Cukai Taksiran DBKL (July to Dec 2021)

TScontestchris
post Sep 3 2021, 04:14 PM, updated 5y ago

5,562 posts

I got a sub sale property, where the transaction completed in April 2021.

I’ve yet to move in. Yesterday I check the mailbox, I see a cukai taksiran DBKL. It says to pay by 31 August 2021.

Some questions as DBKL website is unclear and I can’t find info on this online (DBKL not picking up the phone too):

1) Why is this to previous owner name if we already completed transaction in April 2021?

2) Am I supposed to change name? And if so, should I pay right away, or change name first?

3) How much denda for paying late?

4) Other than this, what other “hidden” things must pay for and change name? So far I’ve taken care of TNB and Air Selangor. Am I missing out on other things? This is a freehold condo in KL area.

Thanks!

This post has been edited by contestchris: Sep 3 2021, 04:15 PM
taitianhin
post Sep 3 2021, 04:26 PM

Look at my STARS, it never burn out
1,523 posts

1) Why is this to previous owner name if we already completed transaction in April 2021?
- Previous name or not, the unit will be yours to take. That cukai is still address to that unit
Just apply to change name when you are free. Bring ori SPA and copy of front and back few pages.

2) Am I supposed to change name? And if so, should I pay right away, or change name first?
- Change name can do anytime. Pay now if can, can pay via Mobis App to earn CC cashback if there is any, just download the App. The cukai is address to that unit. Any late payment will still be calculated it missed the due date. But usually not much, but is there.

- i rmb there is basic + late....somewhere at RM20 at least? anyone check it recently? 10%-18% late charges.

4) Other than this, what other “hidden” things must pay for and change name? So far I’ve taken care of TNB and Air Selangor. Am I missing out on other things? This is a freehold condo in KL area.

- If is landed, you may want to check Cukai Tanah
https://www.ptgwp.gov.my/etanah-awam/EBayar...TanahForm.xhtml

If is condo, usually management will pay one lump sum on yearly basis. Is included in the monthly maintenance fee

** just fyi... after SPA completed, theses Bill should be zerorise when change name.
- Cukai Tanah, Cukai Pintu, Building Maintenance

This post has been edited by taitianhin: Sep 3 2021, 04:30 PM
bigman
post Sep 3 2021, 04:29 PM

4,226 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Sep 3 2021, 04:14 PM)
I got a sub sale property, where the transaction completed in April 2021.

I’ve yet to move in. Yesterday I check the mailbox, I see a cukai taksiran DBKL. It says to pay by 31 August 2021.

Some questions as DBKL website is unclear and I can’t find info on this online (DBKL not picking up the phone too):

Thanks!
1. Your lawyer and seller lawyer not doing the job lor... anyway you need do your own now... bring the SnP copy to the DBKL and request to change your name...Got form to fill in.

2. Since the property already under your name...so you need to pay the assessment fee. The transfer of name can do later.

3. Denda very cheap only... RM5 to RM20 per assessment

4. Still got cukai tanah (or cukai petak for strata property)... The condo maintenance account also need change name...that easy only...go management office to request change name
vinceleo
post Sep 3 2021, 04:47 PM

1,023 posts

Lawyers will not perform the name change with local authority

QUOTE(bigman @ Sep 3 2021, 04:29 PM)
1. Your lawyer and seller lawyer not doing the job lor... anyway you need do your own now... bring the SnP copy to the DBKL and request to change your name...Got form to fill in.

2. Since the property already under your name...so you need to pay the assessment fee. The transfer of name can do later.

3. Denda very cheap only... RM5 to RM20 per assessment

4. Still got cukai tanah (or cukai petak for strata property)... The condo maintenance account also need change name...that easy only...go management office to request change name
TScontestchris
post Sep 3 2021, 08:49 PM

5,562 posts

QUOTE(taitianhin @ Sep 3 2021, 04:26 PM)
- Previous name or not, the unit will be yours to take. That cukai is still address to that unit
Just apply to change name when you are free. Bring ori SPA and copy of front and back few pages.

- Change name can do anytime. Pay now if can, can pay via Mobis App to earn CC cashback if there is any, just download the App. The cukai is address to that unit. Any late payment will still be calculated it missed the due date. But usually not much, but is there.

- i rmb there is basic + late....somewhere at RM20 at least? anyone check it recently? 10%-18% late charges.

- If is landed, you may want to check Cukai Tanah
https://www.ptgwp.gov.my/etanah-awam/EBayar...TanahForm.xhtml

If is condo, usually management will pay one lump sum on yearly basis. Is included in the monthly maintenance fee

** just fyi... after SPA completed, theses Bill should be zerorise when change name.
- Cukai Tanah, Cukai Pintu, Building Maintenance
Thanks so much for the reply.

What’s the difference between cukai tanah and cukai pintu?

Also, I can see that one thing else that was prorated was cukai petak.

Then there is cukai taksiran DBKL (which is what this thread is about).

How many cukai then need to take care of?
Windzneom
post Sep 4 2021, 02:58 PM

532 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Sep 3 2021, 08:49 PM)
Thanks so much for the reply.

