Boring book - will you stop reading it?
TSRedshelf411
Oct 18 2021, 10:29 PM, updated 5y ago
As per titled. If you've bought/borrowed a book that's interesting in the beginning but not later on in the book, will you stop reading it? Or will you continue reading it and finish the book off just for the sake of completing it?
I have this dilemma with some of the books I read though. Like it all started nice and interesting. Then later on in the book its so bland I was bored of it. I used to leave it on incomplete. Some of my friends told me to just finish it anyway even if it still has 50% more to go.
Thoughts?
miyakochan89
Oct 18 2021, 10:31 PM
Yes. I used to think like you but these days I will just move on. There are too many good books out there. Dont take away your joy in reading something that you just don’t like anymore.
Some books aren’t cut out for you, it’s your own taste and preferences. So if you no longer like it, don’t drag and move on, otherwise you will just feel forced. Reading is supposed to be fun!
MysticShadow
Oct 31 2021, 09:54 AM

Sameee. I used to force myself to finish a book I didn't like. It's like forcing yourself to go through a meh / bad experience. Some books are really badly written, or maybe have certain themes I don't like... there are too many titles I want to read to spend the time to read something I don't like or enjoy
TSRedshelf411
Oct 31 2021, 11:18 PM
QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Oct 18 2021, 10:31 PM) Yes. I used to think like you but these days I will just move on. There are too many good books out there. Dont take away your joy in reading something that you just don’t like anymore. Some books aren’t cut out for you, it’s your own taste and preferences. So if you no longer like it, don’t drag and move on, otherwise you will just feel forced. Reading is supposed to be fun! QUOTE(MysticShadow @ Oct 31 2021, 09:54 AM) Sameee. I used to force myself to finish a book I didn't like. It's like forcing yourself to go through a meh / bad experience. Some books are really badly written, or maybe have certain themes I don't like... there are too many titles I want to read to spend the time to read something I don't like or enjoy IKR... I tend to pick up the following books in a series I've started when I was still in my college years - just to know, complete the series and whatever. But know how when you grow older, your tastes in books (and everything else) tend to be more refined as you go along? Yeah that happened. The series and characters I used to like back then just don't appeal to me anymore lol. And the plot holes - you tend to notice them more too.
Kaboku
Nov 10 2021, 05:20 PM
I would stop cause it won't evoke the excitement/joy when I pick up the book to read. It is like forcing myself to sit through a very boring class. I used to try to force myself to complete the book once and never again. Pure torture to me
xpole
Feb 2 2023, 09:39 PM
Depends on the book genre.
I'm a big fan of Thriller & Horror genres. Even though the book is so bad, I will still finish it.
But when I read other genres which is outside my reading comfort zone, I will DNF the book.
This post has been edited by xpole: Feb 2 2023, 09:40 PM