Acer Nitro 5 VS Illegear Arte 14, Which is better?

TSKar Weng
post Aug 22 2021, 11:34 PM, updated 5y ago

Kar Weng | Physiotherapist
840 posts

Acer Nitro 5 Ryzen 5 (RM 3,699)

Illegear Arte 14 (RM 4,370 Cash Price)

I'm not an IT geek so I'm not exactly sure how to compare specs. I'm leaning towards Arte 14 cause I personally love the lighter weight. But does it come with its own setback other than the more expensive price tag?

Comparing both of them, who has a better value for money?

jetblast
post Aug 22 2021, 11:41 PM

1,039 posts

What are your use needs. Are you gaming and require high fps? Or are you more into multimedia stuff
jetblast
post Aug 23 2021, 12:03 AM

1,039 posts

Have a look at the realme if you just need a more business notebook. Special offer on 27 Aug.
https://www.lowyat.net/2021/250246/realme-b...aysia-official/
TSKar Weng
post Aug 23 2021, 10:59 PM

840 posts

QUOTE(jetblast @ Aug 22 2021, 11:41 PM)
What are your use needs. Are you gaming and require high fps? Or are you more into multimedia stuff
Will a gaming laptop also be good at video editing?

I might play light games like Dota2 and do light editing like videos below 30mins.

Acer Nitro 5 should be sufficient right?
miyeonevermioff
post Aug 23 2021, 11:52 PM

295 posts

saw multiple forums complaining illegear battery swollen/ warranty claim experience suck... better buy with some reliable brands
miyeonevermioff
post Aug 23 2021, 11:58 PM

295 posts

illegear probably not a good choice with that specs although the screen is really good. acer nitro 5 has better specs but a bad screen tho. u might see washed out colours with the acer although it has high refresh rate.

i recommend you to get the lenovo ideapad 5 pro 16 since u have the budget to go rm 4k.
ideapad 5 pro 16 has a nice screen with wide srgb coverage, better gpu (gtx 1650), better processor than the illegear. lenovo is a good laptop company too

u can buy it thru shopee, i think have ready stock

just my personal opinion
miyeonevermioff
post Aug 23 2021, 11:59 PM

295 posts

if u dont mind with a washed out screen, just get the acer nitro, since u do video editing don't expect much with intel
TSKar Weng
post Aug 24 2021, 01:03 AM

840 posts

QUOTE(miyeonevermioff @ Aug 23 2021, 11:58 PM)
illegear probably not a good choice with that specs although the screen is really good. acer nitro 5 has better specs but a bad screen tho. u might see washed out colours with the acer although it has high refresh rate.

i recommend you to get the lenovo ideapad 5 pro 16 since u have the budget to go rm 4k.
ideapad 5 pro 16 has a nice screen with wide srgb coverage, better gpu (gtx 1650), better processor than the illegear. lenovo is a good laptop company too

u can buy it thru shopee, i think have ready stock

just my personal opinion
Do you happen to have a link of the laptop you're recommending? There are so many versions of it under the same / similar names and it tends to get confusing.

I don't really care about bad screen, it's just a bonus to have color-accurate screen. I'd love it if the laptop is lightweight and has a lot of storage space and doesn't lag too much when I edit vids/play games.
miyeonevermioff
post Aug 24 2021, 01:47 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(Kar Weng @ Aug 24 2021, 01:03 AM)
Do you happen to have a link of the laptop you're recommending? There are so many versions of it under the same / similar names and it tends to get confusing.

I don't really care about bad screen, it's just a bonus to have color-accurate screen. I'd love it if the laptop is lightweight and has a lot of storage space and doesn't lag too much when I edit vids/play games.
https://shopee.com.my/product/40584753/7154...91-1629740390.9
not sure about the cooling performance but just dont play cyberpunk 2077 max graphics lol

*if you're not in a hurry to get this, i recommend u to buy from here: https://www.lenovo.com/my/en/d/laptops-by-s...ayoutType=grid#

currently the ideapad 5 pro 16 version is out of stock, maybe u can buy the 14" version but takes time to ship especially customised.

if u hate waiting for 1 month or more, try buy from the shopee link
miyeonevermioff
post Aug 24 2021, 01:49 AM

