How's GaoGao Gundam compared to original Bandai's?

TSimin
post Sep 30 2021, 06:20 AM, updated 5y ago

818 posts

Like this one https://s.lazada.com.my/s.Wkphn, how's the build quality compared to the original Bandai's HG Gundam? I have a few of Bandai HG which I bought when I was small, so nowadays I see this cheaper gaogao and thinking of buying it if the quality isn't too far away from the original one..
y500
post Sep 30 2021, 06:36 AM

336 posts

rindu zaman daban
CeDhhVss
post Sep 30 2021, 06:44 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(imin @ Sep 30 2021, 06:20 AM)
Like this one https://s.lazada.com.my/s.Wkphn, how's the build quality compared to the original Bandai's HG Gundam? I have a few of Bandai HG which I bought when I was small, so nowadays I see this cheaper gaogao and thinking of buying it if the quality isn't too far away from the original one..
Pls buy and gip review.

RM 23 if bad at least no rugi

Want quality prepare to pay ratus la
:3mushy:3
post Sep 30 2021, 06:46 AM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

Buying 10 year old bootleg kits that even the original were having issues? Good luck.
kcchong2000
post Sep 30 2021, 07:15 AM

189 posts

Review is ekcelli chyna professionalism can down the drain.

Basically can be said same kilang to produce for bandai. Let said 7am to 7pm this kilang keluar production for bandai. Then they OT after 7pm using same mould but plastic quality is very low Q as they sell cheap.

Bandai, u gunting keluar then gosok sikit with "kertas pasir" then cantik. The OEM punya, prepare for more works. Well quality difference, can't compain on that.
Quantum Geist
post Sep 30 2021, 07:41 AM

109 posts

HG shouldn't be too hard for copies to get decent quality. MG, RG & PG got a few companies that can do it as good or better than bandai, but I haven't been buying gunpla in a long time so don't remember the names.
TheEvilMan
post Sep 30 2021, 07:44 AM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
675 posts

Long long time ago 3rd party and bootleg sux
Todei i think ok quality i recently build gatal robo, quality ok wo
Surprisingly price 1/2 from bandai but have everything undergated

This post has been edited by TheEvilMan: Sep 30 2021, 07:50 AM

kmmsa
post Sep 30 2021, 07:51 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(kcchong2000 @ Sep 30 2021, 07:15 AM)

Basically can be said same kilang to produce for bandai. Let said 7am to 7pm this kilang keluar production for bandai. Then they OT after 7pm using same mould but plastic quality is very low Q as they sell cheap.

Bandai, u gunting keluar then gosok sikit with "kertas pasir" then cantik. The OEM punya, prepare for more works. Well quality difference, can't compain on that.
Bandai made in Japan

Bootleg made in China

There’s no OT and not same kilang
kcchong2000
post Sep 30 2021, 07:52 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(kmmsa @ Sep 30 2021, 07:51 AM)
Bandai made in Japan

Bootleg made in China

There’s no OT and not same kilang
Lel. They got outsource lar kawan. How they cope the production. Duh

Tell that to apple. Made In California rite? Like sunkist?
TheEvilMan
post Sep 30 2021, 07:53 AM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
675 posts

QUOTE(kcchong2000 @ Sep 30 2021, 07:52 AM)

Bandai plastic model actually solely made in japenis, the only thing left for japenis to feel proud of
kcchong2000
post Sep 30 2021, 07:54 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Sep 30 2021, 07:53 AM)
Bandai plastic model actually solely made in japenis, the only thing left for japenis to feel proud of
Sure? Not a fans on Plastic model.
y500
post Sep 30 2021, 08:04 AM

336 posts

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Sep 30 2021, 07:44 AM)

h4r8_kIlLeR
post Sep 30 2021, 08:13 AM

89 posts

dulu while i was visiting my grandma at kampung... i go to pekan ( its like a designated place with old timey shoplot houses ). i saw this mainan box with random toys inside ( you know la... like jojo, tora... sometimes no brand but got ultraman picture )... this one had a picture of gundam robots and it was the only one left on the shelf of its kind. i straight away bought one out curiosity.

went home open box... it was a fake toy zaku 2! sure the colour is off... but i loved it.
code10
post Sep 30 2021, 09:02 AM

145 posts

Built quality of GG not as good as Bandai for sure.

