QUOTE(budang @ Aug 17 2021, 05:51 PM)
then be more specific a bit ... B segment and below ... make it easier for bros here to narrow down for you.Looking for a car, budget below 55k
Looking for a car, budget below 55k
Aug 17 2021, 06:33 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
1,306 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
Aug 17 2021, 06:44 PM
652 posts Joined: Jun 2017 |
If you even consider Peugeot , you are simply asking for trouble - unreliable car.
Mazda 2 2016 is a good car as well. I would suggest Camry 2012/2013 2.5V XV50. Toyota cars can last for 3-4 decades. If you want to buy a second hand car, only consider Toyota, Lexus or Mazda as the first choice. Second choice: Honda. This post has been edited by powerlinkers: Aug 17 2021, 06:46 PM |
Aug 17 2021, 10:13 PM
424 posts Joined: Sep 2015 |
Citroen ds5 or ds4 or ds3
Hyundai elantra last gen Renault fluence Peugeot 308 2015 Peugeot 508 |
Aug 18 2021, 12:15 AM
12,413 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: KL - Cardiff - Subang - Sydney |
Picanto fits your criteria well melkishi81 liked this post
Aug 18 2021, 03:24 AM
818 posts Joined: Jul 2019 |
QUOTE(budang @ Aug 17 2021, 04:49 PM) Below are the criteria: A Kia Picanto (JA series) GT variant. It was RM55k new. - Something special and not commonly seen on the road - At least 2 airbags with stability control - Any body type will do (Sedan / hatch) - Nice interior is a plus - Ease of maintenance not a must - Good reliability is a plus but not a must - Preferably 2016 or newer - Below 55k budget I have shortlisted 2 cars: 1. Peugeot 208 puretech 1.2 turbo 2018 or newer - I'm sure someone would mention about the reliability and maintenance costs. I'm fully aware of this and I have found a reliable & trusted workshop which is also near to my place. For under 50k I'm able to get a low mileage and less than 3 years old car which is a plus. The 6 speed auto and punchy little turbo engine is also quite interesting. 2. Mazda 2 hatch / sedan 1.5 2016 - Quite reliable overall, no turbo, no dual clutch and stuff. Nice interior too but overall pricier and cars are generally around 5 years old with > 50k mileage. However only comes with 2 airbags which is a minus. The car will be used by a lady driver with almost non existent driving experience, hence a small car will be appreciated. melkishi81 liked this post
Aug 18 2021, 03:57 AM
3,848 posts Joined: Dec 2009 From: Ampang |
Take the 208, the new Puretech engine is reliable unlike the previous prince engine. Not much to be worried of
55k can even get you the newer 308, much better car than the 208 This post has been edited by Boy96: Aug 18 2021, 04:01 AM |
Aug 18 2021, 04:19 AM
150 posts Joined: Nov 2020 |
Beli Kia Pikantoi jer lah. Kecik molek senang pandu senang parking. Perempuan suka.
Aug 18 2021, 10:47 AM
975 posts Joined: Dec 2012 |
QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Aug 18 2021, 12:15 AM) Looks good, spec list is quite interesting too. QUOTE(BillCollector @ Aug 18 2021, 03:24 AM) For some reason, I'm not able to find a used GT variant on used car market. Any drill? QUOTE(Boy96 @ Aug 18 2021, 03:57 AM) Take the 208, the new Puretech engine is reliable unlike the previous prince engine. Not much to be worried of Owner is currently more inclined towards pug mainly because of the design. 308 looks pretty interesting too, any advise you have?55k can even get you the newer 308, much better car than the 208 |
Aug 18 2021, 11:00 AM
834 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
QUOTE(budang @ Aug 18 2021, 10:47 AM) Owner is currently more inclined towards pug mainly because of the design. 308 looks pretty interesting too, any advise you have? The 308 T9 (ie, latest generation available in Malaysia) is pretty reliable compared to the older version T7 generation. If you know a workshop near your place who is familiar with pugs then even better, as ease of maintenance was one of the major factor that made me gave up getting one earlier this year.My only advice to you is, whether you decide to take 208 Puretech or 308 T9, is to take your time to find a good unit. Especially the 308 T9, there aren't many used unit on the market, and even less that are in decent condition (under 55k will likely be 5 to 6 year old). 2015 units are CBU and they came with 7 years warranty IINM, so you might want to check that as well. Find one that comes with a maintenance record booklet. This post has been edited by dares: Aug 18 2021, 11:01 AM budang liked this post
Aug 18 2021, 12:15 PM
12,413 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: KL - Cardiff - Subang - Sydney |
QUOTE(budang @ Aug 18 2021, 10:47 AM) GT line variant is considered a rare car. Limited units brought in by Naza before they gave up the businessOwners that have it usually reluctant to sell unless they are upgrading to a bigger car If you are really interested, maybe you can join the owners group on fb and ask if anyone is selling Pm me your name if you wanna join, I'm admin |
Aug 18 2021, 07:20 PM
975 posts Joined: Dec 2012 |
