Wood Works Machines for home DIY use!

TSmactreouser
post Sep 27 2021, 04:51 PM, updated 3y ago

2,451 posts

Hi
I'm a beginner of wood Works fans. I would like to get some basic machines for wood works. Any recommendations (machines and brands, shops)?

What I know is, to have at least:
Drill Machine
Circular Saw Machine
Grinder
Electric Jig Saw Machine

Your advices are appreciated! 😊
liyanakahar
post Sep 27 2021, 04:55 PM

194 posts

bosch
milwaukee
TSmactreouser
post Sep 27 2021, 04:58 PM

2,451 posts

QUOTE(liyanakahar @ Sep 27 2021, 04:55 PM)
bosch
milwaukee
But expensive leh 😅
Created On 21/1/2021
post Sep 27 2021, 05:09 PM

1,181 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Sep 27 2021, 04:58 PM)
But expensive leh 😅
Wood working is an expensive hobby to begin with, and you don't to mess around cheap machinery.
Christopher_LKL
post Sep 27 2021, 05:16 PM

Kairi Kawaii ^^
1,398 posts

bosch makita dewalt milwaukee hikoki
wireless > wired
18v(20v) > 10.8v(12v)

pick 1, stick with it because battery system
chuan1961
post Sep 27 2021, 05:53 PM

312 posts

Bosch has good choice.. and u can get some good offers by going online - lazada or shopee.
Always Safety First. get gloves, eye protection.
yushin
post Sep 27 2021, 05:57 PM

3,311 posts

Table saw, band saw, miter saw... devil.gif
eidrag
post Sep 27 2021, 06:25 PM

190 posts

if you into wood making, at least get quality hand tools.
https://youtube.com/c/RexKrueger
ihavenoidea
post Sep 27 2021, 06:43 PM

1,274 posts

Router and sander, you can skip grinder and circular saw, a jigsaw and a manual saw is fine for cutting wood
acbc
post Sep 27 2021, 06:49 PM

8,475 posts

I have the following at home.

Miter saw
Jigsaw
Grinder
Drill
Hammer drill
Stud scanner
Inclinometer
Dual floor laser

ah_suknat
post Sep 27 2021, 06:55 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

Dong cheng china brand, its good quality among china brand.

ceo684
post Sep 27 2021, 06:55 PM

Component Burner
11,545 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Sep 27 2021, 04:51 PM)
Hi
I'm a beginner of wood Works fans. I would like to get some basic machines for wood works. Any recommendations (machines and brands, shops)?

Drill Machine
Circular Saw Machine
Grinder
Electric Jig Saw Machine

Bosch/Makita blue.

Drill driver (cordless like GSB180Li) maybe more useful. Its a great screwdriver, this is where corded drill sux (too high power). Or china tool only about 100 but questionable battery support.
This drill driver got made in japan makita in red, pink, purple, white on amazon JP tongue.gif

Circular saw get the 184mm 7 1/4" blade type. Easy to buy blade and cheap coz common size. The 6" cute blade one very limiting in terms of the cutting max depth, blades expensive. I use bosch GKS7000 with fine 80T blade to cut ikea countertop and other 2x4 wood..now macam got new model.

Grinder BOSCH GWS060. At the price of just RM100 its the one to get. Cutting discs got expiry date. Dont buy too many at once. You don't need a grinder for wood..but it is nice to have to cut metal (hacksaw also can but it hurts the ears)

Jigsaw.. is not really necessary if u have circ saw, unless u do curve cuts.. get the one which use bosch style T blades. The makita one with two puncher holes in the blade is uncommon, harder to find blades. Bosch Txxx blade everywhere can buy. I have abused a no name 79 bucks Osji jigsaw to continuosly cut many 4x8 ft plywood into 200 over pieces of A4 sized boards.. cheap machine did not die. Buy good blade like Bosch.

You forgot a sander machine smile.gif

Why i usually go Bosch, Got MY factory and generally its cheaper vs makita. Many dealer so easy to buy solo tools.

Overall, if you need to budget:
Cheap machine not a problem.
But cheap blades suck. Get branded blades.

