The elusive 30% Bumi equity is a statistical, charade

MeToo
post Sep 30 2021, 02:10 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(trojandude @ Sep 30 2021, 02:01 PM)
I think the gap between "rich and poor" among Malays is being overblown. If anything, it's the Chinese that is having "rich and poor" gap.

Here's a table. Notice that Chinese is top heavy. Also not that the total income share is proportional to the ratio of ethnicities in Malaysia. Where's the illusion that Chinese control wealth?

Median income among all races. Do you see significant difference between a T20 Malay and a T20 Chinese? No. Same applies M40 and B40. The only reason Malays are SLIGHTLY lower is simply because they're lesser in urban areas.

So why do people keep saying Malays are poor? By median income they're not. By equity ownership they're not. Almost every one of the largest X thing in Malaysia is held by either Government or Trust by Malays. As an example, the largest property developer, SP Setia, is owned by PNB which is for Bumis.

The only thing you could point out is most people in poverty are Bumis. Well no shit, 2/3 of the country are Bumis.
Diam la.. who cares about your data and facts. Who cares that everywhere in the world laws are to protect the minority while only in Malaysia the law protects the majority. Who cares!?

We have the power, hence whatever law we pass its up to us, you take suka you boleh keluar.
trojandude
post Sep 30 2021, 02:11 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(Whatisthiswhat_ @ Sep 30 2021, 02:09 PM)
I want to ask what happens when 30% is reached? do they stop the NEP? Bumi can sell their equity right? what if next year drop to 29%? introduce again? are they going to keep introduce and abolish the policy?They can keep the percentage below 30% and keep the NEP forever?
But it has been reached as noted by multiple studies (see posts above) yet the government lies to you.

And yes, once they get it, they just keep selling it, and ask for more. This is why it's a never ending cycle. That's why it's stupid.

Even if finally the government admits it has reached 30%, next they'll say it should be 60% instead.
keiz_jy
post Sep 30 2021, 02:12 PM

21 posts

government need to stop giving tongkat and make everyone earns for it, it is not rocket science, people will only appreciate if things come from their hardwork.
andyng38
post Sep 30 2021, 02:16 PM

2,400 posts

As I said b4, the writing has been on the wall for a very very long time. And it will stay on the wall.
SUSahter
post Sep 30 2021, 02:20 PM

266 posts

Might as well set 99% Bumi policy bodo
nbi
post Sep 30 2021, 02:24 PM

258 posts

one of the common tactics how uno politicians make millions
Wedchar2912
post Sep 30 2021, 02:24 PM

3,604 posts

QUOTE(keiz_jy @ Sep 30 2021, 02:12 PM)
government need to stop giving tongkat and make everyone earns for it, it is not rocket science, people will only appreciate if things come from their hardwork.
sorry, it is no longer tongkat. This is legally transfer country wealth to a select few
Babyrabies74
post Sep 30 2021, 06:12 PM

QUOTE(MeToo @ Sep 30 2021, 02:10 PM)
Diam la.. who cares about your data and facts. Who cares that everywhere in the world laws are to protect the minority while only in Malaysia the law protects the majority. Who cares!?

We have the power, hence whatever law we pass its up to us, you take suka you boleh keluar.
This! Truth is hard to swallow but it's a fact. As a non, I'm not even mad at his statement. He's right.

This post has been edited by Babyrabies74: Sep 30 2021, 06:13 PM
new in IT
post Sep 30 2021, 06:23 PM

378 posts

Who cares about the world? As long I'm the best in my kampung, then can de. Will be treated as VIP. Syok sendiri.
SUSKakwen
post Sep 30 2021, 06:28 PM

123 posts

TLDR: gomen say not yet achieve. Jangan persoal
Doomsday
post Sep 30 2021, 06:36 PM

keluarpattern dupe slayer
2,491 posts

QUOTE(trojandude @ Sep 30 2021, 01:43 PM)
It has long been exceeded. Oren kito continuously lie to you whether knowing or without knowing it. The truth is they don't want 30%, they want it all. See the 51% case.

Many don't know this but

1) The government measure the percentage using par value, and not market value. As an example, both Berjaya and TNB have par value of RM1.00 per share, but their market value of shares aren't the same. Today, Berjaya is RM0.26 per share but TNB is RM9.75 per share. Tell me - do you still think 1 share of Berjaya is equal to 1 share of TNB? According to the government they're equal, but let's see if anyone would trade 100 shares of Berjaya with 100 shares of TNB.

2) A chunk, I repeat, a big fucking chunk of Malaysian share ownership is held by trust solely for the benefit of Malays. As an example, by far the LARGEST fund management in the country is PNB which is formed solely for the benefit of Bumiputeras as part of NEP. This government conveniently ignores this in their calculation. Can you imagine that some Bumis still dare to say they don't benefit anything? Bruh. Amanah Saham Bumiputera exists and Bumi still say they don't get any benefit of being a Bumi.

Look at this article 13 years ago by a Malay woman professor in UM. Surprisingly according to her studies, NEP achieved 30% back in 1997 DESPITE using PAR VALUE. Imagine if we used market value, can you imagine how much fucking higher Bumi share ownership is?

https://www.malaysiakini.com/news/58885
This is great finding. I surprised to finish reading this article instead
Fork
post Sep 30 2021, 07:00 PM

157 posts

Polisi tuai
ralfvi
post Sep 30 2021, 07:04 PM

109 posts

Lim’s resignation followed after Mirzan Mahathir,
maybe lims found that 90% of bumi shares is perhaps owned by the 1% bumi elitist.
Lancer07
post Sep 30 2021, 07:14 PM

599 posts

Upgrade to wheel chair better
alexkos
post Sep 30 2021, 07:26 PM

2,275 posts

NSP

New songlap policy
Mattrock
post Sep 30 2021, 07:31 PM

394 posts

Bloody liars and thieves. Yes, I am talking to you, and you know who you are.
RGRaj
post Sep 30 2021, 07:32 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Sep 30 2021, 02:02 PM)
this equity % is kind of stupid
The moment I reach 30% , i sell it so it will always be below30%
Then oni govt can milk this dubious policy for another 60 thousand years.
Tingauiskucing
post Sep 30 2021, 07:39 PM

21 posts

/ktards brain: bumi so all must be malay
Shaking my Borneon head
sohailayhun
post Sep 30 2021, 07:43 PM

132 posts

kronie all makan isi

lain2 makan tulang

win
differ
post Sep 30 2021, 09:26 PM

404 posts

Sudah lah, the greedy person won't stop at 30% 51% 67% or even 99% la.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0193sec    1.12    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:57 AM