[2021] Apple Watch Series 7 Discussion Thread | V1, Full screen ahead.

splinter
post May 4 2024, 11:56 PM

New Kid In Town
2,120 posts

Hi, anyone using clockology watch face? Safe to use?

Also what the downside?
TongCN
post May 24 2024, 02:12 PM

Look ma, I have lots stars :D
6,658 posts

QUOTE(tcwan @ Apr 29 2024, 02:29 PM)
Same here. Just got the "Service Battery notice" last week. Switch only lists like-for-like exchange which is super expensive.

I checked online via the Apple Support link, seems that Apple now has AW7 Battery Replacement service?
But it's mail in by arranged pickup with courier.... anyone has experience with this?
Mine now 80% BH since launch

What's your solution and any price range ?

Update: Just found this site and see estimatoin

This post has been edited by TongCN: May 24 2024, 02:14 PM
tcwan
post May 26 2024, 09:21 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ May 24 2024, 02:12 PM)

I walked into Switch Service Center to ask about this, they said "Even though it shows the estimated cost, Apple doesn't offer battery-replacement service, it will still be a like-for-like swap", which would be a lot more expensive than the initial estimate.

So I'm holding off on servicing my AW7.

I don't know if things will change once the Apple Store is up and running. Unfortunately I am in Penang, so I can't just walk in to the Apple Store to check when the time comes.

This post has been edited by tcwan: May 26 2024, 09:23 PM
TongCN
post May 27 2024, 08:56 AM

6,658 posts

QUOTE(tcwan @ May 26 2024, 09:21 PM)
I walked into Switch Service Center to ask about this, they said "Even though it shows the estimated cost, Apple doesn't offer battery-replacement service, it will still be a like-for-like swap", which would be a lot more expensive than the initial estimate.

So I'm holding off on servicing my AW7.

I don't know if things will change once the Apple Store is up and running.  Unfortunately I am in Penang, so I can't just walk in to the Apple Store to check when the time comes.
I see, me here sarawak lagik dunno how liao XD

Probably see next batch release - series 10 and trade in the 7
farkingdom
post May 27 2024, 09:35 PM

594 posts

When Apple Store opens you should be able to get it swapped for that price provided your BH is below 80 percent
ben3003
post Dec 7 2024, 08:45 AM

10,859 posts

Hi guys, anyone did actually bought third party charger that can do fast charge? cos it is hassle to bring cable around everywhere i go.
tcwan
post Feb 1 2025, 10:26 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(farkingdom @ May 27 2024, 09:35 PM)
When Apple Store opens you should be able to get it swapped for that price provided your BH is below 80 percent
Finally gotten around to going to the Apple Store @ TRX. After going through the diagnosis, I was able to do a swap for RM 449 due to the battery level being less than 80%. There is no battery replacement. It is actually a device swap. Thankfully they even accepted my old unit which has a scratch on the glass (but the glass was not broken) at no extra cost.

However, the procedure takes 1-2 weeks, so it's not something that can be done one the spot.

I did ask whether it could be done via mail-in service, but I got the impression that they couldn't guarantee that it would be at the RM 449 cost without running the diagnostics to verify the battery condition first.

The only sad part of this whole story is that I could not reactivate my Digi AirSim for my cellular plan; CelcomDigi discountinued it sometime last year and I would need to upgrade to a more expensive plan to qualify for watch cellular service (which also increased to RM 20/watch, on top of the more expensive postpaid plan).
vkashin
post Feb 3 2025, 02:23 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(tcwan @ Feb 1 2025, 10:26 PM)
Finally gotten around to going to the Apple Store @ TRX. After going through the diagnosis, I was able to do a swap for RM 449 due to the battery level being less than 80%. There is no battery replacement. It is actually a device swap. Thankfully they even accepted my old unit which has a scratch on the glass (but the glass was not broken) at no extra cost.

However, the procedure takes 1-2 weeks, so it's not something that can be done one the spot.

I did ask whether it could be done via mail-in service, but I got the impression that they couldn't guarantee that it would be at the RM 449 cost without running the diagnostics to verify the battery condition first.

