FI/RE - Financial Independence / Retire Early

Wedchar2912
post Sep 27 2025, 01:40 PM

3,589 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 27 2025, 01:09 PM)
I will give you my opinion. I have very bad opinions on bonds. I will never hold bonds as they are very inefficient.

They are like FD give you inflation return. So your money is practically not growing in line with inflation. At most maybe +2% ahead of inflation only?

Yes it can protect your value when market turns very red but why would I want to protect my value when I don't care about it and more interested in buying the dip?

That's me. Buying bonds means you getting an IOU from the company. You don't get the growth and dividend growth from the company (should it do well). I will give you an an example. If you invest 10k into Apple shares and Apple bonds 10 years ago, the result today is very different.

Yes bond have a place but never in my portfolio. I got no place bonds in my portfolio. That is why I am unorthodox. Textbook said you must own some bonds. For me why must you follow the text book when more successful people than me have never own bonds?
I see your points... but textbooks and even professionals still argue that bonds have a place in a portfolio. Especially as one gets older. Even the Trinity Study recommends 40 to 50% in bonds. (self confession... i hold zero bonds currently. i used t-bills previously just to optimize my spare cash)

So I sometimes wonder.I s there a blind spot I’m missing here, one that only becomes obvious with age? For example, when you’re 75, should a bulk of assets really be in bonds for stability?

Or is it simply that bonds are less exciting to discuss compared to stocks, gold, or options?

(Maybe it’s also an age factor — at a younger stage, the need for bonds just isn’t as apparent.)

Cubalagi
post Sep 27 2025, 01:54 PM

4,485 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Sep 27 2025, 01:01 PM)
Since we are on the topic of "efficiencies" of asset classes, one thing I find interesting is that, in FIRE discussions here, bonds rarely get mentioned. Even among those who are already retired or old (say, above 60, since that’s the official retirement age).

Is it because EPF already acts as our “fixed income substitute”? Or maybe because short-term accounts and e-wallets are giving 3–4% yields, making bonds look less relevant?

Or perhaps bonds are just... not exciting enough to talk about compared to equities and shiny commodities like gold  hmm.gif
Different asset classes have different uses.

I have been buying up lots of bonds for the last 2 years. Bonds are now 45% of my DIY retirement portfolio.

I prefer bond funds due to their liquidity as I prefer total returns (price and yield). Most of my bond exposure are not for holding to maturity.

This year, these bond investments are starting to bear fruit as interest rates have started to fall everywhere. My bonds are giving me pretty decent returns with low volatility. Im estimating about 7% total returns (in MYR) this year for my bond portfolio.

Considering this is "defensive" part of my portfolio, not too bad return. Bond prices have an inverse relationship with interest rates. It will be even better if a recession is to happen and equities market crash.

guy3288
post Sep 27 2025, 02:28 PM

5,847 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 27 2025, 10:31 AM)
Maybe you don't look at inefficiency like how I look at things. Even Singapore CPF is also very inefficient.

I will tell you why I am anti EPF
1. It gives a non growing more or less stagnant 5%p.a
2. Your ringgit is a very weak deprecating ringgit which means sure you get 5%p.a in Malaysia returns but if you look at it from the lens of a long term investing your purchasing power is decrease with time every time the ringgit depreciates against other currencies. The saving grace of Singapore CPF is their strong SGD vs our weak RM.

Now I will tell you why is it inefficient.
Use this link
https://www.investor.gov/financial-tools-ca...rest-calculator

Change the interest to 5% and 8% p a. 5% = EPF, 8% = S&P500. Put both 30 years. Now do you see how much money you are leaving on the table? 30 years is ideal time as that when most people will retire. Now would want to retire with a larger or smaller pot of gold? I know I want a larger pot. I don't know why people want lower returns if they have like 20-30 years to go. That's what irk me the most. Miss the forest for the trees.
your returns might look like a rocket
untill you subtract the 'fuel' costs.

you go shoot for the stars ,
we will stay grounded with KWSP's gravity
keeping our wealth in orbit. wink.gif

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Sep 27 2025, 01:01 PM)
Since we are on the topic of "efficiencies" of asset classes, one thing I find interesting is that, in FIRE discussions here, bonds rarely get mentioned. Even among those who are already retired or old (say, above 60, since that’s the official retirement age).

