[WTA] KV area drilling service, Drill 2.5mm wide hole aluminium

TSmichaelkhai
post Sep 25 2021, 08:46 PM, updated 3y ago

44 posts

Hi sifu,

Sorry....DIY noob here....

Am wondering any workshop in KV area provide hole-drilling service using a drill press?

Need to drill a 2.5mm diameter hole into a aluminium CPU heatsink for tapping and later mounting onto a laptop CPU.

Tried practice drilling using a cordless drill, carbide tip into a 10mm thick aluminium plate, find it quite difficult to drill into the plate and keep the drill in a perfect vertical hole.

KrankZ
post Sep 26 2021, 08:13 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(michaelkhai @ Sep 25 2021, 09:46 PM)
Hi sifu,

Am wondering any workshop in KV area provide hole-drilling service using a drill press?

Need to drill a 2.5mm diameter hole into a aluminium CPU heatsink for tapping and later mounting onto a laptop CPU.

Tried practice drilling using a cordless drill, carbide tip into a 10mm thick aluminium plate, find it quite difficult to drill into the plate and keep the drill in a perfect vertical hole.
put some oil slow drill
mADmAN
post Sep 28 2021, 04:48 PM

10,515 posts

QUOTE(michaelkhai @ Sep 25 2021, 08:46 PM)
Hi sifu,

u could try going to any car or bike workshop that has a drill press and ask them to help... can bring ur tip as well... one place i can recommend is under6ix Exhaust in sunway.... they tend to do some funky stuff sometimes.. even did the GT Wing mounts for my previous car... helped my friend weld his bike's footrest n a few others. all for a very small fee of course.

another option is u can get THIS if u plan on drilling straight down multiple times.
TSmichaelkhai
post Sep 29 2021, 01:57 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(KrankZ @ Sep 26 2021, 08:13 AM)
put some oil slow drill
tried slow drilling with oil....without a drill press kinda hard to keep the hole straight even punched with center punch
TSmichaelkhai
post Sep 29 2021, 01:57 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Sep 28 2021, 04:48 PM)
u could try going to any car or bike workshop that has a drill press and ask them to help... can bring ur tip as well... one place i can recommend is under6ix Exhaust in sunway.... they tend to do some funky stuff sometimes.. even did the GT Wing mounts for my previous car... helped my friend weld his bike's footrest n a few others. all for a very small fee of course.

another option is u can get THIS if u plan on drilling straight down multiple times.
good idea...will try asking the bike shops near my places

0.0127sec    0.16    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 02:29 AM