality.
Oh, they have cloud solution too. That's great! What about things like device monitoring and logs?

APs don't need static IP right? it should be automated by the router or switch? that's why there's a controller either hardware or software

This post has been edited by God Grid: Oct 20 2021, 02:44 PM
soonwai
post Oct 20 2021, 03:32 PM

11,460 posts

QUOTE(God Grid @ Oct 20 2021, 02:44 PM)
oh, still using the TM Modem? didn't change to a better router and switch? hahaha

but for normal usage, all okay la?
Oh, they have cloud solution too. That's great! What about things like device monitoring and logs?

APs don't need static IP right? it should be automated by the router or switch? that's why there's a controller either hardware or software
Modem, of course, cannot change but router changed to Mikrotik RB750Gr3. The router used to be TM's C1200 which caused a very specific problem where zoom, Meet or Teams meeting would disconnect halfway. At first, we thought it was the wifi but it wasn't.

I didn't use the Cloud controller thing. I just setup each one individually. IPs are acquired via DHCP with static leases for all the APs set at the router. Don't need static IP but just my habit to do so. The Ruijies were originally set to static IPs by the people who installed during renovation time.

We're not doing any network monitoring. My auntie is the network monitor. When wifi not working, my phone will ring. LOL. But seriously, each AP got status, clients connected, channel, strength and all that. I believe it also supports SNMP.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Oct 20 2021, 03:42 PM
iso
post Oct 20 2021, 03:40 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(God Grid @ Oct 20 2021, 02:44 PM)

Yep, you can monitor device performance and logs thru the cloud portal. How many clients are connected, throughput, which area is saturated, etc.

No.. You dont need static IP for AP's. With the AP controller / cloud (not router or switch), there's not really a need for static IP for APs. The whole point of deploying your of APs should be easy enough. You put in a set of configuration to a controller (in this case, the cloud solution), "bind" the AP's together, then 'deploy' the settings. Just make sure your firewall is not filtering china DNS, or you wont connect your APs to the cloud. Happened to me, nightmare figuring it out. You can change the DNS later, but through batch command line. The GUI seems to lack this feature. Or I'm just not good enough.. Networking is hard to me..

bananadrew
post Oct 20 2021, 04:53 PM

88 posts

This brand quite affordable.
TS mind i ask your purpose of getting these AP ? for large area office or house ?
TSGod Grid
post Oct 20 2021, 05:04 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Oct 20 2021, 03:32 PM)
Modem, of course, cannot change but router changed to Mikrotik RB750Gr3. The router used to be TM's C1200 which caused a very specific problem where zoom, Meet or Teams meeting would disconnect halfway. At first, we thought it was the wifi but it wasn't.

I didn't use the Cloud controller thing. I just setup each one individually. IPs are acquired via DHCP with static leases for all the APs set at the router. Don't need static IP but just my habit to do so. The Ruijies were originally set to static IPs by the people who installed during renovation time.

We're not doing any network monitoring. My auntie is the network monitor. When wifi not working, my phone will ring. LOL. But seriously, each AP got status, clients connected, channel, strength and all that. I believe it also supports SNMP.
hahahaha I know that feeling. you will always be the IT guy. everything will call you.

Wah, isn't it a hassle to setup each one individually?

and are the APs POE or need a power point?

QUOTE(iso @ Oct 20 2021, 03:40 PM)
Yep, you can monitor device performance and logs thru the cloud portal. How many clients are connected, throughput, which area is saturated, etc.

No.. You dont need static IP for AP's. With the AP controller / cloud (not router or switch), there's not really a need for static IP for APs. The whole point of deploying your of APs should be easy enough. You put in a set of configuration to a controller (in this case, the cloud solution), "bind" the AP's together, then 'deploy' the settings. Just make sure your firewall is not filtering china DNS, or you wont connect your APs to the cloud. Happened to me, nightmare figuring it out. You can change the DNS later, but through batch command line. The GUI seems to lack this feature. Or I'm just not good enough.. Networking is hard to me..
yea, that's what we are looking for. The cloud server is in China huh... got it. Networking is hard for me too. I can't find anything much regarding ruijie on the internet. macam so new only hahah

QUOTE(bananadrew @ Oct 20 2021, 04:53 PM)
This brand quite affordable.
TS mind i ask your purpose of getting these AP ? for large area office or house ?
for office use. my office is huge. around 8000 sqft
bananadrew
post Oct 22 2021, 03:42 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(God Grid @ Oct 20 2021, 05:04 PM)

for office use. my office is huge. around 8000 sqft
Interested to explore other brands?
i can help u draw a heatmapping for Wifi network, can see what's the signal strength and what are blocking the signals and stuff

Gaara92
post Oct 29 2021, 09:29 PM

Herald
612 posts

How big is her house?
i can help you install, just belanja me starbucks and mcd already enoough thumbup.gif
blacktubi
post Oct 30 2021, 02:50 PM

-
8,429 posts

Second tier brand in China on par with TP-Link.

They are really decent for the price. Good enough for basic AP deployment.

Support isn’t great though. Just got to figure out everything yourself.

0.0146sec    1.46    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 01:56 PM