What Would Be Your Choice?, 690k FH vs 790k LH

TSXweienX
post Sep 26 2021, 09:57 PM, updated 5y ago

455 posts

Hi everyone, just having some trouble making a decision so would like to hear what sifus think and why?
Assuming I can afford monthly payment for both and have 110k cash.
*I don't know if this information changes anything, but I stay in KK right now.

690k Freehold
24 x 75

Pros
- more mature township (Kota Kemuning)
- closer to KK exit
- ceiling is new, no need extend
- cheaper monthly at ~2.4k

Cons
- older house (~10 years) older design
- need downpayment (69k)
- everything else plan to change
- left 41k for reno

845k Leasehold
28 x 65

Pros
- HOC
- newer township (Rimbayu)
- newer design
- 10% downpayment rebated
- 100k can budget to pay off loan or reno

Cons
- very far inside
- extra jam distance if take kesas to work
- uncertainties since not built yet
- 5ft at the back need to extend
- expensive monthly at ~3k if not offset using the budget

would like to know if any other pros and cons that I need to consider? and which would you choose and why?

This post has been edited by XweienX: Sep 26 2021, 09:58 PM
apalexar
post Sep 27 2021, 02:03 AM

apalexar
1,383 posts

For subsale, did you forget about the legal fees and MOT? It could cost you at least 20k based on the house price, also monthly 2.4k just because now the OPR low, I remember my original rate was 4.45% 3 years ago and now it drops to 2.95%, imagine that when it rise back later..
mini orchard
post Sep 27 2021, 06:39 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(XweienX @ Sep 26 2021, 09:57 PM)
Hi everyone, just having some trouble making a decision so would like to hear what sifus think and why?
Assuming I can afford monthly payment for both and have 110k cash.
*I don't know if this information changes anything, but I stay in KK right now.

690k Freehold
24 x 75

Pros
- more mature township (Kota Kemuning)
- closer to KK exit
- ceiling is new, no need extend
- cheaper monthly at ~2.4k

Cons
- older house (~10 years) older design
- need downpayment (69k)
- everything else plan to change
- left 41k for reno
845k Leasehold
28 x 65

Pros
- HOC
- newer township (Rimbayu)
- newer design
- 10% downpayment rebated
- 100k can budget to pay off loan or reno

Cons
- very far inside
- extra jam distance if take kesas to work
- uncertainties since not built yet
- 5ft at the back need to extend
- expensive monthly at ~3k if not offset using the budget

would like to know if any other pros and cons that I need to consider? and which would you choose and why?
KK ...

1. In terms of built area, I believed is bigger.
2. Matured township.
3. Good amenities.
4. Lower interest on higher amount compared to progressive.
5. Start instalment early....2 years ahead.
6. Individual title (Rimbayu ?) .... no monthly maintenance fee.
7. Freehold .... less hassle to buy and sell .... no waiting period.
8. WHAT YOU SEE (BUY) IS WHAT YOU GET

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Sep 27 2021, 06:42 AM
TSXweienX
post Sep 27 2021, 10:34 AM

455 posts

QUOTE(apalexar @ Sep 27 2021, 02:03 AM)
For subsale, did you forget about the legal fees and MOT? It could cost you at least 20k based on the house price, also monthly 2.4k just because now the OPR low, I remember my original rate was 4.45% 3 years ago and now it drops to 2.95%, imagine that when it rise back later..
Yes! Last night I actually just realized that in the middle of the night and proceeded to do calculation this morning. Turns out I will be left with nothing for renovation, so I guess that's the tie-breaker already. Thanks! sad.gif

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Sep 27 2021, 06:39 AM)
KK ...

1. In terms of built area, I believed is bigger.
2. Matured township.
3. Good amenities.
4. Lower interest on higher amount compared to progressive.
5. Start instalment early....2 years ahead.
6. Individual title (Rimbayu ?) .... no monthly maintenance fee.
7. Freehold .... less hassle to buy and sell .... no waiting period.
8. WHAT YOU SEE (BUY) IS WHAT YOU GET
Yup, so many pros, but sadly I forgot to include legal fees and MOT into my calculation and turns out my cash on hand is definitely not enough cry.gif
mini orchard
post Sep 27 2021, 10:57 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(XweienX @ Sep 27 2021, 10:34 AM)
Yes! Last night I actually just realized that in the middle of the night and proceeded to do calculation this morning. Turns out I will be left with nothing for renovation, so I guess that's the tie-breaker already. Thanks!  sad.gif
Yup, so many pros, but sadly I forgot to include legal fees and MOT into my calculation and turns out my cash on hand is definitely not enough  cry.gif
If you can take a 50k personal loan to cover the necessary reno, I think is better than paying more for the rimbayu house .... house price and extra buying cost.
apalexar
post Sep 27 2021, 11:11 AM

apalexar
1,383 posts

QUOTE(XweienX @ Sep 27 2021, 10:34 AM)
Yes! Last night I actually just realized that in the middle of the night and proceeded to do calculation this morning. Turns out I will be left with nothing for renovation, so I guess that's the tie-breaker already. Thanks!  sad.gif
Yup, so many pros, but sadly I forgot to include legal fees and MOT into my calculation and turns out my cash on hand is definitely not enough  cry.gif
If you go for new unit, try look for those projects with HOC or developer bear the legal and MOT costs, furthermore before VP you will have few years to save more cash for renovation/furnitures.

If go for subsales, either you save for longer time so can have more cash or else need to look for smaller size and cheaper unit.
TSXweienX
post Sep 27 2021, 12:27 PM

455 posts

Appreciate the insights! Turns out someone else already written cheque for the subsale so maybe it's meant to be after all haha

0.0164sec    0.39    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:40 AM