Drying Rack In Condominium

TS1234_4321
post Sep 10 2021, 11:01 PM, updated 5y ago

328 posts

Hello All,

Wanna seek for opinion on drying rack.
My balcony is quite small in size, and the traditional drying rack will be space consuming.
Would like to reserve the place for some light planting & coffee table.

Anyone of you use this kind of wall mounted drying rack?
Is that practical & lasting?

If yes, any good model/brand to recommend ah?

Thanks!

This post has been edited by 1234_4321: Sep 10 2021, 11:03 PM
kesvani
post Sep 10 2021, 11:14 PM

956 posts

Your wall can tahan or not

TS1234_4321
post Sep 10 2021, 11:23 PM

328 posts

QUOTE(kesvani @ Sep 10 2021, 11:14 PM)
Your wall can tahan or not
Not too sure that's why asking...
But brick wor.....
kesvani
post Sep 11 2021, 12:00 AM

956 posts

QUOTE(1234_4321 @ Sep 10 2021, 11:23 PM)
Not too sure that's why asking...
But brick wor.....
Good luck then hang on brick wall

Crovoseas
post Sep 11 2021, 12:22 AM

353 posts

https://shopee.com.my/B-XL-Ceiling-Mounted-...2318?position=0

try this?
mini orchard
post Sep 11 2021, 06:04 AM

14,511 posts

TS1234_4321
post Sep 11 2021, 10:00 AM

328 posts

QUOTE(kesvani @ Sep 11 2021, 12:00 AM)
Good luck then hang on brick wall
Do you have similar experience if the brick wall can last such weight?
TS1234_4321
post Sep 11 2021, 10:10 AM

328 posts

QUOTE(Crovoseas @ Sep 11 2021, 12:22 AM)
Will have a look, thanks!
cdspins
post Sep 11 2021, 10:35 AM

2,714 posts

Depends on what you want to dry...if too heavy. It won't last. This is because the screw points are all very close together. The weight will be distributed to the packed screw points in that particular area only
kesvani
post Sep 11 2021, 12:03 PM

956 posts

QUOTE(1234_4321 @ Sep 11 2021, 10:00 AM)
Do you have similar experience if the brick wall can last such weight?
It depend on type of fasterner you use. But the kind unlikely to use heavy duty fasterner
empire
post Sep 11 2021, 11:27 PM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(Crovoseas @ Sep 11 2021, 12:22 AM)
I have this. DONT buy!

The pulley handle will putus after 1-2 years. I was not even rough when using it. Now I cant control the height of the hanging bar anymore.

those comments are written a few days after the seller installed for them so of course you wont read any negavtive reviews. I used it after 1 year plus and suffered this mishap.
empire
post Sep 11 2021, 11:28 PM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Sep 11 2021, 06:04 AM)
Buy this. Good thing is after your clothes are dry...you can push the rack back into the wall. It doesnt take up any floor space at all.
Crovoseas
post Sep 12 2021, 12:39 AM

353 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Sep 11 2021, 11:27 PM)
I have this. DONT buy!

The pulley handle will putus after 1-2 years. I was not even rough when using it. Now I cant control the height of the hanging bar anymore.

those comments are written a few days after the seller installed for them so of course you wont read any negavtive reviews. I used it after 1 year plus and suffered this mishap.
I never use it. Maybe get those electric type one (my friend is using, not the one in the link)

https://shopee.com.my/EngHong-Electric-Ceil...d=0&position=-1.

QUOTE(empire @ Sep 11 2021, 11:28 PM)
Buy this. Good thing is after your clothes are dry...you can push the rack back into the wall. It doesnt take up any floor space at all.
I installed this at my yard area (condo). Not sure ts's balcony has space for this type.
empire
post Sep 12 2021, 10:48 PM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(1234_4321 @ Sep 10 2021, 11:01 PM)
Hello All,

Wanna seek for opinion on drying rack.
My balcony is quite small in size, and the traditional drying rack will be space consuming.
Would like to reserve the place for some light planting & coffee table.

Anyone of you use this kind of wall mounted drying rack?
Is that practical & lasting?

If yes, any good model/brand to recommend ah?
Thanks!

send a photo of your balcony for us to evaluate how to advise you
Lurker
post Sep 13 2021, 12:32 PM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Sep 11 2021, 11:27 PM)
I have this. DONT buy!

not user-replaceable/servicable?

This post has been edited by Lurker: Sep 13 2021, 12:33 PM
empire
post Sep 13 2021, 04:15 PM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Sep 13 2021, 12:32 PM)
not user-replaceable/servicable?
nope.
kiyo16
post Sep 15 2021, 04:09 PM

157 posts

Last I was in a condo I just got a cheap ikea drying rack. I only put next to my balcony cos it cant even fit but at least it can dry my clothes
SUSceo684
post Sep 16 2021, 03:00 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Sep 11 2021, 06:04 AM)
This type in use at my condo (from previous owner era, and we also used it for over a decade) should be ~20 years now and still going strong.

Basically it mounts using some sort of sleeve anchor, which easily tahan few hundred kg each, but sleeve anchor in brickwall must be SPACED out from each other + positioned inside enough from edges, else cannot tahan. There is some issue with brickwall as bricks are not 100% solid, they have holes and voids in the bricks (depending on pattern), and also length of anchor need to be long enough to account for the first 1cm or so is "useless" plaster.

Too many fixings, spaced too closely together, can actually reduce the holding power. They should be spaced a minimum of ten anchor diameters apart and be no closer than five diameters from an unsupported edge.
https://anchorfixings.com/sleeve-anchors-a-...upported%20edge.

It is also recommended to use a SDS rotary hammer if you are on concrete wall. SDS rotohammer drill straight and true "circle" nod.gif whereas impact drill with "toy hammer" tend to snake (not straight) and/or makes oval holes which reduce the ability of the anchor.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Sep 16 2021, 03:06 AM
empire
post Sep 16 2021, 12:56 PM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Sep 16 2021, 03:00 AM)
This type in use at my condo (from previous owner era, and we also used it for over a decade) should be ~20 years now and still going strong.

Basically it mounts using some sort of sleeve anchor, which easily tahan few hundred kg each, but sleeve anchor in brickwall must be SPACED out from each other + positioned inside enough from edges, else cannot tahan. There is some issue with brickwall as bricks are not 100% solid, they have holes and voids in the bricks (depending on pattern), and also length of anchor need to be long enough to account for the first 1cm or so is "useless" plaster.

https://anchorfixings.com/sleeve-anchors-a-...upported%20edge.

It is also recommended to use a SDS rotary hammer if you are on concrete wall. SDS rotohammer drill straight and true "circle"  nod.gif whereas impact drill with "toy hammer" tend to snake (not straight) and/or makes oval holes which reduce the ability of the anchor.
Man...the way you explained is like an engineer. rclxms.gif

0.0262sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 08:09 AM