plan to get the new imac..
just wanna ask whether the ram used in imac are the same as the notebook ram sold outside??
Hardware imac ram, question
Sep 11 2007, 06:36 PM, updated 19y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
134 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
plan to get the new imac..
just wanna ask whether the ram used in imac are the same as the notebook ram sold outside?? |
Sep 11 2007, 07:55 PM
3,488 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Petaling Jaya |
another genius.
go and search first. |
Sep 11 2007, 08:08 PM
3,952 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Sector 1921B, Delta Quadrant |
Sep 11 2007, 08:44 PM
1,852 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
maybe we should pinned one thread about basic information on mac
Sep 11 2007, 11:11 PM
134 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
im a noob, no doubt..
so , the ram used in the imacs are the same as those notebook rams Added on September 11, 2007, 11:16 pmya.. one more ques.. what is the diff between the two graphics cards..128mb ati radeon hd 2400 xt and the 256mb ati radeon hd 2600 pro? is it better quality display for the 256mb?? support more games for the 256mb?? which one would you choose.. This post has been edited by munsheng: Sep 11 2007, 11:16 PM |
Sep 12 2007, 01:41 PM
13,495 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: KL, Malaysia |
@munsheng,
The information u've asked is available on LYN - just do a quick search and u'll get the info - don't even need to bother to google it !! *gulps* Well, just a tip - the iMac RAM's 'interchangeable' with my MBP RAMs - go figure out what that means [i don't like spoon feeding, unless I'm at the v end of the spoon! *hAHahAHahA*] As to the graphic cards ... well, i'll go for the 256MB ATI RADEON 2600 PRO. Whatever it means, I've no idea but I would assume the 256MB one is better than the 128MB one and muAhahAHahAHahHAhaHAHahAH if affordability is no issue, i always like to go for the best |
Sep 12 2007, 06:22 PM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Sep 12 2007, 01:41 PM) @munsheng, i wonder why you didn't go for the 17" MBP then.... The information u've asked is available on LYN - just do a quick search and u'll get the info - don't even need to bother to google it !! *gulps* Well, just a tip - the iMac RAM's 'interchangeable' with my MBP RAMs - go figure out what that means [i don't like spoon feeding, unless I'm at the v end of the spoon! *hAHahAHahA*] As to the graphic cards ... well, i'll go for the 256MB ATI RADEON 2600 PRO. Whatever it means, I've no idea but I would assume the 256MB one is better than the 128MB one and muAhahAHahAHahHAhaHAHahAH if affordability is no issue, i always like to go for the best |
Sep 13 2007, 01:32 AM
5,515 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
Sep 13 2007, 01:54 AM
Sep 13 2007, 03:30 AM
601 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: [Shah Alam]/Melbourne |
QUOTE(Eithanius @ Sep 12 2007, 06:22 PM) portability issues, perhaps?? Some people (including myself) would pick the smaller & lighter 15" for the sake of better portability, despite there being a 17" one...back to the topic.... munsheng, yes the ram used in the new imacs are the same as notebook ram, but take note that there's lots of types of notebook memory... for the the new imacs you should look for 667MHz DDR2 (PC2-5300) SO-DIMM memory modules... The imac has 2 memory slots, which can take up to 2gb each, for a total of 4GB ram... It seems like you're considering between the two 20" models... I'd pick the 256mb ati radeon hd 2600 pro over the 128mb ati radeon hd 2400 xt, which means buying the 2.4GHz model... The extra RM1000 is worth it, if you ask me... If display quality and color accuracy is your concern, u might wanna consider the 24" 2.4GHz.... The screen is not only bigger, but the LCD panel is 24-bit, compared to 18-bit panels used for the 20"... |
Sep 13 2007, 04:13 AM
Sep 13 2007, 09:07 AM
3,488 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Petaling Jaya |
"display quality and color accuracy"
from a glossy display? eh Eithanius, looks like people still don't get it, huh? iMac is a consumer Mac. if you need colour accuracy, don't buy a glossy display |
Sep 13 2007, 09:42 AM
@Eithanius,
I certainly have no idea I'd accumulated so many bf's on AppleByte! I didn't go for the 17" MBP because I couldn't afford it (affordability WAS an issue!) and I had no intentions of lugging around something that heavy - I'm oredi complaining about the current weight of the 15" MBP !!! *grins* @xaw5126, Perhaps he wants to check colour accuracy of the actual printed work [printed with UV/gloss finished?] *grins* |
Sep 13 2007, 12:47 PM
QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Sep 13 2007, 09:07 AM) "display quality and color accuracy" lolx.... Thank god I abandoned the imac + mbp combo plan.... Though I missed my old imac g5.... from a glossy display? eh Eithanius, looks like people still don't get it, huh? iMac is a consumer Mac. if you need colour accuracy, don't buy a glossy display QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Sep 13 2007, 09:42 AM) @Eithanius, In case you wanna chuck your mbp away for something less, do take note that I'm the interested fella at the receiving end... I certainly have no idea I'd accumulated so many bf's on AppleByte! I didn't go for the 17" MBP because I couldn't afford it (affordability WAS an issue!) and I had no intentions of lugging around something that heavy - I'm oredi complaining about the current weight of the 15" MBP !!! *grins* » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Sep 13 2007, 01:18 PM
381 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Eithanius @ Sep 13 2007, 12:47 PM) lolx.... Thank god I abandoned the imac + mbp combo plan.... Though I missed my old imac g5.... I'm planning to get 13.3" Core 2 Duo 2.16GHz (White) and planning to upgrade the RAM to 2 Gig. How much do you think is the one piece 1 gig ram?In case you wanna chuck your mbp away for something less, do take note that I'm the interested fella at the receiving end... » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Sep 13 2007, 02:40 PM
4,398 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Ram upgrade can be done by ourself.
Check lowyat's shop price list and you get the price. |
Sep 13 2007, 10:08 PM
@Eithanius,
It doesn't look as if I'm going to abandon this MBP of mine anytime soon - though i still haven't taken it back to the shop to get my On/Off button fixed [i should get that done soon before I get into trouble but muahHAhaHAHaha LAZY lah!] but the thought of not having the MBP with me is a problem especially since my entire 'office' travels with me most of the time *grins* |
Sep 14 2007, 02:50 AM
2,642 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Penang |
guy
do u think normal Value Ram latency is same with the MF expensive Kingston so called KTA series ram? i read corair model and see no different. i rather get better performace than more load |
Sep 14 2007, 10:24 AM
6,738 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia | Eau Claire, Wisconsin |
Uncle Google can help you with this question.
Sep 14 2007, 11:27 AM
770 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
u can get answers from here too
use the same ram http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&hl=macbook+ram |
| Change to: | 0.0183sec
5 queries