Best tyre for Myvi

zeng
post Aug 20 2021, 07:45 PM

1,810 posts

Most probably a Myvi's preferred Front camber is unfriendly to cornering at high enough speed.

I would first sort out this , and think about how to deal with rear camber and toes which are factory un-adjustable because it has a rear torsion beam?

This post has been edited by zeng: Aug 20 2021, 07:46 PM
zeng
post Aug 21 2021, 11:21 AM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Aug 21 2021, 02:08 AM)
keehin OKR very good service and fast, fresh tyre.
alignment also great.
price will not beat klang but reasonable for KL area.
no camber scam issue.
I run 2 sets of PS3 from keehin already.
Negative 1 camber as prescribed by kee hin also can botak outside edge of then-PP2 when I drove my godcar like hell.
Glad to know that Kee Hin gave you negative 1° camber that improves your driving experience, probably after being told and listened to you of your desired/preferred driving style.

Btw, can you advise whether Kee Hin can make adjustments to a Myvi rear alignment angles which I supposed is a Rear torsion beam design?

No, your Myvi must already had previously replaced the factory Front strut bolt(s) (which are concentric) with an after-market eccentric camber bolts otherwise Kee Hin can't give your Myvi a negative 1° front camber. So your bolts were not stock?

Can you confirm this?

This post has been edited by zeng: Aug 21 2021, 11:23 AM
zeng
post Oct 5 2022, 11:27 AM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(deathninjax @ Oct 4 2022, 04:30 PM)
i changed all 4 tyres with XM2+. happy with them so far. seems quieter and smoother drive. I didnt go for ps3 or ps4 because i would need to change the rims.
So did you manage to screen shot the Before alignment readings indicating poor alignment angles that I strongly suspect contributing to your accident?

You'd then understeer or oversteer problem during cornering/turning when the accident happens right?
zeng
post Dec 23 2022, 10:35 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(Waliuuu @ Dec 23 2022, 06:11 PM)
Also while alignment that guy told me my camber bengkok, ask me to change to their camber screw @ RM90 for standard and RM150 for better one.. But then I also came across this camber screw scam issue thread not long ago..

You're damn wrong and misleading on the bold above.

The concept of eccentric front camber screw/bolt is real and genuine as a way of providing adjustability to Front cambers.

It IS applicable to all generations of Myvi AND all Peroduas' if not most or all Asian cars.
zeng
post Jan 14 2023, 09:08 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(Waliuuu @ Dec 24 2022, 10:51 AM)
I was told the stock ones are fixed and non-adjustable and they wanted to replace to an adjustable one to set it properly.
But stock was fixed tho, does it mean we are not supposed to adjust anything?

Also the tyre that they took out from the 'misaligned' side doesn't seem to have uneven tyre wear. They wear evenly.
Plus a single screw they charge RM90/ RM150 later and later need redo alignment lagi.. I thought my case was similar to those that kena the scam. No?
Oops.....
Yes, the stock ones are fixed type and non-adjustable type of front absorber bolts (for front cambers) , as is the case with most lower priced Asian segments A to C cars.

However as most front alignment angles with factory bolts are contributing to less-than-desirable driving experience, in this context of undesirable angles the factory bolts can be replaced with after market front camber eccentric bolts providing front camber adjustments, which if done correctly can very much improve driving experience and safety even with a cheapo Asian cars.

This adjustment can also help in getting even and slower tyre wear rates, which may not be relevant in your current context though as you're not encountering one.

RM90/RM150 per pc of camber bolt is indeed over priced and may deem to be a scam in terms of price/charges, NOT in terms of its 'technology' in improving driving experience and safety.

Yes, installation of after market camber eccentric bolts if not done properly necesitates a subsequent wheel alignment job.

But a competent guy with some 'tricks' can and able to install such camber bolts whilst still maintaining the 'previously good' alignment angles to begin with, without incurring additional expenses on subsequent wheel alignment job.

This post has been edited by zeng: Jan 14 2023, 09:11 PM

0.0197sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:54 AM