LYN Honda Civic FE 11th Generation v1

powerdave P
post Aug 5 2024, 12:37 PM

Probation

hello guys, recently civic has huge discount that make me even wanted to switch from toyota to honda but 1 thing bugging me is, I saw a lot of review stating steering rack issue, just wanted to know how bad it is...
powerdave P
post Aug 5 2024, 02:05 PM

Probation

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Aug 5 2024, 01:00 PM)
follow civic fe FB group then decide
I did.. But all they did was either showing off modify or selling modify product, could be I didn't dig deeper, I only get info from xhs and Tiktok which is not so good but everyone satisfied with the driving experience just the steering rack and absorber not so
powerdave P
post Aug 5 2024, 02:08 PM

Probation

QUOTE(DM3 @ Aug 5 2024, 12:44 PM)
Its so frequent/common tht its part of H brand n just need patience to keep going SC to claim each time need 2x to go
Hmm if that's the case could be deal breaker for me, currently driving Toyota not much of a problem just that recently added family member so looking to get a bigger car while altis package not attractive and cross both space performance and pricing is a disaster so I only have civic in mind 😅
powerdave P
post Aug 5 2024, 02:59 PM

Probation

QUOTE(squareballs @ Aug 5 2024, 02:38 PM)
my product update rack is getting worst in less than 3 months. sticky and tuk tuk

i lodged a report to KPDN online and Honda Malaysia via email last week.  laugh.gif

this morning they called and i told them what i've been through since 2023 Jan till now. (total 3 racks)

Nothing to lose anymore, i've given up on the car. so just go all in on the complaints. lol
😥😥😥 Too sad, nice car but pathetic product design .. 3 racks and the problem still there
powerdave P
post Aug 12 2024, 10:06 AM

Probation

QUOTE(thechickadee @ Aug 11 2024, 09:55 AM)
Am thinking of getting an FE due to the rebates. Wanna ask the sifus, how long does it take for honda to entertain steering rack issues and how long does it take for honda to replace the steering rack?

Also, anyone has idea whether the thai facelift uses the same steering rack?
im quite tempted also, but after some studies and researches on forum and fb group I decided to give up on getting 1 whistling.gif
powerdave P
post Aug 12 2024, 05:41 PM

Probation

QUOTE(Cavino @ Aug 12 2024, 11:19 AM)
My friend also owned one for over 2 years now. Got steering rack issue once few months ago. Change rack once. Then got sticky again but only high speed again. They fix it somehow without changing rack. Going to SC quite a number of times. A bit frustrated for him.

But then when I asked him if regret getting Civic FE, he says, no, he likes it a lot, frustrated yes BUT he still prefer it and would still buy it if turn back the clock.
can't deny that the look and the handling is superb, but I'm a outdoor sales and have family to take care of, life without a car or a frequent faulty car is a headache for me rclxub.gif
powerdave P
post Feb 24 2025, 09:59 AM

Probation

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Feb 24 2025, 09:21 AM)
Autobuzz or Eugene reviews cars for a living and I see that he / they have nothing bad to say about bad cars.
The real question should be who reviews their reviews for a living?

Here is a non exhaustive list of people I don't trust:
People who review cars just to make content and clicks. And then they have no other apparent job other than that, then their job is more like a freelance car salesman.
PauTan
TaiC.Yee
Autob*zz
B*bbyAng
automachy
yskhang
msiamotoring
...the list is long

Here is one that dare to tell you or at least hint you:
The Piston Show

But refer my question above. They are all fallible. Consider ALL of them actors in a TV show just saying things according to script. They do not reveal the script writers so assume the script comes from people who will benefit from them IE vendors.

For the case of Honda malaysia cars, remember that the CBU Speccing is actually different from US / International (Which you can sometimes trust their reviews because some of them plain condemn a car for 30 minutes straight). Most obvious is the sound proofing. Next is airbag design. If any International spec car is as loud as the local Civic it will be outright called out.

And the second part which is dangerous to your life is Honda Malaysia rejection of warranty and safety related defects - Steering rack. Worldwide recall upside down, Malaysia one will say no issue. Reject your claims and ask you to risk your life on the road. Good 6 months after the issue blow up they will silently say there is an "update", and then 3 months later only then the RTD will repeat the same thing for good measure.
Biasa, it is Malaysia reviewer culture so not just in automobile industry, it is worst in F&B where roadkill can praise until like 3 stars michelin standard... the problem is they not dare to speak up the bad things about the product/service as the future sponsorship will try to avoid them thus there goes their 3 meals

powerdave P
post Feb 26 2025, 09:51 AM

Probation

QUOTE(iOrange @ Feb 24 2025, 06:02 PM)
hi all. i am thinking to buy a civic fe 2025 e spec this month with a 13k rebate from honda. i am aware of the infamous steering rack issue, with a little information about this 2025 facelift model, is it a good deal or i should wait for another 6 months to see if things get better for this steering rack issue? thanks
Saw on socmed Xhs, got 1 user clocked 2,800km already have steering issue and yes it is 2025 FL civic

0.0309sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:41 PM