What’s the difference between cukai tanah and cukai pintu?

Also, I can see that one thing else that was prorated was cukai petak.

Then there is cukai taksiran DBKL (which is what this thread is about).

How many cukai then need to take care of?
Cukai Tanah/tafsiran is for the land your house in sitting on for landed and Cukai Petak is for apartment, condominium or high rise. Cukai Pintu is for fixing the signal light, lamp post, landscape outside.

taitianhin
post Sep 4 2021, 08:41 PM

Look at my STARS, it never burn out
1,523 posts

QUOTE(Windzneom @ Sep 4 2021, 02:58 PM)
Cukai Tanah/tafsiran is for the land your house in sitting on for landed and Cukai Petak is for apartment, condominium or high rise. Cukai Pintu is for fixing the signal light, lamp post, landscape outside.
Quick rent - Cukai Pintu - by DBKL/MPSJ/MPK - For rubbish collection, lamp post, Street Cleaning. For the services they provided.

Cukai Tanah-State- Tax collected for the land we own. Which probably translate into earning of the King too...

Cukai Petak? Do we pay by monthly? I never pay this b4...

This post has been edited by taitianhin: Sep 4 2021, 08:42 PM
TScontestchris
post Sep 5 2021, 11:31 PM

5,562 posts

QUOTE(Windzneom @ Sep 4 2021, 02:58 PM)
Just to clarify, for condo in KL, what is applicable?

Only cukai Taksiran and cukai petak, or also include cukai pintu? Cause I can only see cukai Taksiran and cukai petak for my unit, afraid I’m missing out on anything else.
ycyyjoanne P
post Sep 7 2021, 02:50 PM

Probation
19 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Sep 5 2021, 11:31 PM)
Just to clarify, for condo in KL, what is applicable?

Only cukai Taksiran and cukai petak, or also include cukai pintu? Cause I can only see cukai Taksiran and cukai petak for my unit, afraid I’m missing out on anything else.
payable items for condo:-

1) cukai tanah/petak (quit rent) which is to be paid yearly to land office
2) cukai taksiran/pintu (assessment) which is to be paid twice a year to city council
3) Indah Water
4) Management (include service charges, sinking fund, fire insurance)
5) TNB
6) Syabas (if has individual meter already)

In the event your lawyer has attended to the change of name with DBKL on your behalf, do request for a copy of acknowledgement. Usually DBKL do take months to attend to the change of name.

TScontestchris
post Sep 7 2021, 02:59 PM

5,562 posts

QUOTE(ycyyjoanne @ Sep 7 2021, 02:50 PM)
payable items for condo:-

1) cukai tanah/petak (quit rent) which is to be paid yearly to land office
2) cukai taksiran/pintu (assessment) which is to be paid twice a year to city council
3) Indah Water
4) Management (include service charges, sinking fund, fire insurance)
5) TNB
6) Syabas (if has individual meter already)
In the event your lawyer has attended to the change of name with DBKL on your behalf, do request for a copy of acknowledgement. Usually DBKL do take months to attend to the change of name.
Okay this is helpful.

I've paid the cukai taksiran through the app...it didn't charge me a denda. Will still need to pay denda later on?

I've settled 4, 5, 6. Need to settle 1, 2 and 3 now.

For 1, still need to do on our own is it? Lawyers don't do it during the buying process by default?
ycyyjoanne P
post Sep 7 2021, 11:05 PM

Probation
19 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Sep 7 2021, 02:59 PM)
Okay this is helpful.

I've paid the cukai taksiran through the app...it didn't charge me a denda. Will still need to pay denda later on?
About the denda I'm not sure. You may need to wait for the next statement to check OR check upon you attend to the change of name.

I've settled 4, 5, 6. Need to settle 1, 2 and 3 now.
For item 3, you can just email IWK together with the relevant pages of the SPA informing them that you are the new owner. Make sure you quote the account number. You should have the last statement from your lawyer right?

For 1, still need to do on our own is it? Lawyers don't do it during the buying process by default?
Has your property title duly registered in your favour?
By default it will change to the new owner's name automatically upon registering the title in your favour. However, if you are worried you may double check it online. Otherwise you may wait and see if you received the next statement probably next year.

TScontestchris
post Sep 7 2021, 11:16 PM

5,562 posts

QUOTE(ycyyjoanne @ Sep 7 2021, 11:05 PM)

Appreciate everyone's responses. Just submitted Borang I and J to DBKL.

Next up, Indah Water.

As for the ownership name with the land office for the cukai petak, how can I check this online yeah?
ycyyjoanne P
post Sep 8 2021, 11:50 AM

Probation
19 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Sep 7 2021, 11:16 PM)
Appreciate everyone's responses. Just submitted Borang I and J to DBKL.

Next up, Indah Water.

As for the ownership name with the land office for the cukai petak, how can I check this online yeah?
I'm unable to share the link.
You may google etanah ptgwp. You have to login and check from there.

0.0169sec    0.62    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:23 AM