Hi wish to check any of you is aware if there is any after market blind spot monitoring system (not Lane watch)? Is it something avail in the aftermarket? Am asking in case need to replace the side mirror if it gets crashed.
And for ambient light? Would the mod be allowed by the sc?
Just went to see the new civic and test drove a red RS.
V is 13k more than E. I actually prefer 17" rims with higher profile tyres; I don't really like leather seats and personally feel hifi is not for the car so I don't really care about sound system and screen size. Funnily the 0-100 figures are .1 second apart with the E being the fastest. Left lane watch is actually dangerous if you take your eyes off the road to watch the screen. Honda connect is useless to me; had in my BMW never used. Same with paddle shifter.
I guess I will only miss the auto wiper, the auto headlight dip, the motorised seat movement. Also I will miss the Michellin tyres.
I paid a 1k refundable deposit with option to change the variant/colour. Dealer in Sec 13. I can't really decide which variant to go for. I am told the RS has 13 waiting on the list, the V has 2 and the E has 3.
Any ideas?
In the same dilemma as you. Also mind you the E spec has fabric on the seats, door handles and central arm rest.
The deal breakers btw V ans E are the fabric cover on the seats and armrests, plus and 7' head unit.
Any existing E spec owner mind share their experience especially on the two items mentioned above?
You can see that Toyota Lane Tracing works at very low speed down to zero for Corolla.
If you refer to your manuals for Honda Civic, it specifically says minimum speed of 72km/h :
I personally can confirm this behaviour is correct per manual in my car and at the same time different from the Youtube video above of the Corolla (Driver able to hands off follow lane from stop and go traffic). To replicate this on your side simply wait until both lanes are detected (White both sides) and engage LKAS at low speed. You will see it is status "white" on instrument, not green. When you reach 72km/h and both lanes are still detected then it goes green and grabs your steering wheel, ie you can hands off. Look again at the Toyota Corolla and driver is hands off at stop speed.
The other problem is the limited torque. Near the Menora tunnel near Ipoh in PLUS Highway, there are a few bends that the LKAS cannot do at 90-100km/h and it just gives up without sufficient advanced warning. So if you are bossing the highway while smoking with both hands lol, it can suddenly stop steering for you.
It is not a problem of setting, it is a problem of design. I didn't check this properly before paying, so caveat emptor.
Here is the good news: Even if you have no "green", but Lane departure warning still works and to the best of my knowledge if you sway away at almost any speed, steering will vibrate and it does try to nudge you back into the lane. But it will not center your car or steer the car to maintain at the middle. And if this happens more than 2-3 times in quick succession then the whole system goes OFF for a few minutes to warn you. It is very different from LKAS steering that will center your car in the lane actively even if you don't sway out of the lines. And this can be engaged continuously the whole duration of the drive (provided you maintain speed above 72km/h). In terms of tactile feels such as seat material, why not just go and sit on one of each for a test drive? If you ask me now, any dealer without an E spec test drive is not worthy of selling one. To the best of my ability to describe it (which I still think is inadequate) the fabric seat is a little bit thinner and firmer than the V leather. The material is similar to fabric Ikea POANG chair if you have it ie kinda rough. Not the velvety type of fabric. But I now have some soft velvety seat cover on. If you die die wanna save money but want to have leather seats, you can get leather seat covers from 1k to 3k externally. Pretty sure this will not void any warranty except the seats haha.
As for the head unit, the 7in is a barebones unit with 4 speakers and the sound is very plain. There is nothing going on in the head unit without your smartphone except for radio. For the 9in you can have internal GPS navigation but I think it will be very 2000's like a papago.
With a BT it works as normal, you get your phone calls and BT streaming audio.
With wired carplay or android auto it shines, and works well. I also bought a wireless Carplay dongle kit and this transforms the experience to another level. Totally atas now.
Overall I know what I paid for in this regard and I'm ok with it. Didn't expect more didn't get less.
Thanks. Just concern the fabrics at the doors especially during the rains.
Unfortunately here only V and RS avail for viewing, no E
Overall V macam quite atas already, that's why not sure which one to go for... After all just rm100+ extra per month for a 7 years loan.