You can buy online but make sure the source is from authorised dealer hardware shop. A little legwork needed, just check against bosch or makita list of dealers on their website against the online seller.

For bosch stuff, i have had good exp from these dealers online
Eehiong JB
Geolaser
Sun wintra
Corated
Intech machinery
CSM hardware (offline, open on Sun)

Spareparts geolaser, colsonmach

This post has been edited by ceo684: Sep 27 2021, 07:23 PM
ycs
post Sep 27 2021, 06:56 PM

3,956 posts

get a router , electric nail gun,
ceo684
post Sep 27 2021, 07:06 PM

Component Burner
11,545 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Sep 27 2021, 06:56 PM)
Router leh..need to ensure collet size exact fit with the bits.
I ended up buying 6mm collet spare part becoz my makita mini came with 6.35 (1/4) collet and didnt fit my 6mm Lavie router bits tongue.gif

Lavie bits pretty affordable.
TSmactreouser
post Oct 2 2021, 10:40 PM

2,451 posts

QUOTE(ihavenoidea @ Sep 27 2021, 06:43 PM)
Router and sander, you can skip grinder and circular saw, a jigsaw and a manual saw is fine for cutting wood
Which affordable Router you recommend?
Sander wasn't Planner, right?
Oh? So you sawing with Hand Saw?

QUOTE(acbc @ Sep 27 2021, 06:49 PM)
I have the following at home.

Miter saw
Jigsaw
Grinder
Drill
Hammer drill
Stud scanner
Inclinometer
Dual floor laser
Wow... Bro, pro enough loh... Those for business purposes is it?
For my case, what should I add to the list first?

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Sep 27 2021, 06:55 PM)
Dong cheng china brand, its good quality among china brand.
Heard about Dong Cheng with quite good reviews! So, which shop you get from?

QUOTE(ycs @ Sep 27 2021, 06:56 PM)
Which Router you recommend?
Some said Electric Nail Gun tak tahan, true?
TSmactreouser
post Oct 2 2021, 10:44 PM

2,451 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Sep 27 2021, 06:55 PM)
Bosch/Makita blue.

Drill driver (cordless like GSB180Li) maybe more useful. Its a great screwdriver, this is where corded drill sux (too high power). Or china tool only about 100 but questionable battery support.
This drill driver got made in japan makita in red, pink, purple, white on amazon JP tongue.gif

Circular saw get the 184mm 7 1/4" blade type. Easy to buy blade and cheap coz common size. The 6" cute blade one very limiting in terms of the cutting max depth, blades expensive. I use bosch GKS7000 with fine 80T blade to cut ikea countertop and other 2x4 wood..now macam got new model.

Grinder BOSCH GWS060. At the price of just RM100 its the one to get. Cutting discs got expiry date. Dont buy too many at once. You don't need a grinder for wood..but it is nice to have to cut metal (hacksaw also can but it hurts the ears)

Jigsaw.. is not really necessary if u have circ saw, unless u do curve cuts.. get the one which use bosch style T blades. The makita one with two puncher holes in the blade is uncommon, harder to find blades. Bosch Txxx blade everywhere can buy. I have abused a no name 79 bucks Osji jigsaw to continuosly cut many 4x8 ft plywood into 200 over pieces of A4 sized boards.. cheap machine did not die. Buy good blade like Bosch.

You forgot a sander machine smile.gif

Why i usually go Bosch, Got MY factory and generally its cheaper vs makita. Many dealer so easy to buy solo tools.

Overall, if you need to budget:
Cheap machine not a problem.
But cheap blades suck. Get branded blades.

You can buy online but make sure the source is from authorised dealer hardware shop. A little legwork needed, just check against bosch or makita list of dealers on their website against the online seller.