The only sad part of this whole story is that I could not reactivate my Digi AirSim for my cellular plan; CelcomDigi discountinued it sometime last year and I would need to upgrade to a more expensive plan to qualify for watch cellular service (which also increased to RM 20/watch, on top of the more expensive postpaid plan).
definitely useful to keep this info in mind, my S7 is currently at 85% battery health, might need to do this in the near future
However it does make me wonder if apple still keeps stocks for series 7, or will they replace with the latest model (aka paying RM449 for an upgrade to Series 10) sweat.gif
ben3003
post Feb 3 2025, 02:25 PM

10,859 posts

mine is currently 75%, i believe they will have plenty of refurbished s7 for all batt replacement or warranty coverage.
vkashin
post Feb 3 2025, 03:22 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Dec 7 2024, 08:45 AM)
Hi guys, anyone did actually bought third party charger that can do fast charge? cos it is hassle to bring cable around everywhere i go.
i bought ESSAGER ES-WC13, it's slower than original apple fast charger but faster than the first gen AW charger

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Feb 3 2025, 02:25 PM)
mine is currently 75%, i believe they will have plenty of refurbished s7 for all batt replacement or warranty coverage.
haha i see. i thought since they dont open up the watch to swap the batteries, they would replace with brand new ones drool.gif maybe one of the terms of the service is the replacement battery health doesnt have to be 100%? hmm.gif
ben3003
post Feb 3 2025, 03:45 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(vkashin @ Feb 3 2025, 03:22 PM)
i bought ESSAGER ES-WC13, it's slower than original apple fast charger but faster than the first gen AW charger
haha i see. i thought since they dont open up the watch to swap the batteries, they would replace with brand new ones  drool.gif maybe one of the terms of the service is the replacement battery health doesnt have to be 100%?  hmm.gif
most likely is refurbished products la. what i mean is they will swap ur unit, but they take ur unit and do the replacement of the batt probably at factory cos they cannot do it at apple store service centre, then recertified it as apple certified refurb product.
tcwan
post Feb 5 2025, 12:49 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(vkashin @ Feb 3 2025, 03:22 PM)
haha i see. i thought since they dont open up the watch to swap the batteries, they would replace with brand new ones  drool.gif maybe one of the terms of the service is the replacement battery health doesnt have to be 100%?  hmm.gif
Replacement with a newer model is rarely done, it happens only when there are no available equivalent parts. Possibly that also only applies if it was done under AppleCare (+?).

That is not likely at this point of the AW7 lifecycle.

The replacement AW7 battery was 100% in the Battery menu.

This post has been edited by tcwan: Feb 5 2025, 12:52 PM
vkashin
post Feb 5 2025, 04:22 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(tcwan @ Feb 5 2025, 12:49 PM)
Replacement with a newer model is rarely done, it happens only when there are no available equivalent parts. Possibly that also only applies if it was done under AppleCare (+?).

That is not likely at this point of the AW7 lifecycle.

The replacement AW7 battery was 100% in the Battery menu.
alright thumbsup.gif essentially just wishful thinking on my part haha
TongCN
post May 13 2025, 03:08 PM

6,658 posts

After almost one year, my battery health now 77% lol...

Really think of RM449 for replacement now but not sure how it work here in Sarawak.
TongCN
post Nov 5 2025, 04:18 PM

6,658 posts

QUOTE(tcwan @ Feb 1 2025, 10:26 PM)

Eh, bro, sorry dig out this old post but how's ur "mail-in service" actually ?

Cause flying KL this week and might wanna schedule the "battery replacement" if can.

Right now 75%
tcwan
post Nov 12 2025, 09:02 AM

151 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Nov 5 2025, 04:18 PM)
Eh, bro, sorry dig out this old post but how's ur "mail-in service" actually ?

Cause flying KL this week and might wanna schedule the "battery replacement" if can.

Right now 75%
Oops, didn't see your post till now.
I didn't mail-in. I made an in-person appointment and came back to pick it up a few weeks later.

After ~10 months, my battery is down to 94% (41 mm).

This post has been edited by tcwan: Nov 12 2025, 09:03 AM
TongCN
post Nov 12 2025, 10:20 PM

6,658 posts

QUOTE(tcwan @ Nov 12 2025, 09:02 AM)
Oops, didn't see your post till now.
I didn't mail-in. I made an in-person appointment and came back to pick it up a few weeks later.

After ~10 months, my battery is down to 94% (41 mm).
Just went to TRX last Saturday

Said can only pickup sad.gif

74 Pages « < 72 73 74Top

0.0261sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:40 AM