QUOTE(dares @ Aug 18 2021, 11:00 AM) The 308 T9 (ie, latest generation available in Malaysia) is pretty reliable compared to the older version T7 generation. If you know a workshop near your place who is familiar with pugs then even better, as ease of maintenance was one of the major factor that made me gave up getting one earlier this year. Any advise on how to find a good pug, other than the typical service record check / modifications / abnormal noise & vibration / flood indicators? Ease of maintenance wasn't an issue as we live in the Klang Valley and I've come to know a few good french car workshop through FB group. My only advice to you is, whether you decide to take 208 Puretech or 308 T9, is to take your time to find a good unit. Especially the 308 T9, there aren't many used unit on the market, and even less that are in decent condition (under 55k will likely be 5 to 6 year old). 2015 units are CBU and they came with 7 years warranty IINM, so you might want to check that as well. Find one that comes with a maintenance record booklet. Anyway, I did a look up on 308 T9 (around year 2016), very impressive spec list and within budget, might consider it as well. QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Aug 18 2021, 12:15 PM) GT line variant is considered a rare car. Limited units brought in by Naza before they gave up the business Will pm you, thanks.Owners that have it usually reluctant to sell unless they are upgrading to a bigger car If you are really interested, maybe you can join the owners group on fb and ask if anyone is selling Pm me your name if you wanna join, I'm admin |
Aug 18 2021, 07:31 PM
834 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
QUOTE(budang @ Aug 18 2021, 07:20 PM) Any advise on how to find a good pug, other than the typical service record check / modifications / abnormal noise & vibration / flood indicators? Ease of maintenance wasn't an issue as we live in the Klang Valley and I've come to know a few good french car workshop through FB group. For the 308 T9 and 208 puretech, all the normal inspection item applies. Other than that, nothing special.Anyway, I did a look up on 308 T9 (around year 2016), very impressive spec list and within budget, might consider it as well. The 208 puretech will have a bit more vibration due to being 3-cylinder. |
Aug 18 2021, 08:23 PM
294 posts Joined: Apr 2010 From: Malaysia |
99% city drive. Go for Hyundai Ioniq. Got ADAS summore, at least can use it during traffic and fuel consumption better than Axia.
https://www.fuelly.com/car/hyundai/ioniq https://www.fuelly.com/car/kia/picanto https://www.fuelly.com/car/perodua/axia Btw, I own Kia k3, and Picanto TA. Very envy Ioniq FC twice better than Picanto. |
Aug 18 2021, 11:50 PM
3,190 posts Joined: Dec 2017 |
Ts avoid Peugeot car at all cost. Very problematic
Aug 18 2021, 11:55 PM
1,565 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
For lady driver with almost non existent driving experience - 6 airbags - stability control - Ease of maintenance - Good reliability - New car - 99% city drive and commute alone Suggest : Ativa X 62K For TS - Something special - 6 airbags - turbo w higher maintenance - 2018 or newer - limited workshop Suggest : 208 puretech <50K |
Oct 18 2021, 02:43 AM
156 posts Joined: Jan 2018 |
QUOTE(budang @ Aug 18 2021, 07:20 PM) Any advise on how to find a good pug, other than the typical service record check / modifications / abnormal noise & vibration / flood indicators? Ease of maintenance wasn't an issue as we live in the Klang Valley and I've come to know a few good french car workshop through FB group. I am using Kia Picanto right now (bought new in 2018). At that time, was comparing between Myvi AV (similar price), and Jazz (much higher price).Anyway, I did a look up on 308 T9 (around year 2016), very impressive spec list and within budget, might consider it as well. Will pm you, thanks. At least compared to Myvi, the build quality and refinement is different level. Not to mention that it has Android Auto/Carplay that now I cannot live without. Plus it's so nimble to drive in PJ/KL. The bad thing is since the engine is so small, you need to rev it hard to accelerate for overtaking purpose etc. But once it arrive at higher speed, the car feels stable and it doesnt feel overworked. In LATAR highway, I always drive it 160km/h. Also, there is a common issue for the ABS sensor which has happened to many owners. Warranty will cover that, but in case need to change yourself, it will cause around 600. I think you can find used 2018 Picanto for around 38k which honestly surprised me, because it mean the depreciation after 3.5 years is only around 25%. The resale value seems to be not as bad as many in this forum said. |
Oct 18 2021, 12:49 PM
9 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
Get a Myvi, give it a really unique paint job, and revamp the interior with whatever cute thing ladies nowadays like.
Oct 18 2021, 08:01 PM
156 posts Joined: Jan 2018 |
QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Aug 18 2021, 11:55 PM) For lady driver with almost non existent driving experience I tested 208 recently and I notice the vibrations during idle is quite big especially in the front. So TS need to decide whether the vibration level is acceptable or not. - 6 airbags - stability control - Ease of maintenance - Good reliability - New car - 99% city drive and commute alone Suggest : Ativa X 62K For TS - Something special - 6 airbags - turbo w higher maintenance - 2018 or newer - limited workshop Suggest : 208 puretech <50K For me, it is quite a dealbreaker because for city use, we will sit in front of traffic light every few minutes. This post has been edited by jomonista: Oct 18 2021, 08:02 PM |
Oct 19 2021, 06:27 PM
710 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
Oct 20 2021, 12:30 AM
1,704 posts Joined: Sep 2012 |
Get a Suzuki Swift if want something not so common, othwrwise just get a Myvi.
| Change to: | 0.5292sec
5 queries
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 01:07 AM |