295 posts

take note that u could even get a better price than the original if u chat with lenovo customer service....
TSKar Weng
post Aug 24 2021, 11:42 AM

840 posts

QUOTE(miyeonevermioff @ Aug 24 2021, 01:49 AM)
take note that u could even get a better price than the original if u chat with lenovo customer service....
So you’re saying price could be negotiable?
miyeonevermioff
post Aug 24 2021, 11:47 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(Kar Weng @ Aug 24 2021, 11:42 AM)
So you’re saying price could be negotiable?
not exactly negotiable, they kind of give you a quotation/ recommended promo code
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4784297/+2040
u can check out this forum

BIRTHDAY
STOCKTAKESALE
THINKCENTRE
MASTERCARD
CITI30
LENXCIMB
IPRICE

these are common promo codes, try out which gives a better discount on the laptop model u want first. then u mention something like this to the customer service: is there a better price than MASTERCARD promo code for the lenovo ideapad 5 pro?
liam111
post Aug 24 2021, 05:56 PM

Illegear Arte got perfect keyboard and body build, but the performance and battery life macam a bit lower compared to the 15.6 inch ionic touch.

For Illegear warranty claim, I personally own their first gen Onyx and I can say their service turnaround time is very fast compared to my other laptop brands.
TSKar Weng
post Aug 25 2021, 08:41 PM

840 posts

QUOTE(liam111 @ Aug 24 2021, 05:56 PM)
For Illegear warranty claim, I personally own their first gen Onyx and I can say their service turnaround time is very fast compared to my other laptop brands.
Well sadly, they don't exactly have a reputation of delivering consistent product & good customer service. Maybe it depends a lot on your luck who you called
TSKar Weng
post Aug 25 2021, 08:42 PM

840 posts

QUOTE(miyeonevermioff @ Aug 24 2021, 11:47 AM)
not exactly negotiable, they kind of give you a quotation/ recommended promo code
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4784297/+2040
u can check out this forum

BIRTHDAY
STOCKTAKESALE
THINKCENTRE
MASTERCARD
CITI30
LENXCIMB
IPRICE

these are common promo codes, try out which gives a better discount on the laptop model u want first. then u mention something like this to the customer service: is there a better price than MASTERCARD promo code for the lenovo ideapad 5 pro?
Thanks for the info, will look into that.
miyeonevermioff
post Aug 25 2021, 08:45 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(Kar Weng @ Aug 25 2021, 08:42 PM)
Thanks for the info, will look into that.
sure man, good luck ✌️
Kairyu
post Aug 30 2021, 02:38 PM

226 posts

My bro and I using Nitro 5 and we find it so far so good. He also an animator so he does some video and animate editing. He seems fine working with it even tho Nitro 5 is an gaming laptop. He said no issue at all using it for video editing. Hope this helps biggrin.gif
sheerwin
post Sep 2 2021, 02:47 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(Kar Weng @ Aug 22 2021, 11:34 PM)
Acer Nitro 5 Ryzen 5 (RM 3,699)

Illegear Arte 14 (RM 4,370 Cash Price)

I'm not an IT geek so I'm not exactly sure how to compare specs. I'm leaning towards Arte 14 cause I personally love the lighter weight. But does it come with its own setback other than the more expensive price tag?

Comparing both of them, who has a better value for money?
acer nitro 5 is my 1st choice if u r comparing with illegear, personally has bad experience with illegear laptop build quality. u might wan to refer to this thread before u hit the buy button

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5181300
zeskyking
post Sep 2 2021, 08:24 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(sheerwin @ Sep 2 2021, 02:47 PM)
acer nitro 5 is my 1st choice if u r comparing with illegear, personally has bad experience with illegear laptop build quality. u might wan to refer to this thread before u hit the buy button

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5181300
Dude, you work for Acer? All your posts are promoting Acer.
PJng
post Sep 2 2021, 10:34 PM

12,057 posts

QUOTE(zeskyking @ Sep 2 2021, 08:24 PM)
Dude, you work for Acer? All your posts are promoting Acer.
Kairyu also, all post is acer, paid to promote acer product?

0.0271sec    0.36    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:40 PM