PS2 8MB Memory Card., Ori vs Non-Ori ...
TSstormaker
Sep 12 2007, 08:26 AM, updated 19y ago
Hi, May I know what is the different between the ori and non-ori 8MB PS2 memory card in terms of realiability, durability and performance ? Also, the packaging for both of them is the same, so how do I differentiate them ? Thanks !
Gahleon
Sep 12 2007, 12:47 PM

My original bought on 2001 still work now,althou full already lol.
TSstormaker
Sep 12 2007, 01:10 PM
QUOTE(Gahleon @ Sep 12 2007, 12:47 PM) My original bought on 2001 still work now,althou full already lol. I think there should be no doubt on original one, but it's expensive, RM75. Non-ori one only RM45, but will it have same level of quality ?
asfiezul
Sep 12 2007, 03:16 PM

hurm.. from my experience, the non ori card are really easy to corrupt its game save..
haha.. never know.. but i dun encourage it.. but, i should say, buy original coz yeah, its pricy, but, eventually they know that gamers exist in Malaysia, price might go down.. even not as cheap as the pirated..
Sep 12 2007, 03:18 PM
hehehe that is not true! My none ORI mem card has been used for 5 years and no problem at all, just that it is full
young_soul
Sep 12 2007, 04:06 PM
yeah, I used non-ori mem card also no problem. Just take care of it well...don't take out, plug in, take out, plug in etc and it'll be fine
shinjite
Sep 12 2007, 08:41 PM
My ori 8mb PS2 MC serves me well for 6 years already and still going strong
msn83235502
Sep 12 2007, 09:46 PM
non ori has shining surface.. original is flat blakk..
Monster Hunter G
Sep 12 2007, 10:58 PM

My advise is go for the original Memory Card. Most unknown third party party memory card that contains more memory usually have trouble saving the game and sometimes even corrupting the saves files completely. There is one game I know that don't like third party cards, Resident Evil 4. A lot of people complained about their saves getting corrupted while saving in that game
TSstormaker
Sep 13 2007, 08:17 AM
Thank you all for the valuable feedbacks. Now only i know the different between ori and non-ori physically. And I'm not aware that i'm actually using non-ori memory card which given when i bought the PS2 1 month ago ... i thought it's ori. And i'm having problem saving or load games with the ono-ori memory card when playing Hitman: Blood Money, Resident Evil 4 ( as Monster Hunter G said ) and Splinter Cell: Double Agent, but before this I don't know the reason bcos I thought I'm using ori one. Copying between ori and non-ori card will corrupt the card as well.
Conclusion, I bought an original memory card at RM69.90 and I will try to play Hitman: Blood Money, Resident Evil 4 and Splinter Cell: Double Agent again and try the game save and load.
Thank you all !