Hi to all Sifus and experts.
I'm new to the world of NAS and big storage setup in general My current experience can be summarized thusly:
Storage Proficiency level: Beginner to intermediate
Have been using external HDDs for some years (WD Essential / Seagate etc) Just recently bought Synology DS220J and have tinkered with it for a bit.
ISSUE:
As mentioned above, I already have a NAS. Synology DS220J, 2 bay, total of 8 TB storage.
The NAS is good for its accessibility / network function but it's a pain when I backup terabytes of data.
1. Transfer speed over network is quite slow, 35 MB/sec. Plus, i will burden the home network.
2. Synology NAS cannot use USB 3.0 for direct connection to PC (for some reason) nut it can access external HDD that connects to it via USB.
3. Workaround to direct connect NAS is a hassle - need to use ethernet cable and configure manual IP. PC also only have 1 LAN port, so if connect, cannot use internet.
REQUEST
I want to supplement my current setup with a DAS. My plan is to have an "upgradeable" external HDD essentially.
1. Enclosure have to be RAID capable - want to have multiple HDD bays but want to map to only 1 drive in PC
2. Budget - around RM1k ~ 2k for enclosure only. Can recommend HDD to use.
3. Want to be able to direct connect to PC for fast transfer - USB 3.0
I have Googled for a DAS but most result show for NAS.
Found one from Orico:
Orico NS500RU3 (5 Bay) 3.5-in hard disk box desktop (With Raid) sata USB3.0 serial box
Orico HDD Enclosure
But dunno good or not. Also dunno if got any other brand.
So, need help in recommendation for a good DAS.
[WTA] Best Direct Attacheed Storage (DAS), Looking to upgrade current storage setup
Oct 19 2021, 09:50 PM, updated 5y ago
0.0189sec