Right into degree after SPM , will u take it ?

TSpoliang95
post Sep 24 2021, 09:26 AM, updated 5y ago

15 posts

Lets say If you had special chances to take degree right after your SPM , would you take it ? Will it be so difficult that I can't understand a thing in the class ? Just a average student , not a straight A student. And the course i talking about is IT / Computer science
_Zephyre_
post Sep 24 2021, 09:30 AM

Serial Lurker
331 posts

I'd say pre-university courses (regardless of whether it's STPM/A-Levels/Foundation/etc.) exist for a reason - they'll help you transition better into university life rather than diving straight into the deep end with a degree. I don't think our secondary education syllabus sufficiently prepares students for degrees - and I've never heard of an institution that accepts students into degree programmes without any pre-U qualifications.
callmecool
post Sep 24 2021, 09:38 AM

256 posts

universities allow that? without pre U?
wjchay
post Sep 24 2021, 09:46 AM

645 posts

Go for it. I went to uni after spm. I'm a comp sc graduate. First year is usually all the foundation subjects like math/stats 101 etc.

Some into to hardware software input output. If your uni is good they would stay teaching algorithm, logic, some basic coding. Nothing really tough, I doubt they do this in pre u, but even so, I see no difference as you're smart and can catch up.

There are kids doing coding in the real world btw.

Edit: the bigger challenge would be when u go in to the real world and compete with global workforce in IT. Good luck.

This post has been edited by wjchay: Sep 24 2021, 09:48 AM
lawsh
post Sep 24 2021, 09:55 AM

Cikurity
6,788 posts

no issue with that, i went straight from SPM to uni as well taking computer science. i was just average as well
doing quite ok now, almost nothing learned during the whole course was applicable in the real world lol
ike.tan
post Sep 24 2021, 03:47 PM

203 posts

QUOTE(poliang95 @ Sep 24 2021, 09:26 AM)
Lets say If you had special chances to take degree right after your SPM , would you take it ? Will it be so difficult that I can't understand a thing in the class ? Just a average student , not a straight A student. And the course i talking about is IT / Computer science
Well, if you are talking about a recognized degree, then there is NO WAY you can ever do a Degree directly after SPM. You need to go through at least a pre-university programme. This is a requirement under the Ministry of Higher Education. It is the same in UK, Australia, Europe and most of the world.

Unless your foundation programme is packaged together with the degree.

If I may ask - where are you taking this degree?
ike.tan
post Sep 24 2021, 03:47 PM

203 posts

QUOTE(lawsh @ Sep 24 2021, 09:55 AM)
no issue with that, i went straight from SPM to uni as well taking computer science. i was just average as well
doing quite ok now, almost nothing learned during the whole course was applicable in the real world lol
You took diploma? Or directly to Degree?
lawsh
post Sep 24 2021, 04:38 PM

Cikurity
6,788 posts

QUOTE(ike.tan @ Sep 24 2021, 03:47 PM)
You took diploma? Or directly to Degree?
degree...
nexona88
post Sep 24 2021, 04:43 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,519 posts

more like the "direct" to Degree including foundation/Pre-University...

this one always popular "tricks" by those Private Colleges/Universities...

First year... all u study the basic / Pre-U / Foundation subjects....

this one all combine together...

like some so-called 6sem diploma (2sem Sijil + 4 sem Diploma). all straight.. for those not qualify directly to Diploma.
ike.tan
post Sep 24 2021, 07:43 PM

203 posts

QUOTE(lawsh @ Sep 24 2021, 04:38 PM)
degree...
May i know where you did you degree. If you don't mind me asking. And degree in which area?
ike.tan
post Sep 24 2021, 07:45 PM

203 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 24 2021, 04:43 PM)
more like the "direct" to Degree including foundation/Pre-University...

this one always popular "tricks" by those Private Colleges/Universities...

First year... all u study the basic / Pre-U / Foundation subjects....

this one all combine together...

like some so-called 6sem diploma (2sem Sijil + 4 sem Diploma). all straight..  for those not qualify directly to Diploma.
Yeah - but it's a wrong notion to state going straight to degree because the pathway is not 100% assured and some degree entry req programmes are highly dependent on CGPA.
nexona88
post Sep 24 2021, 08:32 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,519 posts

QUOTE(ike.tan @ Sep 24 2021, 07:45 PM)
Yeah - but it's a wrong notion to state going straight to degree because the pathway is not 100% assured and some degree entry req programmes are highly dependent on CGPA.
Well...
Many private universities & college does this kind of marketing... To lure unsuspecting victims 😃

TSpoliang95
post Sep 24 2021, 09:41 PM

15 posts

sorry for late reply , i just heard from my mom that our neighbor makcik told her , not sure if misheard or not ... but i am just curious about this idea so thats why i asking here , but looking at some post here .. seem like it might be true blink.gif
ike.tan
post Sep 24 2021, 09:54 PM

203 posts

QUOTE(poliang95 @ Sep 24 2021, 09:41 PM)
sorry for late reply  , i just heard from my mom that our neighbor makcik told her , not sure if misheard or not ... but i am just curious about this idea so thats why i asking here , but looking at some post here .. seem like it might be true  blink.gif
Well, usually to get to a degree programme, you need to do some sort of pre-university programme that is around 1-1.5 years long. Examples of pre-university programmes are STPM, A-Levels, Matriculation, CPU, AUSMAT, UNSW, SACE, IB and Foundation.

Taking for example foundation which is one-year long and a normal degree programme which is around 3 years. The total duration of studies would normally be 4 years long.

