Spray Paint on metal door frame

TSkennethlkb87
post Oct 3 2021, 11:30 AM, updated 5y ago

28 posts

Hi guys, I have these metal door frames that I want to paint it black. Is it ok to use spray paint (canisters) instead of normal steel paint (using brush)?

I wanted to paint it matte black, hence thinking of using spray can (as I don't have those compressor machine)

The existing paint is new (with minor scratches here & there), and do I need to sand it before painting?

the frame is similar like this (original beige color, intend to paint matte black)

Need sifus advices notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

acbc
post Oct 3 2021, 11:31 AM

9,048 posts

Can. Most importantly, need to sand and use a primer.
TSkennethlkb87
post Oct 3 2021, 11:34 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Oct 3 2021, 11:31 AM)
Can. Most importantly, need to sand and use a primer.
ok thanks, those normal sand paper is fine right?

This post has been edited by kennethlkb87: Oct 3 2021, 11:36 AM
mini orchard
post Oct 3 2021, 03:37 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(kennethlkb87 @ Oct 3 2021, 11:30 AM)
Hi guys, I have these metal door frames that I want to paint it black. Is it ok to use spray paint (canisters) instead of normal steel paint (using brush)?

I wanted to paint it matte black, hence thinking of using spray can (as I don't have those compressor machine)

The existing paint is new (with minor scratches here & there), and do I need to sand it before painting?

the frame is similar like this (original beige color, intend to paint matte black)

Need sifus advices  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Using a paint brush gives a better finishing. Spray painting requires skill, costlier and time consuming.
TSkennethlkb87
post Oct 3 2021, 10:47 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Oct 3 2021, 03:37 PM)
Using a paint brush gives a better finishing. Spray painting requires skill, costlier and time consuming.
I wanted matte result, that's why I'm thinking spray can instead of brush.
wont brush leaves streaks/lines? hmm.gif
SUSceo684
post Oct 4 2021, 02:51 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(kennethlkb87 @ Oct 3 2021, 10:47 PM)
I wanted matte result, that's why I'm thinking spray can instead of brush.
wont brush leaves streaks/lines?  hmm.gif
Brush will have some orange peel but no line and no streak if applied with OCD prepping ie sand down lightly then wipe with dish wash solution, then (for brush) 2 thin coats with light sanding overall and flattening high spots/teardrops in between 1st and 2nd coat.

Same prep for spraying, just that u dont need to sand in between.

Matte need multiple kiamsiap thin coats spray for best result. Too thick, too wet, becomes glossy and teardrop lines form sad.gif

Prep work is key.. 80%, paint application 20% for best result.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Oct 4 2021, 02:52 AM
TSkennethlkb87
post Oct 4 2021, 11:34 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Oct 4 2021, 02:51 AM)
Brush will have some orange peel but no line and no streak if applied with OCD prepping ie sand down lightly then wipe with dish wash solution, then (for brush) 2 thin coats with light sanding overall and flattening high spots/teardrops in between 1st and 2nd coat.

Same prep for spraying, just that u dont need to sand in between.

Matte need multiple kiamsiap thin coats spray for best result. Too thick, too wet, becomes glossy and teardrop lines form sad.gif

Prep work is key.. 80%, paint application 20% for best result.
Ok, thanks for the tips! thumbsup.gif thumbsup.gif notworthy.gif

0.0167sec    0.52    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:01 PM