Is it because EPF already acts as our “fixed income substitute”? Or maybe because short-term accounts and e-wallets are giving 3–4% yields, making bonds look less relevant?

Or perhaps bonds are just... not exciting enough to talk about compared to equities and shiny commodities like gold  hmm.gif
Bonds dont need bragging rights.......they just keep paying quietly.. laugh.gif

Wedchar2912
post Sep 27 2025, 02:30 PM

3,589 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Sep 27 2025, 01:54 PM)
Different asset classes have different uses.

I have been buying up lots of bonds for the last 2 years. Bonds are now 45% of my DIY retirement portfolio.

I prefer bond funds due to their liquidity as I prefer total returns (price and yield). Most of my bond exposure are not for holding to maturity.

This year, these bond investments are starting to bear fruit as interest rates have started to fall everywhere. My bonds are giving me pretty decent returns with low volatility. Im estimating about 7% total returns (in MYR) this year for my bond portfolio.

Considering this is "defensive" part of my portfolio, not too bad return. Bond prices have an inverse relationship with interest rates. It will be even better if a recession is to happen and equities market crash.
Wow... 45%! If we include EPF, would it be fair to guess that more than 60% of your retirement pot is in some form of fixed income?

Did you purposely structure it this way? May I ask, is it because you expect rates to come down, or a recession ahead, or mainly to secure a steady income stream from bonds?

7% YTD is impressive... that's almost 10% annualised!

Wedchar2912
post Sep 27 2025, 02:32 PM

3,589 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Sep 27 2025, 02:28 PM)
So your point is bonds is a boring asset class and hence hardly anyone talking about it?
Cubalagi
post Sep 27 2025, 03:22 PM

4,485 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Sep 27 2025, 02:30 PM)
Wow... 45%! If we include EPF, would it be fair to guess that more than 60% of your retirement pot is in some form of fixed income?

Did you purposely structure it this way? May I ask, is it because you expect rates to come down, or a recession ahead, or mainly to secure a steady income stream from bonds?

7% YTD is impressive... that's almost 10% annualised!
1. Epf is fixed price, bonds are not fixed price (unless held to maturity). Interest rates go up, bond prices fell. Interest rates go down, bond prices up. If there is a recession, interest rate will go down a lot. And bond prices should go up much more. Then switch to buy equities cheap. That the theory. If no recession and rates are stable, just enjoy the yield. The risk is inflation spiking up and interest rates going up but I dont expect this in the near term.

2. A mix of all those reasons. Im abt 3 years close to my retirement age target, so Im more defensive. I dont want any big drawdowns till that date esp since markets are so high.. If there is a big drawdown, then I might feel the need to delay my retirement. Dont want that. Better be slow and steady.

Also, yields were very attracfive since last 2-3 year. Bonds allow u to lock the rate. Unlike cash. Now yield are somewhat less attractive, but still not bad.

Finally it also aligns with my macro view that yields are coming down.

3. 7% is my estimate for the year, not YTD. It could be higher if there is a recession. Also my bonds are mostly non-MYR. Part of it has currency hedge, but not all. So big FX swings could also change this.
Ramjade
post Sep 27 2025, 03:51 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Sep 27 2025, 01:40 PM)
I see your points... but textbooks and even professionals still argue that bonds have a place in a portfolio. Especially as one gets older. Even the Trinity Study recommends 40 to 50% in bonds. (self confession... i hold zero bonds currently. i used t-bills previously just to optimize my spare cash)

So I sometimes wonder.I s there a blind spot I’m missing here, one that only becomes obvious with age? For example, when you’re 75, should a bulk of assets really be in bonds for stability?

