Why Shopee Lazada systems not using AI?

TSbillylks
post Sep 22 2021, 08:06 PM, updated 5y ago

180 posts

I wonder why these 2 online shoppings don't use any intelligent algorithms to recommend stuff buyers may like. I mean they have so many data that they can mine and analyse.

In Amazon, the algo will predict what else you will like by checking other customers purchase patterns when you bought the same thing. Something like if you like this item, you will like these recommended items too. In a way their algo is similar to Google Youtube algo.

In Shopee and Lazada. After you bought one phone, all you can see in the front page are phones. I HAVE ALREADY BOUGHT ONE FROM YOU LAH!

p/s: shopee and lazada big bosses, if you are reading this please employ me as your technology advisor.
PJng
post Sep 22 2021, 08:08 PM

12,047 posts

Got AI, create dupe acc, block you
DValentine
post Sep 22 2021, 08:09 PM

773 posts

patut la kau tak masuk shopee lazada
pretty23
post Sep 22 2021, 08:13 PM

1,791 posts

LOL... TS must be another sei sohai who never use both of these.
TSbillylks
post Sep 22 2021, 08:20 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(pretty23 @ Sep 22 2021, 08:13 PM)
LOL... TS must be another sei sohai who never use both of these.
Eh hello, I already announced to this forum before that I got online shopping addiction. Shopee and Lazada apps are in my phone's front page.

To me Lazada and Shopee algo are almost non-effective. After you bought something, you will go clueless what else to buy since they just recommend the same items to you (from other shops, or different brands). You just bought an air fryer? oh why not buy more air fryers? (instead of recommending me to buy other kitchen appliances).
LiMi
post Sep 22 2021, 08:25 PM

735 posts

Gotta admit I find this pretty dumb also.
Once u view or buy item A, B and C. Then all your home feed will be item A B C only lol
guest54321
post Sep 22 2021, 08:25 PM

186 posts

Recommended items = AI

lel
DoomCognition
post Sep 22 2021, 08:31 PM

737 posts

QUOTE(billylks @ Sep 22 2021, 08:06 PM)
I wonder why these 2 online shoppings don't use any intelligent algorithms to recommend stuff buyers may like. I mean they have so many data that they can mine and analyse.

In Amazon, the algo will predict what else you will like by checking other customers purchase patterns when you bought the same thing. Something like if you like this item, you will like these recommended items too. In a way their algo is similar to Google Youtube algo.

In Shopee and Lazada. After you bought one phone, all you can see in the front page are phones. I HAVE ALREADY BOUGHT ONE FROM YOU LAH!
p/s: shopee and lazada big bosses, if you are reading this please employ me as your technology advisor.
AI in Malaysia. Only limited to googling some python packages, take all the fields available in the database and dump as inputs, take entire order list and dump as output, press run and pray for the best.

In fact, only 5% of people who are called data scientist know how to do above. More realistically, AI in Malaysia is googling some packages in python, run correlation tests and multivariate regression, see the R-squared, plot K-mean charts and do up fancy slides of time series.
TSbillylks
post Sep 22 2021, 08:32 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(guest54321 @ Sep 22 2021, 08:25 PM)
Recommended items = AI

lel
Never heard of AI algo to learn patterns or habits ka? We are already in year 2021 lah my friend, 2021 also is very fast to end already.

Youtube, Amazon, Netflix all using AI to learn the customers' habits.

Strangely China is not using any so far. Maybe for other systems, but definitely not for online shopping.
liquidsny
post Sep 22 2021, 08:32 PM

589 posts

Ya i agree. Keep recommending me to buy same stuff i already bought for what.

Whomever is their vendor ?
Pichu00
post Sep 22 2021, 08:37 PM

640 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Sep 22 2021, 08:08 PM)
Got AI, create dupe acc, block you
Thier ai dumb , until now i still create dupe
Pichu00
post Sep 22 2021, 08:38 PM

640 posts

QUOTE(billylks @ Sep 22 2021, 08:06 PM)

QUOTE(liquidsny @ Sep 22 2021, 08:32 PM)
Ya i agree. Keep recommending me to buy same stuff i already bought for what.

Whomever is their vendor ?
They not stupid , they make money from merchant that advertice with them.
TSbillylks
post Sep 22 2021, 08:40 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(DoomCognition @ Sep 22 2021, 08:31 PM)
AI in Malaysia. Only limited to googling some python packages, take all the fields available in the database and dump as inputs, take entire order list and dump as output, press run and pray for the best.

In fact, only 5% of people who are called data scientist know how to do above. More realistically, AI in Malaysia is googling some packages in python, run correlation tests and multivariate regression, see the R-squared, plot K-mean charts and do up fancy slides of time series.
I wonder in local universities got any courses on data science or not, and what do they teach? Or people need to learn this on their own.

Many boast they are data scientist when they know business intelligence software...
DoomCognition
post Sep 22 2021, 09:11 PM

737 posts

QUOTE(billylks @ Sep 22 2021, 08:40 PM)
I wonder in local universities got any courses on data science or not, and what do they teach? Or people need to learn this on their own.

Many boast they are data scientist when they know business intelligence software...
They do, but more of what I described above. Basically it's some business statistics with lecturers on how to use certain packages with some dummy data. They are not really trained on real AI. AI is still very new, if a person is really skilled, likely he will be poached to SG. Malaysian bosses still are still not smart enough to appreciate true AI.

And like you said, those who use BI software also begin to call themselves AI / Data Scientist. When hiring nowadays, both employers and potential employees need to be careful of the term AI as it can mean any one of the following:

1. BI tool users
2. Management Information System workers
3. Data analyst who works with large amount of data and just prepare monthly reporting slides
4. Sometimes even data engineers and DBA
5. Statistical modellers (arguably these are closer to data scientist than others, but still not right)
6. Power Excel users who work with lots of data manipulation
7. Actual data scientist.
8. Actual AI engineers.

Chrix
post Sep 22 2021, 09:13 PM

1,187 posts

so ts can open tered asking questions that dont matter

0.0170sec    0.83    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:34 AM