Freight forwarders call for clarity on 51% Bumi, Bumi equity 0% -> 30% -> 51%

ZeroSOFInfinity
post Sep 23 2021, 08:03 AM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(trojandude @ Sep 23 2021, 02:45 AM)

PETALING JAYA: An association of freight forwarders has urged the government to clarify its position on Bumiputera equity in logistics companies, with only months left before an end-of-year deadline.

In a letter dated Sept 18 to the government, Chua said the finance ministry had stated in January that all Customs brokerage licence holders must comply with Bumiputera equity requirements, but did not set any figure.

“It is already September 2021 and the deadline to comply is Dec 31,” he said in his letter to the international trade and industry ministry.

“Selling 51% of the business also means that the present owner can no longer control and run his business. If we can’t find Bumiputeras to actually invest in the companies before the Dec 31 deadline, it means that all the logistics companies with Customs brokerage licenses would close down,” he said.

Licences registered before 1976 do not have a Bumiputera equity requirement, while a 30% quota is imposed on those registered between 1976 and 1990, and a 51% Bumiputera requirement for licences registered after 1990. No Bumiputera equity is required for licenses held by integrated international logistics services providers.

https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...bumiputera-rule

-------

TLDR: Freight forwarding companies must have Bumi equity but never specify how much. No Bumi equity = No License renewal. So easy for Bumi to buy stakes  rolleyes.gif

Who knows maybe in 2025 glove companies must have 51% bumi equity too. Messiahword requesting your expertise.
51%? Might as well just ask 100%. Then when protest, just answer "INI HAK KAMI! BALIK (YOU KNOW WHERE)!".

ZeroSOFInfinity
post Sep 23 2021, 08:04 AM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(Rizal Ahmad @ Sep 23 2021, 07:45 AM)
You have to understand bro, this is not about who contribute the most. This is about maintaining power in your own goddanm home. I know we are all Malaysian, and we are all family but there is definitely a Father, Mother, and children in 1 family. We as the Malay are the father and mother while the rest are the children.

How are we going to play our role as parents if our children is more powerful and influential then us? So this is a polite and not racist way of maintaining the status quo.

Do remember your life here is so much more better then if you had stayed in china during the warlord era. Thats why your ancestors made a conscious decision to come to Malaysia. No Malay ever put a knife to your throat and force you to come. You came by your self, and we accepted you "almost" as our own. The least you could do is be a strong and capable partner. Use the concept of you help us, we help you...
I gonna say this once to you.

FUCK YOU DUPE. AND I'M GONNA REPORT YOUR RACIST ARSE.

Sekian. Terima kasih.
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Sep 25 2021, 07:15 AM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(Azran1979 @ Sep 24 2021, 08:38 PM)
racist thread.

ts should rename this thread "malay bashing"
Yeah, giving 51% of a company is "racist" eh? Instead of creating one your own.
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Sep 25 2021, 11:40 AM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(Desert Punk @ Sep 25 2021, 11:24 AM)
Says the one that ran away from my question and never to return. Shall we revisit that discussion here again then. Your call. Just a simple yes and no would be fine incase you want pusing-pusing with jibberish nonsense again with seems to be your forte.
You asking a sohai not to be one? Its really hard for them to change into non-sohai.....

0.0177sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 08:53 PM