Or is it simply that bonds are less exciting to discuss compared to stocks, gold, or options?

(Maybe it’s also an age factor — at a younger stage, the need for bonds just isn’t as apparent.)
It's ok. Like I said you don't need to follow text books. Those who I follow who FIRE except ASSI, they all got no bonds.

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Sep 27 2025, 02:28 PM)
your returns might look like  a rocket
untill you subtract the 'fuel' costs.

you  go shoot for the stars ,
we will stay grounded with KWSP's gravity
keeping our wealth in orbit. wink.gif
Bro sure you want to argue about the cost with me?
Do know how much is a S&P500 etf fee cost? The cheapest at 0.03%p.a assuming EPF uses unit trust and their fees is 1.5%p.a that is a huge difference in fees.

1.5-0.03/0.03 x 100 = 4900% increase in fees.

Now I am using the normal unit trust fees you see in Malaysia and Singapore. If we use assets management fees it might be different and way more that that.

So if you saying cost, er I will look again.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Sep 27 2025, 04:03 PM
Cubalagi
post Sep 27 2025, 05:43 PM

4,485 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 27 2025, 03:51 PM)

Bro sure you want to argue about the cost with me?
Do know how much is a S&P500 etf fee cost? The cheapest at 0.03%p.a assuming EPF uses unit trust and their fees is 1.5%p.a that is a huge difference in fees.

1.5-0.03/0.03 x 100 = 4900% increase in fees.

Now I am using the normal unit trust fees you see in Malaysia and Singapore. If we use assets management fees it might be different and way more that that.

So if you saying cost, er I will look again.
Technically speaking, EPF doesnt charge management fees. Hence its fee is 0.
Ramjade
post Sep 27 2025, 05:47 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Sep 27 2025, 05:43 PM)
Technically speaking, EPF doesnt charge management fees. Hence its fee is 0.
They don't charge but sure kena charge by the fund manager. Hence indirectly we pay for it. Sure got fees. That is why fund management exist to take a bite of the AUM. Just don't know how much are the fees EPF paid.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Sep 27 2025, 05:48 PM
MUM
post Sep 27 2025, 06:12 PM

14,855 posts

Look at the performance that suits your risk appetite, risk capabilities and your time & effort spend.
Performance are net of fees.

Wedchar2912
post Sep 27 2025, 08:17 PM

3,589 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Sep 27 2025, 03:22 PM)
1. Epf is fixed price, bonds are not fixed price (unless held to maturity). Interest rates go up, bond prices fell. Interest rates go down, bond prices up. If there is a recession, interest rate will go down a lot. And bond prices should go up much more. Then switch to buy equities cheap. That the theory. If no recession and rates are stable, just enjoy the yield. The risk is inflation spiking up and interest rates going up but I dont expect this in the near term.

2. A mix of all those reasons. Im abt 3 years close to my retirement age target, so Im more defensive. I dont want any big drawdowns till that date esp since markets are so high.. If there is a big drawdown, then I might feel the need to delay my retirement. Dont want that. Better be slow and steady.

Also, yields were very attracfive since last 2-3 year. Bonds allow u to lock the rate. Unlike cash. Now yield are somewhat less attractive, but still not bad.

3. 7% is my estimate for the year, not YTD. It could be higher if there is a recession. Also my bonds are mostly non-MYR. Part of it has currency hedge, but not all. So big FX swings could also change this.

tq for sharing the rationale... I understand better now why you’re holding such a large % in bonds.

When you mentioned "Part of it has currency hedge", do you mean some of the bond funds you hold are already MYR-hedged? Or you do your own hedging separately? If the latter, curious how you go about it.

This has been one of my small frustrations this year: our ringgit strengthening from 4.5x to 4.2x (~6% appreciation) has eaten into the returns of my overseas portfolio when viewed from MYR.
Ramjade
post Sep 27 2025, 08:33 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Sep 27 2025, 08:17 PM)
tq for sharing the rationale... I understand better now why you’re holding such a large % in bonds.