So those universities that state direct entry into degree would also be 4-years (1+3 years). If they just allow you to go straight into the 3-year degree, then especially in Malaysia - they are running afoul MQA and MOHE regulations. Your degree would then be void if it was EVER discovered. And of course the university would be in BIG trouble.
Just Visiting By
post Sep 24 2021, 09:54 PM

1,846 posts

There's no accredited university that would allow a SPM holder to go straight into degree. You'll need some foundational courses.

So if you have that offer, my advice is do further research.
SotongBiru
post Sep 24 2021, 10:00 PM

200 posts

QUOTE(poliang95 @ Sep 24 2021, 09:41 PM)
sorry for late reply  , i just heard from my mom that our neighbor makcik told her , not sure if misheard or not ... but i am just curious about this idea so thats why i asking here , but looking at some post here .. seem like it might be true  blink.gif
Well, many equate going to University is doing a degree. If they treat Year 0 (that's what foundation was called) as part of a degree path, then ok, it's just how they name it.

Year 0, Year 1, Year 2 ...
ike.tan
post Sep 24 2021, 10:40 PM

203 posts

QUOTE(SotongBiru @ Sep 24 2021, 10:00 PM)
Well, many equate going to University is doing a degree. If they treat Year 0 (that's what foundation was called) as part of a degree path, then ok, it's just how they name it.

Year 0, Year 1, Year 2 ...
Well, according to MQA - Institutions cannot do that. This is because Degree's has entry requirements and one of those is Foundation. And foundation is not always an automatic entry into degrees. There is a certain criteria to meet.

If you refer to this chart - this is the Malaysian Qualifications Framework (MQF)

https://www.mqa.gov.my/pv4/mqf.cfm

A Bachelor's Degree is specifically at MQF Level 6. And while Pre-University is not stated here, in the Malaysian Qualifications Framework (MQF) 2nd Edition Document, Foundation and University Preparatory Programmes are clearly placed between level 3 (Certificate) and Level 4 Diploma)

This is an excerpt:

Foundation and University Preparatory Programme
71. Foundation and university preparatory programmes as well as Sijil Tinggi Pelajaran Malaysia, Matriculation and foreign qualifications such as A Level are entry qualifications to tertiary education/bachelor’s programmes at universities. However, they are not in the Framework. Nonetheless, MQF determines the standards for these qualifications to ensure comparability and standardisation of students’ abilities. The minimum credit requirement is 50 and typically conducted within the period of 1 to 2 years.

What this means is that it is SEPARATE from a Bachelor Degree's programme. So technically, should not even be put as YEAR 0. It's a marketing and advertising strategy by institutions.

Foundation Programmes have a separate Programme Standards guideline as well.
iSean
post Sep 25 2021, 07:28 PM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

blink.gif Foundation 1 year then into Degree.
If no good math background I think pergi CS degree will mampus.
Better go IT.
SotongBiru
post Sep 25 2021, 09:53 PM

200 posts

QUOTE(ike.tan @ Sep 24 2021, 10:40 PM)
Well, according to MQA - Institutions cannot do that. This is because Degree's has entry requirements and one of those is Foundation. And foundation is not always an automatic entry into degrees. There is a certain criteria to meet.

If you refer to this chart - this is the Malaysian Qualifications Framework (MQF)

https://www.mqa.gov.my/pv4/mqf.cfm

A Bachelor's Degree is specifically at MQF Level 6. And while Pre-University is not stated here, in the Malaysian Qualifications Framework (MQF) 2nd Edition Document, Foundation and University Preparatory Programmes are clearly placed between level 3 (Certificate) and Level 4 Diploma)

This is an excerpt:

Foundation and University Preparatory Programme
71. Foundation and university preparatory programmes as well as Sijil Tinggi Pelajaran Malaysia, Matriculation and foreign qualifications such as A Level are entry qualifications to tertiary education/bachelor’s programmes at universities. However, they are not in the Framework. Nonetheless, MQF determines the standards for these qualifications to ensure comparability and standardisation of students’ abilities. The minimum credit requirement is 50 and typically conducted within the period of 1 to 2 years.

What this means is that it is SEPARATE from a Bachelor Degree's programme. So technically, should not even be put as YEAR 0. It's a marketing and advertising strategy by institutions.

Foundation Programmes have a separate Programme Standards guideline as well.
Yes, understand. However, it's how it is worded. Anyway, from Year 1 to Year 2 also not guaranteed, much like entering degree, not guaranteed to graduate. So, if "foundation" fail, also cannot grad kind of logic. Anyway, yes, agreed, just how it is marketed and most auntie / uncle will look at entering Uni means go do degree
iSean
post Sep 25 2021, 10:04 PM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

QUOTE(SotongBiru @ Sep 25 2021, 09:53 PM)
Yes, understand. However, it's how it is worded. Anyway, from Year 1 to Year 2 also not guaranteed, much like entering degree, not guaranteed to graduate. So, if "foundation" fail, also cannot grad kind of logic.  Anyway, yes, agreed, just how it is marketed and most auntie / uncle will look at entering Uni means go do degree
Most uni courses are very modular actually. If you need to find a link between subjects also kinda hard nowadays.
You just need bare minimum pass to move on to graduate.

If you can progress to Year 2, I don't think you have any issue moving on and graduate with 2nd or 3rd class honours.

This post has been edited by iSean: Sep 25 2021, 10:05 PM

0.0220sec    0.53    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:40 AM