GG punya plastik got quality issue. I suspek the plastic will disintegrate like supermarket plastic bag after a year or two. So, buy GG at your own risk.
SUSAngelic Layer
post Sep 30 2021, 09:12 AM

91 posts

They don't have original mould, remould using market kits will be much more inferior.
If buying for kids is another story, just asking how much you want to spend or you care about the result.
styrwr91
post Sep 30 2021, 09:19 AM

~ON THE WAY~
696 posts

all the HG, MG, PG series are made in Japan. Only some series have some parts made in China, like the Hi-Res series have their inner frame made in China but the plastic part is still made in Japan
Baconateer
post Sep 30 2021, 09:22 AM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

this better..

pre-built..metal frame model..
UnknownMy
post Sep 30 2021, 09:29 AM

296 posts

Quality possibly decent only, because Bandai still haven't take them down.
Last time, Dragon Momoko almost match to beat Bandai in term of quality, then get taken down by China authority after kena lipoted by Bandai.

IINM, they rebrand into MJH

This post has been edited by UnknownMy: Sep 30 2021, 09:31 AM
TheEvilMan
post Sep 30 2021, 09:31 AM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
675 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Sep 30 2021, 09:22 AM)

this better..

I prefer supa robo

TSimin
post Sep 30 2021, 11:49 AM

818 posts

QUOTE(y500 @ Sep 30 2021, 06:36 AM)
rindu zaman daban
from my readings, daban is under gaogao

QUOTE(CeDhhVss @ Sep 30 2021, 06:44 AM)
Pls buy and gip review.

RM 23 if bad at least no rugi

Want quality prepare to pay ratus la
if half price but quality also only 50% from the original then rugi la. if half price but quality 80% baru lah ok

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ Sep 30 2021, 06:46 AM)
Buying 10 year old bootleg kits that even the original were having issues? Good luck.
what do you meant by even the original have issues?
CeDhhVss
post Sep 30 2021, 11:52 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(imin @ Sep 30 2021, 11:49 AM)
from my readings, daban is under gaogao
if half price but quality also only 50% from the original then rugi la. if half price but quality 80% baru lah ok
what do you meant by even the original have issues?
Rugi for you, but if price 50% quality 80%, the company rugi liao lol
TSimin
post Sep 30 2021, 11:55 AM

818 posts

wah this one how much?

QUOTE(Angelic Layer @ Sep 30 2021, 09:12 AM)
They don't have original mould, remould using market kits will be much more inferior.
If buying for kids is another story, just asking how much you want to spend or you care about the result.
Can't the China bootleg factory just create their own mould? shouldn't be too hard for them no? Honest question, since I have no idea about all this mould

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Sep 30 2021, 09:22 AM)

this better..

wah must be expensive, only for T20s
TSimin
post Sep 30 2021, 11:58 AM

818 posts

QUOTE(UnknownMy @ Sep 30 2021, 09:29 AM)
Last time, Dragon Momoko almost match to beat Bandai in term of quality, then get taken down by China authority after kena lipoted by Bandai.

I just searched in shopee and lazada, apparently there's still a lot of Dragon Momoko being sold there, but the price is similar to Bandai's original... wth... no point buying these dragon momoko la then
Baconateer
post Sep 30 2021, 12:00 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

QUOTE(imin @ Sep 30 2021, 11:55 AM)
actually no..

less thn 600
TSimin
post Sep 30 2021, 12:11 PM

818 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Sep 30 2021, 12:00 PM)
actually no..

less thn 600
600 for a toy is only for T20... us normal pipit can only spend less than rm50 for toys
fertzm
post Sep 30 2021, 12:13 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(UnknownMy @ Sep 30 2021, 09:29 AM)

really? ppl said dm is good, i never build dm before but ive build few of recent mjh kits.. can say i not really happy to build it but certainly looks good compared to bandai's
SUSAngelic Layer
post Sep 30 2021, 12:17 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(imin @ Sep 30 2021, 11:55 AM)
wah this one how much?
Can't the China bootleg factory just create their own mould? shouldn't be too hard for them no? Honest question, since I have no idea about all this mould
Not possible, they don't have the original model.
You don't understand, the modellers made one from metal then make the mould, this one they copied from plastic kits, and the moulds do deteriorate over time, so the first edition is always the best.
Back when I was a child also can afford, since it take a few months to assemble, very hard to imagine people nowadays cannot afford, people who can't afford back then goes for SD.
Must be the living standard or currency in Malaysia.
TheEvilMan
post Sep 30 2021, 12:17 PM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
675 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Sep 30 2021, 12:00 PM)
actually no..

less thn 600
btw how come i see this figure release last month in China but Msia still not receiving any stock sad.gif
TheEvilMan
post Sep 30 2021, 12:19 PM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
675 posts