Also just out of curiosity what seat cover have you bought?
This post has been edited by fkp1: Mar 8 2022, 11:18 AM
Ok haven't got time to do full detailing package (will outsource instead of DIY this time, first vehicle to do so. In life, things change I guess lol.) However just few days under rain and sun, the car paint is already absorbing and etching dirt.
Notice that the wash bubbles I'm about to post is already brown. [attachmentid=11112642]
So... Do a quick water coating/spray on sealant to give some form of protection instead of bare naked, and some glass water repellency (first time using something other than rain X, It's some China glass polymer resin product the detailing center/friend of mine introduced. RM38 for one 70 for 2, one can can spray 10+ cars lol) [attachmentid=11112643] [attachmentid=11112644] [attachmentid=11112645]
So few more shots after water coating getting to admiring the sun set glam and additional color shades [attachmentid=11112658] [attachmentid=11112657] [attachmentid=11112656] [attachmentid=11112655][attachmentid=11112646]
Cantik boss! Grey is hard to find right? Can ask which outlet did you get it from? Would you still pick grey over silver or white, if given the choice?
You need to add : "compared to x car/vehicle" to make the question more useful.
Compared to 1.6VTI Peugeot 208 Likes 1. Torque....begins very early...you are off the line before the engine screams. I hardly need to exceed 3000rpm and most vehicles are behind me already. Previous car was also quite a strong performer but I really have to rev as it is a NA engine. I think the CVT also works well in this case. 2. NVH / Space - all gets above 8/10 for me. 3. Passive safety - The full package.
Dislike 1. The LKAS does not function at below 65km/h. This is not advertised clearly enough. 2. E-spec seats are a little stiff on the butt for me. I am only a 70kg 170cm male. 3. Seats are so low especially front passenger.
The low speed follow function is working during traffic jam correct?
Used Ecotint as part of the Civic FD2 Concept M package back in 2011. If it's the same tint & specs, I can safely say that it's adequate, but not great. I suggest that if you're paying RM2k++ for it, there are better options out there. Don't let the "void warranty" discussion sway you to install Ecotint. If your SA want to install for free, go ahead!
Not yet. The SA training will be in May/June. Almost 100% confirm the delivery will be after SST holiday ends. I'm guessing the price would be 15k less than Civic - which would mean that the top tier RS would be around RM130k with SST
Apologies for my innocence, but wouldn't Hrv be priced at par or more than the current price of civic? Considering the sst and what not?
I have seen a few singapore registered Hrv on the road, the white looks very cool.
This post has been edited by fkp1: Apr 7 2022, 02:13 PM
Hi all. Am looking to get a 2022 civic. Want to ask for input regarding the issues of the car.
Just to check the steering rack issue is only more of noise correct? Similar to the front sensor which is making noise when lining behind another Honda?
Not hard to turn, sticky, like u turn u will feel is like stepped turning. Dunno how to say. If normal u turn is smooth, this one like the gear jagged like that. At least thats how i feel.
I dont see is a major issue during low speed or up to 70-80km/h. But if above 100, because minor adjustment on steering can become big, so if like u just wan to turn left abit maybe 1 deg to keep within lane, then because it is like stepped, so the left turn will become 2deg like tat. U cant really do that fine adjustment on the steering. But if u drive with lane keep assist then u don even feel it lol.
I dunno is the honda do wat they din check the steering angle properly or is it really the steering will not be 100% perpendicular when driving, on straight road it will like turn left abit, it is abit only but noticeable to me. Last bring back they say is wheel alignment off, then do wheel alignment said ok already. It is better but the problem seems like came back. Maybe need send outside workshop do or during 20k complain again. Honda SC mechanic really can throw ah. No choice only 1 SC in town.
Even without turning on the lane keep assist?
Supposed after HM replacing a new rack the issue would have considered resolved? Or it depends?
Hi all for eHEV spec. Any idea if it is possible to claim from sc if the hybrid system is found to be degrading? Example electric motor is less powerful?
Or the claim is only allowed if the hybrid system is found to be not functioning?
Has anyone done this sort of claim before? Esp those who has a hybrid car over the years?