FI/RE - Financial Independence / Retire Early

xander2k8
post May 18 2023, 05:30 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(Sihambodoh @ May 18 2023, 05:06 PM)
I was into SaaS back then. So the cost is actually my time as I did the code, design and business development all by myself. Grew it to a 5 figure income (MYR) before the market got really saturated and I had no choice but to leave it to die a slow death.
Still got market with specialisation with CSaaS if you have the market and customers but highly competitive
xander2k8
post May 18 2023, 05:43 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(soul78 @ May 18 2023, 05:36 PM)
As long as we based our calculations to the Almighty EPF only...

we will never get the true figure of people's networth in malaysia.
Especially those with tonnes of side hustles πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ which is why you see EPF is also hustling for their slice of the pie as well πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ when those side hustles are more burden relief to those who are hardworking πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ
xander2k8
post May 19 2023, 07:26 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ May 19 2023, 05:30 PM)
Bro...the RM240k is a joke. Totally unrealistic. Their basis was based on decades ago and only been updated once or twice to the RM240k figures now.

When I was a kid, chap fan can be eaten for RM1. Now RM10 also cannot.

Yes, you need to do a calculation because everyone's assets are different. But if you want to live comfortably (and I mean no lavish lifestyle), RM 3 mil is roughly the net worth mount you will need in order to generate passive income PERPECTUALLY between RM5k to RM10k per month, depending on the type of assets your net worth is.

Sure you can get by with say RM500k....but you better find some source of active income and continue working and basically no retirement for you.

Here is a recent article on this issue. Although it's much lower than my calculations (because I want it runs PERPECTUALLY), this article at least set a much more realistic target even if you expect the retirement nest to dwindle down to zero but at least have 20 years to it. Again, RM240k is a joke.

https://ringgitplus.com/en/blog/retirement-...o-30-years.html
It is a joke because they based upon everything is cheap at rm1k per month for the next 240 months whereby healthcare and transportation are govt subsidised πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ hence why rm1k is the figure taken upon into it for living and cost of foods factored into it πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ
xander2k8
post May 21 2023, 05:47 AM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ May 20 2023, 10:01 AM)
Seriously, they are all middle income workers and they are all doing well.
Aus does a lot for their citizens. Cheap education. Healthcare, etc.
Most own their own properties and can retire quite comfortably.
Not as cheap as what you think πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ HECS already went up a lot πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ and now most young grads there are owing at least AUD40k upon graduation

Healthcare wise still got Medicare but however it is getting worse because of lack of medical professions to cope with the population growth

The only thing is Centrelink with good welfare system albeit lower benefits due to skyrocketing inflation and housing prices is getting out of reach for many

It is not the land of milk and honey unlike back in the 90s whereby the last recession hits while everything is still affordable back then
xander2k8
post May 25 2023, 05:43 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(kenzotaj @ May 25 2023, 04:23 PM)
Funny, for FIRE without any fixed asset. 
As u encountered first hand KLSE is double edge sword. 
Portfolio has to includes  shophouse/ apartment to collect rental.
Money can depreciate over years.  But asset  relatively stable or longterm willappreciate. Rental income is the dividend
Shophouse is not gonna be relevant for future dividends πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ no one bother going to shops while shopping centre as closer to their doorsteps

QUOTE(kenzotaj @ May 25 2023, 04:34 PM)
What i am trying to say is 5mil may seems alot now, in cash..
And she is spending the FD interest and KLSE dividend as monthly household expenses, hence losing the compounding magic (if not being re-invested)
Moreover in  another 20 or 30years , your 5mil will 'feel like' 2.5mil in PPP.
Only Fixed Asset with rental income will be stable in value.  Long term wise, the shop will appreciate.  and Rental also appreciate.
Shophouse will 1st to be depreciate πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ you rather instead buying a rental apartment for stability

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ May 25 2023, 05:33 PM)
u have the best forced savings method ever!

bring back the usd lar to pump up our myr... so sad to see it now at 4.62....
tried to google search what was the lowest ringgit ever got during asian crisis (i thought it was like 4.8) but google returned that right now is the lowest...?????
Wrong πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ the lowest was last year when it hit 4.74 prior to election

xander2k8
post May 26 2023, 07:20 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ May 26 2023, 04:17 PM)
TRue,... especially if the landlord is old and is not so physically able to chase the tenant.

I think,... SG REIT dividend income is still better,... but that's me.

Appreciating SGD, good quality REITs but must buy the correct REITs. Especially in these times of rising interest rate environment and of high inflation.
REITs are good in terms of diversification rather than owning the actual property outright

SG REITs are most of it are long term tenanted hence less worries for vacancy and lower dividends so you should be fine with appreciating SGD πŸ‘ which will be another record soon in Q3 at RM3.50
xander2k8
post Jun 6 2023, 04:21 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jun 6 2023, 08:29 AM)
New millennials don't understand the TRUE value of money... just wants things spanking new.
They just like shiny things to show off in social media in the 1st place πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ instead of understanding the value or money and how to make it work harder πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ but thanks to their generation I can generate more on buying those millennial stocks

QUOTE(gashout @ Jun 6 2023, 03:48 PM)
YOLO, the government and country look bleak as well.

