Acer Nitro 5 and its Alternative?, Looking for recommendation

TSKar Weng
post Aug 19 2021, 12:40 AM, updated 3y ago

Kar Weng | Physiotherapist
839 posts

Hi sifu sekalian, my Acer Swift 3 is getting old and I'm looking for a change.

My friend recommended me this Acer Nitro 5 (which he said he bought with ~3.7k). I looked into it and found it to be significantly heavier than my Swift 3.

So my question is:
1) Is Acer Nitro 5 a good laptop overall?

2) Is there any alternative similar to Nitro 5 that is lighter but also around the same price range?

My needs:
- Simple video editing (mainly short duration vids below an hour)
- Simple gaming (like DotA 2)
- Light weight if possible

Thanks in advance, I'm open to suggestions! notworthy.gif
Mancunian13
post Aug 19 2021, 01:01 AM

194 posts

Top up a bit buy MBA M1
DeepMemory
post Aug 19 2021, 08:12 AM

1,765 posts

You can look at the Honor Magicbook 16 if you prefer lightweight. Should be decent enough for light games such as Dota 2.
kahjye
post Aug 19 2021, 09:37 AM

4,453 posts

i bought gigabyte g5.

i5 10500h with rtx3060.
got it for 4799...good stuff.
uskimaski
post Aug 19 2021, 12:15 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(Kar Weng @ Aug 19 2021, 12:40 AM)
Hi sifu sekalian, my Acer Swift 3 is getting old and I'm looking for a change.

My friend recommended me this Acer Nitro 5 (which he said he bought with ~3.7k). I looked into it and found it to be significantly heavier than my Swift 3.

So my question is:
1) Is Acer Nitro 5 a good laptop overall?

2) Is there any alternative similar to Nitro 5 that is lighter but also around the same price range?

My needs:
- Simple video editing (mainly short duration vids below an hour)
- Simple gaming (like DotA 2)
- Light weight if possible

Thanks in advance, I'm open to suggestions!  notworthy.gif
not easy to find an all-rounded laptop that fits all ur needs and budget.

1.) yes, nitro 5 is considered good, one of the recommended laptops in the notebook recommendation thread. it has all the specs u need for gaming and video editing.

2.) swift 3 is known for it's lightweight (like MBA, but more economical). u're essentially trading specs for weight/portability.
https://shopee.com.my/Acer-Swift-3-Laptop-(...0585?position=3
xerox8908
post Aug 19 2021, 01:04 PM

Look at all my stars
2,724 posts

QUOTE(Mancunian13 @ Aug 19 2021, 01:01 AM)
Top up a bit buy MBA M1
Final cut pro rm1299 u pay?
danadasung
post Aug 19 2021, 10:12 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(xerox8908 @ Aug 19 2021, 01:04 PM)
Final cut pro rm1299 u pay?
My friend bought Mac but every other software pirated. No more money.
Pepper Mint P
post Aug 19 2021, 10:16 PM

Probation

One of the alternative for Acer Nitro 5 (especially if you're going to pick the RTX 3060 variant) is the Lenovo Legion 5.

However keep in mind the Nitro 5 is considered as a budget gaming laptop, so expect some drawbacks (wattage, build quality, temp, etc)
TSKar Weng
post Aug 19 2021, 10:37 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(Mancunian13 @ Aug 19 2021, 01:01 AM)
Top up a bit buy MBA M1
Sorry forgot to mention I'm only looking for Windows laptop biggrin.gif
TSKar Weng
post Aug 19 2021, 10:39 PM

839 posts

Thanks for all the recommendations everyone!

Another thing I really don't understand is, few months ago my friend bought the Acer Nitro 5 at RM3.7k, now when I check it's RM4.2k. How is that sudden sharp increase even possible?
hakimnen
post Aug 19 2021, 10:43 PM

108 posts

Bought my self an asus tuf gaming, budget gaming laptop with ryzen 5 processor...RM 2.6K when I bought it last year.

Prery decent and lighter than nitro 5..

Foe video editing, i guess CPU processing power play important role here..