When you mentioned "Part of it has currency hedge", do you mean some of the bond funds you hold are already MYR-hedged? Or you do your own hedging separately? If the latter, curious how you go about it.

This has been one of my small frustrations this year: our ringgit strengthening from 4.5x to 4.2x (~6% appreciation) has eaten into the returns of my overseas portfolio when viewed from MYR.
Take a long term view. I have been changing RM to overseas currency since SGD was around 2.7
Relianne
post Sep 27 2025, 10:44 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Sep 27 2025, 03:22 PM)

Curious if your investment in bonds are through single name bonds given your yield play? Otherwise, difficult to do that with a basket or an actively managed bond fund as the manager would be actively trading. If it is single name, then isn't the entry cost very high? I thought it's a minimum of MYR100k
gamenoob
post Sep 28 2025, 10:51 AM

892 posts

QUOTE(Relianne @ Sep 27 2025, 10:44 PM)
Curious if your investment in bonds are through single name bonds given your yield play? Otherwise, difficult to do that with a basket or an actively managed bond fund as the manager would be actively trading. If it is single name, then isn't the entry cost very high? I thought it's a minimum of MYR100k
Trading platform like fsm have much smaller entry or min purchase value.

100k onward usually are via bank.
guy3288
post Sep 28 2025, 11:21 AM

5,847 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 27 2025, 08:33 PM)
Take a long term view. I have been changing RM to overseas currency since SGD was around 2.7
Pinning hopes on the Taco man is like waiting for the wind to change instead of adjusting your sails......

Cubalagi
post Sep 28 2025, 12:30 PM

4,485 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Sep 27 2025, 08:17 PM)

Sorry bro..the funds itself are currency hedged.

QUOTE(Relianne @ Sep 27 2025, 10:44 PM)
Funds. And its not yield play for me, its total returns. Can look at fsm, got a few fixed income funds doing well this year.

And not just funds, some bond etf also not bad this year. Like this one.

https://www.fsmone.com.my/etfs/tools/etfs-f...e=SGX&stock=A35

The yield is just around 2%. But check its ytd and 1 year returns.
Ramjade
post Sep 28 2025, 01:43 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Sep 28 2025, 11:21 AM)
Pinning hopes on the Taco man is like waiting for the wind to change instead of adjusting your sails......
I don't need tacoman and my investment are not revolved around him. Come low or high interest rate, my investment will be making money. The true all weather portfolio. Can't deny that tacoman is helpful by giving discount every now and then especially during April sell off. Took full advantage of it.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Sep 28 2025, 01:47 PM
Hansel
post Sep 28 2025, 04:38 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Sep 28 2025, 11:21 AM)
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 28 2025, 01:43 PM)
I don't need tacoman and my investment are not revolved around him. Come low or high interest rate, my investment will be making money. The true all weather portfolio. Can't deny that tacoman is helpful by giving discount every now and then especially during April sell off. Took full advantage of it.
I must say thank you to tacoman too…. Filled-up the truck on April 2nd for the next few days this year right after Lib Day…. Now I’m mostly in the green….
Ramjade
post Sep 28 2025, 08:17 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 28 2025, 04:38 PM)
I must say thank you to tacoman too…. Filled-up the truck on April 2nd for the next few days this year right after Lib Day…. Now I’m mostly in the green….
That's why I say buy the dip and got flak for buying the dip. Lol. Market will always give you chance to buy especially US market.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Sep 28 2025, 08:17 PM
Hansel
post Sep 29 2025, 04:19 AM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 28 2025, 08:17 PM)
That's why I say buy the dip and got flak for buying the dip. Lol. Market will always give you chance to buy especially US market.
You are being too sensitive…

163 Pages « < 142 143 144 145 146 > » Top

0.0195sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:43 PM