FI/RE - Financial Independence / Retire Early

SUSCoolStoryWriter
post Mar 5 2022, 07:52 PM

241 posts

Hi folks, want to ask, does having children stopped you from achieving FIRE?

I am planning to FIRE in my 40s but just afraid children will prevent it
SUSCoolStoryWriter
post Mar 5 2022, 08:03 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Mar 5 2022, 07:54 PM)
if you have enough....then should be no problem
I want the best for my children. International school and all that
SUSCoolStoryWriter
post Mar 5 2022, 08:04 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Mar 5 2022, 08:00 PM)
Tbh, u can't compare it this way. It's funny to tag a price on bringing up a children Vs FIRE.
No no I don't think so. The choices are very obvious, stay childless and keep your savings high, or have children and spend all your hard earn savings in your 20s to get a house and shit.
SUSCoolStoryWriter
post Jul 25 2022, 12:59 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(square2 @ Jul 25 2022, 09:47 AM)
depends how old you want to start a family.

my case:

age 23 start work, save and invest till 700k (includes 120k EPF) at age 32. want to save 1 mil for retirement before settle down but well, things did not go according to plan and got married before it. but 300k will not make much difference anyway

children pop out this year. looks like cash flow will be net zero after taking off all expenses and loans

my take home salary is only about 5k

now if you ask me, 700k if taruh all in reits, boleh RE now if single? can. but your life will be just meh.... what are you going to do with 2-3k monthly passive income?

to your questions, yes. it does stop me, but i think life is just not about having single life forever. how old you want to keep on bang FWB and going Pros for sex? how are you going to cope when all of you mamak kaki already stop hang out and jaga kids?
How the hell did u save 700k with salary so slow? Inheritance?

0.0891sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:39 AM