This post has been edited by hakimnen: Aug 19 2021, 10:48 PM
hakimnen
post Aug 19 2021, 10:46 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(Kar Weng @ Aug 19 2021, 10:39 PM)

Another thing I really don't understand is, few months ago my friend bought the Acer Nitro 5 at RM3.7k, now when I check it's RM4.2k. How is that sudden sharp increase even possible?
COVID and lockdown - microchip shortage

This post has been edited by hakimnen: Aug 19 2021, 10:47 PM
TSKar Weng
post Aug 19 2021, 10:57 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(hakimnen @ Aug 19 2021, 10:43 PM)
Bought my self an asus tuf gaming, budget gaming laptop with ryzen 5 processor...RM 2.6K when I bought it last year.

Prery decent and lighter than nitro 5..

Foe video editing, i guess CPU processing power play important role here..
Have you tried video editing with Asus Tuf Gaming? Was it smooth? I have a lot of problem doing that on my old Acer Swift 3. Rm2.6k sounds like a great bargain for me, but I always had a bad impression/experience with ASUS.

QUOTE(hakimnen @ Aug 19 2021, 10:46 PM)
COVID and lockdown - microchip shortage
If I'm willing to wait longer, will the price reduce again?
hakimnen
post Aug 19 2021, 11:15 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(Kar Weng @ Aug 19 2021, 10:57 PM)
Have you tried video editing with Asus Tuf Gaming? Was it smooth? I have a lot of problem doing that on my old Acer Swift 3. Rm2.6k sounds like a great bargain for me, but I always had a bad impression/experience with ASUS.
If I'm willing to wait longer, will the price reduce again?
Nope..never tried before.

..its gaming laptop, mechanically any gaming laptop prrform better than traditional laptop i.e Acer Swift..so it should be better optiion...

So go for ryzen 7 or i7 if you concern about processing power and hence, better workability..

So far,i've no issues with this laptop..and it has 2 years warranty..so peace of mind...

Price? I really dont have idea..anyway, ibought from shopee..the item arrived on the next day ...

uskimaski
post Aug 20 2021, 09:42 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(Kar Weng @ Aug 19 2021, 10:39 PM)

maybe you saw different models? their shopee store has nitro 5 laptops that range from rm4k to rm9k:
https://shopee.com.my/shop/215858870/search...36&sortBy=price

and the 3,7k is probably the ryzen 5 model: https://store.acer.com/en-my/laptops/gaming/an515-45-r9rj
TSKar Weng
post Aug 20 2021, 09:53 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(uskimaski @ Aug 20 2021, 09:42 PM)
maybe you saw different models? their shopee store has nitro 5 laptops that range from rm4k to rm9k:
https://shopee.com.my/shop/215858870/search...36&sortBy=price

and the 3,7k is probably the ryzen 5 model: https://store.acer.com/en-my/laptops/gaming/an515-45-r9rj
Ah thanks for sharing! So it's not because of the cheap shortage after all?

But the link you posted says the 3.7k version is out of stock. Do you happen to know where I can get the Ryzen 5 model?
I don't think 5 and 7 matters too much for me that I have to spend a lot more for the premium.
xenith
post Aug 20 2021, 10:39 PM

409 posts

would suggest to take a look on Lenovo's range especially with spec such as 100% SRGB and additional graphic card support.
uskimaski
post Aug 22 2021, 11:57 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(Kar Weng @ Aug 20 2021, 09:53 PM)

But the link you posted says the 3.7k version is out of stock. Do you happen to know where I can get the Ryzen 5 model?
I don't think 5 and 7 matters too much for me that I have to spend a lot more for the premium.
no idea when they'll restock though, guess it's quite a popular model at that price point.

you can opt-in on that website to receive notification when they restock, or wait for the prices of other models to drop during sales period (9.9 sales etc).
Kairyu
post Aug 30 2021, 02:24 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(Kar Weng @ Aug 20 2021, 09:53 PM)

Hey Kar Weng, I got my Ryzen 5 Nitro 5 here: https://www.store.pcimage.com.my/acer-gamin...-black-backpack at RM3699 too. To be honest from you requested for. I think this model and budget quite suits what you looking for. I hope you manage to grab this deal~ Cheer man have a great day ahead thumbup.gif
sheerwin
post Sep 2 2021, 02:38 PM

85 posts

wait for 9.9 maybe u can get great offer for nitro 5 ryzen 5 series pair with rtx 3050 perhaps?

0.0231sec    0.27    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 09:24 AM