Unifi Archer ax20 with Deco M4?, Got the Decos from Unifi

TSnelpork
post Oct 19 2021, 03:31 PM, updated 5y ago

18 posts

Hi guys, a few months ago I upgraded the home router to the TP-link Archer AX20 and have been enjoying it so far.

Recently upgraded from 100Mbps to 300Mbps, TM sent over a set of 2 Deco M4s.

My question is do I change my router and use the Deco exclusively or just ignore the Deco, as I'm sure their mesh are not compatible right?

I'm not well versed in home networking, would greatly appreciate advice from sifus smile.gif
YoungMan
post Oct 19 2021, 03:52 PM

6,842 posts

Imo, you either use the deco exclusively and remove the AX20 or just don't use at all if your Wifi signal is already strong enough in the house.
MyProLife
post Oct 19 2021, 07:37 PM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,075 posts

suggest to sell off M4 on garage sales. Stick to AX20 if you are satisfy with the range
PRSXFENG
post Oct 19 2021, 08:37 PM

2,616 posts

Yeah they’re not compatible, so pick 1 and use either the ax20 or the deco m4 only
acbc
post Oct 19 2021, 08:41 PM

9,052 posts

Im using both AX20 as the router and M4 as AP.

Better this way so spread the load. Never let a single device do everything.
TSnelpork
post Oct 27 2021, 02:18 AM

18 posts

A little late but thanks for the reply guys! Ended up using the Deco but leaning towards going back to the AX20 down the road
Skylinestar
post Oct 27 2021, 03:55 PM

Mega Duck
10,479 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Oct 19 2021, 08:37 PM)
Yeah they’re not compatible, so pick 1 and use either the ax20 or the deco m4 only
why not hook M4 as wifi access point?
PRSXFENG
post Oct 27 2021, 08:34 PM

2,616 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Oct 27 2021, 03:55 PM)
why not hook M4 as wifi access point?
Could be done but I think unnecessary since the deco can do the router's job also

0.0145sec    1.23    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 10:52 PM