Hutang first, enjoy dulu, suffer later
Thanks to social media who has brainwashed them to show off rather actually owning it πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ
xander2k8
post Jun 7 2023, 03:57 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Jun 7 2023, 02:09 AM)
Itu maciam ka. Mayb u guys too rich dun hav average Joe problem. Sometimes people hav been forced to look for new property as subsales need a chunk of money. At least 15-20% of d house value. Itu belum kira cost of renovate etc lagi.
Why on earth waste your money buying new house and yet still renovate πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ and it means wasting more money and letting developer to profit more instead
xander2k8
post Jun 8 2023, 05:41 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(batman1172 @ Jun 7 2023, 08:33 PM)
Where got ppl buy new house renovate?
Got many ppl does it πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ which is why most developers can’t be bothered and delivering inferior finished product these days as these days developers doesn’t build for the market but for their profit margin
xander2k8
post Jun 8 2023, 05:41 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(batman1172 @ Jun 7 2023, 08:33 PM)
Where got ppl buy new house renovate?
Got many ppl does it πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ as you can see above which is why most developers can’t be bothered and delivering inferior finished product these days as these days developers doesn’t build for the market but for their profit margin
xander2k8
post Jun 9 2023, 05:28 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(batman1172 @ Jun 9 2023, 06:20 AM)
Renovation won’t help FIRE. Let’s change topic. I’m bad manage my finance need help. Last time I young travel many country sometimes buy property by mistake thinking it’s the last time i willl move. Guess what, old now and back to Malaysia the best place.
Should I sell my flat in spore then convert to ringgit? I will lose exchange rate right? Also will I kena tax? Or should I just keep it in spore but it’s a problem cause I old that time can’t go there collect rent
Keep it as property in Singapore will always appreciate due to lack of land and housing

Even if it is for rental it is still better than many properties in Malaysia for rental yield while Singapore will always be a renters market due to their open economy

Tax should not be any issue if you declare in Singapore as since you are retired and you can instead collect monthly why not give your tenant long term discounts by paying either quarterly, half yearly or yearly rentals as this would save a lot of time for it
xander2k8
post Jun 18 2023, 11:58 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(exwuliao @ Jun 18 2023, 10:19 PM)
Sorry I have a noob question..
Why KDI Save over Versa? Been seeing a lot of talk about parking short-term cash in KDI rather than Versa
KDI Save because of liquidity but Versa-I has now same day withdrawal before 10.30am cut off

QUOTE(Aaron212 @ Jun 18 2023, 10:43 PM)
i use both

versa slightly higher than kdi if not mistaken

but kdi clearly shows u ur money and u feel more secure looking at its interface

versa show u in their own units so its harder to understand

see also no mood adi
Not really now when Versa-I has up the game using accumulation units now with the same day withdrawal πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ

KDI is more on showing the value while Versa is on units but with Versa-I with accumulation is better now

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 18 2023, 11:14 PM)
Money in and out of Kid Save is faster than Versa. If you do it before the cut off time by night money is in your account already.
Now Versa-I has upped the game with same day withdrawal before 10.30am and received around 7pm in the evening itself
xander2k8
post Jun 19 2023, 02:36 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jun 19 2023, 10:09 AM)
it is unit trust but in the money market....that's why Versa shows in Units.
Versa is buying into an external fund to manage while KDI Save is managed by itself through its own treasury product hence 2 different legal ways of handling money market while earning small interest in it
xander2k8
post Jun 20 2023, 11:40 AM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(Aaron212 @ Jun 20 2023, 08:32 AM)
So much trouble to just see YOUR own actual money

KDI u open account straight away can see how much ringgit n cents u currently have

Versa some more register left right left right

Too much hassle for such small amount of interest

Like that i better all in tesla
Can’t you withstand more than 50% losses or not πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ a lot of ppl who bought Tesla during last split thinking it will go up and they sold off at a loss instead while missing out the recent 14 day rally πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ
xander2k8
post Jun 23 2023, 07:17 AM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(batman1172 @ Jun 22 2023, 11:57 AM)
It is not enough because your kid is still form 1. still got 10 years to go. You won't know how much education cost or how long it takes or what he wants to do.

If you plan to send overseas then ringgit depreciation be a problem in 6-7 years time. I'm not thinking positively on the ringgit so I might be wrong.  cry.gif
No need think positively when history shows that RM will depreciate more in the future πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ already off the high since this year Feb and can never regain that unless major structural changes in the financial and economic sectors in Malaysia
xander2k8
post Jun 26 2023, 05:49 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Jun 23 2023, 10:44 AM)
You still can contribute to the society. Why need FIRE?

FIRE is stupid and already prove to be failure
You will die faster if you on FIRE.
FIRE is only for those who wants financial freedom and passion for those who wants to pursue their own ideas and lifestyle πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ a good example would by my dad who already fire since early 1990s and yet he is in 80s and doing round the world trip doing adventurous stuff like hiking and nature trips as when you FIRE you would live even healthier life than ever πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ rather doing the rat race which would shorten life more

This post has been edited by xander2k8: Jun 26 2023, 05:50 PM
xander2k8
post Jul 1 2023, 06:58 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(Lembu Goreng @ Jul 1 2023, 03:03 PM)
Thats nice, so he FIRE-d in his 50s?
Close to it late 40ish

0.0718sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:01 AM