Buying gaming laptop from shopee
TSSamReynolds
Aug 27 2021, 06:00 PM, updated 5y ago
Is it safe buying laptop from shopee?. The seller sells alot of ancillary computer accessories and cheap random items in high volume. Some of the junk has 1 stars like 50 1 star reviews out of 1.7k reviews. Of the random 1000 items he has the gaming laptop i desire and also sells printers & printer spares.
The seller does have a preferred tag, the item i want is asus laptop has had 2 buys and both users left 5 stars review. Laptop cost 8k, should i use shopee pay for safety or take the credit card with 0% installment plan?. Or backout and wait, kl/pj doesnt have much stock even at brick and mortar.
[update edit]
Thank you everyone for you inputs, recommendations, shared experience and comments. There is no stock for the laptop i want even from the big online stores and brick & mortar. Ive decided to wait for the next batch and shoot the minute it arrives at lowyat instead of trying my luck at shopee preferred stores. FYI for other readers the laptop model im seeking is available on lazada but when i called their customer service there is no stock & no eta.
Greatday.
This post has been edited by SamReynolds: Aug 29 2021, 01:29 PM
acbc
Aug 27 2021, 06:01 PM
High risk of being stolen while in transit.
yaphong
Aug 27 2021, 06:02 PM
I bought my ASUS laptop via Lazada before too. I even called the shop and negotiated for discount.
I got my unit as intended but later I also visited their store physically in Lowyat for some checking. I think it is a risk that you need to consider and if you really worried, then just buy at shops.
SUSM4A1
Aug 27 2021, 06:03 PM
i will never buy anything that cost over rm500 online
the risk is too great
pisces88
Aug 27 2021, 06:04 PM
Pm seller. Ask whether got shop, buy from shop
mazmanms
i bought msi gaming notebook during this pandemic and all goes ok.
FusionXY
It depends on which courier handling your parcel. Order from Shopee and Lazada depend on your luck. Got few cases of stolen laptop during transit.
tvcat
Aug 27 2021, 06:05 PM
QUOTE(M4A1 @ Aug 27 2021, 06:03 PM) i will never buy anything that cost over rm500 online the risk is too great can get refund if not getting the item bro to TS kalau takut bayar lebih atau beli dekat kedai, senang kan
msacras
Out of so many sellers you picked one with so many red flags and asked us if you should proceed? KEK
pandah
for such an expensive item it is better to buy from official or just get from trusted shop.
even if it is genuine you may face issue like shitty delivery.
SUSM4A1
Aug 27 2021, 06:07 PM
QUOTE(tvcat @ Aug 27 2021, 06:05 PM) can get refund if not getting the item bro to TS kalau takut bayar lebih atau beli dekat kedai, senang kan many issue , other then refund also refund take time...you also get worry if the amount is huge like TS rm8k leh and what about during transportation also...campak here campak there...sakit hati la wey rm8k the risk is too great. sorry lor, i rather drive out , buy and balik... rm8 ok la...rm80 ok...rm8k...no thanks
TSSamReynolds
Aug 27 2021, 06:08 PM
QUOTE(msacras @ Aug 27 2021, 06:05 PM) Out of so many sellers you picked one with so many red flags and asked us if you should proceed? KEK The laptop is out of stock everywhere, only scalpers and whoever has it has rm 600 markup. Even brick and mortar doesnt have stock.
msacras
Aug 27 2021, 06:09 PM
QUOTE(SamReynolds @ Aug 27 2021, 06:08 PM) The laptop is out of stock everywhere, only scalpers and whoever has it has rm 600 markup. Even brick and mortar doesnt have stock. And you picked one with so many red flags asking if it’s gonna be OK?
TSSamReynolds
Aug 27 2021, 06:10 PM
Many sellers online web/shopee/lazada has ads for sale. But there not in stock and after mutiple calls whatsapp ive found out from a seller that told me the truth that there is no eta.
SUSBug Juice
Aug 27 2021, 06:10 PM
QUOTE(acbc @ Aug 27 2021, 06:01 PM) High risk of being stolen while in transit. Or kolea guy on his period toss the laptop hard hard
TSSamReynolds
Aug 27 2021, 06:11 PM
QUOTE(msacras @ Aug 27 2021, 06:09 PM) And you picked one with so many red flags asking if it’s gonna be OK? You have a point. Thanks msacras.
FusionXY
QUOTE(pandah @ Aug 27 2021, 06:05 PM) for such an expensive item it is better to buy from official or just get from trusted shop. even if it is genuine you may face issue like shitty delivery. Last time got someone order acer laptop from Acer NBP then got stolen.
UrbanGraduate
I buy pen drive online
Ok can nego
andrewtho
Aug 27 2021, 06:12 PM
Validate the seller first, look at reviews and if got Preferred Badge or from Official Store then should be ok.
I recently bought my Razer Blade from the Razer Official Store on Shopee, opted for Lalamove delivery - all good, safe and sound.
Boldnut
Aug 27 2021, 06:12 PM
QUOTE(M4A1 @ Aug 27 2021, 06:03 PM) i will never buy anything that cost over rm500 online the risk is too great nothing wrong if buy directly from Laptop maker for example direct from Lenovo or DELL