QUOTE(Angelic Layer @ Sep 30 2021, 12:17 PM)
Not possible, they don't have the original model.
You don't understand, the modellers made one from metal then make the mould, this one they copied from plastic kits, and the moulds do deteriorate over time, so the first edition is always the best.
Back when I was a child also can afford, since it take a few months to assemble, very hard to imagine people nowadays cannot afford, people who can't afford back then goes for SD.
Must be the living standard or currency in Malaysia.
currency + hike of price, Japenis like to gradually increase pricing when they see the product fetching good money, look at figma, nendoroid, shfiguart, last time merely 75-100 now 300 easily cry.gif
SUSAngelic Layer
post Sep 30 2021, 12:23 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Sep 30 2021, 12:19 PM)
currency + hike of price, Japenis like to gradually increase pricing when they see the product fetching good money, look at figma, nendoroid, shfiguart, last time merely 75-100 now 300 easily  cry.gif
It is still okay since you take a few weeks or even months to assemble.
If you cannot afford that, how are you going to afford the tools, paint etc?
Baconateer
post Sep 30 2021, 12:25 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Sep 30 2021, 12:17 PM)
btw how come i see this figure release last month in China but Msia still not receiving any stock sad.gif
too popular.. i guess..
harriss
post Sep 30 2021, 12:25 PM

383 posts

Dragon momoko > other bootleg

ayam got one
zemega
post Sep 30 2021, 12:30 PM

723 posts

Some of the Chinese 'bootleg' makes their own mold actually. Even make brand new design that Bandai don't make toys of. Those particular ones are good quality.

And like most said. Bandai gunpla solely produced in Japan.
TSimin
post Sep 30 2021, 12:30 PM

818 posts

QUOTE(harriss @ Sep 30 2021, 12:25 PM)
Dragon momoko > other bootleg

ayam got one
how much you bought it?
TSimin
post Sep 30 2021, 12:31 PM

818 posts

QUOTE(zemega @ Sep 30 2021, 12:30 PM)
Some of the Chinese 'bootleg' makes their own mold actually. Even make brand new design that Bandai don't make toys of. Those particular ones are good quality.

can give link to buy these kind of bootleg?
TheEvilMan
post Sep 30 2021, 12:33 PM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
675 posts

QUOTE(zemega @ Sep 30 2021, 12:30 PM)

Some japenis plamo like moderoid has worse quality than 3rd party, also China diecats figure is way better than Japenis these days
Satori 14118a
post Sep 30 2021, 12:53 PM

1,006 posts

i enjoy the process of building the kit.

if that alone takes too much effort to correct the fit/look then no point lah.
zemega
post Sep 30 2021, 12:59 PM

723 posts

QUOTE(imin @ Sep 30 2021, 12:31 PM)
can give link to buy these kind of bootleg?
I don't remember though.
harriss
post Sep 30 2021, 01:38 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(imin @ Sep 30 2021, 12:30 PM)
how much you bought it?
around Rm100+- . from taobao few years back

nazrul90
post Nov 9 2021, 07:50 PM

302 posts

Don't waste your money on GaoGao. Shit quality.
Go for Daban, Dragon Momoko and Supernova.

Back then I spend Rm90 for 3 HG TThongli(before changed name to GaoGao). The quality make me cry.
TSimin
post Nov 9 2021, 09:24 PM

818 posts

QUOTE(nazrul90 @ Nov 9 2021, 07:50 PM)
Don't waste your money on GaoGao. Shit quality.
Go for Daban, Dragon Momoko and Supernova.

Back then I spend Rm90 for 3 HG TThongli(before changed name to GaoGao). The quality make me cry.
oh i see. thanks for your input. anyway it seems Dragon Momoko is pretty pricey... almost like Bandai price right?
nazrul90
post Nov 9 2021, 09:30 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(imin @ Nov 9 2021, 09:24 PM)
oh i see. thanks for your input. anyway it seems Dragon Momoko is pretty pricey... almost like Bandai price right?
Dragon Momoko is discontinued because the company get raid and sued. Price is triple or doubled already..

Better go for MJH, Daban, Supernova
StrikeQUAN
post Nov 10 2021, 12:45 AM

108 posts

I remember last time Dragon Momoko kicking BANDAI ass until they sue it .
Kage X
post Nov 10 2021, 01:01 AM

20 posts

So glad I got the Dragon Momoko Sword Strike, Launcher Strike, Strike Noir, Skygrasper and my favorite Destiny when they first came out. Their prices today will make me cry

This post has been edited by Kage X: Nov 10 2021, 01:33 AM
shirohamada
post Nov 10 2021, 01:14 AM

944 posts

QUOTE(kcchong2000 @ Sep 30 2021, 07:15 AM)

made in japan by bandai themselves.