For bosch stuff, i have had good exp from these dealers online
Eehiong JB
Geolaser
Sun wintra
Corated
Intech machinery
CSM hardware (offline, open on Sun)

Spareparts geolaser, colsonmach
Wow... Wow... Wow... Superb reviews and info,. Bro! Many thanks la! I shall look into each machine! I'm surprised to Bosch with such reasonable price!
ceo684
post Oct 4 2021, 02:36 AM

Component Burner
11,545 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Oct 2 2021, 10:44 PM)
Wow... Wow... Wow... Superb reviews and info,. Bro! Many thanks la! I shall look into each machine! I'm surprised to Bosch with such reasonable price!
Sis here bruce.gif most welcome. I just share based on experience on the ones I have used/owned before. Used to sell and commission inverters and sensors, also did some odd projects here and there. For your use case don't need to buy whole hardware store of tools at once..get the core ones like drill driver + circ saw to start off with..you can expand ur collection as the need arises.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Oct 4 2021, 02:39 AM
TSmactreouser
post Oct 5 2021, 06:40 PM

2,451 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Oct 4 2021, 02:36 AM)
Sis here bruce.gif most welcome. I just share based on experience on the ones I have used/owned before. Used to sell and commission inverters and sensors, also did some odd projects here and there. For your use case don't need to buy whole hardware store of tools at once..get the core ones like drill driver + circ saw to start off with..you can expand ur collection as the need arises.
Alamak! Sis?! Cool la... Sorry bout that 😂
Thanks, very good advice 👍🏻
So, as your experience, Bosch is the only right choice to go in terms of $ wise and quality + support?
ceo684
post Oct 7 2021, 12:45 AM

Component Burner
11,545 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Oct 5 2021, 06:40 PM)
Alamak! Sis?! Cool la... Sorry bout that 😂
Thanks, very good advice 👍🏻
So, as your experience, Bosch is the only right choice to go in terms of $ wise and quality + support?
No probs smile.gif It is relatively cheaper compared to equivalent Makita for most things..like
Rotohammer.. solo tool 400 bucks cordless. Makita one starts from 600 plus.

Rotohammer corded..Hikoki, Bosch can get corded one about 440 for the 2-24. Now got cheaper 300 bucks one for 2-20 grade from Bosch and Makita for home use..it won't see the amount of use we push thru on jobsite but it will be great as home use won't need to punch bigger than 10mm for hanging cabinets or TVs.

Impact wrench..400 gets you a Bosch 400Nm vs a Makita 190Nm solo 18V cordless one

We do commercial/industrial installation so time is money, can't be waiting for rotohammer to cool down kinda thing with the cheapest tool. There's top tier stuff from Hilti, Fein etc but price also gila lah. Itu another level.

Also depends on your projects and whether you use often. For one off things like jigsaw as I mentioned a cheapo one also will not die (don't cut much wood back then to justify expensive saw for single project).

For me the premium paid in Bosch Heavy Duty range (*exclude those plastic chuck GSB) and the likes of Makita LXT, Hikoki basically for reliability and improvements like vibration dampening. IMO the tools have earned back their cost easily.

In MY pretty much Bosch is the more reasonable priced option. Hikoki and Makita can be considered if price not wildly different. However if there are alternatives you can consider them..not necessarily just because we use mostly Bosch must follow lol..for the most part ori and compatible spares are easily available especially common part.

some have good exp with more branded china tools like DCA/Dongcheng, Lomvum, Worx multitool. But the very elcheapo china no name one like 40 bucks drill driver full set confirm weak and kinda useless even as screwdriver. the 100 bucks range can use lah, 25Nm spec is something like a GSB120 or slow 1st speed of GSB180. Milwaukee Dewalt mostly US hyped, they have cheapo series and better series...COO also china but price like US tool.

If the extra $ premium is just few bucks diff (few tens) go for Bosch, like the basic angle grinders. If big diff then need to consider lah.

For cordless bosch battery tech (procore 18V) is pretty good for its price..u can compare against makita battery price really scary laugh.gif

ar188
post Dec 2 2022, 09:19 PM

9,188 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Sep 27 2021, 04:51 PM)
Hi

Drill Machine
Circular Saw Machine
Grinder
Electric Jig Saw Machine

firstly.. need to identify the scope of wood work you wanna make?

making a cutting board vs making a mid century lounge chair will be two different setups in the shop.

0.0191sec    0.54    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 12:08 AM