Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

119 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Bottom

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Google Pixel 6/Pixel 6 Pro

views
     
wanttotree
post Dec 2 2021, 05:22 PM

On my way
****
Junior Member
507 posts

Joined: Apr 2008
QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Dec 2 2021, 05:20 PM)
Why if the spammer speak malay or chinese?
*
Then the scammer will get frustrated. Thats a bonus. Lol
bahjan_2000
post Dec 2 2021, 05:53 PM

Casual
***
Junior Member
320 posts

Joined: Oct 2017


QUOTE(chriscym @ Dec 2 2021, 04:34 PM)
the call screening is really a nice feature , sadly they decided that its only for US and Canada, unless u root your device. I filtered a lot of spam calls, but since the last security compromise I remove all root and reformated my phone.
*
What security compromise? hmm.gif

chriscym
post Dec 2 2021, 06:56 PM

Regular
******
Senior Member
1,065 posts

Joined: Oct 2007
QUOTE(bahjan_2000 @ Dec 2 2021, 05:53 PM)
What security compromise?  hmm.gif
*
After root and install the market enabler app for call screening, I notice it start from the day I install it there are 100 premium sms being sent. I remember clearly I did not simply click on links only the rooting & market app so I am also not sure how did the security compromise can happen so easily. My bill come to RM400. Fortunately Digi agree to waive it. At the end I am forced to reformat it since removing the apps did not help.
wanttotree
post Dec 2 2021, 06:59 PM

On my way
****
Junior Member
507 posts

Joined: Apr 2008
QUOTE(chriscym @ Dec 2 2021, 06:56 PM)
After root and install the market enabler app for call screening, I notice it start from the day I install it there are 100 premium sms being sent. I remember clearly I did not simply click on links only the rooting & market app so I am also not sure how did the security compromise can happen so easily. My bill come to RM400. Fortunately Digi agree to waive it. At the end I am forced to reformat it since removing the apps did not help.
*
This is very possible i might say. If you download the wrong apk you will end up getting malware instead of a legit app. May i know which phone u did this on? I can confirm that there are a few market enabler out there in the wild. Do u remember which apk u had the problem with?

This post has been edited by wanttotree: Dec 2 2021, 06:59 PM
chriscym
post Dec 2 2021, 07:05 PM

Regular
******
Senior Member
1,065 posts

Joined: Oct 2007
QUOTE(wanttotree @ Dec 2 2021, 06:59 PM)
This is very possible i might say. If you download the wrong apk you will end up getting malware instead of a legit app. May i know which phone u did this on? I can confirm that there are a few market enabler out there in the wild. Do u remember which apk u had the problem with?
*
I cant remember, I had this issue with Pixel 4XL. Yes very possible the malware is in the root app. Otherwise I am quite careful of what I click or accept over the internet. I can imagine the worst case of spyware got installed in the phone and we are using it to do banking transactions sad.gif
So since this bad experience, I would not want to root it, but the features it can unlock is very tempting...

This post has been edited by chriscym: Dec 2 2021, 07:08 PM
cruzzmz
post Dec 2 2021, 07:24 PM

uh weeee !!!!
*******
Senior Member
4,906 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
As uncle Ben said ... with great power come great responsibility whistling.gif

This post has been edited by cruzzmz: Dec 2 2021, 07:24 PM
akash3656
post Dec 3 2021, 01:34 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
288 posts

Joined: Feb 2009
QUOTE(chriscym @ Dec 2 2021, 06:56 PM)
After root and install the market enabler app for call screening, I notice it start from the day I install it there are 100 premium sms being sent. I remember clearly I did not simply click on links only the rooting & market app so I am also not sure how did the security compromise can happen so easily. My bill come to RM400. Fortunately Digi agree to waive it. At the end I am forced to reformat it since removing the apps did not help.
*
You probably rooted the phone with a malware utility. Or managed to give malware free reign over your phone.

And with root access, malware can stick around in /system or /boot like a pesky rootkit. Hence you needed to re-flash/format the phone.
chriscym
post Dec 3 2021, 02:36 PM

Regular
******
Senior Member
1,065 posts

Joined: Oct 2007
QUOTE(akash3656 @ Dec 3 2021, 01:34 PM)
You probably rooted the phone with a malware utility. Or managed to give malware free reign over your phone.

And with root access, malware can stick around in /system or /boot like a pesky rootkit. Hence you needed to re-flash/format the phone.
*
yes that is very possible and the only way to get compromised. Hence rooting is a risky thing to do afterall to trade off with extra feature, no matter how careful we are we open the OS up to attacks.
cruzzmz
post Dec 3 2021, 06:09 PM

uh weeee !!!!
*******
Senior Member
4,906 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
Yes need to be very careful when rooted the phone .. any phone to be exact

jeoneun
post Dec 4 2021, 01:54 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
228 posts

Joined: Aug 2012
QUOTE(wanttotree @ Nov 23 2021, 01:11 PM)
Heres another screenshot for good measure.

user posted image
*
Hi, couldn't find the "volte-properties..." in magisk module. How you get it installed?
wanttotree
post Dec 4 2021, 02:42 PM

On my way
****
Junior Member
507 posts

Joined: Apr 2008
QUOTE(jeoneun @ Dec 4 2021, 01:54 PM)
Hi, couldn't find the "volte-properties..." in magisk module. How you get it installed?
*
Dont use magisk modules, its not good. I tried all of them and it will give u bad speed.
Follow this guide, basically adding a few lines in a file. Then reboot.
4g calling will be enabled in network settings. Not in magisk.

