[2021] The New iPad Mini Discussion Thread | V1, Mega power. Mini sized.

FollowMeRogerThat
post Sep 15 2021, 04:53 PM

236 posts

Been waiting for the launch of the new mini for awhile
Size is what I'd like for using on bed or commuting
Update seems to hit a lot of right ticks

Price...... Just saw the comment its pricing close to M1 ipad pro

Now it becomes a difficult choice
FollowMeRogerThat
post Sep 15 2021, 08:10 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(MisterKibz @ Sep 15 2021, 05:30 PM)
Definitely a worth upgrade if you have the cash.....they skip upgrade 3 generations chipset, design like ipad pro, better audio and display, and most importantly that freaking USB-C for such portable device!!!  rclxms.gif
i'm a dude and no colour discrimination here but i love purple......especially the lilac tone is cool, im using iphone 11 purple myself  icon_idea.gif
if u see it in that point of view then u will not be getting any ipad mini actually.......by getting the mini 64gb, add abit more can get ipad air 64gb......by getting the 256gb, add abit more can get ipad pro m1 128gb.....things just doesn't go that way, buy which is suitable for ur needs
agreed!
if u follow closely ipad mini 1-4 has been back to back then 5th came out after 4 years and now after 2.5 years this design is so old already same as ipad mini 1, luckily apple made new design  rclxm9.gif
sorry but 64gb won't do for me
I mean basic OS + a few games installed will kill the space
if only Apple came out with a 128GB version costed at the middle

edit:
I was fixed on the size lah, it's the best size for what I need it
just the cost now
trying to justify myself biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by FollowMeRogerThat: Sep 15 2021, 08:15 PM
FollowMeRogerThat
post Sep 16 2021, 08:27 AM

236 posts

QUOTE(emy_xvidia @ Sep 16 2021, 04:03 AM)
64GB is really nothing la nowadays even if you're not playing serious mobile games like Genshin. Yes some buy only for streaming but if that's really the case, there are cheaper alternatives with good specs (good screen) out there honestly for 'only' media consumptions.

And with tech it's always like that la. Add up only a little bit you'd get better spec overall with caveats (lower storage). Just know on why you buy it for in the 1st place and stick to it.

For me, iPad Mini 6 has good overall specs with a very portable form factor. Some woukd hold of the opinion that that 12.9 is also portable. Some do not. So to each of his own. Just know why you're buying it in the 1st place la.
I don't mind the 60Hz screen but the RAM size is yea a little bit underwhelming at only 4GB. But perhaps for a tablet that is designed for portability they don't expect people to really do extensive multitasking on it that much. But it's Apple. There's always things in their spec that would make us want it to be 'if only this part was better.'

And interesting when you mention about Apple's CSAM and your concept of moving away from Google. I think they are delaying that shit up after having a massive backlash from privacy groups around the world yea.
Good point you mentioned if just using for streaming there are better options and know why you buying it in the first place
FollowMeRogerThat
post Sep 22 2021, 12:34 AM

236 posts

QUOTE(loonsave @ Sep 16 2021, 10:29 AM)
I am using it for media consumption, regardless Youtube/Emby/iQiyi/ or any other video apps, it just lag and getting worse.
Have you tried factory reset and use it without update the software?
It helped for my other branded tablet

FollowMeRogerThat
post Sep 23 2021, 10:19 PM

236 posts

space grey might be more easily accepted? it's a safe colour i guess
FollowMeRogerThat
post Nov 6 2021, 11:22 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ Nov 5 2021, 07:12 PM)
Given this mini with its size…will anyone considering to try using it with bluetooth keyboard and a mouse ?  blink.gif
not kb and mouse but might consider gamepad
saw a youtuber did this and seems to enable it to be a really portable gaming device

not too much space needed for the ipad mini + gamepad in the bag biggrin.gif

FollowMeRogerThat
post Nov 24 2021, 02:20 PM

236 posts

Hey guys,
Ive got the ESR detachable case which is superb

After some time with it I realised it adds on quite a bit of weight since the iPad without case was really light
I'm guessing it's the strong and sturdy magnet and build quality

Any recommendation for a lighter case that's also good for your uses? I'm not using pen but do want the front cover to put protect the iPad while in bag

Cheers!
FollowMeRogerThat
post Nov 24 2021, 06:44 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Nov 24 2021, 03:57 PM)
I’m afraid if you want the front cover, esr 2in1 case is almost your best bet..as you can detach it whenever you want to reduce weight while using…otherwise you can consider back hard case like XUNDD or XUNDD Beetle, you can search for the Shopee link from the search function at the bottom ‘type Shopee Xundd’… they are cheap too like rm20+, good quality and good feedback from our members here
Thanks!
will source for XUNDD with the stand one, this looks good and useful for me

Just checked the weight for iPad mini 6 is 293g
while the ESR 2in1 case is 127.573g shocking.gif

0.0254sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 12:22 AM