This post has been edited by shirohamada: Nov 10 2021, 01:18 AM
nazrul90
post Nov 10 2021, 01:24 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(shirohamada @ Nov 10 2021, 01:14 AM)
made in japan by bandai themselves.

Outdated. Now they outsourcing to China factory for some kits but have strict Bandai Hobby Center quality.
mars2003
post Nov 10 2021, 01:26 AM

123 posts

bootleg quality forever not good.
and dont ever believe those idiots says it comes from the same factory. its just lies for them to sell u their bootleg product.
when a Chinese manufacturer secure contract from major worldwide brand. they dont OT n bootleg. Will be void of contract and lose their business. dont ever listens to s2pid . no factory willing to risk forfeit the business and get in trouble with law. because there is an contract.
zuozi
post Nov 10 2021, 01:36 AM

1,267 posts

QUOTE(imin @ Sep 30 2021, 06:20 AM)
I only have bandai rg series more details and color separation to be specific 10 only 2 done the rest put there for over 4 year not yet started just sanding doing some basic line without sticker take me 2 days after that's I'm so lazy

Well is a hobby depends how serious you want to go for it

When you alone window shopping if you like grab it and keep it, no one will blame you for not starting to build, after build you need find a place for them, as long don't let your kid saw it

Just lucky I have no kids,

Keep it for collection is okay no worry

This post has been edited by zuozi: Nov 10 2021, 01:41 AM
AircondSejuk
post Nov 10 2021, 02:40 AM

It's great if u repaint
Sunknight
post Nov 10 2021, 09:37 AM

13 posts

GaoGao HG is pretty bad. I remember buying GG Stargazer, some parts can't fit properly or not aligned right. Need to do some trimming.
loritanah
post Nov 10 2021, 09:46 AM

162 posts

good old days where parkson sell bandai cheap model 1/444
post Nov 10 2021, 09:50 AM

1,447 posts

I dont support pirates brand. If it is model kits with their own design I am ok, but if it is plain stealing other mold and recasting it, then i wont support.

Company put lots of effort in it, lots of ppl work hard to design it, and when they put it in the market they should be paid what they ask for, just for their hard work and the families behind it.

A pirated kit paid no respect to all the above, they may even put those ppl working on it out of business and affect their family. So when u buy pirated stuff u are also contributing in affecting those ppl life.
Phoenix_KL
post Nov 12 2021, 07:37 AM

156 posts

soft opening gumdam base Thailand

This post has been edited by Phoenix_KL: Nov 12 2021, 07:48 AM
SUS~min~
post Nov 12 2021, 07:43 AM

SUN AND SUMMER!!
1,045 posts

Just buy those bootleg if you plan to mod kaw2. Fix the problem and paint it yourself

If real 1, very sayang to mod
Savor_Savvy
post Jul 31 2022, 09:07 PM

2,776 posts

Cheap price me like, but problems/issues me no like. So till now haven't explore the bootleg market.
LegendLee
post Jul 31 2022, 09:12 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

I won't even bother with crappy bootleg china kits.
Not worth the effort and time to build one.

That's not to say there aren't any good kits from China.
The Zero Gravity Judge model was pretty good.
nazrul90
post Jul 31 2022, 09:14 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Jul 31 2022, 09:07 PM)
Cheap price me like, but problems/issues me no like. So till now haven't explore the bootleg market.
Bootleg increase quality unlike decade back. The Daban one is the best 90% quality of original with minor flash on the plastic and slightly tighter connector...
SUSCurrent Events guy
post Jul 31 2022, 09:29 PM

966 posts

Why not just buy ori?

If its expensive, maybe its not for you.
No need to buy, not even necessary for sustenance
UnknownMy
post Jul 31 2022, 09:47 PM

296 posts

Why necro old tered? laugh.gif

ohwai, I just do it...
patienceGNR
post Jul 31 2022, 10:03 PM

♥ Ride All Day ♥
2,058 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Jul 31 2022, 09:07 PM)
Why you bump old thread? Dimwit.
Exiled_Gundam
post Jul 31 2022, 10:21 PM

550 posts

For model kits that did not have prepainted parts, they were manufactured in Japan with their almost fully automated factories, which is cheaper than manufacturing them in China. But if the product require prepainted parts (like action figures) it will be outsourced (mostly to China)

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Sep 30 2021, 12:33 PM)
Some japenis plamo like moderoid has worse quality than 3rd party, also China diecats figure is way better than Japenis these days
Moderoid made in china iinm. Even bandai diecast made in china too due to prepainted parts

This post has been edited by Exiled_Gundam: Jul 31 2022, 10:21 PM

0.0289sec    0.83    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 07:41 AM