https://forum.xda-developers.com/t/howto-ro...config.4367299/

This post has been edited by wanttotree: Dec 4 2021, 02:43 PM
bahjan_2000
post Dec 4 2021, 02:55 PM

Casual
***
Junior Member
320 posts

Joined: Oct 2017


QUOTE(wanttotree @ Dec 4 2021, 02:42 PM)
Dont use magisk modules, its not good. I tried all of them and it will give u bad speed.
Follow this guide, basically adding a few lines in a file. Then reboot.
4g calling will be enabled in network settings. Not in magisk.

https://forum.xda-developers.com/t/howto-ro...config.4367299/
*
But you did use them from that foobar guy in XDA, did u not?
wanttotree
post Dec 4 2021, 03:02 PM

On my way
****
Junior Member
507 posts

Joined: Apr 2008
QUOTE(bahjan_2000 @ Dec 4 2021, 02:55 PM)
But you did use them from that foobar guy in XDA, did u not?
*
Maybe havent used the foobar one. U go ahead and try it. Feel free to report how good or bad it is.
skylinelover
post Dec 4 2021, 04:04 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
*******
Senior Member
8,677 posts

Joined: Jul 2005
QUOTE(Kagekiyo @ Dec 2 2021, 12:23 PM)
If you guys are still hunting around for a Google Pixel 6 reseller, perhaps you can consider AZ Tech.

They have been around for awhile although i personally have not ordered from them before so please do your own personal research before placing an order or message them to ask all the questions you need upfront to have a peace of mind first.

I noticed they have a posting on carousell selling the regular 6 and 6 pro (unsure if it's a pre-order or ready stock but resell prices are more or less same as Techbug):

Carousell:

https://www.carousell.com.my/p/new-google-p...r&t-tap_index=3

Lazada & Shopee store (no Pixel 6 listing in sight):

https://www.lazada.com.my/az-tech/?q=All-Pr...en&pageTypeId=2

https://shopee.com.my/shop/1594936/search?o...d=100073&page=0

Update: I messaged AZ Tech and indeed, he has ready stock at hand for both Pixel 6 regular and 6 Pro models but in limited quantities. Lastly, he only accepts cash or online transfer.
*
I bought a snapdragon samsung from him b4

Dudes legit hahahaha
wanttotree
post Dec 4 2021, 06:25 PM

On my way
****
Junior Member
507 posts

Joined: Apr 2008
QUOTE(bahjan_2000 @ Dec 4 2021, 02:55 PM)
But you did use them from that foobar guy in XDA, did u not?
*
Woops, i forgot the thread was by foobar. Yes i am using it right now.
jeoneun
post Dec 4 2021, 11:27 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
228 posts

Joined: Aug 2012
QUOTE(wanttotree @ Dec 4 2021, 02:42 PM)
Dont use magisk modules, its not good. I tried all of them and it will give u bad speed.
Follow this guide, basically adding a few lines in a file. Then reboot.
4g calling will be enabled in network settings. Not in magisk.

https://forum.xda-developers.com/t/howto-ro...config.4367299/
*
Thanks for sharing. Actually wanted to test it out on my pixel 2 xl. Still not comfortable to root my daily driver.

Managed to find way to force the volte toggle in settings. But it didn't work sweat.gif

Still exploring

Btw, thanks for your info on the call screening. This works well thumbup.gif
bahjan_2000
post Dec 5 2021, 05:10 PM

Casual
***
Junior Member
320 posts

Joined: Oct 2017


QUOTE(jeoneun @ Dec 4 2021, 11:27 PM)
Thanks for sharing. Actually wanted to test it out on my pixel 2 xl. Still not comfortable to root my daily driver.

Managed to find way to force the volte toggle in settings. But it didn't work  sweat.gif

Still exploring

Btw, thanks for your info on the call screening. This works well  thumbup.gif
*
Any chance it didn't work, because not all telco enable VoLTE for all users, yet? Like for Celcom, I heard they're enabling it by batches; some of my iPhone friends can use it, some can't, yet. What telco you're on?
del85
post Dec 5 2021, 06:24 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
159 posts

Joined: Sep 2005
Hi guys, just want to ask you guys if anyone having experience using rockspace hyrdrogel screen protector? I try to reset my finger print, but no luck to unlock. Even though I register the same finger for all 5 fingers registration. Or do you have any suggestions screen protector can recommend? Sorry if the topic already discuss in this thread.

This post has been edited by del85: Dec 5 2021, 06:25 PM
chriscym
post Dec 5 2021, 06:55 PM

Regular
******
Senior Member
1,065 posts

Joined: Oct 2007
QUOTE(del85 @ Dec 5 2021, 06:24 PM)
Hi guys, just want to ask you guys if anyone having experience using rockspace hyrdrogel screen protector? I try to reset my finger print, but no luck to unlock. Even though I register the same finger for all 5 fingers registration. Or do you have any suggestions screen protector can recommend? Sorry if the topic already discuss in this thread.
*
are u using the hydrogel SP and it is causing problem for you with the fingerprint unlock?
wanttotree
post Dec 5 2021, 06:58 PM

On my way
****
Junior Member
507 posts

Joined: Apr 2008
Posted earlier, but here ya go mate.
https://shopee.com.my/product/54053837/1036...59-1638701856.9

119 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Top
 

Change to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0383sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th May 2022 - 11:52 AM